BETS-7 — Technical Standards and Requirements for Radio Apparatus Capable of Receiving Television Broadcasting

Issue 3
Posted on Industry Canada website: March 12, 2015

Preface

BETS-7 establishes the technical standards and requirements for radio apparatus equipped with Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) and/or National Television System Committee (NTSC) tuners for the reception of television broadcasting and intended for sale or resale to the public.

Equipment manufactured or imported solely for re-export, prototyping, demonstration, exhibition or testing purposes does not have to comply with the technical standards and requirements in this document.


1. General

BETS-7 applies to all radio apparatus equipped with ATSC and/or NTSC tuners for the reception of television (TV) broadcasting, and intended for sale or resale to the public. This includes television sets, set-top boxes for digital-to-analog conversion, and other interface devices such as videocassette recorders (VCRs), DVD recorders and digital video recorders (DVRs). Such apparatus must conform to the technical standards and requirements established in this document.

Apparatus designed to receive mobile digital television broadcasting under standards such as ATSC-M/H (Advanced Television Systems Committee — Mobile/Handheld) are outside the scope of this document. Nonetheless, if some of these devices are also designed to receive television broadcasting that falls within the scope of this document, they must conform to the applicable technical standards and requirements, as established.

top of page

2. Definitions

The following definitions become effective with the publication of this new issue of BETS-7:

2.1 National Television System Committee (NTSC): the committee that created the standards for the production and distribution (over-the-air) of analog colour television broadcasting signals in Canada and the United States. Refer to the document titled BTS-3, Broadcasting Transmission Standard: Television Broadcasting, for the standards governing analog TV broadcasting systems in Canada.

2.2 Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC): the committee that was formed to establish the technical standards for advanced television systems. It has defined the broadcast standards for digital television (DTV) in Canada and the United States. Refer to the ATSC standards documents in Section 5 for further details.

2.3 Digital Television Receiving Apparatus: a receiver that incorporates an ATSC tuner for reception of digital television broadcasting signals. It can tune to digital over-the-air channels in the VHF and UHF bands.

2.4 Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus: a receiver that incorporates an NTSC tuner for reception of analog television broadcasting signals, as well as an ATSC tuner for reception of digital television broadcasting signals. It can tune to analog and digital over-the-air channels in the VHF and UHF bands, and it may be connected to a cable distribution undertaking through a coaxial cable input terminal.

2.5 Cable-Compatible Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus: a receiver that incorporates an NTSC tuner for reception of analog television broadcasting signals, as well as an ATSC tuner for reception of digital television broadcasting signals. It can tune to analog and digital over-the-air channels in the VHF and UHF bands. It is designed and intended to be connected to a cable distribution undertaking through a coaxial cable input terminal.

2.6 Type (for the purpose of this document): a unit that, as one of many similar units, has been manufactured in accordance with a particular electronic design and physical pattern, subject to improvements or minor changes which do not degrade its performance.

2.7 Cable distribution undertaking: an undertaking for the reception of broadcasting and the retransmission thereof by radio waves or other means of telecommunication to more than one permanent or temporary residence or dwelling unit or to another such undertaking.

2.8 CW: a continuous wave signal without modulation.

2.9 IF: intermediate frequency.

2.10 Spurious emission: an undesired emission on a frequency or frequencies which are outside the necessary bandwidth of the desired channel.

2.11 Mid-band channels: the nine channels, commonly identified by the alphabetical designators A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H and I, used in the 120 to 174 MHz frequency band.

2.12 Super-band channels: the 14 channels, commonly identified by the alphabetical designators J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V and W, used in the 216 to 300 MHz frequency band.

2.13 Ultra high frequency (UHF) channels: the channels identified by the numerical designators 14 to 69, used in the 470 to 806 MHz frequency band.

2.14 Very high frequency (VHF) channels: the channels identified by the numerical designators 2 to 13, used in the 54 to 72 MHz, 76 to 88 MHz and 174 to 216 MHz frequency bands.

top of page

3. Testing and Labelling

3.1 Before importing or offering for sale and/or use in Canada any radio apparatus falling into the category described in Section 1, the manufacturer or importer shall ensure that the apparatus or a production sample or other representative unit of that type of apparatus is tested to determine whether it conforms to the applicable technical standards and requirements established in this document.

