RSS-117 — Land and Coast Station Transmitters Operating in the Band 200-535 kHz

Posted on January 19, 2016

Issue 3
January 2016

Preface

Radio Standards Specification RSS-117, Issue 3, Licensed Transmitters Operating in the Band 200-535 kHz, sets out the technical requirements for the compliance of radio apparatus operating in the frequency band 200 kHz to 535 kHz.

This document will come into force upon publication on the Innovation, Science and Economic Development’s website (www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum).

List of Changes:

  • Modernized to reflect the current RSS structure since its last publication in 1974.
  • Emission designators have been updated.
  • Editorial modifications and corrections have been made throughout.

Issued under the authority of
the Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development

_____________________________________
Daniel Duguay
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Contents

  1. Scope
  2. General
  3. Measurement Requirements and Methods
  4. Technical Requirements and Limits

1. Scope

This Radio Standards Specification (RSS), Land and Coast Station Transmitters Operating in the Band 200-535 kHz, sets out the requirements for the technical compliance of licensed Category I transmitters operating in the frequency band 200 kHz to 535 kHz.

2. General

2.1 Purpose and Application

Land and coast station transmitters are licensed Category I radio apparatus operating in the frequency band 200 kHz to 535 kHz. Land stations transmitters are those stations, other than mobile stations, used for radiocommunication with mobile stations. Coast station transmitters consist of land stations used in the maritime mobile service.

The transmitters operate as per the following emission designators:

  • A1A
  • A2A
  • A2D
  • A3E
  • H2D
  • H3E

2.2 Licensing Requirements

The radio equipment covered by this standard is subject to licensing, pursuant to subsection 4(1) of the Radiocommunication Act.

2.3 RSS-Gen Compliance

In addition to RSS-117, the requirements in RSS-Gen, General Requirements for Compliance of Radio Apparatus, must be met.

2.4 Radio Frequency Exposure

The requirements in RSS-102, Radiofrequency (RF) Exposure Compliance of Radiocommunication Apparatus (All Frequency Bands), must be met.

2.5 Test Report

A test report shall be compiled, providing a record of the tests and results demonstrating compliance with the technical requirements in this standard and with RSS-Gen. The test report shall include the transmitter’s category.

These transmitters are divided into the following equipment categories, based on their temperature extremes design.

Table 1 — Equipment Categories
Equipment Category Temperature Extremes
A – 40°C to 55°C
B – 10°C to 55°C
C  0°C to 55°C

2.6 Related Documents

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on Department of Innovation, Science and Economic Development’s website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum under Official Publications.

In addition to the related documents specified in RSS-GEN, General Requirements for Compliance of Radio Apparatus, the following departmental documents should be consulted:

3. Measurement Requirements and Methods

3.1 Standard Test Conditions

Unless stated otherwise, the conditions of this section shall be applied for the measurements.

3.1.1 Standard Test Voltage

The test voltage shall be the voltage applied to the power input terminals of the equipment. It shall be within ± 2% of the value stated by the manufacturer to be the working voltage.

3.1.2 Standard Temperature

The temperature applied during the tests shall be 25°C ± 5°C.

3.1.3 Test Frequencies

All tests shall be made on at least two carrier frequencies, one near the high end and one near the low end of the frequency range.

3.1.4 Standard Output Termination

The output termination shall be a nominal 50 ohm resistive load or as stated by the manufacturer.

3.1.5 Standard Test Modulation

The transmitter shall be operated at the manufacturer’s rated power and tested in accordance with the measurement method described in RSS-Gen with signals modulated as follows:

  • If the audio input signal is voice and the transmitter is FM, the transmitter shall be modulated with a 2.5 kHz tone at a level 16 dB higher than that required to produce 50% of the maximum frequency deviation.
  • For all other transmitters, a signal representative (i.e., typical) of those encountered in a real system operation shall be used. If the transmission is not continuous, this must be indicated in the test report.

The following test modulation shall be applied as per the emission type of the transmitter.

3.1.5.1 A1A Transmitters

For A1A transmitters, the test modulation shall consist of a valid string of Morse code characters.

3.1.5.2 A2D / A3E Transmitters

For A2D and A3E transmitters, the test signal shall be a 1 kHz tone at a level that produces a 50% modulation level.

