RP-010 — Policy Guidelines Concerning the Transfer of Radio Licences

June 1988

1. Intent

This document contains the radio systems policy guidelines under which a radio licence may be transferred from the current licensee to a new licensee pursuant to the sale of the equipment/apparatus/associated business. These policy guidelines do not apply to the Amateur Service, Municipal Service or General Radio Service.

2. Introduction

In fulfilling its mandate to foster the orderly development of communications in Canada, Communications Canada issues guidelines from time to time clarifying radio station licensing conditions. Gazette Notice No. DGTP-001-87 dated March 14, 1987 and entitled Policy Guidelines Concerning the Transfer of Radio Licences was published for public comment in the Canada Gazette, Part 1. After a review and analysis of the submissions received, Communications Canada is now issuing this radio systems policy.

Accordingly, Communications Canada is releasing a set of conditions pertaining to the transfer of licences. For example, these conditions would apply pursuant to the sale of radio apparatus/equipment, either as one minor aspect of an overall sale of an ongoing business, or as the result of the transfer/sale of assets from a receiver to another company/individual through bankruptcy proceedings.

3. Radio Station Licence

A radio station licence represents an authorization by the Minister of Communications under the Radio Act to a specified licensee, permitting that licensee to establish a radio station or install, operate or have in his possession a radio apparatus. The radio licence is the means of identifying authorized users and facilitating orderly use of the spectrum. A licence does not confer any right of continued tenure in respect of a frequency nor any guarantee of a continued right to operation.

The Minister of Communications may issue licences for such terms and under such conditions as are considered appropriate for ensuring the orderly development and operation of radio communications in Canada.

4. Policy Guidelines

4.1 Generally, transfers of radio licences involving radio systems authorized to use a frequency which is time-shared among a group of users and/or are in areas of relatively non-congested frequency use will be approved.

4.2 In certain cases, however, where the number of applicants exceeds the frequencies available, i.e. where frequencies are in short supply, transfers will be subject to a much more careful and thorough review and could require further evaluation according to specific criteria.

4.3 When the physical assets comprising the radio apparatus/equipment are bought and sold as a normal commercial exchange between vendor and purchaser, the authorized frequency pertinent to the transaction, which may be only one of a complement of frequencies specified on a given licence, may not be automatically transferred.

4.4 Normally, no licence will be transferred within 12 months of the initial licence issuance date or before the radio facilities authorized by that licence are installed and in operation, whichever occurs first.

4.5 The General Radio Regulations, Part II do not permit the transfer of a licence for a station performing an Amateur Service, Municipal Service or General Radio Service.

4.6 For public commercial and restricted public commercial licence transfers, the system must be developed and be providing service to subscribers. In addition, at the time of sale, the buyer must meet any telecommunications policy conditions which are then in force including conditions pertaining to Canadian ownership. For a private commercial licence transfer, if only the radio equipment is purchased and not the business served by the radio system, the request will normally be considered as a new system.

4.7 The Department considers it to be essential that the transfer of one licensee's apparatus to another does not imply the "purchase" of a radio station licence. Having purchased such radio apparatus, the new owner must meet the Department's normal licensing conditions/requirements. In the event the purchaser fails to satisfy the conditions/requirements governing a transfer, however, a new application will be required and the frequency formerly assigned may or may not be reassigned to the new owner.

4.8 Having conformed with establishment policies and procedures, it is incumbent upon applicants for transfers, in the case of national or inter-regional systems, particularly those involving large numbers of radio units and multiple frequencies and/or stations, to submit a comprehensive business plan detailing arrangements for the development of the channel(s) affected.

4.9 A clear indication, preferably in the form of a written statement, from the former licensee concurring to the transfer of the licence(s), and the original of the licence(s) to be transferred must be provided.

4.10 In the case of bankruptcy proceedings the purchaser, with the consent of the trustee, must apply to the Department for frequencies and conform with the normal eligibility requirements.

5. Implementation

These radio system guidelines for transfer of licences will become effective June 17, 1988.

Issued under the authority of the
Minister of Communications

Richard Stursberg
Assistant Deputy Minister
Telecommunications and Technology

Date modified:

PR-010 — Lignes de conduite et politique concernant le transfert des licences radio

Juin 1988

1.0 Objet

Dans le présent document, Communications Canada expose des lignes directrices qui s'appliquent relativement à une licence radio qui peut être transférée à un nouveau titulaire par suite de la vente de l'équipement, de l'appareil de radiocommunications ou de l'entreprise. Ces lignes directrices ne sont pas applicables au service amateur, au service municipal ou au service radio général.

2.0 Introduction

En exécution de sa mission, à savoir assurer le développement ordonné des communications au Canada, Communications Canada émet, le cas échéant, des lignes de conduite pour préciser les modalités selon lesquelles on délivre une licence aux stations de radiocommunications.