3.2 Every manufacturer or importer referred to in Section 3.1 shall:

  1. forward electronically to the Director General, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch of Industry Canada (email: bets_ntmr_notifs@ic.gc.ca), a notification in PDF file format, attesting that the apparatus meets the requirements set in this document and giving the make and model/type number of the apparatus;
  2. keep and make available to the Minister of Industry on demand, for a period of five years, a copy of all test data obtained as a result of the tests carried out as required under Section 3.1;
  3. alternatively, if desired, forward the above documents in paper format to:

Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch
Industry Canada
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5
Canada

3.3 Every manufacturer or importer referred to in Section 3.1 shall ensure at the time of import or before offering the apparatus for sale, as appropriate, that each unit of the type bears, in a location convenient for inspection, a permanent label or marking containing the following statement (in English and French):

  1. for the Digital Television Receiving Apparatus defined in Section 2.3: "Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision numérique, Canada BETS-7 / NTMR-7"
  2. for the Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus defined in Section 2.4: "Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique, Canada BETS-7 / NTMR-7"
  3. for the Cable-Compatible Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus defined in Section 2.5: "Cable-Compatible Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique câblocompatible, Canada BETS-7 / NTMR-7"

For apparatus with an integral (non-removable) display screen, an electronic label (e-label) may be used in lieu of a physical label to fulfill the above requirements. The Certification and Engineering Bureau Notice 2014-DRS1003 provides additional instructions on using e-labels.

3.4 Equipment which is not labelled in accordance with Section 3.3 is not considered to have met the technical standards and requirements of this document.

top of page

4. Technical Standards and Requirements

Apparatus with a built-in display for viewing the image being broadcast (e.g. television sets) must meet the definition set out in Section 2.4 or 2.5 to ensure that they are able to receive analog television broadcasting signals.

Apparatus without a built-in display can be associated with the definition in Section 2.3, 2.4 or 2.5.

4.1 Requirements for All Television Receiving Apparatus

4.1.1 Channel Selection Requirements

Every NTSC tuner is required to receive television broadcasting from an over-the-air broadcasting transmitting undertaking on all VHF and UHF channels. Additionally, those apparatus able to connect to a cable distribution undertaking must also support mid-band and super-band channels.

Every ATSC tuner is required to receive television broadcasting from an over-the-air broadcasting transmitting undertaking on all VHF and UHF channels.

4.1.2 Noise Figure

Note: This requirement does not apply to the features that provide for reception of digital television signals.

The internal noise created by a receiver is often expressed in terms of noise figure. The noise figure of a receiver is the effective amount of noise created by the input circuitry of the receiver, measured relative to a physical limit on noise known as thermal noise and referenced to the input of the receiver.

The noise figure shall not exceed 14 dB for any UHF television channel. If a tuner has a built-in splitter, a relaxation of 4 dB shall be applied to the above limit.

4.1.3 Radiated Emission Limits

The field strength of radiated emissions produced by the apparatus at a distance of 3 m shall not exceed:

  1. 100 µV/m, in the frequency range from 30 MHz to below 88 MHz;
  2. 150 µV/m, in the frequency range from 88 MHz to below 216 MHz;
  3. 200 µV/m, in the frequency range from 216 MHz to below 960 MHz;
  4. 500 µV/m, for frequencies above 960 MHz.

The standards contained in the International Special Committee on Radio Interference (CISPR) publication 32, Electromagnetic compatibility of multimedia equipment — Emission requirements, Edition 1.0 (2012), may be used as an alternative to the above-cited emission limits.

The television test signal is the standard television colour bar signal in accordance with the International Telecommunication Union’s (ITU) recommendation known as ITU-R Recommendation BT.471-1.

For the measurement method, refer to IEEE Standard 187-2003,Measurement Methods of Emissions from FM and Television Broadcast Receivers in the Frequency Range of 9 kHz to 40 GHz, Section 7 (where it applies to Television Broadcast Receivers). The number of test frequencies shall be adequate to ensure measurement of maximum emission levels within the 30 MHz to 1 GHz frequency range. Measurements shall be taken on six channels evenly spaced across the required radio frequency (RF) input range.

4.1.4 Reception of Digital Television

4.1.4.1 Decoder

The receiver shall be capable of receiving and presenting for display program material that has been encoded in any of the video formats supported by the ATSC A/53 document (see Section 5).

