RP-013 — Spectrum Utilization Policy on the Use of Certain Public Correspondence Bands in Canada (GLMRS)

October 1988

Table of Contents

  1. Intent
  2. Introduction
  3. Policy

Related Documents


1. Intent

The purpose of this document is to specify the Spectrum Utilizatin Policy for current and future use of very high frequency (VHF) and ultra high frequency (UHF) radio frequency spectrum formerly licensed exclusively to telephone companies for public correspondence General Land Mobile Radiotelephone Service (GLMRS). General land mobile radiotelephone systems provide a low capacity two-way radiocommunication service originating from or terminating at a mobile radio transceiver, on groups of radio channels used exclusively for interconnection to the public switched network.

2. Introduction

In 1982, the Department authorized the establishment of two national cellular radio service providers while at the same time sub-allocating for their use 40 MHz of North American compatible spectrum in the band 806-890 MHz. Since its introduction at that time, cellular radio has shown significant public acceptance resulting in an appreciable, continuing rate of growth with every indication that cellular radio will eventually supercede the provision of radiotelephone services by GLMRS systems in terms of subscribers served and quality of service.

With regard to the designed GLMRS channels, it is worth noting that, while they are set aside on a Canada-wide basis for this purpose, there are some areas in the country where they are not utilized. There is also a significant demand in many areas (particularly rural) for their use for the replacement of local loops (copper wire circuits from the switching centre to the subscribers premises) to assist in the provision of basic telephone service in remote areas. Recently, applicants have been able to secure interconnection with the public switched network and have consequently shown interest in providing competitive GLMRS services. In light of the foregoing, it was timely to review the longer term need for the continuation of older and less efficient radiotelephone systems. With this objective in mind, a paper entitled "Spectrum Utilization Policy on the Use of Certain Public Correspondence Bands in Canada" (RP 013) was released for public comment as noted in the Canada Gazette in February, 1988. This paper raised a number of issues and made a number of policy proposals concerning the continuing operation of existing GLMRS systems.

Taking into account the comments received in response to RP 013, it has become apparent that there is a need to up-date and clarify the Department's policies with respect to the utilization of the spectrum which was dedicated to GLMRS. The policies outlined in this document will apply effective with the release of this document.

3. Policy

3.1 Use of the frequencies described in Annex 2, Part (b) is hereby withdrawn for GLMRS purposes. No further applications for the establishment of GLMRS systems on these frequencies will be authorized. Future disposition of these frequencies will be dealt within in the Department's project, currently underway, reviewing use of the radio frequency spectrum between 30-890 MHz.

3.2 In those areas where cellular radio has been, or will soon be implemented, the VHF GLMRS channels listed in Annex 2, Part (a) will continue to be authorized, but only to existing service providers. However, in those areas listed in Annex 1, Parts (a) and (b), where GLMRS has been or will be withdrawn, the Department will henceforth assign these channels for the expansion of large capacity land mobile systems and other spectrum efficient systems and, subject to channel availability, give preference to operations encompassing the widest possible service areas.

3.3 The Department wishes to encourage the provision of mobile radiotelephone service in areas which are underserved or which are currently not served with any radiotelephone services. Therefore, subject to technical availability of frequency channels, applications for authority to provide a mobile public correspondence radiotelephone service in unserved areas or areas not likely to receive cellular service in the near future, will be accepted from any party, including non-telephone company applicants on a first-come, first-served basis. Authority granted for such operation will be for the use of frequencies listed in Annex 2, Part (a). These channels may also be authorized for local loop replacement from rural or remote telephone subscribers to the public switched network. As these channels are allocated to the Mobile Service and local loop replacement is a fixed, not a mobile usage, the following priorities will be afforded each:

