Archived — Cutting Through…Television Interference

Television interference can come from several sources and take various forms. Before describing the characteristics of each type, let's run through the basic checks.

BASIC CHECKS

  • Check connections.
  • Disconnect all accessories.
  • Perform the equipment substitution test.
  • Check with neighbours.

For these tests, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through… Radio Interference.

After making sure equipment is installed in accordance with the relevant standards, subscribers to cable television or direct-to-home satellite service should contact their supplier.

IF THE PROBLEM PERSISTS…

1. INTERFERENCE FROM ELECTRICAL SOURCES

Many electrical devices, such as electrical motors, tools and appliances, can cause interference. The types of interference differ greatly from one electrical device to another. Interference caused by a computer, for example, is not the same as that produced by a household appliance.

Thermostats on heating equipment, rheostat (dimmer) switches, fluorescent lights, neon lights, electric heating pads and blankets and doorbell transformers are also in this category.

These lines and bright spots, which vary in intensity, are often accompanied by crackling and buzzing noises, and can also affect AM and FM radio reception.

interference from electrical sources

This sporadic interference generally occurs when an electrical accessory or appliance starts up or is operating.

How do I find the source of the interference?

The breaker test helps in locating the source of interference inside the home and is explained in detail in the brochure: Cutting through… radio interference.

breaker test

IF THE PROBLEM PERSISTS…

The source of interference is probably outside your home.

Check with your closest neighbours. The place where the interference is the most intense may indicate the source of the disturbance. If one of your neighbours has a similar problem, ask him, or her, to run the breaker test to try to locate the faulty equipment. A household appliance or electrical device rarely causes interference that extends beyond a few houses.

IF THE PROBLEM PERSISTS…

The interference may come from electrical power lines. The power grid that supplies your neighbourhood is often a source of interference.

Electrical power lines

Normal picture and picture showing interference from electrical power line
Normal picture and picture showing interference from electrical power line

If this type of disruption appears and varies in intensity depending on weather conditions (dry or damp weather, or wind), and if the breaker test excludes a source inside the home, the interference may be caused by faulty components associated with the electrical power lines near your home.

This type of interference can also affect AM, and sometimes FM, radio reception.

Contact your electrical utility to resolve the problem.

2. OTHER TYPES OF INTERFERENCE

If your equipment is not picking up the desired signals clearly enough, or if it is picking up unwanted signals, interference problems will appear.

Poor signal reception

The problem of a weak signal appears when you are too far from the transmitter of the station you want to pick up or when there are obstacles between the antenna and the transmitter. The effect will be the same if the antenna is faulty or is not pointed in the right direction.

The television picture is much more likely to be affected than the sound. The sound will only be affected when the signals are extremely weak.

Normal picture and picture showing weak signal
Normal picture and picture showing weak signal

POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS

  • Check and repair the antenna and the antenna lead wire.
  • Install a higher or more directional (higher gain) antenna
  • Install a signal booster.

For more information, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through… Various Solutions to Interference.

Interference caused by simultaneous reception of two television signals

Normal picture and picture showing reception of two simultaneous signals
Normal picture and picture showing reception of two simultaneous signals

When the television receives two different signals at the same time, there may be interference.

When the television receives two different signals at the same time, there may be interference

The two pictures are different and are superimposed.

This type of interference can be caused by unusual atmospheric conditions that allow signals from a distant transmitter that uses the same channel to be picked up. In this case, you should wait for conditions to improve, because this is a short-lived phenomenon.

If this is a recurrent problem because of the location of your home, you should consider installing a directional antenna. The antenna will allow better reception of signals in the direction of the desired station.

Reception of two simultameous signals
Reception of two simultameous signals

Do not confuse this type of interference with so-called "ghost images."