4.1.4.2 PSIP Processing

The receiver shall process and display the program and system information protocol (PSIP) data (see ATSC A/65) to provide the user with tuned channel and program information. Refer to ATSC A/69 for further guidance.

4.2 Additional Requirements for Cable-Compatible Television Receiving Apparatus

This section applies only to apparatus labelled as "Cable-Compatible Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique câblocompatible, Canada BETS-7 / NTMR-7" in accordance with Section 3.3 (c). The following requirements apply specifically to the analog portion of the said apparatus.

4.2.1 Cable Input Conducted Emissions

When the receiver is connected to a cable distribution undertaking, the level of any local oscillator signal and any signal of an undesired or spurious nature generated within the apparatus and arriving at the cable input terminals of the apparatus shall not exceed:

  1. -26 dBmV from 54 MHz up to and including 300 MHz;
  2. -20 dBmV from 300 MHz up to and including 450 MHz;
  3. -15 dBmV from 450 MHz up to and including 804 MHz.

Refer to the latest version of CEA Standard 23-B, Section 4.1, Cable Input Conducted Emissions, for further details on the test procedure, test conditions, calibration and measurement procedure.

4.2.2 Adjacent Channel Interference

Spurious signals within the intermediate frequency (IF) passband shall be attenuated at least 55 dB below the visual carrier of the desired signal when in the presence of a lower adjacent channel continuous wave (CW) signal set at 1.5 MHz below the visual carrier frequency of the desired signal.

Refer to the latest version of CEA Standard 23-B, Section 5.4, Lower Adjacent Channel Performance, for the test procedure, test conditions, calibration and measurement procedure.

4.2.3 Direct Pickup Interference

The immunity requirements of cable-compatible television receiving apparatus are given by the ratio of the desired to the undesired co-channel interfering ambient field at the IF passband, which shall be at least 45 dB. The average ratio over the six channels tested shall be at least 50 dB.

Refer to the latest version of CEA Standard 23-B, Section 5.1, Immunity of Subscriber Equipment to Co-channel Direct Pick-up, for the test procedure, test conditions, calibration and measurement procedure.

4.2.4 Impedance

The signal input shall be through a 75 ohm impedance coaxial connection.

4.2.5 Receiver Overload

When the receiving apparatus is subject to strong over-the-air signals, the spurious signals present within the IF passband shall be attenuated by at least:

  1. 55 dB below the visual carrier of the desired channel from 54 MHz to 550 MHz; and
  2. 51 dB below the visual carrier of the desired channel from 550 MHz to 804 MHz.

Refer to the latest version of CEA Standard 23-B, Section 5.3, Tuner Overload Performance, for the test procedure, test conditions, calibration and measurement procedure.

4.2.6 Image Channel Interference

The interference experienced by the receiving apparatus when tuned to a specific channel in the presence of another TV signal 90 MHz above the visual carrier of the tuned channel is referred to as image channel interference.

Any image frequency shall be attenuated by at least 60 dB on TV channels from 54 MHz to 714 MHz (inclusive), and by at least 50 dB for TV channels from 714 MHz to 804 MHz.

Refer to the latest version of CEA Standard 23-B, Section 5.2, Image Rejection, for the test procedure, test conditions, calibration and measurement procedure.

top of page

5. Reference Documents

ATSC A/53, ATSC Digital Television Standard, Parts 1-6, 3 January 2007

ATSC A/65, ATSC Standard: Program and System Information Protocol for Terrestrial Broadcast and Cable, August 2013

ATSC A/69, ATSC Recommended Practice: Program and System Information Protocol Implementation Guidelines for Broadcasters, December 2009

BTS-3, Broadcasting Transmission Standard: Television Broadcasting, Issue 2, December 1997

CEA Standard 23-B, Measurement Procedures for Determining Compliance with FCC Rules for “Cable-Ready Consumer Electronics Equipment", April 2010

IEEE Standard 187-2003, Measurement Methods of Emissions from FM and Television Broadcast Receivers in the Frequency Range of 9 kHz to 40 GHz, 2003

International Special Committee on Radio Interference (CISPR), Pub. 32, Electromagnetic compatibility of multimedia equipment – Emission requirements, Edition 1.0, 2012

ITU-R Recommendation BT.471-1, Nomenclature and description of colour bar signals

top of page

RSS Feed

Get notified when we post new content.