  • within 60 km of the boundaries of the areas noted in Annex 1, Parts (a) and (b), the Fixed Service will have secondary status and the Mobile Service will have primary status. Local loop replacement will not generally be authorized in these areas, but if authorized, only at the discretion of the Regional Director General, and then on a secondary basis;
  • between 60 and 120 km of the boundaries of the areas noted in Annex 1, Parts (a) and (b), the fixed local loop replacement use will be secondary and the mobile use primary. However, if the local loop replacement applicant can demonstrate to the Department that the general level of loading can be achieved (customers per 25 kHz or 30 kHz channel) as usually is the case with Mobile Service use, the local loop replacement will be given co-equal primary status with any mobile service use;
  • Further than 120 km from the boundaries of the areas noted in Annex 1, Parts (a) and (b), Fixed and Mobile Service use will be afforded co-equal primary status in assignment.

3.4 The channels previously identified in Annex 2, Part (c) for use by GLMRS have already been withdrawn from GLMRS in areas where they were noted used, pursuant to the policy changes contained in Document SP 450 MHz (formerly SP 300.4). The spectrum utilization for those channels is given in detail in the principal document (SP 450 MHz), but it should be noted that they are generally to be used for wide area system employing spectrum efficient technologies.

3.5 While GLMRS systems were implemented in Canada on the channels identified in Annex 2, Part (d), they remained unused in some parts of the country. Furthermore, because of their GLMRS designation, other potential users were precluded from being licensed on these channels. Therefore, while the Department will permit existing GLMRS systems on the channels noted in Annex 2, Part (d) to continue to operate and grow to their design potential, no new GLMRS systems will be authorized on them.

The Department will henceforth assign these channels for the expansion of large capacity land mobile systems and other spectrum efficient systems (i.e. trunked) and, subject to channel availability, give preference to operations emcompassing the widest possible service areas.

At locations inside the boundaries of the areas listed in Annex 1 Parts (a) and (b), the frequencies listed in Part (d) of Annex 2 will be available to Mobile Services on a primary basis and to Fixed Services on a secondary basis. At locations outside of and extending to 60 km beyond those boundaries the same set of frequencies will be available to fixed systems used for the replacement of "local loop" systems for the extension of basic telephone service to rural and remote subscribers. While such fixed assignments will normally have secondary status in this zone, if it can be demonstrated to the Department that the number of subscriber main station terminals (Fixed Service) approximates or exceeds prescribed conventional mobile loading criteria, they could, at the discretion of the Regional Director General be given co-equal primary status with Mobile Services. At the present time, the prescribed conventional mobile system loading criteria is generally 75 mobiles per 25 kHz duplex channel. Other Fixed Services not associated with the extending of basic telephone service will only be authorized with secondary status in this zone. At distance beyond 60 km from the areas listed in Annex 1, Parts (a) and (b), Mobile and Fixed Services will be afforded co-equal primary status and assignments will be made on a first-come, first-served basis.

At the discretion of the Regional Director General, consideration may be given to requests to modify any of the provisions of the foregoing to meet particular local needs.

The licensing of all such services, which require interconnection to the public switched network would be subject to prior decisions and approvals of the appropriate regulatory authority and is intended to provide a basic form of mobile or fixed subscriber radiotelephone communications.

top of page

Annex 1

The following areas describe in general terms those areas of spectrum utilization against which alternate users of current VHF and UHF GLMRS radio frequency spectrum will be evaluated:

  1. Areas of Intensive Use

    Golden Horseshoe Area (Metro Toronto, Hamilton, Brampton, Newmarket, St. Catharines), Vancouver/Victoria area, Metro Montreal area, Metro Edmonton and Metro Calgary.
  2. Areas of Moderate Use

    Kitchener, Brantford, London, Windsor, Ottawa-Hull, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, St. John's, Quebec, Saint John, Regina, Saskatoon, Halifax, Sherbrooke, Winnipeg, Chicoutimi-Jonquière, Trois-Rivières and zones immediately surrounding the areas of intensive use.
  3. Areas of Light Use

    This includes all areas not specified in (a) or (b) above.