If there is a cable television system installed in the neighbourhood, your antenna may pick up signals from a leak in the cable system and cause interference. The presence of this type of interference can be checked by tuning in to a channel where there is usually no signal. If a signal is present, notify the cable operator.

interference from cable system

Ghost images

Normal picture
Normal picture

Ghost image
Ghost image

This interference occurs when the television signal is reflected by an obstacle, such as a building or mountain, or when the antenna or antenna lead wire is in poor condition. The pictures are then superimposed, because the main signal and the reflected signal do not arrive at the receiver at quite the same time. The reflecting obstacle can be located in any direction from the antenna. Simply rotating the antenna may solve the problem. If reflected signals are coming from behind the television antenna, the ghost image could be reduced or eliminated by using a Yagi antenna or a rear-screen antenna. Poor installation of an antenna can also cause reflected ghost images.

interference caused by reflections off an obstacle

In some cases, the phenomenon may persist regardless of the type of antenna used, because the obstacles are too large.

For more information, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through… Various Solutions to Interference

Interference caused by a radio transmitter

Normal picture and Radio trasmitter (Channel 2 to 13)
Normal picture and picture with interference from a radio transmitter (Channel 2 to 13)

When this type of interference appears on the screen, or when voices can be heard, the set is experiencing interference from GRS (better known as CB) transmissions, amateur radio transmissions or other radio transmissions from a transmitter located nearby. Interference appears when the radio operator is speaking.

This phenomenon generally affects VHF channels 2 to 13 and channels 17 to 22 if you are a cable subscriber. Check out your neighbourhood to identify the potential source of the interference, then contact the operator involved who will likely be willing to assist you in solving the problem.

Interference caused by a radio transmitter (cable, channel 17 to 22)
Interference caused by a radio transmitter (cable, channel 17 to 22)

High-pass filters or notch filters, may help to eliminate this interference.

For more information, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through… Various Solutions to Interference.

Audio rectification

Unwanted voices or sounds can be heard.

This interference affects television, radio, telephone or various other electronic instruments or devices in the home such as intercoms, organs or microphones.

Audio rectification is a common phenomenon in which an electronic circuit, usually an amplifier, is suddenly affected by unwanted external radio signals. If the equipment is surrounded by an intense radio signal, the wiring or one of the circuit components may act as an antenna and pick up an unwanted signal. This is not necessarily the result of a technical fault in the transmitter. The entry point of the unwanted signal must be located. This can be done by disconnecting all accessories to isolate the culprit. Proper filters and shielding can solve the problem.

For more information on filters and shielding, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through… Various Solutions to Interference.

Interference from a neighbouring channel

Interference from a neighbouring channel

The transmitter of a television station in your area can cause problems with the reception of more distant stations transmitting on adjacent channels. If, for example, you are receiving both a weak channel 13 signal and a very strong channel 12 signal, the sound of the latter is likely to cause a grainy picture on channel 13. To check this, tune another television to channel 12, if possible, while observing the interference on channel 13 of the original television set. If you are experiencing this type of interference, there will be a correlation between the interference on channel 13 and the sound on channel 12. Repointing your antenna may eliminate this type of interference; if not, proper filters will be necessary. A higher-gain Yagi or rear-screen antenna may also prove effective.

Normal picture and Neighbouring channel
Normal picture and interference from neighbouring channel

Cable subscribers should not experience this type of problem since all television signals are maintained at similar levels.

Interference caused by an FM radio station

Normal picture and interference from FM radio station
Normal picture and interference from FM radio station

If an FM radio station transmitting antenna is located in the neighbourhood, interference may affect various electronic devices. Interference caused by an FM radio station often varies in accordance with the sound transmitted by the station. Unlike the interference caused by two-way radio transmitters that appears only when the radio operator speaks, this interference is continuous. This type of interference affects mainly channel 6 or VHF channels 2 to 13. In addition to the picture, sound on your set may also be affected.

To find the source, use a portable radio and adjust the tuner from one FM station to another to see if you can pinpoint the one transmitting the interfering signals that match the sounds affecting the television.

Possible Solutions

  • Repoint the antenna.
  • Install a notch filter.
  • If this is a new FM station in your area, contact the broadcaster, which will undoubtedly co-operate to help you solve the problem.