RSSNew Document Releases

View a list of all our RSS Feeds.

NTMR-7 — Normes et exigences techniques applicables aux appareils de radiocommunication pouvant recevoir des télédiffusions

3e édition
Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 12 mars 2015

Préface

Le présent document établit les normes et les exigences techniques applicables aux appareils de radiocommunication munis d’un syntoniseur du Comité de systèmes de télévision évolués (Advanced Television Systems Committee [ATSC]) ou du Comité du système de télévision national (National Television System Committee [NTSC]) (ou les deux) qui peuvent recevoir des télédiffusions, et qui sont destinés à la vente ou à la revente au grand public.

Le matériel fabriqué ou importé aux seules fins de réexportation, de prototypage, de démonstration, d’exposition ou de mise à l’essai n’a pas à être conforme aux normes et aux exigences techniques du présent document.


1. Généralités

Le présent document s’applique à tous les appareils de radiocommunication munis de syntoniseurs ATSC ou NTSC (ou les deux) qui peuvent recevoir des télédiffusions (téléviseurs, boîtiers décodeurs de conversion numérique analogique, magnétoscopes à cassettes, enregistreurs de DVD, enregistreurs vidéo numériques, etc.), et qui sont destinés à la vente ou à la revente au grand public. Ces appareils doivent être conformes aux normes et aux exigences techniques établies dans le présent document.

La NTMR-7 ne s’applique pas aux appareils conçus pour recevoir des télédiffusions numériques mobiles qui relèvent de normes comme l’ATSC M/H (Advanced Television Systems Committee — Mobile/Handeld). Toutefois, si certains de ces dispositifs sont également conçus pour recevoir des télédiffusions visées par le présent document, ils doivent être conformes aux exigences et aux normes techniques applicables qui y sont établies.

haut de la page

2. Définitions

Les définitions suivantes entrent en vigueur au moment de la publication de la présente NTMR-7.

2.1 Comité du système de télévision national (National Television System Committee [NTSC]) : Comité qui a établi les normes de production et de diffusion (en direct) des signaux de télévision couleur analogique au Canada et aux États-Unis. Veuillez consulter le document intitulé NER-3 — Télédiffusion pour connaître les normes applicables aux systèmes de télédiffusion analogique au Canada.

2.2 Comité de systèmes de télévision évolués (Advanced Television Systems Committee [ATS]) : Comité formé pour établir les normes techniques applicables aux systèmes de télévision de pointe. Il a défini les normes de télédiffusion pour la télévision numérique (TVN) au Canada et aux États-Unis. Veuillez consulter les documents des normes de l’ATSC (section 5) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

2.3 Appareil de réception de télévision numérique :Récepteur de télévision muni d’un syntoniseur ATSC pour recevoir des signaux de télédiffusion numérique. Il peut syntoniser des canaux numériques VHF et UHF en direct.

2.4 Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique : Récepteur muni d’un syntoniseur NTSC, pour recevoir les signaux de télédiffusion analogique, et d’un syntoniseur ATSC, pour les signaux de télédiffusion numérique. Il peut syntoniser des canaux analogiques et numériques VHF et UHF en direct et il peut être connecté à un câblodistributeur par une borne d’entrée de câble coaxial.

2.5 Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique câblocompatible :Récepteur muni d’un syntoniseur NTSC, pour la réception des signaux de télédiffusion analogique, et d’un syntoniseur ATSC, pour la réception des signaux de télédiffusion numérique. Il peut syntoniser des canaux analogiques et numériques VHF et UHF en direct. Il est conçu pour être connecté à un câblodistributeur par une borne d’entrée de câble coaxial.

2.6 Type (aux fins du présent document) : Un des nombreux appareils similaires fabriqué conformément à une conception électronique particulière et à un modèle physique donné, pouvant faire l’objet d’améliorations et de modifications mineures qui n’en diminuent pas le rendement.

2.7 Câblodistributeur : Entreprise qui reçoit des radiodiffusions et les retransmet par ondes radioélectriques ou par d’autres moyens de télécommunications à au moins deux résidences permanentes ou temporaires, unités d’habitation ou autres entreprises similaires.

