CPC-3-14-01 — Determinations of Harmful Interference with Respect to Radio-Sensitive Equipment

Issue 2
October 2008

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
Spectrum Management and Operations Branch
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

Attention: DOS

Email: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Contents


1. Principle

The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the objectives of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister is responsible for developing national policies and goals for spectrum resource use and ensuring effective management of the radio frequency spectrum.

2. Mandate

Paragraph 5(1)(l) of the Radiocommunication Act states that:

"... the Minister may ... make determinations as to the existence of harmful interference and issue orders to persons in possession or control of radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment that the Minister determines to be responsible for the harmful interference to cease or modify operation of the apparatus or equipment until such time as it can be operated without causing or being affected by harmful interference;"

3. Definitions

"Radio-sensitive" equipment is defined in the Radiocommunication Act

"... any device, machinery or equipment, other than radio apparatus, the use or functioning of which is or can be adversely affected by radiocommunication emissions".

Section 2 of the Radiocommunication Act defines "harmful interference" as:

"... an adverse effect of electromagnetic energy from any emission, radiation or induction that

  1. endangers the use or functioning of a safety-related radiocommunications system, or
  2. significantly degrades or obstructs, or repeatedly interrupts, the use or functioning of radio apparatus or radio-sensitive equipment."

Table 1 describes three types of equipment. For the application of the values in that table, and for only that table, Industry Canada has developed the following definitions:

"broadcasting receivers" means equipment for the reception of broadcast sound and television signals, e.g. stereo receivers/tuners, clock radios, televisions, etc.;

"associated equipment" means devices associated with broadcasting receivers, e.g. audio/video recorders and playback devices;

"radio-sensitive equipment" means all other non-radio electronic equipment, e.g. baby monitors, telephones, electric organs, home security systems, computers, guitar amplifiers, etc.

4. Background

Canadians' ever-increasing demand for commercial wireless services and licence-exempt radio equipment has led to elevated levels of radio frequency energy in urban areas.

When consumer electronic products malfunction in the presence of radio signal energy, the problem is often assumed to be entirely the fault of the radio transmitter. Although possible, it is often more likely that the consumer device is inadequately designed to operate properly in the presence of radio signals or other sources of electromagnetic energy. Consumer devices that are affected by other electrical equipment or sources of electromagnetic energy generally lack immunity protection, whereas devices that are affected by radio signals for which they are not intended to receive are described as being "radio-sensitive."

Consumer electronic products and radio transmitters are all required to meet applicable Industry Canada technical standards to ensure that they perform their intended functions without causing interference. There are few potential defects that would cause a normally operating radio transmitter to adversely affect consumer electronic equipment, and in most cases, only other radio receivers would be impacted.

To assist in making determinations to resolve immunity complaints, the Department has produced Electromagnetic Compatibility Advisory Bulletin 2 (EMCAB-2), Criteria for Resolution of Immunity Complaints involving Fundamental Emissions of Radiocommunications Transmitters. EMCAB-2 sets out field strength values (see Table 1 below), that may be used by the Department to help to determine if a problem results from a radio transmitter's usage or from the consumer equipment's lack of immunity. The Minister's determination will be based upon the measured levels of radio frequency energy at the site concerned and whether they exceed the values shown in Table 1.

Table 1
Type of Equipment Field Strength Criterion
dbuv/m V/m
Broadcasting Receivers 125 1.83
Associated Equipment 125 1.83
Radio-Sensitive Equipment 125 3.16

5. Areas of Responsibility

To effectively resolve electromagnetic immunity problems, the cooperation of Industry Canada, radio operators, manufacturers, dealers and consumers is required. General responsibilities for each stakeholder involved in this resolution process are outlined below.

5.1 Industry Canada

The Department provides technical information and advice to consumers who possess electronic equipment adversely affected by radio signals. Based upon field strength values identified in EMCAB-2, (see Table 1), the Department may also make determinations as to the cause of immunity-related problems and will advise the appropriate stakeholders.