For further information, consult the Department's District or Regional offices.

top of page

Annex 2

Frequencies which have, up to the coming into effect of this policy, been available for General Land Mobile Radio Service, are as follows:

Part (a)
Base Transmit
MHz
152,480
152,5100
152,5400
152,5700
152,6000
152,6300
152,6600
152,6900
152,7200
152,7500
152,7800
152,8100
152,840
157,740
157,770
157,800
157,830
157,860
157,890
157,920
157,950
157,980
158,010
158,040
158,070
158,100


Part (b)
Mobile Transmit
MHz
35,260
35,300
35,340
35,380
35,420
35,460
35,500
35,540
35,620
35,660
43,260
43,300
43,340
43,380
43,420
43,460
43,500
43,540
43,620
43,660


Part (c)
Base Transmit
MHz
4,200,125
4,200,375
4,200,625
4,200,875
4,201,125
4,301,375
4,201,625
4,201,875
4,202,125
4,202,375
4,202,625
4,202,875
4,203,125
4,203,375
4,203,625
4,203,875
4,204,125
4,204,375
4,204,625
4,204,875
4,205,125
4,205,375
4,205,625
4,205,875
4,206,125
4,206,375
4,206,625
4,206,875
4,207,125
4,207,375
4,207,625
4,207,875
4,208,125
4,208,375
4,208,625
4,208,875
4,209,125
4,209,375
4,209,625
4,209,875
4,090,125
4,090,375
4,090,625
4,090,875
4,091,125
4,091,375
4,091,625
4,091,875
4,092,125
4,092,375
4,092,625
4,092,875
4,093,125
4,093,375
4,093,625
4,093,875
4,094,125
4,094,375
4,094,625
4,094,875
4,095,125
4,095,375
4,095,625
4,095,875
4,096,125
4,096,375
4,096,625
4,096,875
4,097,125
4,097,375
4,097,625
4,097,875
4,098,125
4,098,375
4,098,625
4,098,875
4,099,125
4,099,375
4,099,625
4,099,875


Part (d)
Mobile Transmit
MHz
454,375
454,400
454,425
454,450
454,475
454,500
454,525
454,550
454,575
454,600
454,625
454,650
459,375
459,400
459,425
459,450
459,475
459,500
459,525
459,550
459,575
459,600
459,625
459,650
Date modified:

PR-013 — Politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant l'emploi de certaines bandes du service de correspondance publique au Canada (SMTPG)

Octobre 1988

Table des matières

  1. Objet
  2. Introduction
  3. Politique

Documents de référence


1. Objet

Le présent document a pour but d'édicter la politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant l'utilisation actuelle et future des radiofréquences dans les bandes des ondes métriques (VHF) et décimétriques (UHF), autrefois assignées exclusivement aux compagnies de téléphone aux fins de la correspondance publique au moyen du service mobile terrestre public général (SMTPG). Les systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles terrestres publics généraux offrent un service de radiocommunications bidirectionnelles à faible capacité émises ou reçues par un émetteur-récepteur radio mobile sur un groupe de canaux de radiocommunication servant exclusivement à assurer la liaison avec le réseau téléphonique commuté public.

2. Introduction

En 1982, le Ministère permettait à deux fournisseurs d'offrir un service national de radio cellulaire et il leur sous-attribuait une bande de 40 MHz dans la bande 806-890 MHz du spectre des fréquences mobiles compatible à l'échelle de l'Amérique du Nord. Depuis lors, la radio cellulaire a été bien reçue par le public et elle n'a cessé de croître à un rythme qui laisse présager qu'elle supplantera tôt ou tard les autres systèmes de radiotéléphonie du SMTPG en desservant plus d'abonnés et en offrant un meilleur service.