3.1.5.3 H2D / H3E Transmitters

For H2D and H3E transmitters, the test modulation shall consist of applying a two-frequency test signal in accordance with the following paragraphs, as applicable.

  • Conventional H2D / H3E Transmitters: The two-frequency test signal shall consist of the carrier and a sinusoidal audio frequency signal of 2 000 Hz. The audio signal shall be applied to the audio input terminals of the transmitter. The carrier and audio signals shall be adjusted to produce two equal amplitude RF signals at the output of the transmitter.
  • Special H2D Beacon Transmitters: These are transmitters in which the H2D mode is generated by two RF oscillators. One oscillator shall operate at the carrier frequency ("carrier oscillator") and the other ("sideband oscillator") shall operate at 1 020 Hz or 400 Hz (±5%) above the carrier. The operating level of these two oscillators shall be adjusted to produce two equal amplitude RF signals at the output of the transmitter. For test purposes, the "sideband oscillator" shall not be keyed.

3.1.6 Rated Duty Cycle

The transmitters shall be operated (carrier "on") under one or more of the following duty cycles as specified by the manufacturer:

  1. Continuous: The transmitter shall be operated continuously for 24 hours. This rating is limited to transmitters capable of continuous operation.
  2. Semi-continuous: The transmitter shall be operated continuously for eight hours.
  3. Intermittent: The transmitter shall be operated under a cycle of one minute carrier “on” and four minutes carrier “off” for a period of eight hours, followed by three test cycles of five minutes “on”, 15 minutes “off”.

3.2 Transmitter Output Power

3.2.1 AlA / A2A / A2D / A3E Transmitters

Measure and record the transmitter output power using a measurement (resolution) bandwidth at least two to three times the width of the occupied bandwidth for transmitters equipped with masks D and E to capture the true peak emission of the equipment under test. For transmitters equipped with other masks, a measurement bandwidth wider than the occupied bandwidth of the transmitter shall be used.

The transmitter shall be operated unmodulated at the rated duty cycle (Section 3.1.6) and loaded into the output termination. The average RF power output shall be measured and recorded for the duration of the test. All details of the measurement shall be clearly described in the test report.

3.2.2 H2D / H3E Transmitters

The transmit power shall be measured in average value (PMEAN) as a conducted emission over any period of continuous transmission.

In addition to the measurement requirements of sections 3.1 and 3.2, the following measurement requirements shall apply if the modulation scheme addressed herein is used.

The transmitter shall be operated in the H2D / H3E mode at the rated duty cycle (Section 3.1.6) with the test modulation (Section 3.1.5.3) applied. A sample of the RF power output shall be fed to a spectrum analyzer and the output level of the two-frequency signal shall be adjusted, so that the output spectrum of the transmitter conforms to the limits of Table 4. No adjustments shall be made to the transmitter after the initial set-up. The average RF power output (Pavg) shall be measured and recorded for the duration of the test. Peak envelope power, PEP = 2 × Pavg. All details of the measurement shall be clearly described in the test report.

3.3 Transmitter Unwanted Emissions

The transmitter’s unwanted emissions shall be measured as per the requirements of this section.

3.3.1 Out-of-Band Emissions

The transmitter shall be operated into the output termination under the standard modulation test conditions (see Section 3.1.5), except that:

  1. in the case of A2A / A2D / A3E transmitters, the modulating frequency shall be 2000 Hz and the modulation shall be adjusted to 95%; and
  2. in the case of H2D / H3E transmitters, the carrier level shall be adjusted to that obtained at rated PEP in Section 4.2 and the side band signal level shall be adjusted to the carrier level.

A sample of the RF output shall be fed to a spectrum analyzer or equivalent instrument. The level and frequencies of each significant output component with reference to the level of the unmodulated carrier shall be measured and plotted (see Table 4) over a band of frequencies equal to ± 250% of the necessary bandwidth. A resolution bandwidth of 100 Hz shall be used.

3.3.2 Spurious Emissions

On any frequency removed from the carrier frequency by more than 250% of the necessary bandwidth, a resolution bandwidth of at least 10 kHz shall be used for frequencies to be measured below 30 MHz and a resolution bandwidth of at least 100 kHz shall be used for frequencies to be measured at or above 30 MHz. If a narrower resolution bandwidth is used, power integration shall be applied.