2.8 CW : Signal d’onde entretenu sans modulation.

2.9 FI : Fréquence intermédiaire.

2.10 Rayonnement non essentiel : Rayonnement indésirable touchant au moins une fréquence hors de la largeur de bande nécessaire du canal voulu.

2.11 Canaux à fréquence médiane : Neuf canaux qui sont couramment désignés par les lettres A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H et I, et qui sont utilisés dans la bande de 120 à 174 MHz.

2.12 Canaux de la bande supérieure : Quatorze canaux qui sont couramment désignés par les lettres J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V et W, et qui sont utilisés dans la bande de fréquences de 216 à 300 MHz.

2.13 Canaux à ondes décimétriques (UHF) : Canaux qui sont désignés par les chiffres de 14 à 69, et qui sont utilisés dans la bande de 470 à 806 MHz.

2.14 Canaux à ondes métriques (VHF) : Canaux qui sont désignés par les chiffres de 2 à 13,et qui sont utilisés dans les bandes de 54 à 72 MHz, de 76 à 88 MHz et de 174 à 216 MHz.

haut de la page

3. Essais et étiquetage

3.1 Avant d’importer ou de mettre en vente au Canada tout appareil de radiocommunication visé par la section 1 ci dessus, ou d’en proposer l’utilisation, le fabricant ou l’importateur doit s’assurer que l’appareil ou un échantillon de production, ou un modèle représentatif de celui-ci, a été soumis à des essais de conformité selon les normes et les exigences techniques applicables établies dans le présent document.

3.2 Tout fabricant ou importateur visé par la section 3.1 doit :

  1. envoyer par courriel, dans un fichier PDF, (bets_ntmr_notifs@ic.gc.ca) au directeur général de la Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes d’Industrie Canada un avis attestant que l’appareil satisfait aux exigences établies dans le présent document, et comportant la marque et le numéro de modèle/ type de l’appareil;
  2. conserver pendant cinq ans tous les résultats des essais effectués, conformément à la section 3.1, et sur demande, mettre ceux-ci à la disposition du ministre de l’Industrie;
  3. envoyer un exemplaire imprimé des documents susmentionnés par la poste à l’adresse suivante (comme alternative, si désiré) :

Directeur général
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes
Industrie Canada
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5
Canada

3.3 Les fabricants et les importateurs visés par la section 3.1 doivent s’assurer au moment de l’importation ou avant la mise en vente (selon le cas) que chaque appareil du type offert porte une étiquette ou une marque apposée de façon permanente à un endroit facilitant l’inspection et comportant l’inscription suivante (en anglais et en français) :

  1. appareil de réception de télévision numérique (décrit à la section 2.3) :
    « Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision numérique, Canada BETS-7 / NTMR-7 »;
  2. appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique (décrit à la section 2.4) :
    « Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique, Canada BETS-7 / NTMR-7 »;
  3. appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique câblocompatible (décrit à la section 2.5) :
    « Cable Compatible Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique câblocompatible, Canada BETS-7/NTMR-7 ».

Pour les appareils dotés d’un écran d’affichage intégral (non amovible), une étiquette électronique peut être utilisée à la place d’une étiquette physique afin de satisfaire aux exigences ci-dessus. Reportez-vous au lien suivant pour obtenir des instructions supplémentaires sur l'étiquetage électronique : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ceb-bhst.nsf/fra/tt00099.html.

3.4 Tout appareil qui ne porte pas d’étiquette apposée de façon appropriée (conformément à la section 3.3) est considéré comme non conforme aux normes et aux exigences établies dans ce document.

haut de la page

4. Normes et exigences techniques

Les appareils qui comportent un écran intégré pour visualiser l’image diffusée (p. ex., les téléviseurs) doivent satisfaire à toutes les exigences liées à la définition figurant à la section 2.4 ou 2.5, afin de s’assurer que l’appareil peut recevoir des signaux de télédiffusion analogique.

Les appareils qui ne comportent aucun affichage incorporé peuvent être associés aux définitions figurant aux sections 2.3, 2.4 ou 2.5.

4.1 Exigences applicables à tous les appareils de réception de télévision

4.1.1 Exigences relatives à la sélection des canaux

Chaque syntoniseur NTSC doit recevoir des signaux de télédiffusion transmis par un radiodiffuseur en direct, et ce, dans tous les canaux VHF et UHF. Les syntoniseurs NTSC pouvant se connecter à un câblodistributeur doivent également prendre en charge les canaux des bandes moyenne et supérieure.