Il est bon de noter que dans certaines régions du Canada, les canaux du SMTPG ne sont pas utilisés, bien qu'ils soient réservés à cette fin à l'échelle du pays. Il existe également une demande importante dans beaucoup de régions (surtout rurales) pour que l'on utilise ces bandes pour remplacer les lignes locales (liaisons par fils de cuivre entre les abonnés et le centre de commutation) afin d'assurer la prestation du service téléphonique de base dans les régions éloignées. Ces derniers temps, des requérants sont en mesure de garantir l'interconnexion au réseau public commuté et désirent par conséquent offrir des services SMTPG concurrentiels. À la lumière de ce qui précède, il était opportun d'étudier la nécessité de maintenir à long terme des systèmes radiotéléphoniques plus anciens et moins efficaces. Dans cette perspective, le document intitulé Politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant l'emploi de certaines bandes du service de correspondance publique au Canada (PR-013) était publié afin de recueillir les observations du public, comme il en était fait mention dans la Gazette du Canada en février 1988. Ce document soulevait un certain nombre de questions et offrait un certain nombre de suggestions en matière de politique concernant la poursuite de l'exploitation des systèmes actuels du SMTPG.

Compte tenu des observations reçues en réponse au document PR-013, il est apparu qu'il fallait mettre à jour et clarifier la politique du Ministère concernant l'utilisation du spectre attribué au SMTPG. La politique énoncée dans le présent document entrera en vigueur au moment de sa publication.

3. Politique

3.1 Par le présent document, les fréquences définies à la partie (b) de l'Annexe 2 ne seront plus utilisées aux fins du SMTPG. Aucune nouvelle demande ne sera acceptée relativement à la mise en oeuvre de systèmes SMTPG exploités sur ces fréquences. L'utilisation future de ces fréquences sera établie dans le cadre du projet du Ministère, actuellement en cours, relatif au réexamen de l'utilisation du spectre des radiofréquences entre 30 et 890 MHz.

3.2 Dans les régions où la radiotéléphonie cellulaire a été mise en oeuvre ou le sera prochainement, seuls les fournisseurs de service existants pourront utiliser les canaux VHF du SMTPG indiqués à la partie (a) de l'Annexe 2. Cependant, dans les régions indiquées aux parties (a) et (b) de l'Annexe 1 où le SMTPG a été ou sera aboli, le Ministère attribuera dorénavant les canaux ainsi disponibles aux fins de l'extension des systèmes mobiles terrestres à grande capacité et des autres systèmes faisant un usage efficace du spectre et il accordera la priorité, en fonction de la disponibilité des canaux, aux systèmes dont la zone de rayonnement sera la plus étendue.

3.3 Le Ministère désire promouvoir les services mobiles de radiotéléphonie dans les régions qui sont mal desservies ou qui ne reçoivent actuellement aucun service de radiotéléphonie. Ainsi, sous réserve de la disponibilité technique des canaux de fréquences, on acceptera les demandes présentées par tous les intéressés, y compris les requérants qui ne sont pas des compagnies de téléphone, en vue d'obtenir l'autorisation de fournir un service radiotéléphonique mobile terrestre de correspondance publique dans les régions non desservies ou qui ne seront vraisemblablement pas desservies prochainement par un service cellulaire, les premiers arrivés étant les premiers servis. Les fréquences qui seront autorisées aux fins d'exploitation sont indiquées à la partie (a) de l'Annexe 2. Ces canaux pourront également être autorisés afin de remplacer les lignes locales assurant l'accès au réseau public commuté par les abonnés des régions rurale et éloignées. Étant donné que ces canaux sont attribués au service mobile et que leur utilisation afin de remplacer les lignes locales est une utilisation fixe, il faudra alors tenir compte des priorités suivantes :