3.4 Transmitter Frequency Stability

The maximum allowable tolerances on voltage, temperature and humidity measurements shall be as follows:

Table 2 — Transmitter Frequency Stability Test Setup Tolerances
Parameter Value
Temperature ± 3°C
Voltage ± 2%
Humidity ± 5%

For the purpose of these tests, equipment temperatures shall be considered stabilized when the temperature of the largest internal mass remains within ± 3°C of the specified value when the equipment is inoperative, or when the crest temperature of the largest internal mass does not vary by more than ± 5°C with equipment operating.

The unmodulated carrier’s frequency shall be measured at one-minute intervals under the conditions given in the following sections: 3.4.1, 3.4.2 and 3.4.3.

3.4.1 Standard Test Frequency

The equipment shall be placed in a test chamber inoperative until the equipment temperature is stabilized at 25°C. At the end of this period, and allowing up to one hour for warm up, the transmitter shall be placed in operation under standard test conditions, under the appropriate duty cycle with modulation (1 020 Hz tone or "side band oscillator") switched off. The frequency shall then be measured and recorded at one-minute intervals for a period of 15 minutes and the average frequency computed. The average frequency shall be the standard test frequency.

3.4.2 Temperature and Voltage Extremes

The temperature and voltage shall be varied throughout the entire environmental range as specified in Table 1, along with a voltage variation of ±10% of the standard test voltage. Performance measurements shall be made at the temperature extremes using standard supply voltage ±10% and at each significant temperature throughout the applicable range listed in Table 1. Allow the equipment under test to stabilize at each temperature where measurements are to be made.

Frequency measurements shall be made at one-minute intervals for a five-minute period and recorded. The RF power output shall be measured and recorded at regular intervals.

3.4.3 Temperature and Humidity Extremes

The equipment under test (EUT) shall be placed inoperative in a test chamber at a relative humidity in excess of 95% and ambient temperature of 40°C for a period of eight hours. After this time, the equipment shall be taken from the chamber and any condensed moisture may be drained off. Immediately after the removal of the EUT from the chamber, primary power shall be applied to the EUT. No more than 15 minutes shall be allowed for the EUT to warm up.

Immediately after this warm up period, frequency measurements shall be made at one-minute intervals for a five-minute period, and the RF power output shall be measured. All measurements shall be recorded.

4. Technical Requirements and Limits

4.1 Necessary Bandwidth

For the purposes of this specification, values of necessary bandwidth corresponding to various types of emission shall be as shown in the following table:

Table 3 — Necessary Bandwidth as per Type of Emission
Type of Emission Necessary Bandwidth
A1A 2 x Highest tone used
A2D 2 x Highest tone used
A3E 6 000 Hz
H2D Highest tone used
H3E 3 000 Hz

4.2 Transmitter Output Power

The output power shall be within ±1 dB of the manufacturer’s rated power listed in the equipment specifications which comply with the limits in Section 3.2. For H2D / H3E, the RF power rating shall be in terms of PEP.

In the case of single side band (SSB) transmitters the maximum output of the transmitter shall be automatically limited to a level not in excess of 1 dB above the manufacturer’s rated PEP. Limiting action shall be accomplished in such a manner that when operating in the H3E mode, the carrier is not reduced below -6 dB relative to PEP.

4.3 Beacon Transmitters

Transmitters used as radio beacons shall have an output modulated at 1 020 Hz or 400 Hz as specified by the manufacturer. The tolerance on these tones shall be ± 5%.

4.4 Unwanted Emissions

Under the test described in the preceding Section 3.3.2, the land and coast stations’ transmitter unwanted emissions shall be attenuated below the unmodulated carrier by the levels presented in the following table. The frequency displacement is expressed in terms of percentage of the necessary bandwidth.

Table 4 — Transmitter’s Unwanted Emissions Required Attenuation per Frequency Displacement
Frequency displacement, fd, (% of necessary bandwidth) Attenuation (dB) below the unmodulated carrier
50% ≤ fd ≤ 150% 26 dB
150% ≤ fd ≤ 250% 32 dB
250 % < fd 40 dB or 25 mW (whichever is more stringent)

4.5 Transmitter Frequency Stability

The maximum departure, under any environmental condition, of the measured frequency from the standard test frequency shall not exceed 0.01%.

