Attachment C to Arrangement A — Frequency Usage for Vessel Traffic Systems in the General Vancouver/Seattle Area

Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

Effective Date: August 2, 1976

In Reply Refer To: 6350

Mr. M.F. Yalden
Deputy Minister of Communications
Department of Communications
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1A 0C8

Dear Mr. Yalden:

Please refer to your letter 4003-4-22 of May 31, 1976. You proposed an agreement regarding frequency usage for Vessel Traffic Systems in the general Vancouver/Seattle area.

We have considered your proposal and accept it effective today.

I am pleased that we have reached an agreement in this matter.

Sincerely yours,

Richard E. Wiley
Chairman

[Note: While Channels 11, 12 and 74 are primarily for Canadian use and Channels 13 and 14 for U.S. use, technical details on the proposed use of the above channels should be forwarded to the U.S. in the same manner as heretofore for their information and comments.]


300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

May 31, 1976

4003-4-22

Mr. Richard E. Wiley
Chairman
Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554
USA

Dear Mr. Wiley,

This refers to the USA/Canada bilateral meeting on maritime mobile communications that was held in Ottawa on February 18–19, 1975, and particularly to Working Paper 3 attached to the minutes of that meeting which was entitled, "Vessel Traffic Systems".

This paper, which relates to the coordination between our Administrations of the frequencies for ship movement included in Appendix 18 Mar 2 of the International Radio Regulations, was revised as a result of discussions between our officials on May 6, 1975 and April 12, 1976. A copy of the revised paper was sent to Mr. Gordon Hempton of your staff on April 21.

I am pleased to advise you that the frequency arrangement described in the paper has been approved in Canada and it is now sent to you for your consideration. If you agree, I would recommend that this document become effective on the date of your reply.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by André Lapointe

M.F. Yalden


Vessel Traffic Systems

1. Present Operation

a) Canadian System

The Department of Transport has established a Vessel Traffic Management Centre in West Vancouver, B.C. The Centre is equipped with MF and VHF transmission and receiving facilities situated locally and at remote sites.

The area of operation covers the western coastal waters of Canada, east of Vancouver Island, including the Straits of Juan De Fuca and portions of Queen Charlotte Sound. For reporting purposes the Vancouver Traffic Zone involved is divided into three sectors:

Area of Operations
Sector
#1 Canadian waters from a line joining Carmanah light and Tatoosh Island light to a line joining Race Rocks light Ediz Hook light, Port Angeles Channel 11 156.55 MHz
#2 Canadian waters inside Vancouver Island commencing from a line joining Race Rocks light and Ediz Hook light to a line joining Triangle Island and Cape Caution Channel 11 156.55 MHz
#3 All those waters inside a line commencing at the Iona breakwater to Cower Point Channel 12 156.60 MHz

All vessels under the control of this system will transmit a message to the Vancouver Traffic Centre at designated calling-in points. A record of such reports will be maintained at the Centre and vessels reporting to the Centre will be advised of traffic reported. As all participating vessels will be on the same VHF frequency during their passage through each sector, masters or pilots will have additional information as to traffic patterns, the approximate location of each vessel and its intended movement.

b) U.S. System

The Puget Sound Vessel Traffic System is operated by the U.S. Coast Guard of the Department of Transportation. It is comprised of two major components, a traffic separation scheme, and a vessel movement reporting system.

The separation scheme consists of a network of one-way traffic lanes, separation zones in-between, and precautionary areas. The traffic lanes are each 1000 yards wide, and are separated by 500 yard wide separation zones.

The vessel movement reporting system is based upon a VHF communications network maintained continuously by the Coast Guard Vessel Traffic Centre in Seattle, Washington. This centre will process information received from vessels in required and voluntary reports and will, in turn, disseminate navigational safety information to vessels participating in the system.

The Vessel Traffic System area consists of the navigable waters of the United States in the Strait of Georgia, Haro Strait, and the Strait of Juan de Fuca that are east of the line of demarcation, and Rosario Strait, Bellingham Bay, Padilla Bay, Admiralty Inlet, Puget Sound, Possession Sound, Elliot Bay, Hood Canal, Commencement Bay, the Narrows west of Tacoma, Carr Inlet, Case Inlet, and navigable waters adjacent to these areas.