The Department will not normally respond to requests from the public to make a formal determination of harmful interference unless it can be demonstrated that all other reasonable courses of action to resolve the problem have been explored.

Industry Canada fully expects complainants and operators of radio transmitters to cooperate with each other to resolve radio-sensitive equipment problems. Failure to cooperate may result in the imposition of operating restrictions for the use of the transmitter, a requirement that radio-sensitive equipment be modified to improve its electromagnetic immunity, or both.

As a last resort, the Department may decide to make a determination of harmful interference. This determination may result in the imposition of new terms and conditions for the operation of a radio transmitter, or an assessment that the complainant's electronic equipment lacks sufficient immunity protection to operate properly in the presence of radio signals or other types of electromagnetic energy.

5.2 Operators of Radio Transmitters

Operators of radio transmitters should be aware that even when they comply with all requirements of the Radiocommunication Act, the Radiocommunication Regulations, applicable technical standards and specific licence conditions, they should take all practical steps to minimize the likelihood of interference from occurring. EMCAB-2 (see Table 1) further identifies field strength levels on the premises of affected equipment owners above which radio operators must act to resolve immunity problems.

Radio operators are encouraged to work with complainants in resolving problems without recourse to the Department. Failure by radio users to provide such cooperation may result in the Department imposing additional terms and conditions upon the user's authorization to operate the radio apparatus. Such terms and conditions may include, but are not limited to, limiting the user's radiated power, hours of operation or choice of operating frequencies. In extreme cases, it may result in suspension or revocation of the user's authorization.

If the Department agrees to make a determination of harmful interference and it is found that measured field strength levels on the premises of the complainant exceed those shown in Table 1, the Department will require the operator of the transmitting station to reduce the station's radiated field strength, at the measurement point, to those levels. Radio operators will normally decide how best to reduce the station's field strength level as required; however, the Department can provide direction on how this can be achieved.

5.3 The Consumer

Consumers should also be aware that electronic manufacturers can incorporate varying degrees of electromagnetic immunity into their product's design, and that the inclusion of such protection measures is wholly voluntary. Consequently, due to a lack of sufficient inherent electromagnetic immunity, consumer electronic equipment may malfunction in the presence of radio (electromagnetic) signals.

Consumers, particularly in areas where radio frequency spectrum usage is high, should therefore insist, through the marketplace, that manufacturers design consumer goods that provide sufficient electromagnetic immunity appropriate for the radio frequency environment in which they will be used. Furthermore, consumers must ensure that their equipment is installed and used is accordance with the manufacturer's specifications.

Prior to requesting that the Department make a determination of harmful interference, complainants should discuss the problem with the operator of the radio apparatus (if known) suspected of causing interference. Many radio operators are quite knowledgeable in resolving such problems, and will offer their services freely to assist complainants in improving the immunity protection of affected equipment.

Should Industry Canada agree to make a determination of harmful interference and it is found that the measured field strength of radio signals on the complainant's premises do not exceed levels shown in Table 1, or if problems persist after required changes have been made to a radio transmitter (see section 5.2), the onus of responsibility to improve the immunity of affected equipment will shift to the complainant.

Complainants whose equipment does not meet the immunity levels described in Table 1 should report such problems to the customer service department of an appropriate equipment manufacturer or dealer, who may be able to provide assistance or offer interference control information. Electronic equipment manufacturers and dealers can usually be contacted via telephone, mail or through their website.

5.4 Electronic Equipment Manufacturers/Dealers

Manufacturers and dealers should take an interest in the field performance of their products in order to ensure customer satisfaction. To facilitate this goal, electronic products must be certified for use in Canada, and manufacturers/dealers should ensure that their products are installed and operated in accordance with applicable Industry Canada technical standards. As well, manufacturers should consider the electromagnetic environment in which their products may be operated, and incorporate sufficient immunity measures into their design.

When manufacturers or dealers are notified of an immunity problem with their product, they should consider repairing, modifying or replacing affected equipment. If unable to effect a suitable repair or replacement, a refund of the equipment's purchase price may also be offered.