The transmitter RF power output under any environmental condition shall not degrade more than 3 dB below the power output rating obtained under standard test condition.

Date modified:

CNR-117 — Émetteur de station terrestre ou de station côtière fonctionnant dans la bande de 200 à 535 kHz

Affiché le 19 janvier 2016

3e édition
Janvier 2016

Préface

Le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques CNR-117, 3e édition, Émetteur de station terrestre ou de station côtière fonctionnant dans la bande de 200 à 535 kHz, définit les exigences techniques relatives à la conformité des appareils radio fonctionnant dans la bande de fréquences de 200 kHz à 535 kHz.

Le présent document entrera en vigueur lors de sa publication sur le site Web d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (www.ic.gc.ca/spectre). 

Liste des modifications :

  • Le présent document a été mis à jour pour refléter la nouvelle structure des CNR depuis sa dernière publication en 1974.
  • Les désignateurs d’émission ont été mis à jour.
  • Des modifications rédactionnelles et des corrections ont été apportées à l’ensemble du document.

Publication autorisée par
le ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique

Directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

______________
Daniel Duguay

Table des matières

  1. Objet
  2. Généralités
  3. Exigences et méthodes de mesure
  4. Exigences techniques et limites

1. Objet

Le présent Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR), Émetteur de station terrestre ou de station côtière fonctionnant dans la bande de 200 à 535 kHz, définit les exigences techniques relatives à la conformité des émetteurs de catégorie 1 autorisés sous licence fonctionnant dans la bande de fréquences de 200 kHz à 535 kHz.

2. Généralités

2.1 Objet et application

Les émetteurs de station terrestre ou côtière sont les appareils radio de catégorie I autorisés sous licence fonctionnant dans la bande de fréquences de 200 kHz à 535 kHz. Les émetteurs de station terrestre sont des stations, autres que les stations mobiles, utilisées pour la radiocommunication avec des stations mobiles. Les émetteurs de station côtière sont des stations terrestres utilisées pour le service mobile maritime.

Les émetteurs fonctionnent selon les désignateurs d’émission suivants :

  • A1A
  • A2A
  • A2D
  • A3E
  • H2D
  • H3E

2.2 Exigences d’octroi de licences

Les appareils de radiocommunication visés par le présent CNR doivent faire l’objet d’une licence en vertu du paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

2.3 Conformité au CNR-Gen

En plus des exigences précisées dans le CNR-117, les exigences décrites dans le CNR-Gen, Exigences générales relatives à la conformité des appareils de radiocommunication, doivent être respectées.

2.4 Exposition aux radiofréquences

Les exigences décrites dans le CNR-102, Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d’exposition humaine aux radiofréquences (toutes bandes de fréquences), doivent être respectées.

2.5 Rapport d’essai

Un rapport d'essai doit être préparé pour consigner les tests et les résultats démontrant la conformité aux exigences techniques de la présente norme et du CNR-Gen. Le rapport d'essai doit inclure la catégorie de l’émetteur.

Les émetteurs sont répartis dans les catégories d'équipement ci-dessous, selon leur conception en fonction des extrêmes de température.

Tableau 1 — Catégories d’équipement
Catégorie d’équipement Extrêmes de température
A – 40 °C à 55 °C
B – 10 °C à 55 °C
C  0 °C à 55°C

2.6 Documents connexes

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du Spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web du ministère de l'Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique du Canada, à l’adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre, dans l’onglet Publications officielles.

En plus des documents connexes indiqués dans le CNR-Gen, Exigences générales relatives à la conformité des appareils de radiocommunication, les documents ministériels suivants doivent être consultés :

3. Exigences et méthodes de mesure

3.1 Conditions normales d’essai

Sauf indication contraire, les conditions indiquées dans la présente section doivent être respectées lors des mesures.

3.1.1 Tension normale d’essai

La tension d'essai est la tension appliquée aux bornes d'entrée du matériel. Elle doit être à 2 % près de la valeur indiquée par le fabricant comme étant la tension de fonctionnement.

3.1.2 Température normale

La température appliquée lors des essais doit être de 25 °C ± 5 °C.

3.1.3 Fréquence d’essai

Tous les essais doivent être effectués sur au moins deux fréquences porteuses, l'une se trouvant près de l'extrémité supérieure, l'autre près de l'extrémité inférieure de la gamme de fréquences.

