Treaty Series 1952 No. 7 — Operation of Certain Radio Equipment or Stations

Spectrum Management
Terrestrial Radiocommunication Agreements and Arrangements

Convention between Canada and the United States of America

Signed at Ottawa

Ratification exchanged at Washington

Entered into force

Note

All persons making use of this consolidation are reminded that the documents included herein are provided only for convenience of reference. This consolidation is for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. The information contained in this document is subject to change without notice. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. For more details, please contact the Terrestrial Services Frequency Management Division (International Systems).

The agreements and arrangements contained herein have been negotiated under the authority of the Government of Canada by the Department of Communications whose spectrum management and telecommunications programs have been transferred to Industry Canada.

All notes in square brackets [ ] were added for clarification purposes.

Prepared by:

Industry Canada
Radio Regulatory Branch
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Publication Date: December 1993

Convention between Canada and the United States of America relating to the Operation by Citizens of either Country of Certian Radio Equipment or Stations in the other Country

The Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America, being desirous of establishing rules to permit the citizens of either country, upon certain conditions, to operate certain radio equipment or stations in the other country, have agreed as follows:

Article I

With respect to radio equipment installed on civil aircraft of either country and properly licensed by the country of registry for the primary purpose of navigation and safe operation of the aircraft, a United States citizen holding a pilot license and, in addition, a radio operator license issued by the United States of America, may operate such radio equipment on an aircraft registered in Canada and operated in either country, and a Canadian citizen holding a pilot license and, in addition, a radio operator certificate issued by Canada, may operate such radio equipment or an aircraft registered in the United States of America and operated in either country; provided, that the operation of such radio equipment shall be in accordance with local law and regulation and complementary to his functions or duties as a pilot; provided also, that either country may require, for security purposes or to assure familiarity with domestic radio operating regulations and procedures, the registration or examination of citizens of the other country and the issuance of a permit for the privileges set forth herein.

Article II

The respective countries agree that mobile radio stations properly licensed in one country are permitted to be operated in the territory of the other country (except that the provisions of this Article do not apply to ship or aircraft stations and are not intended to change or modify the terms of any agreements or treaties relating to such stations) subject to local operating conditions and regulations, as follows:

  1. Mobile radio units installed in public safety vehicles, in vehicles employed in the operation or maintenance of a pipe line or other industrial facility extending across the border, or in vehicles regularly engaged in the public carriage of persons or goods between the two countries, may be operated in the course of normal rendition of service, by persons properly authorized by either country, for communication with those radio stations of either country that are licensed to be operated in the same type of radio service. For security purposes or to assure familiarity with domestic radio regulations and procedures, each country may require the registration or examination of citizens of the other country and the issuance of a permit extending the privileges stated above.
  2. Mobile radio units which are limited to communication through the common carrier radio communication companies or agencies may be operated by persons properly authorized by either country for the purpose of obtaining a like communication service while in the territory of the other country. For security purposes it may be required, however, that such mobile stations first be registered and issued a permit.

Article III

It is agreed that persons holding appropriate amateur licenses issued by either country may operate their amateur stations in the territory of the other country under the following conditions:

  1. Each visiting amateur may be required to register and receive a permit before operating any amateur station licensed by his government.
  2. The visiting amateur will identify his station by:
    1. Radiotelegraph operation — The amateur call sign issued to him by the licensing country followed by a slant (/) sign and the amateur call sign prefix and call area number of the country he is visiting.
    2. Radio telephone operation — The amateur call sign in English issued to him by the licensing country followed by the words "fixed", "portable" or "mobile", as appropriate, and the amateur call sign prefix and call area number of the country he is visiting.
  3. Each amateur station shall indicate at least once during each contact with another station its geographical location as nearly as possible by city and state or city and province.
  4. In other respects the amateur station shall be operated in accordance with the laws and regulations of the country in which the station is temporarily located.

Article IV

The present Convention shall be ratified and the instruments of ratification shall be exchanged at Washington as soon as possible.

