RP-007 — Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Service Via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market

2nd edition
March 1999

Table of Contents


Related Documents

RP–023 Spectrum and Licensing Policy to Permit Ancillary Terrestrial Mobile Services as Part of Mobile-Satellite Service Offerings

SP 1–3 GHz Amendments to the Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the 1–3 GHz Frequency Range

DGRB–006–96 Spectrum Licence Fees For Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Below 1 GHz

DGRB–001–97 Radio Authorization Fees for Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Below 1 GHz

DGRB–001–98 Spectrum Licence Fees For Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Above 1 GHz


Notice Number DGTP–003–99

Revisions to the Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market

Introduction

The purpose of this Notice is to announce changes to the policy respecting the provision of mobile satellite services in the Canadian market.

Background

In February 1998, Industry Canada amended the Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market (Radio Systems Policy 007) through Canada Gazette Notice DGTP–001–98. This amendment implemented commitments made by Canada to the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Basic Telecommunications with respect to mobile satellite services. Subsequently, Bill C-17, An Act to Amend the Telecommunications Act and the Teleglobe Canada Reorganization and Divestiture Act, made amendments to the Telecommunications Act which exempt satellite earth stations from the Canadian ownership and control provisions of Section 16 of the Act.

In October 1998, a Proposed Amendment to the Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Services was published in the Canada Gazette Notice DGTP–014–98, to solicit public comments on the consequential changes to the mobile satellite service licensing policies. In particular, the proposed policy amendment would remove the Canadian ownership and control requirement from service providers, that are radiocommunication carriers of mobile satellite services as proposed by Regulations Amending the Radiocommunication Regulations published in the Canada Gazette Part I on October 10, 1998.

In response to the solicitation for public comment, eight timely submissions were received representing a broad range of interests. All respondents except one were supportive of the proposed change, stating that it meets the objectives of further liberalizing the licensing regime for mobile satellite services. The policy change was seen as fostering a greater access to international markets for Canadian operators and service providers through reciprocal liberalizations.

Policy Revision

Having regard to the public submissions received and the amendment being made to the Radiocommunication Regulations, Industry Canada amends the first criterion of Section 2 of the present Mobile Satellite Service Policy Framework (RP–007) to read:

"the applicant (service provider) must be eligible to be issued a radio licence or a spectrum licence under the Radiocommunication Regulations;".

This Canada Gazette Notice and the amended Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market (RP–007) is available electronically on the Internet at:

World Wide Web (WWW)
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

March 12, 1999

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


Notice Number DGTP–001–98

Amendments to the Mobile Satellite Policy Framework to Implement Canada's Commitment to the WTO Basic Agreement in Telecommunications

This Notice announces amendments to the Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services Via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market (RP–007) promulgated on November 5, 1994 by Notice DGTP–001–94. These amendments are intended to bring into effect changes required by Canada's acceptance in the World Trade Organization (WTO) to the multilateral agreement on basic telecommunications services, entitled the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) reached in February 1997.

Specifically, the Department rescinds the provision of the Policy Framework effective February 5, 1998 that requires the Canadian licensee for the provision of mobile satellite services in Canada to hold an equity share in the entity owning the satellite system at least proportional to the expected Canadian usage. The Policy Framework is further amended effective February 5, 1998 with respect to the routing of mobile satellite services which will be liberalized between points within Canada, and between Canada and points in the United States. However, until October 1, 1998, mobile satellite services between Canada and points outside Canada and the United States must be routed through the designated overseas carrier.

This Notice also announces the release of a revision to the Policy Framework which contains the amendments stated above, in addition to some further changes to update the policy provisions for the licensing of regional and global mobile satellite systems.

This Canada Gazette Notice and the referenced publication are available electronically via the Internet at the following addresses:

World Wide Web (WWW)
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

Copies of the subject document are also available from the Communications Branch, Industry Canada, 235 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5, (613) 947–7466, and from the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver.

February 13, 1998

 

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


1. Introduction

The purpose of this policy framework is to permit the orderly provision of mobile satellite services via regional and global satellite systems in the Canadian market which are, in whole or in part, foreign owned and authorized. The policy framework is applicable to those regional and global satellite systems for which there is no licence or other authorization issued under the Radiocommunication Act for the satellite portion of the system1. This policy framework was initially promulgated on November 5, 1994 and has been revised through the issuance of Canada Gazette Notice, DGTP–001–98, promulgated on February 21, 1998.