3.1.4 Terminaison de charge de sortie normale

La charge de sortie doit consister en une charge résistive nominale de 50 ohms ou être égale à la valeur indiquée par le fabricant.

3.1.5 Modulation normale d’essai

Conformément à la méthode de mesure décrite dans le CNR-Gen, l'émetteur fonctionnera à la puissance nominale précisée par le fabricant et sera modulé au moyen des signaux suivants :

  • Si le signal d'entrée audio est un signal vocal et que l'émetteur est un émetteur FM, moduler l'émetteur avec une tonalité de 2,5 kHz à un niveau plus élevé de 16 dB par rapport à celui requis pour produire 50 % de l’excursion de fréquence maximale.
  • Pour tous les autres émetteurs, utiliser un signal représentatif (typique) des signaux produits par un système réel. Cependant, si l’émission n’est pas continue, on doit l’indiquer dans le rapport d'essai.

La modulation d'essai suivante doit être appliquée selon le type d’émission de l'émetteur.

3.1.5.1 Émetteurs A1A

Pour les émetteurs A1A, la modulation d’essai consiste en une chaîne valide de caractères du code Morse.

3.1.5.2 Émetteurs A2D / A3E

Pour les émetteurs A2D et A3E, le signal d'essai doit être une tonalité de 1 kHz à un niveau qui produit un niveau de modulation de 50 %.

3.1.5.3 Émetteurs H2D / H3E

Pour les émetteurs H2D et H3E, la modulation d'essai doit consister en un signal d'essai à deux fréquences, conformément aux paragraphes ci-dessous, selon le cas.

  • Émetteur ordinaire H2D / H3E : Le signal d'essai à deux fréquences doit se composer de la porteuse et d'un signal sinusoïdal basse fréquence de 2 000 Hz. Appliquer le signal basse fréquence aux bornes d'entrée BF de l'émetteur. Régler la porteuse et le signal basse fréquence de sorte qu'ils produisent deux signaux HF d'amplitude égale à la sortie de l'émetteur.
  • Émetteur spécial H2D (radiophare) : Dans un tel émetteur, le mode A2H est produit par deux oscillateurs HF. L'un des oscillateurs doit fonctionner à la fréquence porteuse (« oscillateur de porteuse ») et l'autre (« oscillateur de bande latérale ») doit fonctionner à 1 020 ou 400 hertz (± 5 %) au-dessus de la porteuse. Régler le niveau de fonctionnement de ces deux oscillateurs, de sorte qu'ils produisent deux signaux HF d'amplitude égale à la sortie de l'émetteur. Aux fins des essais, ne pas manipuler « l'oscillateur de bande latérale ».

3.1.6 Facteur nominal d’utilisation

Faire fonctionner l'émetteur (porteuse « en circuit ») suivant un ou plusieurs des facteurs d'utilisation qui suivent, selon les indications du fabricant :

  1. Régime permanent : Faire fonctionner l'émetteur sans arrêt pendant vingt‑quatre heures. Ce régime est réservé aux émetteurs conçus pour fonctionner sans arrêt.
  2. Régime semi-permanent : Faire fonctionner l'émetteur sans arrêt pendant huit heures.
  3. Régime intermittent : Faire fonctionner l'émetteur suivant un cycle d'une minute de marche et de quatre minutes de repos pendant une période de huit heures, suivie de trois cycles d'essai de cinq minutes de marche et de quinze minutes de repos.

3.2 Puissance de sortie de l’émetteur

3.2.1 Émetteurs AlA / A2A / A2D / A3E

Mesurer et consigner la puissance de sortie de l'émetteur en utilisant une largeur de bande de mesure (résolution) d’au moins deux à trois fois la largeur de la bande occupée des émetteurs utilisant les masques D et E pour obtenir les valeurs de crête de rayonnement réelles du matériel à l’essai. Dans le cas des émetteurs utilisant d'autres masques, on devra se servir d’une largeur de bande de mesure plus large que la largeur de bande occupée de l'émetteur.

Faire fonctionner l'émetteur sans modulation au facteur nominal d'utilisation (section 3.1.6) et le faire débiter dans la charge de sortie. Mesurer la puissance moyenne HF de sortie et la noter pendant toute la durée de l'essai. Inscrire tous les détails de la mesure dans le rapport d'essai.