All vessels in this Vessel Traffic System Area are required to continuously monitor the designated frequency of 156.65 MHz (channel 13) and this frequency is used to transmit and receive vessel movement data and other marine safety information. The Vessel Traffic Centre will maintain a continuous guard on channel 13 and channel 16 (156.80 MHz), the distress, safety and calling frequency.

Four remote RCVR/XMTR sites are located around Puget Sound area for total coverage:

  1. Bahokus Peak .......... 1600 FT.
  2. Mount Constitution ... 2750 FT.
  3. Cold Mountain .......... 1900 FT.
  4. West Point .............. 100 FT.

At Port Angeles the U.S. Coast Guard occasionally uses channel 12 for the broadcast of weather and other marine information.

2. Future Plans of the Department of Transport

During the next five years, the Department of Transport plans to extend its Vessel Traffic Management System to the northern and southern coastal waters of British Columbia by the addition of two traffic zones and an additional sector to the Vancouver Traffic Zone.

  1. Tofino Traffic Zone

    This zone will cover the Canadian waters west of Vancouver Island (west of sector two of Vancouver Traffic Zone). By the use of channel 11 (156.55 MHz), each vessel will transmit a message giving certain basic navigation information at the critical points during her passage. As all participating vessels will be on the same VHF channel during passage, every vessel will have additional information as to traffic pattern, the approximate location of each vessel and its intended movement.

  2. Prince Rupert Traffic Zone

    This zone controls the Canadian waters north of Vancouver Island between a line joining Triangle Island with Cape Caution, and the Alaska/British Columbia border. (North of sector #3 of Vancouver Traffic Zone.) The operation of this zone and the assigned frequency is identical to the Tofino Traffic Zone.

  3. Fraser River Traffic Sector

    This sector covers the main arm of the Fraser River between Sandheads Light and Port Mann Bridge. The frequency proposed for use in this sector is channel 74 (156.725 MHz). The operating procedure is the same as for the Tofino Traffic Zone.

3. Availability of Frequencies for Vessel Traffic System

Marine traffic control is presently classified as Ship Movement Service in the I.T.U. Radio Regulations. Referring to Appendix 18 of I.T.U. VHF frequencies in the Maritime Mobile Service, the preferred channels for Ship Movement Service are: channels 11, 12, 13, 14, 68, 69, 71, 74, 79, 80. However, it is noted that channels 68 and 69 are already assigned to other marine services on the west coast of Canada, and only channels 11, 12, 13, 14 are available for VTS in the United States at the present time.

4. Arrangements

  1. The channels 11, 12, 74 and others if required, to be used for the Canadian Vessel Traffic System.
  2. Channels 13 and 14, and others if required, to be used for the Puget Sound Vessel Traffic System.
  3. The U.S. Coast Guard will discontinue the use of channel 12 at Port Angeles.
Date modified:

Annexe C de l'Arrangement A — Utilisation des fréquences pour les systèmes de gestion du trafic maritime dans l'ensemble de la région de Vancouver-Seattle

Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

Date d'effet : Le 2 août 1976

Notre référence : 6350

Monsieur M.F. Yalden
Sous-ministre des Communications
Ministère des Communications
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada K1A 0C8

Monsieur,

Je donne suite à votre lettre du 31 mai 1976 portant la référence 4003-4-22, dans laquelle vous proposez une entente relative à l'utilisation des fréquences pour les systèmes de gestion du trafic maritime dans l'ensemble de la région de Vancouver-Seattle.

Nous avons examiné votre proposition et nous l'acceptons, avec effet aujourd'hui même.

Je suis heureux que nous soyons arrivés à un accord à ce sujet.

Veuillez recevoir, Monsieur, nos salutations distinguées.

Le président,

Richard E. Wiley

[Remarque : Même si les voies 11, 12 et 74 sont essentiellement réservées au Canada et les voies 13 et 14, aux États-Unis, les détails techniques relatifs à l'utilisation proposée de ces voies doivent être communiqués aux États-Unis selon les modalités appliquées jusqu'à maintenant, pour information et observations.]