L'avis numéro DGTP-001-87, daté du 14 mars 1987, et intitulé Lignes de conduite et politique concernant le transfert des licences radio, a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, et le public a été invité à faire part de ses observations. L'étude et l'analyse des observations présentées en réponse à cet avis étant terminées, Communications Canada publie maintenant la présente politique.

C'est pourquoi Communications Canada établit une série de conditions régissant les transferts de licence. Par exemple, ces conditions s'appliqueraient par suite de la vente d'un appareil ou d'un équipement de radiocommunications, de la vente globale d'une entreprise toujours en exploitation ou du transfert ou de la vente des biens gérés par un syndic à une autre entreprise ou à un particulier en exécution de la procédure de règlement d'une faillite.

3.0 Licence de station radio

Par licence de station de radiocommunications, on entend l'autorisation que la ministre des Communications, aux termes de la Loi sur la radio, donne aux titulaires de licence visés d'établir une station de radiocommunications ou d'installer, d'exploiter ou d'avoir en sa possession un appareil de radiocommunications. La licence radio sert à identifier les utilisateurs autorisés et facilite l'utilisation ordonnée en ce qui concerne le spectre. Une licence n'accorde aucun droit de puissance permanent au titulaire d'une fréquence ni aucune garantie à un droit permanent d'exploitation.

La ministre des Communications a le pouvoir de délivrer des licences suivant les modalités qu'il juge propres à assurer le développement et l'exploitation ordonnés des radiocommunications au Canada.

4.0 Lignes directrices

4.1 En règle générale, le Ministère approuvera les transferts des licences radio touchant des réseaux hertziens autorisés à fonctionner à des fréquences partagées par un groupe d'usagers et/ou qui ont trait à l'utilisation de fréquences dans les régions relativement peu encombrées du spectre.

4.2 Toutefois, dans certains cas, c'est à dire lorsque les fréquences sont rares, où le nombre de requérants est supérieur aux fréquences disponibles, les transferts feront l'objet d'une étude plus attentive et plus approfondie et il pourrait être nécessaire de faire une autre évaluation conformément à des critères précis.

4.3 Quand des biens matériels comprenant un appareil ou un équipement de radiocommunications sont achetés et vendus à titre d'échange commercial normal entre le vendeur et l'acheteur, la fréquence autorisée qui a rapport à la transaction, qui peut être uniquement une fréquence provenant d'un complément de fréquences spécifiés sur une licence donnée ne pourrait pas automatiquement être transférée.

4.4 Normalement, aucune licence ne sera transférée moins de 12 mois après la date de délivrance de la licence initiale ou avant que les installations radio autorisées en vertu de la licence soient en place et opérationnelles, la première des deux dates prévalant.

4.5 Le Règlement général sur la radio, Partie II, ne permet pas le transfert de la licence d'une station assurant un service amateur, un service municipal ou un service radio général.

4.6 En ce qui a trait au transfert de licences de service public commercial et de service public commercial restreint, le système visé doit être développé et effectivement employé pour assurer un service d'abonné. En plus, au temps de la vente, l'acheteur doit rencontrer les normes de politique de télécommunications qui sont en place comprenant les conditions touchant la propriété canadienne. Lorsque la demande de transfert portera sur une licence de service commercial privée, et que seul l'équipement sera acheté et non pas le service assuré, le réseau radio sera considéré comme nouveau.

4.7 Le Ministère juge indispensable que le transfert des appareils d'un titulaire de licence à un autre titulaire de licence ne vise pas simplement l'achat d'une licence de station de radiocommunications. Ayant fait l'acquisition d'appareils de ce type, le nouveau propriétaire doit satisfaire aux conditions/demandes habituelles d'après lesquelles le Ministère délivre une licence. Au cas où l'acheteur ne satisferait pas les conditions/demandes régissant les transferts, le Ministère exigera le dépôt d'une nouvelle demande et décidera de réassigner ou non au nouveau propriétaire la fréquence touchée par le transfert.

4.8 En plus d'observer les politiques et les procédures établies, il incombera aux auteurs des demandes de transfert concernant un système national ou interrégional, tout particulièrement s'il inclut un grand nombre de stations radio, des fréquences multiples et/ou des stations à usagers multiples, de présenter un plan complet d'exploitation et de croissance des voies visées par le transfert.

4.9 Il faudra en outre fournir une déclaration préférablement écrite de l'ancien titulaire de la licence par laquelle il est en accord avec le transfert, et l'original de la licence à transférer.

4.10 Dans les cas de procédures de faillite, l'acheteur, d'un commun accord avec le syndic, doit solliciter du MDC l'autorisation d'utiliser les fréquences et doit satisfaire aux critères d'admissibilité habituels.

5.0 Mise en vigueur

Ces lignes directrices concernant le transfert des licences radio seront mises en vigueur les17 juin 1988.

Publication autorisée par la Ministre des Communications

Richard Stursberg
Le Sous-ministre adjoint,
Télécommunications et technologie

Date de modification :