3.2.2 Émetteurs H2D / H3E

La puissance d'émission mesurée doit être exprimée en valeur moyenne (Pm) en tant qu’émission par conduction sur n’importe quelle période d’émission continue.

En plus des exigences en matière de mesure des sections 3.1 et 3.2, les exigences précisées ci-après s’appliquent si le schéma de modulation dont il est question dans la présente est utilisé.

Faire fonctionner l’émetteur en mode H2D/H3E au facteur nominal d’utilisation (section 3.1.6) en appliquant la modulation (section 3.1.5.3). Injecter un échantillon du signal de sortie HF à l'analyseur de fréquences et régler le niveau du signal à deux fréquences afin que le spectre de sortie de l'émetteur soit conforme aux limites du tableau 4. N'effectuer aucun réglage de l'émetteur après le réglage initial. Mesurer la puissance moyenne de sortie HF (Pm) et la noter pendant toute la durée de l'essai. La puissance de crête est égale à deux fois la puissance moyenne (Pm). Inscrire tous les détails de la mesure dans le rapport d'essai.

3.3 Émetteur de rayonnements non désirés

Les émissions indésirables de l'émetteur doivent être mesurées selon les exigences décrites dans la présente section.

3.3.1 Émissions hors bande

Faire débiter l’émetteur dans la charge de sortie, dans les conditions de modulation indiquées à la section 3.1.5, sauf que :

  • dans le cas des émetteurs A2A/A2D/A3E, la fréquence de modulation doit être de 2 000 Hz et la modulation doit être réglée à 95 %; et
  • dans le cas des émetteurs H2D/H3E, le niveau de la porteuse doit être réglé au niveau obtenu avec la puissance nominale de crête à la section 4.2 et le niveau du signal de bande latérale doit être réglé au niveau de la porteuse.

Injecter un échantillon du signal de sortie HF dans l'analyseur de spectre ou dans un instrument équivalent. Mesurer le niveau et la fréquence de chaque composante importante du signal de sortie par rapport au niveau de la porteuse non modulée et en tracer la courbe (voir tableau 4) pour une bande de fréquences égale à ± 250 % de la largeur de bande nécessaire. On doit utiliser une résolution ayant une largeur de bande de 100 Hz.

3.3.2 Rayonnement non essentiel

Pour toute fréquence située à une distance supérieure à 250 % de la largeur de bande nécessaire, on doit utiliser une résolution ayant une largeur de bande d'au moins 10 kHz si la fréquence à mesurer est inférieure à 30 MHz, et d'au moins 100 kHz si elle est égale ou supérieure à 30 MHz. Si la résolution a une largeur de bande plus petite, l'intégration de la puissance doit être appliquée.

3.4 Stabilité de fréquence de l’émetteur

Les tolérances maximales admises pour les mesures de la tension, de la température et de l’humidité sont les suivantes :

Tableau 2 — Tolérances d’essai pour la stabilité de fréquence de l’émetteur
Paramètre Valeur
Température ± 3 °C
Tension ± 2 %
Humidité ± 5 %

Aux fins des essais ci-après, on doit considérer que la température du matériel est stabilisée lorsque la température de la plus grosse masse interne se maintient à ±3 °C de la valeur spécifiée quand le matériel ne fonctionne pas, ou lorsque la température de pointe de la plus grosse masse interne ne varie pas de plus de ±5 °C quand le matériel est en fonctionnement.

La fréquence de la porteuse non modulée doit être mesurée à des intervalles d'une minute dans les conditions indiquées aux sections 3.4.1, 3.4.2 et 3.4.3.

3.4.1 Fréquence normale d’essai

Placer le matériel dans une salle d'essai sans le faire fonctionner jusqu'à ce que la température du matériel se soit stabilisée à 25 °C. Lorsque cette température est atteinte, et en laissant l’émetteur se réchauffer pendant au plus une heure, faire fonctionner l’émetteur dans les conditions normales d'essai selon le facteur d'utilisation approprié et avec la modulation hors circuit (1 020 Hz ou « oscillateur de bande latérale »). Mesurer ensuite la fréquence à intervalles d’une minute pendant une période de 15 minutes, et calculer la moyenne des fréquences. La fréquence moyenne est la fréquence normale d'essai.