For more information, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through… Various Solutions to Interference.

Industrial, scientific or medical (diathermic or heating) equipment

Normal picture and interference from industrial, scientific or medical (diathermic or heating) equipment
Normal picture and interference from industrial, scientific or medical (diathermic or heating) equipment

Interference can take several forms. For example, does your television have wavy lines across the screen that move from bottom to top? Some radio frequencies are used to produce heat in the food, plastics and wood industries and may cause this type of interference on channels 2 to 6. Diathermy is used in hospitals and medical clinics. Check whether this potential source of interference is located in the neighbourhood. To solve the problem, corrective measures must normally be applied to the device causing the interference. In some cases, installing a high-pass filter on the television set will reduce or eliminate the interference. Contact officials in the institution where the equipment in question is located.

For more information on choosing filters, refer to the brochure: Cutting Through… Various Solutions to Interference.

Faulty signal booster

Normal picture and picture with faulty signal booster
Normal picture and picture with faulty signal booster

Antennas equipped with faulty signal boosters can cause interference. A signal booster is a small, inexpensive device connected to the antenna, which boosts signals and helps improve reception quality.

When a signal booster is faulty, it can cause interference on television receivers in dozens of homes in the neighbourhood. The interference appears in various ways, mainly as more or less stable wavy lines or as horizontal bars. The screen may even go black for a few moments. This type of interference can take many forms.

A faulty signal booster can transmit unwanted signals that will vary in intensity and affect different television channels on receivers in the area, according to atmospheric conditions or the channels watched on the television to which it is connected.

Fauty signal booster

Solutions

  • Check the condition of your signal booster. Shut off power to the booster and connect your television directly to the antenna.
  • If your booster is in good condition, you can find the faulty signal booster with the help of your neighbours by disconnecting the boosters in the area one at a time until the interference stops. If you have a directional antenna equipped with a rotor, you can determine the direction of the source of interference. (Note that some boosters are installed on the mast near the antenna.) The faulty signal booster will then have to be repaired or replaced.

Cutting Through…Television Interference
(PDF, 716 KB, 16 pages)

To access the Portable Document Format (PDF) version, you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:

Date modified:

Archivé — Comment se débrouiller…avec le brouillage à la télévision

Informations archivées

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Le brouillage à la télévision peut provenir de plusieurs sources et se manifester de façons diverses. Avant d'en décrire les caractéristiques, arrêtons-nous aux vérifications de base.

VÉRIFICATIONS DE BASE

  • Connexions
  • Débranchement des accessoires
  • Test de l'appareil témoin
  • Vérification avec les voisins

Pour ce faire, consultez la brochure : « Comment se débrouiller… avec les parasites radioélectriques ».

Les abonnés à un service de câblodistribution ou à un service de radiodiffusion directe par satellite devraient communiquer avec leur fournisseur après s'être assurés que leur appareil est installé conformément aux normes.

SI LE PROBLÈME PERSISTE...

1. LES PARASITES DE SOURCE ÉLECTRIQUE

Plusieurs appareils électriques peuvent occasionner des parasites, comme les moteurs électriques, les outils et les appareils électroménagers. Les types de parasites diffèrent beaucoup d'un appareil électrique à un autre. Ainsi, les parasites provoqués par un ordinateur ne ressemblent pas à ceux d'un appareil électroménager.

Les thermostats d'appareils de chauffage, les interrupteurs à rhéostat, les éclairages fluorescents, les néons, les coussins ou les couvertures électriques ou les transformeurs de carillon font aussi partie de cette catégorie.

Les lignes et points brillants plus ou moins intenses, souvent accompagnés de bruits de friture et de bourdonnement, peuvent aussi affecter la réception de la radio AM et FM.

Les parasites de source électriques

Ces parasites sporadiques correspondent généralement à la mise en marche ou au fonctionnement d'un accessoire ou d'un appareil électrique.

