Special Coordination Procedure for the Use of Frequencies 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz for Paging Operations in the United States Between Line A and the United States/Canada Border

Copies For: DOST-I LTR BK
CR FILE

1030-9

January 20, 1998

Ms. Regina M. Keeney
Chief, International Bureau
Federal Communications Commission
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C.
20554

Dear Ms. Keeney:

We received your correspondence dated January 8, 1998 along with the attached Special Coordination Procedure for the Use of Frequencies 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz for Paging Operations in the United States Between Line A and the United States/Canada Border. We have reviewed this document and find it to be acceptable.

Accordingly, I have attached your copy of the jointly signed new Special Coordination Procedure for the above noted frequencies. Thank you for your collaboration in this matter.

Please be advised that all future correspondence or concerns of this nature should be directed to my attention.

Sincerely yours,

Ronald G. Amero
Director, Space and International Regulatory Activities
Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Encl. (1)


Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

(202) 418-0420
(202) 418-2818(fax)

January 8, 1998

Mr. Michael D. Connolly
Director
Spectrum Management Operations Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Canada
K1A 0C8

Dear Mr. Connolly:

By letter dated November 6, 1996, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) requested that Industry Canada transfer the operating authority imparted by two previously issued Special Coordination Procedures (SCP) for paging operations to Airtouch Paging. Those SCPs, dated January 11, 1994 and March 20, 1995, had been issued to Beepage, Inc. and authorized its use of the frequencies, 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz, respectively, for paging operations in the U.S., north of Line A. Such use upon those frequencies by U.S. licensees in the border area is not generally permitted by the controlling Arrangement titled, Interim Coordination Considerations for the Band 929-932 MHz, signed September 14, 1983, as amended; thus dictating the need for the SCPs. The SCPs were jointly signed by our two Agencies upon demonstration by Beepage that arrangements had been successfully completed with its Canadian business associate, Prime Communications Corporation (Prime), and then followed up with our Agencies.

In response to that letter, your office on November 28, 1997 indicated by FAX that further changes would need to be included since pertinent Canadian paging licenses issued to Prime had in the interim been reassigned to Northstar Paging. It was further suggested that it might be more expeditious to generate a completely new SCP to factor in the aggregation changes that had occurred since the transfer process had been initially addressed. Taking your recommendations into account, a new SCP has been produced which consolidates the two earlier SCPs and incorporates the dual licensee changes. That document has been attached for your review. Also attached is correspondence signed by both Airtouch Paging and Northstar Paging, Ltd. which confirms that they have made the requisite joint agreement and will adhere to the SCP subject to the procedures and conditions specified therein.

Your concurrence with the Special Coordination Procedure is requested. After reviewing the attached, should you agree with the designated course of action, please confirm your acceptance of this document as an understanding between our two Agencies by signing the two attached copies and returning one signed copy of the SCP to the FCC. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

Sincerely yours,

Regina M. Keeney
Bureau Chief


Special Coordination Procedure for the Use of Frequencies 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz for paging operations in the United States between line A and the United States/Canada border

Recognizing that the priority use of the frequencies 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz for paging operations, pursuant to the Interim Coordination Considerations for the Band 929-932 MHz, as amended between Industry Canada and the Federal Communications Commission, remains with Canada;

Considering that Northstar Paging, Inc. in Canada and Airtouch Paging in the United States have been granted nationwide authority to use 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz in their respective countries; and

Considering that the Federal Communications Commission and Industry Canada each has agreed in principle to the arrangement between Northstar Paging, Inc. and Airtouch Paging as outlined in their letter dated August 1, 1997:

It is Agreed that:

The Federal Communications Commission may authorize the use of 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz for paging operations between Line A and the U.S./Canada border (hereinafter "the coordination zone"), to the U.S. licensee that has nationwide authority for use of those channels, provided that the following conditions are placed on such authorizations:

  • U.S. stations within the coordination zone established under this special procedure may be operated only in accordance with the technical criteria contained in the Interim Coordination Considerations for the Band 929-932 MHz;
  • agreement will be reached between the U.S. and the Canadian licensees for each proposed
  • U.S. station on 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz within the coordination zone before it is placed in operation;
  • the Canadian licensee has priority use of 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz in the border area and use of the frequencies by the U.S. licensee within the coordination zone must not adversely affect any Canadian operations;
  • no service may be offered by the U.S. licensee within Canada; and
  • in the event of any harmful interference from U.S. operations to Canadian operations on 929.4125 MHz and 929.4875 MHz within the coordination zone, the U.S. licensee would take immediate action to resolve the situation.

This procedure is accepted as an understanding between Industry Canada and the Federal Communications Commission and becomes effective on the date of signature by representatives of both agencies.



space to insert signature

Regina M. Keeney
Chief, International Bureau
Federal Communications Commission

Date: January 8, 1998


space to insert signature

M. D. Connolly
Director, Spectrum Management
Industry Canada

Date: January 16, 1998

Date modified:

Procédure de coordination spéciale concernant l'utilisation des fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875 MHz pour les exploitations de téléappel aux États-Unis entre la ligne A et la frontière canado-américaine

Copies pour : DOST-I LTR BK
Dossier CR

1030-9

le 20 janvier 1998

Mme Regina Keeney
Chef, International Bureau
Federal Communications Commission
2000 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C.
20554

Madame,

J'ai bien reçu votre lettre du 8 janvier 1998 accompagnée de la Procédure de coordination spéciale concernant l'utilisation des fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875 MHz pour les exploitations de téléappel aux États-Unis entre la ligne A et la frontière canado-américaine. Nous avons examiné le document et l'avons trouvé acceptable.

Par conséquent, j'ai joint à cet envoi votre copie de la nouvelle procédure de coordination spéciale relative aux fréquences mentionnées ci-dessus, portant les signatures réciproques pertinentes. Je vous sais gré de votre collaboration en la matière.

Je vous prie de noter que toute correspondance ou préoccupation de cette nature doit m'être adressée personnellement.

Je vous prie d'agréer l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Directeur
Activités de réglementation spatiale et internationale
Direction de la réglementation de la radiocommunication et de la radiodiffusion

Ronald G. Amero

p.j. (1)


Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

(202) 418-0420
(202) 418-2818 (Téléc.)

International Bureau

le 8 janvier 1998

M. Michael D. Connolly
Directeur
Opérations de gestion du spectre
Direction de la réglementation de la radiocommunication et de la radiodiffusion
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ont.)
Canada K1A 0C8

Monsieur,

Dans sa lettre du 6 novembre 1996, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) a demandé à Industrie Canada de transférer à Airtouch Paging l'autorité opérationnelle contenue dans deux procédures de coordination spéciale (PCS) publiées plus tôt relativement aux exploitations de téléappel. Ces PCS, datées du 11 janvier 1994 et du 20 mars 1995, avaient été accordées à Beepage Inc. autorisant l'utilisation des fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875 MHz, respectivement, pour des exploitations de téléappel aux États-Unis, au nord de la ligne A. Pareille utilisation de ces fréquences par des titulaires américains le long de la frontière n'est généralement pas permise par l'Arrangement de contrôle intitulé Considérations provisoires de coordination de la bande 929-932 MHz et signé, avec modifications, le 14 septembre 1983. Ceci explique pourquoi des PCS sont nécessaires. Les PCS ont été signées réciproquement par nos deux agences lorsque la société Beepage leur a démontré qu'elle avait conclu des arrangements avec son associé commercial canadien Prime Communications Corporation (Prime).