Chaque syntoniseur ATSC doit recevoir des signaux de télédiffusion transmis par un radiodiffuseur en direct, et ce, dans tous les canaux VHF et UHF.

4.1.2 Facteur de bruit

Nota : Cette exigence ne s’applique pas aux fonctions qui assurent la réception de signaux de télévision numérique.

Le bruit interne créé par un récepteur est souvent exprimé en tant que facteur de bruit. Ce facteur représente la quantité efficace de bruit créé par le circuit d’entrée d’un récepteur, mesurée par rapport à une limite physique de bruit connue sous les termes « bruit thermique », et en fonction de l’entrée du récepteur.

Le facteur de bruit ne doit pas excéder 14 dB pour tout canal de télévision UHF. Si un syntoniseur comporte un répartiteur intégré, un assouplissement de 4 dB doit être appliqué à cette limite.

4.1.3 Limites d’émissions rayonnées

L’intensité de champ des émissions rayonnées produites par un appareil à une distance de 3 m ne doit pas excéder :

  1. 100 µV/m, dans la gamme de fréquences de 30 à moins de 88 MHz;
  2. 150 μV/m, dans la gamme de fréquences de 88 à moins de 216 MHz;
  3. 200 μV/m, dans la gamme de fréquences de 216 à moins de 960 MHz;
  4. 500 μV/m, dans la gamme de fréquences supérieures à 960 MHz.

S’ils ne respectent pas les limites ci dessus, les appareils doivent être conformes aux normes figurant dans l’édition 1.0, 2012, de la publication 32 du Comité international spécial des perturbations radioélectriques (CISPR), intitulée Compatibilité électromagnétique des équipements multimédia – Exigences d’émission.

Le signal d’essai de télévision est le signal de barre de couleur normalisé, conformément à la recommandation de l’Union internationale des télécommunications, l’UIT-R BT.471-1.

En ce qui a trait à la méthode de mesure, veuillez consulter la version 2003 de la norme IEEE 187 traitant des méthodes de mesure des émissions provenant de récepteurs FM et de récepteurs de télédiffusion dans la gamme de 9 kHz à 40 GHz (partie de la section 7 applicable aux récepteurs de télédiffusion). La fréquence des essais doit permettre la mesure des niveaux d’émission maximaux dans la gamme de 30 MHz à 1 GHz. Les mesures doivent être prises dans six canaux espacés également d’un bout à l’autre de la gamme d’entrée des radiofréquences requise.

4.1.4 Réception de télévision numérique

4.1.4.1 Décodeur

Le récepteur doit pouvoir recevoir et afficher le contenu d’émissions codé dans tout format vidéo pris en charge selon le document ATSC A/53 (voir section 5).

4.1.4.2 Traitement des données PSIP

L’appareil doit traiter et afficher les données PSIP (protocole d’information de programme et de système) visées par la norme ATSC A/65 (en anglais seulement), afin de fournir à l’utilisateur des données sur le canal syntonisé et les émissions. Pour de plus amples renseignements, voir la norme ATSC A/69 (en anglais seulement).

4.2 Exigences supplémentaires applicables aux appareils de réception de télévision câblocompatibles

La présente section ne s’applique qu’aux appareils étiquetés « Cable Compatible Analog and Digital Television Receiving Apparatus — Appareil de réception de télévision analogique et numérique câblocompatible, Canada BETS-7 / NTMR-7 » conformément à la section 3.3 c). En outre, les exigences suivantes s'appliquent spécialement à la partie analogique dudit appareil.

4.2.1 Émissions par conduction à l’entrée de câble

Si le récepteur est connecté à un câblodistributeur, le niveau de tout signal d’oscillateur local et de tout signal indésirable ou parasite généré à l’intérieur de l’appareil et entrant dans les bornes d’entrée de câble de celui-ci, ce niveau ne doit pas excéder :

  1. -26 dBmV, de 54 à 300 MHz inclusivement;
  2. -20 dBmV, de 300 à 450 MHz inclusivement;
  3. -15 dBmV, de 450 à 804 MHz inclusivement.

