BETS-11 — Technical Requirements Respecting the Identification of Broadcasting Stations

Technical Requirements Respecting the Identification of Broadcasting Stations
(PDF, 10 KB, 4 pages)


Issue 1
November 1, 1996

Spectrum Management
Broadcasting Equipment Technical Standard

Purpose

This document establishes technical requirements respecting the identification of broadcasting stations.


Table of Contents

  1. General
  2. Technical Requirements

1. General

The broadcasting stations for which a call sign has been issued must identify according to the technical requirements in this document.

2. Technical Requirements

2.1 Using the call sign issued to the broadcasting station, the holder of a Broadcasting Certificate shall, during any time that the broadcasting station for which that certificate was issued transmits a radio signal, identify the broadcasting station at least once every hour on the hour or within 10 minutes thereof, or at the beginning and end of a program where the program lasts longer than one hour, by a voice announcement in English or in French that:

  1. articulates each letter and states any accompanying designator of the call sign of the station; and
  2. names the principal city or community that is served by the station.

2.2 In the case of a television broadcasting station, the voice announcement may be replaced by a visual announcement of not less than three seconds in duration that identifies the call sign assigned to that station and the principal city or community that is served by that station.

2.3 The holder of a Broadcasting Certificate for a broadcasting station or network that originates programming shall identify at least once every day, in the manner set out in 2.1 or 2.2, as the case may be, a station that is licensed to rebroadcast the programming.

2.4 Paragraph 2.3 does not apply in respect of a rebroadcasting station where the Broadcasting Certificate issued in respect of that rebroadcasting station specifies that the rebroadcasting station:

  1. has been assigned a radio frequency without protection from interference caused by a broadcasting undertaking;
  2. shall not cause interference to any broadcasting undertaking; and
  3. is not within any zone that, by virtue of an agreement between Canada and any other country, requires Canada to obtain the concurrence of that other country to the establishment of that rebroadcasting station.

NTMR-11 — Exigences techniques concernant l’identification des stations de radiodiffusion


1re édition
le 1er novembre 1996

Gestion du spectre
Norme technique de matériel de radiodiffusion

But

Ce document fixe les exigences techniques concernant l'identification des stations de radiodiffusion.


Table des matières

  1. Généralités
  2. Exigences techniques

1. Généralités

Toutes stations de radiodiffusion ayant reçu un indicatif d'appel doit s'identifier selon les exigences techniques établies dans ce document.

2. Exigences techniques

2.1 Le titulaire d'un certificat de radiodiffusion doit, lorsque la station de radiodiffusion visée par le certificat émet un signal radio, se servir de l'indicatif d'appel de la station pour identifier cette dernière au moins toutes les heures à l'heure ou dans les 10 minutes précédant ou suivant l'heure, ou au début ou à la fin d'une émission qui dure plus d'une heure, par un message oral en français ou en anglais au cours duquel il :

  1. prononce distinctement chaque lettre et donne le numéro d'accompagnement de l'indicatif d'appel de la station;
  2. donne le nom de la principale ville ou collectivité desservie par l'entreprise de radiodiffusion.

2.2 Dans le cas d'une entreprise de radiodiffusion de télévision, le message oral peut être remplacé par une présentation visuelle d'au moins trois secondes faisant état de l'indicatif d'appel assigné et du nom de la ville ou de la collectivité desservie par cette station.

2.3 Le titulaire d'un certificat de radiodiffusion délivré pour l'exploitation d'une station de radiodiffusion qui produit des émissions doit identifier, au moins une fois par jour, de la manière décrite aux paragraphes 2.1 ou 2.2, selon le cas, la station de radiodiffusion qui est autorisée à réémettre ses émissions.

2.4 Le paragraphe 2.3 ne s'applique pas à la station de réémission dont le certificat de radiodiffusion prévoit :

  1. qu'une fréquence lui est assignée sans protection contre le brouillage causé par une entreprise de radiodiffusion;
  2. qu'elle ne doit causer de brouillage à aucune entreprise de radiodiffusion;
  3. qu'elle est située à l'extérieur des zones pour lesquelles le Canada doit obtenir l'approbation d'un autre pays afin d'établir une entreprise de réémission aux termes d'un accord conclu entre ce pays et le Canada.
Date de modification :