The present Convention shall enter into force on the day of the exchange of instruments of ratification and shall continue in force for a period of five years and indefinitely after that period, but may be terminated by either of the two Governments at the end of that five–year period or at any time thereafter, provided that at least six months prior notice of termination has been given in writing by either Government to the other Government.

In witness whereof the respective Plenipotentiaries have signed the present Convention and have affixed hereunto their respective seals.

Done in duplicate at Ottawa this .

For the Government of Canada:
Lionel Chevrier

For the Government of the United States of America:
Stanley Woodward

Exchange of Letters

Cross-Border Operation


Statement of Intent

Statement of Intent of the Federal Communications Commission of the United States of America and the Department of Industry of Canada Related to the Cross-Border Operation of Portable Radios by Public Safety Agencies along the United States-Canada Border

Date modified:

Recueil des traités 1952 no. 7 — Utilisation de certains appareils ou stations radioélectriques

Gestion du spectre
Ententes et arrangements relatifs aux radiocommunications de Terre

Convention entre le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique

Signée à Ottawa, le

Ratifications échangées à Washington, le

En vigueur le

Remarque

On rappelle aux lecteurs que les documents de la présente codification ont été réunis aux seules fins d'en faciliter la consultation. La présente codification est un guide à l'intention des personnes qui s'occupent de radiocommunications au Canada. Les renseignements contenus dans la présente codification peuvent être modifiés sans préavis. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour en assurer l'exactitude, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou implicitement. Pour plus de détails, veuillez communiquer avec la Division de la gestion des fréquences, Services terrestres (systèmes internationaux).

Les ententes et arrangements contenus dans la présente codification ont été négociés en vertu du pouvoir du gouvernement du Canada, par le ministère des Communications dont la gestion du spectre et les programmes de télécommunications ont été transférés à Industrie Canada.

Toute remarque mise entre crochets [ ] a été ajoutée pour apporter des précisions.

Préparé par :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale de la Réglementation des radiocommunications
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

Date de publication : décembre 1993

Convention entre le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique relative à l'utilisation par les ressortissants de chaque pays de certains appareils ou stations radioélectriques dans l'autre pays

Le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique, désireux d'établir des règlements tendant à permettre aux ressortissants de chaque pays, sous réserve de conditions déterminées, d'utiliser certains appareils ou stations radioélectriques dans l'autre pays, sont convenus des dispositions suivantes:

Article I

En ce qui concerne les appareils radioélectriques installés à bord des aéronefs civils de chaque pays et dûment munis d'une licence délivrée par le pays d'immatriculation et destinée avant tout à assurer la bonne navigation desdits aéronefs et la sécurité de leur exploitation, tout ressortissant des États-Unis qui est titulaire d'une licence de pilote et, en outre, d'une licence d'opérateur de radio délivrée par les États-Unis d'Amérique, pourra utiliser ces appareils radioélectriques à bord d'un aéronef immatriculé au Canada et exploité dans l'un ou l'autre des deux pays, et tout ressortissant du Canada qui est titulaire d'une licence de pilote et, en outre, d'une licence d'opérateur de radio délivrée par le Canada, pourra utiliser ces appareils radioélectriques à bord d'un aéronef immatriculé aux États-Unis et exploité dans l'un ou l'autre des deux pays. Toutefois, lesdits appareils devront être utilisés conformément aux lois et règlements de chaque pays et auxiliairement aux autres fonctions et attributions du pilote, et chaque pays pourra, pour des raisons de sécurité ou pour s'assurer que ses règlements et formalités concernant l'utilisation des appareils radioélectriques sont bien connus, exiger des ressortissants de l'autre pays l'inscription ou un examen et l'acquisition d'un permis pour l'exercice des privilèges prévus par la présente Convention.