300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

Le 31 mai 1976

4003-4-22

Monsieur Richard E. Wiley
Président
Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554
États-Unis

Monsieur,

Nous donnons suite à la réunion bilatérale tenue à Ottawa les 18 et 19 février 1975, entre les États-Unis et le Canada, sur les communications mobiles maritimes, et en particulier au document de travail no 3 joint au procès-verbal de cette réunion sous le titre « Vessel Traffic Systems ».

Ce document, qui porte sur la coordination, entre nos gouvernements, des fréquences pour le trafic maritime dont il est question à l'Appendice 18 Mar 2 du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT, a été révisé à la suite d'entretiens tenus entre nos représentants le 6 mai 1975 et le 12 avril 1976. Un exemplaire du document révisé a été transmis à M. Gordon Hempton, membre de votre personnel, le 21 avril.

Je suis heureux de vous faire savoir que le plan de répartition des fréquences exposé dans le document a été approuvé par le Canada et vous est communiqué pour étude. Si vous êtes d'accord, je recommanderais que ce document prenne effet à la date de votre réponse.

Veuillez recevoir, Monsieur, nos salutations distinguées.

Original signé par André Lapointe

M.F. Yalden


Systèmes de gestion du trafic maritime

1. Situation actuelle

a) Système canadien

Le ministère des Transports a créé le Centre de gestion du trafic maritime dans l'Ouest de Vancouver (C.-B.). Ce centre est doté d'installations d'émission et de réception MF et VHF locales et éloignées.

Le rayon d'action de ce centre s'étend aux eaux côtières de l'Ouest du Canada, à l'est de l'île de Vancouver, y compris les détroits Juan de Fuca et une partie du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte. Pour les besoins des comptes rendus, la zone de Vancouver est répartie en trois secteurs :

  Secteur
No 1 Les eaux canadiennes à partir d'une ligne reliant le phare Carmanah et celui de Tatoosh Island jusqu'à une ligne reliant le phare de Race Rocks et celui d'Ediz Hooks, à Port Angeles Voie 11 156,55 MHz
No 2 Les eaux canadiennes situées à l'intérieur de l'île de Vancouver, à partir d'une ligne reliant le phare de Race Rocks et celui d'Ediz Hook jusqu'à une ligne reliant Triangle Island et Cape Caution Voie 11 156,55 MHz
No 3 Toutes les eaux situées à l'intérieur d'une ligne à partir des brisants d'Iona jusqu'à Cower Point Voie 12 156,60 MHz

Tous les navires régis par ce système doivent transmettre un message au Centre de gestion du trafic maritime de Vancouver à partir de certains points d'appel. Le Centre doit conserver un relevé de ces messages et faire connaître aux navires les mouvements signalés. En passant dans chaque secteur, tous les navires participants sont sur la même fréquence VHF, et les maîtres d'équipage ou les pilotes ont accès à des renseignements complémentaires sur les habitudes de trafic, la situation approximative de chaque navire et sa destination.

b) Système américain

Le Système de gestion du trafic maritime de Puget Sound est exploité par la Garde côtière américaine du ministère des Transports. Il se compose de deux grands sous-systèmes : un système de séparation du trafic et un système de compte rendu des mouvements des navires.

Le système de séparation est constitué d'un réseau de couloirs de déplacement à sens unique, de zones de séparation intermédiaires et de zones de précaution. Les couloirs de déplacement ont chacun 1 000 verges de largeur; ils sont isolés par des zones de séparation de 500 verges de largeur.

Le système de compte rendu des mouvements des navires repose sur un réseau de communications VHF géré en permanence par le Centre de gestion du trafic maritime de la Garde côtière, à Seattle (Washington). Ce centre traite l'information transmise dans les rapports obligatoires et facultatifs des navires, puis diffuse les renseignements sur la sécurité de la navigation parmi les navires qui participent au système.