Comment trouver la source du brouillage?

test du disjoncteur

Le test du disjoncteur permet de repérer la source des parasites à l'intérieur de la maison. Ce test est expliqué en détail dans la brochure: « Comment se débrouiller… avec les parasites radioélectriques ».

SI LE PROBLÈME PERSISTE...

La source du brouillage est probablement à l'extérieur de votre maison.

Vérifiez avec vos voisins immédiats. L'endroit où le bruit des parasites est le plus intense pourrait désigner l'origine de la perturbation. Si l'un de vos voisins a, lui aussi, un problème similaire, invitez-le à effectuer le test du disjoncteur pour tenter de localiser l'appareil défectueux. Il est rare qu'un appareil électroménager ou électrique provoque des parasites sur une distance de plus de quelques maisons.

SI LE PROBLÈME PERSISTE...

La source du brouillage peut provenir des lignes de transport d'électricité. Le réseau de distribution qui alimente le voisinage est souvent une source de parasites.

Les lignes de transport d'électricité

Image normale et ligne de transport électrique
Image normale et ligne de transport électrique

Si cette perturbation surgit et varie en intensité selon les conditions météorologiques (temps sec ou humide ou lorsqu'il y a du vent) et si le test du disjoncteur exclut une source à l'intérieur de la demeure, le brouillage peut être causé par des éléments défectueux dans les lignes de transport d'électricité près de chez vous.

Ce brouillage peut aussi affecter la réception de la radio AM et parfois celle du FM.

Communiquez alors avec votre compagnie d'électricité qui pourra remédier au problème.

2. LES AUTRES TYPES DE PARASITES

Si votre appareil ne capte pas adéquatement les ondes ou s'il en capte qui ne lui sont pas destinées et qu'il n'est pas en mesure d'éliminer, des problèmes de brouillage surgiront.

Une mauvaise réception des signaux

Le problème d'un signal faible surgit lorsqu'on est trop éloigné de la station émettrice qu'on désire capter ou lorsqu'il y a des obstacles entre l'antenne et l'émetteur. L'effet sera le même, si l'antenne est défectueuse ou mal orientée.

Image normale et signal faible
Image normale et signal faible

SOLUTIONS POSSIBLES

  • Vérifier et réparer l'antenne et la descente d'antenne
  • Installer une antenne plus haute ou une antenne avec plus de gain
  • Installer un amplificateur de signal

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la brochure : « Comment se débrouiller… avec les différentes solutions au brouillage ».

Le brouillage causé par la réception simultanée de deux signaux

Image normale et réception simultanée
Image normale et réception simultanée

Lorsque le téléviseur reçoit deux signaux différents en même temps, l'image peut être brouillée.

Lorsque le téléviseur reçoit deux signaux différents en même temps, l'image peut être brouillée.

Les deux images sont alors différentes et elles se superposent.

Ce brouillage peut être provoqué par des conditions atmosphériques exceptionnelles qui permettent aux signaux d'un émetteur éloigné qui utilise le même canal d'être captés. Si c'est le cas, il faut attendre que les conditions changent, car ce phénomène est passager.

Si l'emplacement du domicile fait que ce problème est courant, il faudra songer à installer une antenne directionnelle. L'antenne favorisera une meilleure réception des signaux dans la direction de la station désirée.

Réception simultanée
Réception simultanée

Ne pas confondre avec l'image double du brouillage appelée « image fantôme ».

S'il y a un système de câblodistribution installé dans le voisinage, l'antenne peut capter des signaux provenant d'une fuite dans le système du câble et causer du brouillage. On peut vérifier la présence de ce type de brouillage en syntonisant un canal où il n'y a habituellement pas de signaux. Si c'est le cas, il faut en avertir le câblodistributeur.