  • Dans un rayon de 60 kilomètres des limites des grandes zones urbaines indiquées aux parties (a) et (b) de l'Annexe 1, le service fixe sera un service secondaire et le service mobile, un service primaire. De façon générale, le remplacement des lignes locales ne sera pas autorisé dans ces zones. Si le remplacement est permis, il ne pourra être autorisé que par le Directeur général du bureau régional et il s'agira alors d'un service secondaire.
  • Dans une zone de 60 à 120 km des limites des régions indiquées aux parties (a) et (b) de l'Annexe 1, le service fixe de remplacement des lignes locales sera traité comme un service secondaire et le service mobile sera un service primaire. Cependant, si le requérant qui se propose d'offrir un service de remplacement des lignes locales peut prouver au Ministère que le service pourra atteindre le taux moyen d'occupation (abonnés par canaux de 25 ou de 30 kHz) habituellement atteint par le service mobile, le service de remplacement des lignes locales sera traité comme un service primaire au même titre que tout service mobile exploité dans la zone visée.
  • Au-delà de 120 km des limites des régions indiquées aux parties (a) et (b) de l'Annexe 1, le service mobile et le service fixe seront tous deux traités comme services primaires lors de l'attribution de fréquences.

3.4 Les canaux indiqués à la partie (c) de l'Annexe 2, autrefois réservés au SMTPG, ne sont plus attribués à ce service dans les régions où ils n'étaient pas utilisés, en accord avec le document PS-450 (antérieurement PS-300.4). L'exploitation du spectre où l'on retrouve ces canaux est décrite en détail dans le document PS-450, mais il faut noter qu'ils sont généralement utilisés par les systèmes à grande étendue faisant appel à une technologie qui permet une utilisation efficace du spectre.

3.5 Bien que des systèmes du SMTPG aient été mis en oeuvre au Canada sur les canaux identifiés à la partie (d) de l'Annexe 2, ces canaux ne sont pas exploités dans certaines régions du pays. De plus, en raison de leur attribution au SMTPG, il a été impossible d'assigner ces canaux à d'autres utilisateurs éventuels. Le Ministère n'autorisera donc plus l'exploitation de nouveaux systèmes du SMTPG sur ces canaux. Il permettra toutefois aux utilisateurs actuels de ces canaux, indiqués à la partie (d) de l'Annexe 2, de continuer à les utiliser et de se développer pour atteindre leur plein potentiel.

Le Ministère attribuera dorénavant ces canaux aux fins de l'agrandissement des systèmes mobiles terrestres à grande capacité et des autres systèmes faisant un usage efficace du spectre (par ex., les systèmes à partage de plusieurs canaux) et il accordera la priorité, en fonction de la disponibilité des canaux, aux services desservant la plus grande superficie.

À l'intérieur des limites des régions indiquées aux parties (a) et (b) de l'Annexe 1, les fréquences désignées à la partie (d) de l'Annexe 2 seront attribuées au service mobile, à titre primaire, et au service fixe, à titre secondaire. Dans un rayon de 60 kilomètres à l'extérieur des limites des régions indiquées ci-dessus, lesdites fréquences pourront être assignées aux systèmes du service fixe aux fins du remplacement des systèmes de lignes locales afin d'assurer la prestation du service téléphonique de base aux abonnés des régions rurales et éloignées. Bien que ces fréquences soient alors généralement attribuées à titre secondaire à l'intérieur de cette zone, les directeurs généraux des bureaux régionaux sont libres de considérer les services de remplacement auxquels elles sont attribuées comme des services autorisés à titre primaire tout comme les services mobiles, si le requérant peut fournir la preuve au Ministère que le nombre d'abonnés auxquels des lignes locales sont fournies par voie hertzienne (service fixe) est à peu près égal ou supérieur à la charge des lignes des systèmes radio mobiles classiques, est habituellement de 75 stations mobiles par voie duplex de 25 kHz. Les autres services fixes qui ne servent pas à la prestation du service téléphonique de base ne pourront être autorisés qu'à titre secondaire à l'intérieur de cette zone. Au-delà de 60 kilomètres des limites des régions indiquées aux parties (a) et (b) de l'annexe 1, le service mobile et le service fixe seront tous deux considérés comme des services autorisés à titre primaire et les fréquences seront assignées selon le principe de premier arrivé, premier servi.