Veuillez consulter la section 4.1, Cable Input Conducted Emissions, de la version la plus récente de la norme 23 B de la CEA, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures et les conditions d’essai, ainsi que sur les procédures d’étalonnage et de mesure.

4.2.2 Brouillage par les canaux adjacents

En présence d’un signal à CW dans un canal adjacent inférieur réglé à 1,5 MHz sous la fréquence de la porteuse image du signal voulu, une atténuation d’au moins 55 dB sous la porteuse image du signal doit être appliquée aux signaux parasites dans la bande passante à FI.

Veuillez consulter la section 5.4, Lower Adjacent Channel Performance, de la plus récente version de la norme 23 B de la CEA, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures et les conditions d’essai, ainsi que sur les procédures d’étalonnage et de mesure.

4.2.3 Brouillage par réception en direct

Les exigences liées à l’immunité applicables aux appareils de réception de télévision câblocompatibles reposent sur le rapport entre le champ ambiant de brouillage voulu et le champ ambiant de brouillage indésirable dans le même canal à la bande passante de FI, rapport qui doit être d’au moins 45 dB. Le rapport moyen des six canaux mis à l’essai doit être d’au moins 50 dB.

Veuillez consulter la section 5.1, Immunity of Subscriber Equipment to Co-Channel Direct Pick-up, de la version la plus récente de la norme 23 B de la CEA, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures et les conditions d’essai, ainsi que sur les procédures d’étalonnage et de mesure.

4.2.4 Impédance

L’entrée du signal doit être un connecteur coaxial d’une impédance de 75 ohm.

4.2.5 Surcharge du récepteur

Si l’appareil de réception est soumis à des signaux en direct puissants, les signaux parasites dans la bande passante à FI doivent être atténués comme suit :

  1. au moins de 55 dB sous la porteuse image du canal voulu, entre 54 et 550 MHz;
  2. au moins de 51 dB sous la porteuse image du canal voulu, entre 550 et 804 MHz.

Veuillez consulter la section 5.3, Tuner Overload Performance, de la version la plus récente de la norme 23 B de la CEA, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures et les conditions d’essai, ainsi que sur les procédures d’étalonnage et de mesure.

4.2.6 Brouillage par le canal conjugué

On appelle « brouillage par le canal conjugé », le brouillage qui survient lorsqu’un appareil de réception est syntonisé à un canal particulier en présence d’un autre signal de télévision excédant de 90 MHz la porteuse image du canal syntonisé.

Une atténuation d’au moins 60 dB doit être appliquée sur toute fréquence-image dans les canaux de télévision de 54 à 714 MHz inclusivement, et une atténuation d’au moins 50 dB doit être appliquée sur toute fréquence-image dans les canaux de télévision de 714 à 804 MHz.

Veuillez consulter la section 5.2, Image Rejection, de la plus récente version de la norme 23 B de la CEA, pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures et les conditions d’essai, ainsi que sur les procédures d’étalonnage et de mesure.

haut de la page

5. Ouvrages de référence

ATSC A/53, ATSC Digital Television Standard, parties de 1 à 6, 2007 (en anglais seulement)

ATSC A/65, ATS Standard: Program and System Information Protocol for Terrestrial Broadcast and Cable, août 2013 (en anglais seulement)

ATSC A/69, ATSC Recommended Practice: Program and System Information Protocol Implementation Guidelines for Broadcasters, décembre 2009 (en anglais seulement)

NER-3 - Télédiffusion, 2e édition, décembre 1997

Norme 23-B de la CEA, Measurement Procedures for Determining Compliance with FCC Rules for "Cable-Ready Consumer Electronics Equipment", avril 2010 (en anglais seulement)

Norme 187 de l’IEEE, Measurement Methods of Emissions From FM and Television Broadcast Receivers in the Frequency Range of 9 kHz to 40 GHz, 2003 (en anglais seulement)

Comité international spécial des perturbations radioélectriques (CISPR), publication 32, Compatibilité électromagnétique des équipements multimédia – Exigences d’émission, édition 1.0, 2012

Recommandation UIT-R BT.471-1, Nomenclature et description des signaux de barre de couleur

haut de la page

Fil RSS

Soyez informé lorsque nous affichons du nouveau contenu.

RSSPublication de nouveaux documents

Voir la liste de tous nos fils RSS.