En réponse à cette lettre, votre bureau, le 28 novembre 1997, nous a fait savoir par télécopieur qu'il serait nécessaire de modifier de nouveau les arrangements d'autres changements étant donné que les licences canadiennes pertinentes de téléappel accordées à Prime avaient été réassignées entretemps à Northstar Paging. Votre bureau précisait en outre qu'il serait peut-être plus rapide de produire une PCS entièrement nouvelle pour bien refléter l'ensemble des changements survenus depuis l'amorce du processus de transfert. Nous avons suivi votre avis et avons produit une nouvelle PCS qui regroupe les deux procédures antérieures et intègre les changements visant les deux titulaires de licence. Nous avons joint ce document pour que vous puissiez en faire l'examen. Nous avons aussi joint de la correspondance signée tant par Airtouch Paging que par Northstar Paging Ltd. confirmant que ces entreprises ont conclu les arrangements réciproques nécessaires et qu'elles vont adhérer à la PCS avec l'engagement de respecter les procédures et les conditions qui y sont précisées.

Nous vous demandons de bien vouloir confirmer votre adhésion à la Procédure de coordination spéciale. Si vous êtes d'accord avec les mesures désignées dans le document d'accompagnement, vous voudrez bien nous faire part de votre acceptation d'un protocole d'entente entre nos deux Agences en signant les deux copies ci-jointes de la PCS et en en retournant une à la FCC. Nous vous remercions de votre collaboration.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Chef de l'International Bureau de la FCC

Regina M. Keeney


Procédure de coordination spéciale concernant l'utilisation des fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875  MHz pour les exploitations de téléappel aux États-Unis entre la ligne a et la frontière Canado-Américaine

Reconnaissant que la priorité d'utilisation des fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875 MHz pour les exploitations de téléappel appartient au Canada aux termes de l'entente intitulée Considérations provisoires de coordination de la bande 929-932 MHz et signée, après modifications, par Industrie Canada et la Federal Communications Commission;

Considérant que Northstar Paging Inc. au Canada et Airtouch Paging aux États-Unis ont reçu l'autorisation d'utiliser à l'échelle nationale les fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875 MHz dans leur pays respectif et

Considérant que la Federal Communications Commission et Industrie Canada ont tous deux approuvé en principe l'arrangement entre Northstar Paging Inc. et Airtouch Paging comme ils l'indiquent dans leur lettre du 1er août 1997;

il est CONVENU que :

La Federal Communications Commission peut autoriser l'utilisation des fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875 MHz pour les exploitations de téléappel entre la ligne A et la frontière canadoaméricaine (ci-après appelée « zone de coordination »), pour le titulaire américain qui a l'autorisation d'utiliser ces voies à l'échelle nationale pourvu que les conditions suivantes accompagnent ces autorisations :

  • les stations américaines situées dans la zone de coordination établie en vertu de la procédure spéciale peuvent être exploitées uniquement en conformité avec les critères techniques contenus dans le document Considérations provisoires de coordination de la bande 929-932  MHz;
  • une entente devra être conclue entre les titulaires de licence américains et les titulaires de licence canadiens pour chaque station américaine dont on propose l'exploitation sur les fréquences 929,4125 MHz et 929,4875 MHz à l'intérieur de la zone de coordination, avant l'entrée en service;
  • le titulaire canadien aura la priorité d'utilisation des fréquences 929,4125 et 929,4875 MHz le long de la frontière et l'utilisation de ces fréquences par le titulaire de licence américain dans la zone de coordination ne doit pas perturber les exploitations canadiennes;
  • aucun titulaire de licence américain ne peut offrir de service au Canada;
  • si les exploitations américaines causent du brouillage préjudiciable aux stations canadiennes exploitées sur 929,4125 et 929,4875 MHz dans la zone de coordination, le titulaire de licence américain devra prendre des mesures immédiates pour corriger la situation.

Cette procédure est acceptée en tant que protocole d'entente entre Industrie Canada et la Federal Communications Commission et entre donc en vigueur à la date de signature des représentants des deux agences.

Champ de saisie de la signature
Regina M. Keeney
Chef, International Bureau
Federal Communications Commission

Date : le 8 janvier 1998

Champ de saisie de la signature
M.D. Connolly
Directeur, Gestion du spectre
Industrie Canada

Date : le 16 janvier 1998