In order to distinguish between a mere technical problem, and an equipment design prone to inadequate immunity protection, manufacturers and dealers should ensure that their service personnel are sufficiently trained to understand basic electromagnetic principles and implement interference-suppression techniques.

Date modified:

CPC-3-14-01 — Détermination de brouillage préjudiciable au matériel radiosensible

2e édition
Octobre 2008

Les intéressés désireux de faire parvenir leurs observations ou propositions peuvent les adresser à :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

À l'attention de la DOS

Par courriel :ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Dans nos publications, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Table des matières


1. Principe

En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et des objectifs contenus dans la Loi sur les télécommunications, le ministre de l'Industrie est responsable de la gestion du spectre au Canada. À ce titre, il est responsable de l'élaboration de politiques et d'objectifs nationaux concernant l'utilisation des ressources du spectre, ainsi que de la gestion efficace des ressources du spectre des radiofréquences.

2. Mandat

L'alinéa 5(1)l) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication établit que :

« ... le ministre peut ...décider de l'existence de tout brouillage préjudiciable et donner l'ordre aux personnes qui possèdent ou contrôlent tout appareil radio, matériel brouilleur ou matériel radiosensible qu'il juge responsable du brouillage de cesser ou de modifier l'exploitation de cet appareil ou de ce matériel jusqu'à ce qu'il puisse fonctionner sans causer de brouillage préjudiciable ou sans en être contrarié; »

3. Définitions

La Loi sur la radiocommunication définit ainsi le « matériel radiosensible »: 

« Dispositif, appareillage ou matériel - autre qu'un appareil radio - dont l'utilisation ou le fonctionnement est contrarié par des émissions de radiocommunication ou peut l'être. »

L'article 2 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication définit ainsi le « brouillage préjudiciable » :

« Effet non désiré d'une énergie électromagnétique due aux émissions, rayonnements ou inductions qui compromet le fonctionnement d'un système de radiocommunication relié à la sécurité ou qui dégrade ou entrave sérieusement ou interrompt de façon répétée le fonctionnement d'appareils radio ou de matériel radiosensible. »

Le tableau 1 décrit trois types de matériel. Aux fins de l'application des valeurs de ce tableau, et seulement pour ce tableau, Industrie Canada a établi les définitions suivantes :

« récepteurs de radiodiffusion » : matériel servant à la réception de signaux d'émissions de radio et de télévision, p. ex. les récepteurs/syntoniseurs stéréo, les radio-réveil, les téléviseurs, etc.

« matériel associé » : dispositifs associés aux récepteurs de radiodiffusion, p.ex. les magnétophones et les magnétoscopes, ainsi que les dispositifs de lecture.

« matériel radiosensible » : tout autre appareil électronique qui n'est pas un appareil radio, p. ex. les appareils de surveillance électronique des bébés, les téléphones, les orgues électriques, les systèmes de sécurité du foyer, les ordinateurs, les amplificateurs de guitare, etc.

4. Contexte

La demande sans cesse croissante des Canadiens et Canadiennes visant les services sans fil commerciaux et l'équipement radio exempt de licence a contribué à l'augmentation des niveaux de l'énergie radioélectrique dans les zones urbaines.

Bien souvent, lorsque les appareils électroniques grand public fonctionnent mal en présence de signaux radioélectriques, la défectuosité en est imputée uniquement à l'émetteur radio. Bien que tel puisse être le cas, il est souvent plus probable que l'appareil électronique grand public n'a simplement pas été conçu pour fonctionner adéquatement en présence de signaux radioélectriques ou d'autres sources d'énergie électromagnétique. Les dispositifs grand public qui sont touchés par les rayonnements d'autres équipements électriques ou sources d'énergie électromagnétique ne sont en général pas « immunisés », tandis que les dispositifs sensibles à des signaux radio qu'ils ne sont pas destinés à recevoir sont dits « radiosensibles ».

Les produits électroniques et émetteurs radio grand public doivent tous respecter les normes techniques applicables d'Industrie Canada afin de remplir leurs fonctions sans causer de brouillage. Peu de défauts éventuels sont susceptibles de faire en sorte qu'un émetteur radio fonctionnant normalement nuise au fonctionnement d'équipements électroniques grand public et, dans la plupart des cas, seuls d'autres récepteurs radio seront touchés.