Since the promulgation of the 1994 Policy Framework considerable progress is evident in the development of global and regional mobile satellite services. Canada has now authorized several Canadian service providers for mobile satellite services in Canada in accordance with the 1994 Policy Framework.

In February 1997, the World Trade Organization (WTO) established a multilateral agreement on basic telecommunications services, entitled the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS). Canada was one of 69 countries participating in this agreement. With respect to mobile satellites, Canada agreed to the following provisions in terms of ownership and telecommunications routing:

  • mobile satellite systems owned and controlled up to a level of 100% by a foreign service provider may be used by a Canadian service provider to provide services in Canada;
  • routing of mobile satellite services between points in Canada, and between Canada and points in the United States will be unrestricted;
  • as of October 1, 1998, routing of all mobile satellite services will be unrestricted (i.e. overseas routing — between Canada, and points outside the United States and Canada will not be limited to a specific service provider(s)).

This policy framework has been developed, in particular, for the guidance of potential future providers of mobile satellite services having regional or global coverage capabilities, and providing domestic mobile satellite services within Canada or services between Canada and other countries. Entities proposing to utilize Canadian satellite facilities to offer mobile satellite services between or among countries other than Canada are not restricted by Canadian policy, but would be subject to the regulatory regimes of the country or countries to be served. However, many countries have opened access to their markets for foreign owned mobile satellite services through the WTO GATS agreement. The aim of the policy framework is to enable Canadians to benefit fully from these regional or global mobile satellite systems.

The Department, in reviewing and modifying its policies, continues to have regard to the objectives set out in Section 7 of the Telecommunications Act. The Minister of Industry may also have regard to these objectives in exercising his or her powers under the Radiocommunication Act. Access to high quality telecommunications services must be offered to Canadians if they are available competitively and if their introduction would provide demonstrable benefits to Canadians. Through the use of mobile satellite systems, Canadians could have a greater choice of communications services, and users in remote and rural areas of Canada would, in particular, benefit from access to better and more affordable communications services.

2. Policy Framework

The following policy framework for the commercial provision of mobile satellite services via current and proposed regional and global mobile satellite systems (utilizing satellites in either geostationary or non-geostationary orbits) is herewith adopted.

Under the powers conferred by the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister will consider and, at his or her discretion, grant radio licences in respect of applications for the radio apparatus in mobile terminals, fixed gateway earth stations, and the telemetry, tracking and command stations which form part of the regional or global mobile satellite system. Also, under the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister may issue a spectrum licence, which is an authority in respect of the utilization of specified radio frequencies within a defined geographic area. As well, the Minister may fix the terms and conditions of any such licence.

Any radio apparatus licences or spectrum licence issued to an applicant proposing to offer such mobile satellite services in Canada would be subject to certain licence eligibility, technical and policy conditions. The following are criteria against which applications will be assessed and licence conditions developed:

  • the applicant (service provider) must be eligible to be issued a radio licence or a spectrum licence under the Radiocommunication Regulations2;
  • the mobile satellite system used by the Canadian licensee may be owned and controlled up to a level of 100% by a foreign service provider;
  • the routing of mobile satellite services is liberalized between points within Canada, and between Canada and points in the United States. However, until October 1, 1998, mobile satellite services between Canada and points outside Canada and the United States must be routed through the designated overseas carrier3;
  • spectrum policy requirements with respect to allocation, utilization and efficiency, orderly deployment and co-existence with other radio services authorized for use in the bands including any policy put in place to effect the displacement of existing services, must be met; and
  • spectrum management, including frequency coordination with existing and planned Canadian stations, and type approval considerations must be satisfied with respect to all radio apparatus.