3.4.2 Extrêmes de température et de tension

Faire ensuite varier la température et la tension dans toute la gamme des conditions reproduisant le milieu ambiant indiquée au tableau 1, avec une variation de la tension de ±10 % de la tension normale d'essai. Faire les mesures de performance aux extrêmes de température en utilisant la tension normale d'alimentation ± 10 % et à chaque température importante de la gamme dans le tableau 1. Laisser le matériel à l’essai se stabiliser à chaque température où l'on doit faire des mesures. Effectuer et noter les mesures de fréquence à intervalles d'une minute pendant une période de cinq minutes. Mesurer et noter la puissance de sortie HF à intervalles réguliers.

3.4.3 Extrêmes de température et d’humidité

Placer le matériel à l’essai dans une salle d'essai, à une humidité relative de plus de 95 % et à une température ambiante de 40 °C, sans le faire fonctionner pendant une période de huit heures. À la fin de cette période, sortir le matériel de la salle et drainer l'humidité condensée. Immédiatement après le retrait du matériel de la salle, appliquer la tension et laisser le matériel se réchauffer pendant au plus 15 minutes.

Immédiatement après cette période de réchauffement, effectuer les mesures de fréquence à intervalles d’une minute pendant une période de cinq minutes et mesurer la puissance de sortie RF. Noter toutes les mesures faites.

4. Exigences techniques et limites

4.1 Largeur de bande nécessaire

Aux fins du présent cahier des charges, la valeur de la largeur de bande nécessaire par type d’émission est indiquée dans le tableau suivant :

Tableau 3 — Largeur de bande nécessaire par type d’émission
Type d’émission Bande nécessaire
A1A 2 x la tonalité la plus élevée
A2D 2 x la tonalité la plus élevée
A3E 6 000 Hz
H2D Tonalité la plus élevée utilisée
H3E 3 000 Hz

4.2 Puissance de sortie de l’émetteur

La puissance de sortie doit correspondre à ±1,0 dB de la sortie nominale indiquée par le fabricant dans les spécifications de l’équipement et qui respecte les limites décrites à la section 3.2. En ce qui concerne les émetteurs H2D/H3E, la puissance nominale doit être exprimée en fonction de la puissance en crête de modulation.

Dans le cas d'un émetteur à bande latérale unique (BLU), l'émetteur doit limiter automatiquement sa puissance maximale de sortie à un niveau ne dépassant pas de plus de 1 dB la puissance nominale de crête indiquée par le fabricant. La limitation doit être réalisée de telle sorte que lorsque l'émetteur fonctionne selon le mode H3E, la porteuse ne soit pas réduite de plus de 6 dB par rapport à la puissance de crête.

4.3 Émetteurs de radiophares

Le signal de sortie des émetteurs servant de radiophares doit être modulé à 1 020 ou 400 hertz, selon les indications du fabricant. La tolérance relative à ces fréquences est de + 5 %.

4.4 Émissions indésirables

Dans le cadre de l’essai décrit à la section 3.3.2, les émissions indésirables des stations terrestres ou côtières doivent être atténuées sous la puissance de la porteuse non modulée par les niveaux présentés dans le tableau suivant. Le déplacement de fréquence est exprimé en termes de pourcentage de la largeur de bande nécessaire.

Tableau 4 — Atténuation requise pour les rayonnements non désirés de l'émetteur par fréquence de déplacement
Fréquence de déplacement, fd, (% de la bande nécessaire) Atténuation (dB) en dessous de la porteuse non modulée
50 % ≤ fd ≤ 150 % 26 dB
150 % ≤ fd ≤ 250 % 32 dB
250 % < fd 40 dB ou 25 mW (soit la valeur la plus stricte)

4.5 Stabilité de fréquence de l’émetteur

Dans aucune des conditions reproduisant le milieu ambiant la fréquence mesurée ne doit s'écarter de plus de 0,01 % de la fréquence normale d’essai.

Dans aucune des conditions reproduisant le milieu ambiant la puissance de sortie HF de l'émetteur ne doit baisser de plus de 3 dB par rapport à la puissance de sortie obtenue dans les conditions normales d'essai.

Date de modification :