Afin de faciliter les déterminations visant à résoudre les plaintes en matière d'immunité, le Ministère a produit l'Avis 2 sur la compatibilité électromagnétique (ACEM-2), intitulé Critères applicables à la résolution de plaintes reliées à l'immunité des appareils et mettant en jeu les émissions fondamentales d'émetteurs de radiocommunications. L'ACEM 2 présente les valeurs d'intensité de champ requises (voir tableau 1 ci-dessous) que le Ministère peut utiliser pour déterminer si un problème provient de l'exploitation d'un émetteur radio ou s'il n'est pas plutôt attribuable au manque d'immunité du matériel grand public. La détermination du brouillage effectuée par le Ministère sera fondée sur les mesures des niveaux d'énergie radioélectrique constatée à l'emplacement touché, et sur le fait que ces valeurs sont supérieures ou non à celles du tableau 1.

Tableau 1
Type d'équipement Critère d'intensité de champ
dbμV/m V/m
Récepteurs de radiodiffusion 125 1,83
Matériel associé 125 1,83
Matériel radiosensible 125 3,16

5. Domaines de responsabilité

Pour régler efficacement les problèmes d'immunité électromagnétique, la collaboration d'Industrie Canada, des exploitants d'appareils radio, des fabricants, des marchands et des consommateurs est nécessaire. Les responsabilités générales des divers intéressés sont définies ci-dessous.

5.1 Industrie Canada

Le Ministère fournit des avis et des conseils techniques aux consommateurs qui possèdent du matériel électronique brouillé par des signaux radioélectriques. Selon le niveau d'intensité de champ défini dans l'avis ACEM-2 (voir le tableau 1), le Ministère peut également déterminer la cause des problèmes d'immunité et conseillera les intéressés.

Normalement, le Ministère ne répondra pas aux demandes du public de faire la détermination du brouillage préjudiciable, à moins que l'on puisse établir que toutes les autres avenues possibles pour résoudre le problème ont été explorées.

Industrie Canada s'attend à une entière collaboration entre les plaignants et les exploitants d'émetteurs en vue de la résolution des problèmes associés au matériel radiosensible. Le refus de collaborer pourra entraîner l'imposition de restrictions visant l'exploitation de l'émetteur et/ou l'exigence d'apporter des modifications à l'équipement radiosensible afin d'en améliorer l'immunité électromagnétique.

En dernier recours, le Ministère pourra décider de faire une détermination du brouillage préjudiciable. Cette détermination peut conduire à l'imposition de nouvelles conditions et modalités pour l'exploitationd'un émetteur radio, ou à une évaluation établissant que le matériel électronique du plaignant n'a pas l'immunité nécessaire pour fonctionner adéquatement en présence de signaux radio ou d'autres types d'énergie électromagnétique.

5.2 Exploitants d'émetteurs radio

Les exploitants d'émetteurs radio devraient savoir que même s'ils respectent toutes les exigences de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, ainsi que les normes techniques applicables et les conditions de licence spécifiées, ils devraient prendre toutes les mesures pratiques nécessaires pour réduire au minimum les risques de brouillage. L'ACEM-2 (voir le tableau 1) indique en outre les niveaux d'intensité de champ dans les locaux du propriétaire du matériel touché, niveaux au-delà desquels les exploitants de matériel radio devront prendre des mesures pour régler les problèmes d'immunité.

Les exploitants de matériel radio sont encouragés à collaborer avec les plaignants pour trouver une solution, et ce, sans avoir recours au Ministère. Si l'exploitant refuse de collaborer, le Ministère pourra imposer de nouvelles conditions pour limiter l'autorisation d'exploiter des appareils radio. Le Ministère peut ainsi décider, sans que cela ne soit la seule restriction, de limiter la puissance rayonnée par un émetteur, les heures d'exploitation ou le choix des fréquences relatives à l'exploitation de l'installation. Dans les cas extrêmes, le Ministère pourra aller jusqu'à suspendre ou révoquer l'autorisation de l'exploitant.