In addition to the foregoing, applications for the above radio licences may also be assessed according to a number of factors, including but not restricted to:

  • the extent to which the proposed mobile satellite operation will provide access to reliable, affordable, high quality telecommunications services in all regions of Canada;
  • commitments for the use of Canadian telecommunications facilities, to the extent that the use of such facilities is consistent with the optimal provision of the mobile satellite services, having regard to such factors as service reliability, service quality, and consumer pricing;
  • the prospects for stimulating Canadian research and development and technological innovation; and
  • the ability of potential entrants in the mobile satellite services field to ensure that the public's demands for more efficient and sophisticated telecommunications services are accompanied by appropriate safeguards for the privacy of individual users.

Furthermore, the licensing, under the Radiocommunication Act, of individual Canadian registered mobile satellite subscriber terminals4 (and the operation of foreign registered terminals) for a regional or global mobile satellite communications system, will be facilitated by, for example, enabling the successful applicant to hold the licences for the terminals, provided that5:

  • the Canadian registered mobile terminals are registered for use on the system through a Canadian service provider and meet the appropriate Canadian technical specifications; and
  • the non-Canadian registered mobile terminals are duly authorized in their home country.

3. Implementation

This revision to the policy takes effect on February 5, 1998. It should be noted, however, that spectrum allocation and utilization policies, as well as frequency coordination and other considerations, may need to be resolved in various frequency bands before mobile satellite systems are implemented.

Issued under the Authority of the Radiocommunication Act

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy


1 Applicants for licences for the satellite portion of a mobile satellite system may refer to Client Procedures Circular 2–6-06 (CPC-2–6-06), Guidelines for the Submission of Applications to Provide Mobile Satellite Services in Canada and to License Subscriber Earth Stations. These Guidelines also provide information for the application of this Policy Framework (RP–007) and are available electronically on the Internet at: World Wide Web (WWW) Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

2 Canada Gazette Notice DGTP–003–99.

3 Teleglobe Canada retains the status as the sole provider of overseas facilities-based telecommunications until October 1, 1998.

4 In this context, "registered" means that the mobile unit has been made the subject of an agreement between the user (thereafter the "subscriber") and a (Canadian, or non-Canadian, as the case may be) service provider.

5 At the time of this publication, Canada is participating in a forum of the International Telecommunications Union developing an arrangement for the roaming of mobile satellite terminals. When completed, this arrangement for Global Mobile Personal Communications by Satellite will be taken into account in the modification of the requirements given in this Section.

PR-007 — Cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux

2e révision
mars 1999

Table des matières


Documents de référence

  • RP–023 Politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences visant à permettre l'exploitation de services mobiles auxiliaires de Terre dans le cadre d'offres de services mobiles par satellite
  • SP1–3GHz Modifications aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1–3 GHz
  • DGRB–006–96 Droits de licence de spectre concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio inférieures à 1 GHz
  • DGRB–001–97 Droits d'autorisation radio concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio inférieures à 1 GHz
  • DGRB–001–98 Droits de licence de spectre concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio supérieures à 1 GHz

Avis Numéro DGTP–003–99

Modification du cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux

Introduction

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la modification de la politique de prestation des services mobiles par satellite au Canada.

Contexte

En février 1998, Industrie Canada a modifié le Cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux (Politique des systèmes radio 007) en publiant l'avis DGTP–001–98 dans la Gazette du Canada. Cette modification concrétisait les engagements que le Canada a pris avec l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), dans le cadre de l'accord sur les services de télécommunication de base et relativement aux services mobiles par satellite. Par la suite, le projet de loi C-17, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les télécommunications et la Loi sur la réorganisation et l'aliénation de Téléglobe Canada modifiait la Loi sur les télécommunications de manière à exempter les stations terriennes de télécommunication par satellite des dispositions de l'article 16, touchant la propriété et le contrôle canadiens.

En octobre 1998, l'avis DGTP–014–98 intitulé une Proposition de modifications au cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite a été publiée dans la Gazette du Canada afin de solliciter les observations du public sur la modification conséquente des règles d'octroi de licences de services mobiles par satellite. En vertu de cette modification, les fournisseurs de services ne seraient plus tenus d'être la propriété de Canadiens ou sous contrôle canadien, dans la mesure où ces fournisseurs sont des transporteurs de radiocommunications offrant des services mobiles par satellite conformément à la définition contenue dans la proposition de Règlements modifiant le Règlement sur la radiocommunication publiée dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 10 octobre 1998.