L'image fantôme

Image normale et image fantôme
Image normale et image fantôme

Cette perturbation se produit lorsque le signal de télévision est réfléchi par un obstacle tel un bâtiment ou une montagne, ou lorsque l'antenne ou la descente d'antenne est en mauvais état. Il y a alors superposition d'images parce que le signal principal et le signal réfléchi se trouvent décalés d'un petit laps de temps en arrivant au récepteur. L'obstacle réflecteur peut se trouver n'importe où dans les 360 degrés d'horizon autour de l'antenne. Une simple rotation de l'antenne peut régler le problème. Si les signaux réfléchis proviennent de l'arrière de l'antenne de télévision, il est possible de supprimer ou d'atténuer l'image fantôme au moyen d'une antenne yagi ou d'une antenne à écran arrière. Une mauvaise installation de l'antenne peut aussi provoquer des images fantômes.

image fantôme

Dans certains cas, le phénomène ne peut être résolu quel que soit le type d'antenne utilisée, car les obstacles sont trop importants.

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la brochure : « Comment se débrouiller… avec les différentes solutions au brouillage »

Parasites provoqués par un émetteur radio

Parasites provoqués par un émetteur radio
Image normale et émetteur radio (canaux 2 à 13)

Lorsque ce type de brouillage apparaît à l'écran ou lorsque des voix se font entendre, l'appareil est brouillé par des émissions d'émetteurs SRG mieux connus sous le nom de CB, ou des émissions provenant de radioamateurs ou d'autres services radio dont l'émetteur est proche. Le brouillage apparaît lorsque l'opérateur parle.

Ce phénomène affecte généralement les canaux VHF de 2 à 13 en plus des canaux 17 à 22 si vous êtes abonné au câble. Faites enquête dans les alentours pour trouver le brouilleur possible, puis adressez-vous à ce dernier, il vous aidera probablement à résoudre le problème.

Émetteur radio (câble, canaux 17 à 22)
Émetteur radio (câble, canaux 17 à 22)

Les filtres passe-haut ou d'autres filtres éliminateurs tels que le filtre coupe-bande peuvent servir à enrayer ce brouillage.

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la brochure : « Comment se débrouiller… avec les différentes solutions au brouillage ».

Le redressement audio

Des voix ou des sons indésirables se font entendre!

Cette perturbation peut affecter le téléviseur, la radio, le téléphone ou divers instruments ou appareils électroniques de la maison tels l'interphone, l'orgue ou un microphone.

Le redressement audio est un phénomène fréquent par lequel un circuit électronique, généralement un amplificateur, est soudainement affecté par des signaux radio externes non désirables. Si l'appareil baigne dans un signal radioélectrique intense, le câblage ou l'une des composantes de ce circuit peut agir comme antenne et capter un signal indésirable. Cela n'est pas nécessairement dû à un défaut technique de l'émetteur. Il faut localiser l'endroit par où pénètre le signal en débranchant tous les accessoires afin d'isoler le responsable. Des filtres et des blindages appropriés peuvent résoudre le problème.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les filtres et les blindages, consultez la brochure intitulée: « Comment se débrouiller… avec les différentes solutions au brouillage ».

Interférence d'un canal adjacent

Interférence d'un canal adjacent

L'émetteur d'une station de télévision de votre localité peut causer des problèmes de réception aux stations plus éloignées émettant sur des canaux adjacents. Ainsi, si vous recevez à la fois un signal affaibli du canal 13 et un très fort signal du canal 12, le son de ce dernier risque de provoquer une image granuleuse sur le canal 13. Pour le vérifier, ouvrez si possible un autre téléviseur au canal 12 tout en observant le brouillage au canal 13 sur votre premier téléviseur. Si c'est le cas, il y aura corrélation de brouillage du 13 avec le son du 12. Une réorientation de l'antenne peut éliminer ce type de brouillage sinon des filtres appropriés seront nécessaires. Une antenne yagi ayant plus de gain ou une antenne yagi avec écran arrière peut également être efficace.

Image normale et canal adjacent
Image normale et canal adjacent

Les abonnés au câble ne devraient pas connaître un tel problème, car le niveau des signaux y est uniformément réglé.