Si le Ministère accepte d'effectuer une détermination de brouillage préjudiciable et conclut que les niveaux d'intensité de champ mesurés dans les locaux du plaignant dépassent les niveaux du tableau 1, le Ministère exigera de l'exploitant de la station émettrice qu'il réduise l'intensité du signal rayonné par sa station, au point de mesure, aux niveaux du tableau 1. Généralement, c'est l'exploitant qui décide des meilleurs moyens à prendre pour réduire l'intensité de champ de la station; cependant, le Ministère pourra fournir des avis sur la façon de procéder.

5.3 Le consommateur

Les consommateurs devraient également savoir que les fabricants de matériel électronique peuvent doter leurs produits de divers degrés d'immunité électromagnétique, et ce à titre entièrement facultatif. Par conséquent, en raison de l'insuffisance de l'immunité électromagnétique inhérente, le matériel électronique grand public peut mal fonctionner en présence de signaux radioélectriques (électromagnétiques).

Ainsi, les consommateurs, en particulier dans les régions où l'utilisation des fréquences radioélectriques est grande, devraient insister, par les voies du marché, pour que les fabricants conçoivent des produits de consommation dont l'immunité électromagnétique est adaptée au milieu radiofréquence où ils seront exploités. En outre, les consommateurs doivent s'assurer que leur équipement est installé et utilisé conformément aux spécifications du fabricant.

Avant de demander au Ministère d'effectuer une détermination de brouillage préjudiciable, les plaignants devraient discuter du problème avec l'exploitant du matériel radio (s'ils le connaissent) qu'ils estiment être à l'origine du brouillage. De nombreux exploitants de matériel radio savent très bien comment régler ces problèmes, et offriront leurs services gratuitement pour aider les plaignants à améliorer l'immunité du matériel radio touché.

Si Industrie Canada accepte d'effectuer une détermination du brouillage préjudiciable et constate que l'intensité de champ mesurée des signaux radio dans les locaux du plaignant ne dépasse pas les niveaux du tableau 1, ou si les problèmes persistent lorsque les modifications requises auront été apportées à un émetteur radio (voir la section 5.2), il appartiendra alors au plaignant d'améliorer l'immunité du matériel touché.

Les plaignants dont l'équipement ne satisfait pas aux niveaux d'immunité indiqués au tableau 1 devraient signaler ces problèmes au service à la clientèle d'un fabricant ou marchand d'équipement compétent, qui pourra être en mesure de fournir de l'aide ou d'offrir de l'information sur la limitation du brouillage. Habituellement, on peut communiquer avec les fabricants et les marchands de matériel électronique par téléphone ou courrier ou encore par l'intermédiaire de leur site Web.

5.4 Fabricants/marchands de matériel électronique

Les fabricants et marchands devraient se soucier du bon fonctionnement de leurs produits dans des conditions réelles afin d'assurer la satisfaction du client. À cette fin, les produits électroniques doivent être certifiés pour utilisation au Canada, et les fabricants/marchands doivent veiller à ce que leurs produits soient installés et exploités conformément aux normes techniques applicables d'Industrie Canada. En outre, les fabricants devraient tenir compte du milieu électromagnétique dans lequel leurs produits pourront être exploités et intégrer à leur conception les mesures d'immunité nécessaires.

Lorsque les fabricants ou les marchands sont avisés d'un problème d'immunité touchant l'un de leurs produits, ils devraient envisager la réparation, la modification ou le remplacement du matériel touché. Si la réparation ou le remplacement n'est pas possible, ils pourraient aussi offrir de rembourser le prix d'achat du matériel.

Afin de distinguer entre un simple problème technique et un défaut d'immunité inhérent à la conception du matériel, les fabricants et marchands devraient s'assurer que leur personnel de réparation possède la formation nécessaire pour comprendre les principes de base de l'électromagnétisme et mettre en œuvre les techniques de suppression du brouillage.

Date de modification :