Le rayon d'action du Système de gestion du trafic maritime s'étend aux eaux navigables américaines des détroits de Georgia, Haro et Juan de Fuca à l'est de la ligne de démarcation, ainsi que de Rosario, Bellingham Bay, Padilla Bay, Admiralty Inlet, Puget Sound, Possession Sound, Elliot Bay, Hood Canal et Commencement Bay, du passage à l'ouest de Tacoma, de Carr Inlet, de Case Inlet et des eaux navigables situées dans le voisinage de ces zones.

Tous les navires qui se trouvent dans cette zone du Système de gestion du trafic maritime doivent surveiller en permanence la fréquence 156,65 MHz (voie 13), qui sertà émettre et à recevoir les données sur le trafic maritime et d'autres éléments d'information sur la sécurité en mer. Le Centre de gestion du trafic maritime assurera la surveillance permanente de la voie 13 et de la voie 16 (156,80), soit la fréquence de détresse, de sécurité et d'appel.

Quatre installations RCVR/XMTR sont situées dans le voisinage de Puget Sound pour assurer un rayonnement complet :

  1. Bahokus Peak . . . . . . .1 600 PIEDS
  2. Mount Constitution . . . 2 750 PIEDS
  3. Cold Mountain . . . . . . 1 900 PIEDS
  4. West Point . . . . . . . . . 100 PIEDS

À Port Angeles, la Garde côtière américaine utilise parfois la voie 12 pour transmettre des données météorologiques et maritimes.

2. Projets du ministère des Transports

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, le ministère des Transports compte étendre son Système de gestion du trafic maritime aux eaux côtières situées au nord et au sud de la Colombie-Britannique en ajoutant deux zones de trafic et un autre secteur à la zone de trafic de Vancouver.

  1. Zone de trafic de Tofino

    Cette zone s'étendra aux eaux canadiennes situées à l'ouest de l'île de Vancouver (soit à l'ouest du secteur no 2 de la zone de trafic de Vancouver). Grâce à la voie 11 (156,55 MHz), chaque navire pourra émettre un message comportant certaines données de navigation essentielles au moment de son passage à certains endroits critiques. Puisque tous les navires participants seront sur la même voie VHF à ce moment, ils auront accès à des renseignements complémentaires sur les habitudes de déplacement, la situation approximative de chaque navire et sa destination.

  2. Zone de trafic de Prince Rupert

    Cette zone englobe les eaux canadiennes situées au nord de l'île de Vancouver entre une ligne reliant Triangle Island et Cape Caution, ainsi que la frontière entre l'Alaska et la Colombie-Britannique (au nord du secteur no 3 de la zone de trafic de Vancouver). L'exploitation de cette zone et la fréquence attribuée relèvent de la zone de trafic de Tofino.

  3. Secteur de trafic du Fraser

    Ce secteur s'étend au bras principal du Fraser, entre Sandheads Light et Port Mann Bridge. La fréquence proposée pour ce secteur correspond à la voie 74 (156,725 MHz). La méthode d'exploitation est la même que pour la zone de trafic de Tofino.

3. Disponibilité des fréquences pour le Système de gestion du trafic maritime

À l'heure actuelle, le contrôle du trafic maritime relève de la catégorie du service du trafic maritime selon le Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT. Conformément à l'Appendice 18 sur les fréquences d'émission pour les stations du service mobile maritime de l'UIT, il faut utiliser de préférence, pour le service du trafic maritime, les voies 11, 12, 13, 14, 68, 69, 71, 74, 79 et 80. Toutefois, on fait observer que les voies 68 et 69 sont déjà attribuées à d'autres services maritimes de la côte ouest du Canada et qu'à l'heure actuelle, seules les voies 11, 12, 13 et 14 sont accessibles pour le système VTS aux États-Unis.

4. Plan de répartition

  1. Les voies 11, 12, 74 et d'autres, le cas échéant, doivent être utilisées pour le Système canadien de gestion du trafic maritime.
  2. Les voies 13, 14 et d'autres, le cas échéant, doivent être utilisées pour le Système de gestion du trafic maritime de Puget Sound.
  3. La Garde côtière des États-Unis cesse d'utiliser la voie 12 à Port Angeles.