Parasites provoqués par une station de radio FM

Image normal et station de radio FM
Image normal et station de radio FM

Si une antenne de station de radio FM est située dans les alentours, des parasites peuvent affecter des appareils électroniques divers. Le brouillage causé par une station de radio FM se modifie souvent en fonction du son émis par cette station. Contrairement au brouillage causé par des émetteurs radio qui ne survient que lorsque l'opérateurradio émet, ce brouillage est continu. Ce type de brouillage affecte surtout le canal 6 ou les canaux VHF de 2 à 13. En plus de l'image, le son de l'appareil peut aussi être affecté.

Pour en vérifier la source, utilisez une radio portative et naviguez d'une station FM à l'autre. Cela permettra de trouver celle qui émet les signaux brouilleurs correspondant au phénomène sonore affectant le téléviseur.

SOLUTIONS POSSIBLES

  • Réorienter l'antenne
  • Installer un filtre coupe-bande
  • S'il s'agit d'une station FM nouvellement installée dans la région, communiquez avec les responsables qui collaboreront sûrement à régler ce problème.

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la brochure : « Comment se débrouiller… avec les différentes solutions au brouillage ».

Équipement industriel, scientifique ou médical (diathermie ou chauffage)

Image normale et équipement industriel, scientifique ou médical
Image normale et équipement industriel, scientifique ou médical

Les parasites peuvent prendre plusieurs formes. Par exemple, l'écran de la télé est traversé par une bande de lignes ondulées qui défile de bas en haut? Certaines fréquences radio sont utilisées dans la production de chaleur dans l'industrie de l'alimentation, du plastique ou du bois et peuvent provoquer ce type de brouillage aux canaux 2 à 6. Quant à la diathermie, elle est principalement utilisée dans les hôpitaux ou les cliniques médicales. Vérifiez si ce type de brouilleur éventuel ne se trouve pas dans le voisinage. C'est l'appareil brouilleur qu'on doit normalement corriger pour résoudre ce problème. Dans certains cas, l'installation d'un filtre passe-haut au téléviseur réduira ou éliminera le brouillage. Communiquez avec les responsables de l'établissement où se trouve l'appareil.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le choix des filtres, consultez la brochure : « Comment se débrouiller… avec les différentes solutions au brouillage ».

Amplificateur de signal défectueux

Image normale et brouillage causé par un amplificateur de signal défectueux
Image normale et brouillage causé par un amplificateur de signal défectueux

Les antennes équipées d'amplificateurs de signal défectueux peuvent causer du brouillage. L'amplificateur de signal est un petit dispositif peu coûteux relié à l'antenne qui permet d'amplifier les signaux et contribue à améliorer la qualité de la réception.

Cependant, lorsqu'un amplificateur de signal est défectueux, il peut brouiller les téléviseurs de dizaines de maisons du voisinage. Les parasites se manifestent de plusieurs façons; le brouillage se traduira notamment par des lignes ondulées plus ou moins stables ou des barres horizontales. L'écran peut même devenir noir quelques instants. Les brouillages de ce type peuvent prendre plusieurs formes.

Un amplificateur de signal défectueux peut émettre des signaux indésirables qui varieront en intensité et affecteront différents canaux de télévision des récepteurs du voisinage, selon les conditions atmosphériques, ou en fonction des canaux regardés sur le téléviseur auquel l'amplificateur est relié.

SOLUTIONS

  • Vérifier l'état de l'amplificateur de signal. Couper l'alimentation de l'amplificateur et raccorder le téléviseur directement à l'antenne.
  • S'il est en bon état, avec la collaboration du voisinage, trouver l'amplificateur de signal défectueux en débranchant un à un les amplificateurs des alentours jusqu'à ce que le brouillage cesse. Si vous avez une antenne directionnelle munie d'un rotor, vous pouvez déterminer la direction de la source de brouillage. Notez que certains amplificateurs sont installés sur le mât près de l'antenne. Il faudra ensuite réparer ou remplacer l'amplificateur de signal défectueux.

Comment se débrouiller…avec le brouillage à la télévision
(PDF, 877 Ko, 15 pages)

Pour consulter la version PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet :

Date de modification :