En réponse à la sollicitation d'observations du public, on a reçu, dans les délais, huit mémoires représentant un vaste éventail d'intérêts. Tous les répondants sauf un appuyaient la modification proposée, précisant qu'elle répondait à l'objectif visant à poursuivre la libéralisation du régime d'octroi de licences de services mobiles par satellite. Les répondants considéraient que la nouvelle règle allait permettre aux exploitants et fournisseurs de services canadiens de mieux percer les marchés internationaux, car elle favoriserait l'adoption de mesures de libéralisation réciproques.

Modification de la politique

Compte tenu des observations reçues du public et des modifications apportées au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, Industrie Canada modifie comme suit le premier critère de l'article 2 de l'actuel cadre de politique sur les services mobiles par satellite (PR–007) :

« le requérant (fournisseur de service) doit être admissible à l'octroi d'une licence radio ou d'une licence de spectre, en vertu du Règlement sur la radiocommunication; ».

Le présent avis de la Gazette du Canada et le nouveau Cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux (PR–007) sont accessibles sur Internet à l'adresse suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

le 12 mars 1999

Le directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm
Industrie Canada


Avis Numéro DGTP–001–98

Modifications apportées au cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite afin de mettre en oeuvre l'engagement du Canada relativement à l'accord de l'OMC en matière de télécommunications de base

Le présent avis annonce les modifications apportées au Cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux (PR–007), dont la promulgation a été faite dans l'avis DGTP–001–94 paru le 5 novembre 1994. Ces modifications visent à mettre en vigueur les changements requis par l'acceptation par le Canada de l'accord multilatéral sur les services de télécommunications de base de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce intitulé Accord général sur le commerce des services (GATS), intervenu en février 1997.

Plus particulièrement, le Ministère annule, à compter du 5 février 1998, la disposition du Cadre de politique qui exige que les titulaires de licence canadiens désirant assurer des services mobiles par satellite au Canada détiennent une action participative dans l'entité qui possède le système à satellites au moins proportionnelle à l'utilisation que l'on compte faire du système au Canada. De plus, le Cadre de politique est modifié à compter du 5 février 1998 relativement à l'acheminement des services mobiles par satellite, qui seront libéralisés entre les emplacements canadiens et entre le Canada et des emplacements situés aux États-Unis. Cependant, d'ici le 1er octobre 1998, les services mobiles par satellite entre le Canada et des emplacements situés à l'extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis devront être acheminés par l'intermédiaire de l'entreprise de télécommunication outre-mer officiellement désignée.

Par cet avis, le Ministère annonce également la publication d'une révision du Cadre de politique qui renferme les modifications énoncées ci-dessus ainsi que certains autres changements afin de mettre à jour les dispositions d'orientation sur la délivrance de licence à l'égard des systèmes mobiles à satellites régionaux et mondiaux.

Le présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada et la publication donnée en référence sont disponibles en version électronique sur Internet à l'adresse suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

Des copies du document indiqué en objet sont également disponibles auprès de la Direction générale des communications, Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5, (613) 947–7466, et auprès des bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver.

le 13 février 1998

Le directeur général de la Politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm


1. Introduction

Le présent cadre de politique vise à permettre la prestation ordonnée de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux, possédés en tout ou en partie et autorisés par des étrangers. Ce cadre s'applique aux systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux pour lesquels une licence en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication n'est pas délivrée pour la portion satellite du système1. Le présent cadre de politique a été initialement promulgué le 5 novembre 1994, puis révisé par l'avis DGTP–001–98 paru dans la Gazette du Canada avec promulgation le 21 février 1998.

Depuis la promulgation du cadre de politique en 1994, les services mobiles par satellite régionaux et mondiaux ont manifestement connu un développement considérable. Ainsi, le Canada a maintenant autorisé plusieurs fournisseurs de services canadiens à assurer des services mobiles par satellite au Canada, conformément aux dispositions du cadre de politique de 1994.

En février 1997, l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) a conclu un accord multilatéral sur les services de télécommunication de base dans le cadre de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (GATS). Le Canada a été l'un des 69 pays signataires de cet accord. En ce qui concerne les services mobiles par satellite, le Canada a donné son assentiment aux dispositions suivantes en matière de propriété et d'acheminement des télécommunications :

  • les fournisseurs de services canadiens qui font la prestation du service au Canada pourront utiliser des systèmes mobiles à satellites possédés et contrôlés à 100 % par un fournisseur de services étranger;
  • il n'y aura pas de restriction à l'acheminement des services mobiles par satellite entre des destinations au Canada et entre le Canada et des destinations aux États-Unis;
  • à compter du 1eroctobre 1998, il n'y aura pas de restriction à l'acheminement de l'ensemble des services mobiles par satellite (acheminement outre-mer — entre le Canada et des destinations à l'extérieur des États-Unis, et le Canada ne sera pas limité à un fournisseur de services particulier).

Le présent cadre de politique a été élaboré notamment pour guider les fournisseurs éventuels de services mobiles par satellite qui peuvent assurer une couverture régionale ou mondiale et qui assurent des services mobiles par satellite (SMS) au Canada ou des services entre le Canada et l'étranger. Les entités qui proposent d'utiliser les installations des satellites canadiens pour offrir des services mobiles par satellite entre ou parmi des pays autres que le Canada ne sont pas limitées par la politique canadienne, mais elles peuvent être assujetties aux régimes réglementaires du pays ou des pays à servir. Cependant, de nombreux pays ont ouvert leur marché à la prestation de services mobiles par satellite possédés par des étrangers, par l'intermédiaire de l'Accord GATS de l'OMC. Le cadre de politique vise à garantir que les Canadiens profiteront pleinement de ces systèmes mobiles à satellites régionaux et mondiaux.

Le Ministère, en révisant et modifiant ses politiques, continue de viser la réalisation des objectifs présentés à l'article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications. Le ministre de l'Industrie peut aussi tenir compte de ces objectifs dans l'exercice des pouvoirs que lui confère la Loi sur la radiocommunication. L'accès à des services de télécommunication de haute qualité doit être offert aux Canadiens si ces services sont concurrentiels et si leur mise en oeuvre leur offre des avantages manifestes. Grâce à l'utilisation de systèmes mobiles à satellites, les Canadiens pourraient jouir d'un plus vaste choix de services de télécommunication et les utilisateurs des régions rurales et éloignées du Canada pourraient notamment avoir accès à de meilleurs services de télécommunication à un coût moindre.

2. Cadre de politique

Le cadre de politique exposé ci-dessous, concernant la prestation commerciale de services mobiles par satellite, assurés au moyen de systèmes mobiles à satellites (géostationnaires ou non géostationnaires) régionaux et mondiaux, existants ou projetés, est maintenant adopté.

En vertu des pouvoirs que lui confère la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le ministre examinera et, à son gré, délivrera des licences à l'égard du matériel radio des stations mobiles, des stations de transit fixes terriennes, et des stations de télémesure, de poursuite et de commande, qui font partie d'un système mobile à satellites régional ou mondial. De plus, en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le ministre peut délivrer une licence de spectre, c'est-à-dire une autorisation relative à l'utilisation de fréquences radioélectriques données à l'intérieur d'une zone géographique définie. Le ministre peut également établir les conditions de telles licences.

Toutes les licences pour les appareils radio délivrées à un requérant qui propose d'offrir de tels services mobiles par satellite au Canada seront assujetties à certaines conditions liées à l'admissibilité, aux paramètres techniques et à la politique. Voici les critères qui serviront à évaluer les demandes et à élaborer les conditions de licence :

  • le requérant (fournisseur de service) doit être admissible à l'octroi d'une licence radio ou d'une licence de spectre, en vertu du Règlement sur la radiocommunication;2
  • le système mobile à satellites utilisé par le titulaire de licence canadien peut être possédé et contrôlé entièrement par un fournisseur de services étranger;
  • l'acheminement de services mobiles par satellite est libéralisé entre les destinations au Canada et entre le Canada et des destinations aux États-Unis. Cependant, d'ici le 1er octobre 1998, les services mobiles par satellite entre le Canada et des destinations en dehors du Canada et des États-Unis doivent être acheminés par l'intermédiaire de l'entreprise de télécommunication outre-mer officiellement désignée;3
  • il faut respecter les exigences des politiques d'utilisation du spectre relatives à l'attribution des fréquences, à l'utilisation efficace du spectre, à la mise en oeuvre ordonnée des systèmes et à la coexistence avec les autres services radio dont l'exploitation dans les bandes visées a été autorisée, y compris toute politique mise en place pour réaliser le déplacement de services existants;
  • enfin, tous les appareils radio doivent satisfaire aux dispositions concernant la gestion du spectre, y compris la coordination des fréquences avec les stations canadiennes existantes ou projetées, et l'homologation.

L'évaluation des demandes de licences radio sera fondée sur le respect des conditions ci-dessus. Les demandes pourront également être examinées en fonction d'autres facteurs, y compris :

  • la mesure dans laquelle l'exploitation proposée des services mobiles par satellite donnera accès à des services de télécommunication fiables, abordables et de grande qualité dans toutes les régions du Canada;
  • les engagements relatifs à l'utilisation d'installations de télécommunication canadiennes dans la mesure où cette utilisation est compatible avec la prestation optimale de services mobiles par satellite, compte tenu de facteurs comme la fiabilité, la qualité et le prix à la consommation des services;
  • les possibilités de stimuler la recherche, le développement et les innovations technologiques au Canada;
  • enfin, la capacité des nouveaux venus éventuels sur le marché des services mobiles par satellite de garantir que les services de télécommunication plus efficaces et perfectionnés offerts en réponse aux demandes de la population soient accompagnés de garanties quant à la protection de la vie privée des utilisateurs.

En outre, la délivrance de licences, en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, à l'égard des terminaux d'abonnés du service mobile par satellite canadiens et enregistrés4 assurant des services mobiles par satellite au moyen de systèmes de télécommunication à satellites régionaux et mondiaux (et l'exploitation de terminaux du service mobile enregistrés à l'étranger), sera facilitée, notamment en permettant au requérant retenu de détenir les licences visant les terminaux, sous réserve que5:

  • les terminaux du service mobile canadien soient enregistrés pour fins d'exploitation sur le système par l'intermédiaire du fournisseur canadien et respectent les conditions techniques canadiennes pertinentes;
  • les terminaux du service mobile étranger enregistrés soient dûment autorisés dans leur pays d'origine.

3. Mise en oeuvre

La présente révision de la politique entre en vigueur le 5 février 1998. Il faut toutefois souligner que les questions d'attribution des fréquences, des politiques d'utilisation du spectre et de coordination des fréquences, ainsi que toute autre question pertinente, pourraient devoir être réglées avant la mise en oeuvre de tout système mobile de communications par satellite.

Publié sous l'autorité de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Directeur général de la Politique des télécommunications
Michael Helm

1 Les requérants de licence pour la portion satellite d'un système mobile à satellites peuvent consulter la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2–6–06 (CPC-2–6–06), intitulée Lignes directrices concernant la soumission des demandes pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada et pour obtenir les licences des stations terriennes d'abonné. Ces Lignes directrices renferment également de l'information sur l'application du cadre de politique (PR–007), dont on peut consulter la version électronique à l'adresse Internet suivante : Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

2 Avis DGTP–003–99 de la Gazette du Canada.

3 D'ici le 1er octobre 1998, Téléglobe Canada demeure la seule entreprise attitrée pour assurer officiellement des services de télécommunications avec l'étranger au moyen d'installations qu'elle possède.

4 Aux fins de la présente, « enregistré » signifie que la station mobile a fait l'objet d'une entente entre l'utilisateur (ci-après l'« abonné ») et un fournisseur de services (canadien ou autre, selon le cas).

5 Au moment où cette procédure a été publiée, le Canada participait à un colloque de l'Union internationale des télécommunications pour conclure un arrangement sur l'itinérance des terminaux du service mobile par satellite. Une fois adopté, cet arrangement visant la prestation de services mobiles de communications personnelles mondiales par satellite sera pris en considération dans la modification des exigences prévues dans cette section.