Archived — Cutting Through...Interference on a Variety of Electrical or Electronic Equipment

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Many commonly used devices are subject, in one way or another, to interference problems. These devices, some of which operate with radio frequencies, can easily pick up unwanted signals. The interference may appear as a variety of sounds – voices, crackling, buzzing, humming and clicking. In some cases, it may affect the operation of certain pieces of equipment.

The effects of interference may be apparent on:

  • stereo systems;
  • tape decks;
  • compact disc players;
  • turntables;
  • computers;
  • electronic organs;
  • wall intercoms;
  • portable baby monitors;
  • microphones or cordless microphones;
  • microwave ovens;
  • clock radios; and
  • alarm systems.

If possible, separate the affected equipment from the potential source of interference. You can also try using the affected equipment outside the home to check that it is not the problem. For some wireless devices, such as an alarm system, ask the manufacturer about the possibility of using another radio frequency.

Interference caused by a radio station

If equipment is picking up unwanted signals or sounds, or is experiencing intermittent operating problems, the onset of this problem may coincide with the erection of a radio station antenna in the neighbourhood.

With this phenomenon, an electronic circuit, usually an amplifier, is suddenly affected by strong unwanted outside radio signals. If the equipment is surrounded by an intense electromagnetic field, the circuit wiring or the system components may act as antennas and pick up an unwanted signal. This in not necessarily due to a technical fault in the transmitter. The entry point of the unwanted signal must be located.

Check your neighbourhood for transmitter antennas in order to identify the potential source of the interference, then try to find a solution with the operator of the radio transmitter. Filters, shielding or grounding may be required.

HOW TO LOCATE THE ENTRY POINT OF AN UNWANTED SIGNAL

A. Disconnect all accessories connected to the equipment, such as auxiliary speakers, interconnecting stereo system cables, a tape deck or a compact disc player. Reconnect each cable, one at a time, to identify the accessory that is receiving the interference. Proper grounding and good connections between the accessories and the equipment sometimes eliminate the interference. If necessary, ask a technician to do the installation or modifications.

B. In the case of a stereo system, if the interference persists after all accessories have been disconnected, the problem may lie between the volume control circuit and the speakers. If varying the volume control has no effect on the offending radio signal, the entry is likely the speaker wiring. To verify this potential entry point, disconnect the speaker wires from the amplifier and listen for the interference with headphones. If the problem disappears, unshielded speaker wires should be replaced with shielded audio cable.

For more information on shielding, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through…Various Solutions to Interference.

Interference from electrical devices

In extreme cases, the interference may also be caused by electrical devices. Many electrical devices, such as thermostats on many types of heating equipment, dimmer switches, as well as fluorescent and neon lights and electric heating pads and blankets, can cause interference. Electric motors, tools and electrical appliances also belong in this category. The type of interference differs greatly from one electrical device to the next. Repairing or replacing the equipment that is causing the interference may solve the problem.

How to find the source of the interference

The breaker test makes it fairly easy to locate the source of interference inside the home. This test is explained in Cutting Through…Radio Interference.

breaker test

IF THE PROBLEM PERSISTS…

It probably means that the source of the interference is outside the home.

Check with your immediate neighbours. If one of your neighbours is also experiencing a similar problem, ask the neighbour to conduct the breaker test in his/her home to try to locate the faulty equipment. An electrical appliance or device rarely causes interference that extends beyond a few houses.

IF THE PROBLEM PERSISTS…

The interference may be coming from electrical power lines. The power grid that supplies your neighbourhood may prove to be the source of the interference. Contact your electrical utility to resolve the problem.


Cutting Through…Interference on a Variety of Electrical or Electronic Equipment
(PDF, 228 KB, 7 pages)

To access the Portable Document Format (PDF) version, you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Comment se débrouiller...avec le brouillage d’appareils électriques ou électroniques variés

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Plusieurs appareils d'usage courant sont sujets, à un titre ou à un autre, à des problèmes de brouillage. Ces appareils, dont certains fonctionnent sur des fréquences radio, peuvent facilement capter des signaux indésirables. Le brouillage peut se manifester par des voix, des sons, des craquements, des bourdonnements, des ronflements et des déclics; dans certains cas, le fonctionnement de certains appareils sera affecté.

On peut observer des effets de brouillage sur :

  • la chaîne stéréophonique;
  • le lecteur de disques compacts;
  • le magnétophone;
  • la table tournante;
  • l'ordinateur;
  • l'orgue électronique;
  • l'interphone mural;
  • l'interphone portatif pour bébé;
  • le microphone ou microphone sans fil;
  • le micro-ondes;
  • le radio-réveil;
  • le système d'alarme.