À la discrétion du Directeur général, n'importe quelles des provisions mentionnées ci-haut pourraient être modifiées pour rencontrer les besoins locaux particuliers.

La délivrance d'une licence pour tout service qui nécessite une interconnexion au réseau commuté public doit recevoir l'autorisation préalable de l'organisme de réglementation compétent et a pour but d'établir un service de base de radiotéléphonie mobile ou fixe.

haut de la page

Annexe 1

Les sections qui suivent décrivent de façon générale les régions au regard desquelles les autres utilisations du spectre des radiofréquences VHF et UHF du SMTPG seront évaluées.

  1. Régions à utilisation intensive

    Le Golden Horseshoe (Toronto métropolitain, Hamilton, Brampton, Newmarket, Saint Catherines), la région de Vancouver/Victoria et les régions métropolitaines de Montréal, d'Edmonton et de Calgary.
  2. Régions à utilisation moyenne

    Kitchener, Brantford, London, Windsor, Ottawa-Hull, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Saint-Jean, T.-N., Québec, Saint-Jean, N.-B., Régina, Saskatoon, Halifax, Sherbrooke, Winnipeg, Chicoutimi-Jonquière, Trois-Rivières et les zones voisines des régions d'utilisation intensive décrites ci-dessus.
  3. Régions à faible utilisation

    Il s'agit des régions non spécifiées aux paragraphes (a) et (b) ci-dessus.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter les bureaux extérieurs ou les bureaux régionaux du Ministère.

haut de la page

Annexe 2

Les fréquences qui, jusqu'à l'entrée en vigueur de la présente politique, étaient réservées au service mobile terrestre public général sont les suivantes :

Partie (a)
Fréquence d'émission
du poste de base
MHz
152,480
152,5100
152,5400
152,5700
152,6000
152,6300
152,6600
152,6900
152,7200
152,7500
152,7800
152,8100
152,840
157,740
157,770
157,800
157,830
157,860
157,890
157,920
157,950
157,980
158,010
158,040
158,070
158,100


Partie (b)
Fréquence d'émission
du poste mobile
MHz
35,260
35,300
35,340
35,380
35,420
35,460
35,500
35,540
35,620
35,660
43,260
43,300
43,340
43,380
43,420
43,460
43,500
43,540
43,620
43,660


Partie (c)
Fréquence d'émission
du poste de base
MHz
4,200,125
4,200,375
4,200,625
4,200,875
4,201,125
4,301,375
4,201,625
4,201,875
4,202,125
4,202,375
4,202,625
4,202,875
4,203,125
4,203,375
4,203,625
4,203,875
4,204,125
4,204,375
4,204,625
4,204,875
4,205,125
4,205,375
4,205,625
4,205,875
4,206,125
4,206,375
4,206,625
4,206,875
4,207,125
4,207,375
4,207,625
4,207,875
4,208,125
4,208,375
4,208,625
4,208,875
4,209,125
4,209,375
4,209,625
4,209,875
4,090,125
4,090,375
4,090,625
4,090,875
4,091,125
4,091,375
4,091,625
4,091,875
4,092,125
4,092,375
4,092,625
4,092,875
4,093,125
4,093,375
4,093,625
4,093,875
4,094,125
4,094,375
4,094,625
4,094,875
4,095,125
4,095,375
4,095,625
4,095,875
4,096,125
4,096,375
4,096,625
4,096,875
4,097,125
4,097,375
4,097,625
4,097,875
4,098,125
4,098,375
4,098,625
4,098,875
4,099,125
4,099,375
4,099,625
4,099,875


Partie (d)
Fréquence d'émission
du poste mobile
MHz
454,375
454,400
454,425
454,450
454,475
454,500
454,525
454,550
454,575
454,600
454,625
454,650
459,375
459,400
459,425
459,450
459,475
459,500
459,525
459,550
459,575
459,600
459,625
459,650
Date de modification :