Article II

Les deux pays conviennent que les stations radioélectriques mobiles dûment munies d'une licence dans l'un des deux pays pourront être utilisées sur le territoire de l'autre pays (sauf que les dispositions du présent article ne s'appliquent pas aux stations de navires ou d'aéronef et ne visent pas à changer ou à modifier les clauses des accords ou traités concernant ces stations) sous réserve des conditions et règlements d'utilisation de chaque pays, ainsi qu'il suit :

  1. Les stations radioélectriques mobiles installées dans les véhicules de sécurité publique, les véhicules affectés à l'exploitation ou à l'entretien d'un pipe-line ou d'une autre entreprise industrielle s'étendant au delà de la frontière, ou dans des véhicules régulièrement affectés au transport public de personnes ou de marchandises entre les deux pays, pourront être utilisées par des personnes dûment autorisées par l'un ou l'autre pays, pour communiquer, dans l'exercice normal de leurs fonctions, avec les stations radioélectriques de l'un ou l'autre pays munies d'une licence d'exploitation pour le même genre de service radioélectrique. Pour des raisons de sécurité ou pour s'assurer que ses règlements et formalités concernant les radiocommunications sont bien connus, chaque pays pourra exiger des ressortissants de l'autre pays l'inscription ou un examen et l'acquisition d'un permis accordant les privilèges précités.
  2. Les stations radioélectriques mobiles se limitant aux communications par l'entremise des compagnies ou organismes de radiocommunication de transport public pourront être utilisées par des personnes dûment autorisées par l'un ou l'autre pays, pour obtenir un service analogue de communications pendant qu'elles se trouvent sur le territoire de l'autre pays. Toutefois, il pourra être exigé, pour des raisons de sécurité, que ces stations mobiles soient au préalable immatriculées et munies d'un permis.

Article III

Il est convenu que les titulaires de licences appropriées d'amateur délivrées par chaque pays pourront utiliser leurs stations d'amateur sur le territoire de l'autre pays, aux conditions suivantes :

  1. Chaque amateur étranger pourra être tenu de s'inscrire et de se procurer un permis avant d'utiliser une station d'amateur munie d'une licence délivrée par son gouvernement.
  2. L'amateur étranger s'identifiera en signalant :
    1. s'il s'agit de communications radiotélégraphiques, l'indicatif d'appel d'amateur que lui a attribué le pays octroyant la licence, suivi d'une barre de fraction (/) du préfixe de l'indicatif d'appel d'amateur et du numéro régional d'appel du pays qu'il visite;
    2. s'il s'agit de communications radiotéléphoniques, l'indicatif d'appel en anglais que lui a attribué le pays octroyant la licence, suivi des mots "fixe", "portative" ou "mobile", selon le cas, et du préfixe de l'indicatif d'appel d'amateur et du numéro régional d'appel du pays qu'il visite.
  3. Au cours de chacune de ses communications avec une autre station, chaque station d'amateur indiquera au moins une fois et aussi précisément que possible sa position géographique par rapport à telle ville et tel état ou par rapport à telle ville et telle province.
  4. Pour le reste, les stations d'amateur seront utilisées en conformité des lois et règlements du pays où elles se trouvent temporairement.

Article IV

La présente Convention sera ratifiée et les instruments de ratification seront échangés à Washington aussitôt que possible. La présente Convention prendra effet à la date de l'échange des instruments de ratification et demeurera en vigueur pendant une période de cinq ans et indéfiniment par la suite, mais chaque Gouvernement pourra la dénoncer à la fin de cette période de cinq ans ou à tout moment ultérieur, à condition d'adresser à cet effet à l'autre Gouvernement un préavis d'au moins six mois.

En foi de quoi les plénipotentiaires de chaque Gouvernement ont signé la présente Convention et y ont apposé leurs sceaux.

Fait en double exemplaire à Ottawa le .

Pour le gouvernement du Canada :
Lionel Chevrier

Pour le Gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique :
Stanley Woodward


Lettres

Exploitation transfrontalière


Déclaration d'intention

Déclaration d'intention de la Federal Communications Commission des États-Unis d’Amérique et d'Industrie Canada concernant les opérations transfrontalières des radios portatives par les organismes responsables de la sécurité publique le long de la frontière canado-américaine

Date de modification :