Si possible, déplacez l'appareil pour augmenter la distance avec le brouilleur éventuel. Vous pouvez aussi essayer l'appareil affecté ailleurs qu'à la maison pour ainsi vérifier si ce n'est pas lui qui est en cause. Pour certains appareils sans fil comme le système d'alarme, renseignez-vous auprès du fabricant sur la possibilité d'utilisation d'une autre fréquence.

Brouillage provoqué par une station radio

Si un appareil capte des signaux ou des sons indésirables ou s'il subit des troubles de fonctionnement par intermittence, le début de ce problème coïncide peut-être avec l'érection d'une antenne de station radio dans le voisinage.

Ces parasites sont habituellement provoqués par un émetteur radio. C'est un phénomène par lequel un circuit électronique, généralement un amplificateur, est soudainement affecté par des signaux radio externes non désirables. Si l'appareil baigne dans un champ radioélectrique intense, le câblage du circuit ou les composants du système peuvent agir comme antennes et capter un signal. Cela n'est pas nécessairement dû à un défaut technique de l'émetteur. Il faut localiser l'endroit par où pénètre le signal en débranchant tous les accessoires afin d'isoler le fautif.

Faites enquête dans les alentours sur le brouilleur éventuel puis tentez de trouver une solution avec lui. Des filtres, des blindages ou une mise à la terre peuvent être nécessaires.

COMMENT LOCALISER L'ARRIVÉE D'UN SIGNAL INDÉSIRABLE ?

A. Débrancher tous les accessoires reliés à l'appareil comme les enceintes acoustiques extérieures, les câbles de la chaîne stéréo, du magnétophone et le lecteur de disques compacts. Rebrancher un à un chaque câble afin de trouver l'accessoire à l'origine du brouillage. Une mise à la terre appropriée et de bonnes connexions entre l'accessoire et l'appareil suppriment généralement le brouillage. Consultez au besoin un technicien pour qu'il effectue l'installation ou la modification.

B. Si le brouillage persiste même lorsque tous les accessoires sont débranchés, le problème peut se situer entre le circuit de la commande de volume et les enceintes acoustiques s'il s'agit d'une chaîne stéréophonique. Si le brouillage demeure constant en variant le contrôle du volume, il y a de fortes chances que les signaux indésirables soient captés par les fils des enceintes acoustiques. Afin de confirmer ce diagnostic, on peut débrancher les enceintes acoustiques de l'amplificateur et écouter si le brouillage persiste en utilisant des écouteurs. Si le brouillage n'est plus perceptible, la première étape serait de remplacer, le cas échéant, les fils des enceintes acoustiques non blindés par des câbles blindés.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le blindage, consultez la brochure : « Comment se débrouiller…avec les differentes solutions au brouillage ».

Parasites de source électrique

Dans des cas extrêmes, le brouillage peut aussi être causé par des parasites de source électrique. Plusieurs appareils électriques comme les thermostats d'appareils de chauffage, les interrupteurs à rhéostat, les éclairages fluorescents, les néons, les coussins ou les couvertures électriques peuvent provoquer l'apparition de parasites. Les moteurs électriques, les outils et les appareils électroménagers se comptent aussi dans cette catégorie. Les types de parasites produits diffèrent beaucoup d'un appareil électrique à un autre. La réparation ou le remplacement de l'appareil brouilleur défectueux peut être la solution au problème.

Comment trouver la source du brouillage?

Le test du disjoncteur permet de repérer la source des parasites à l'intérieur de la maison de manière assez simple. Ce test est expliqué dans la brochure « Comment se débrouiller… avec les parasites radioélectriques ».

Le test du disjoncteur

SI LE PROBLÈME PERSISTE…

Cela veut probablement dire que la source du brouillage est à l'extérieur de la maison.

Vérifiez avec les voisins immédiats. Si l'un de vos voisins connaît, lui aussi, un problème similaire, invitez-le à effectuer chez lui le test du disjoncteur pour tenter de localiser l'appareil défectueux. Un appareil électroménager ou électrique provoque rarement des parasites sur une distance de plus de quelques maisons.

SI LE PROBLÈME PERSISTE…

Le brouillage peut provenir des lignes de transport d'électricité. Le réseau de distribution alimentant le voisinage peut s'avérer la source de ces parasites. Contactez votre compagnie d'électricité qui pourra remédier au problème.


Comment se débrouiller...avec le brouillage d'appareils électriques ou électroniques variés
(PDF, 261 Ko, 7 pages)

Pour consulter la version PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet :