RIC-21 — Study Guide for the Restricted Operator Certificate With Aeronautical Qualification (ROC-A)

Issue 3
February 2010

Spectrum Management and Telecommunications
Radiocommunication Information Circular

Preface

Radiocommunication Information Circulars are issued for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. The information contained in these circulars is subject to change without notice. It is therefore suggested that interested persons consult the nearest district office of Industry Canada for additional details. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. As well, these circulars have no status in law.

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
Spectrum Management Operations Branch
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8

Attention: Spectrum Management Operations

E-mail: spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.


Contents

  1. Intent
  2. Background
  3. Candidate Requirements
  4. Regulations
  5. Operating Procedures
  6. Emergency Communications
  7. Urgency Communications

1. Intent

The intent of this document is to provide study information for the ROC-A. Restricted Operator Certificates are issued for life and no revalidation is required. Contact your local district office of Industry Canada if your certificate is lost or requires replacement.

2. Background

An ROC-A is required by operators of radiotelephone equipment on board aircraft and at aeronautical land (fixed and mobile) radio stations using aeronautical mobile frequencies. The radiotelephone equipment at such stations shall be of a type that requires only simple external switching, has a power output not exceeding 250 watts effective radiated power (e.r.p.) – equivalent to 400 watts peak envelope power (PEP) – and where all frequency-determining elements are preset within the transceiver.

3. Candidate Requirements

3.1 Exam

Examinations for the ROC-A are to be conducted by examiners accredited by Industry Canada. These examiners are typically individuals who are engaged in the aeronautical industry.

Please visit Industry Canada's website at www.ic.gc.ca/radio-operator to find an examiner near you.

The examination may consist of written, practical and oral exercises. The candidate must satisfy an examiner that he or she:

  • is capable of operating radiotelephone equipment;
  • possesses a general knowledge of radiotelephone operating procedures and of international regulations applicable to the aeronautical service, specifically those regulations relating to the safety of life; and
  • possesses a general knowledge of the Radiocommunication Act and the regulations made thereunder.

3.2 Eligibility

There are no nationality or age restrictions as to who may take the examination or hold an ROC-A. Candidates must attest that they do not have a disability that would impair their ability to operate a radio station safely.

3.3 Documentation

Identification must be presented at the examination. A valid passport, driver's licence, birth certificate, baptismal certificate, citizenship certificate or landed immigrant identification card will all be accepted as proof of identity, at the discretion of the examiner.

4. Regulations

4.1 Priorities of Communications - Aeronautical Service

The order of priority for transmission of messages in the aeronautical service is:

  1. Distress communications.
  2. Urgency communications.
  3. Communications relating to radio direction-finding.
  4. Flight safety messages.
  5. Meteorological messages.
  6. Flight regularity messages.
  7. Messages relating to the application of the United Nations Charter.
  8. Government messages for which priority has been expressly requested.
  9. Service communications relating to the workings of the telecommunication service or to communications previously exchanged.
  10. All other aeronautical communications.

4.2 Privacy of Communications

Radio operators and all persons who become acquainted with radiocommunications are bound to preserve the privacy of those communications. In accordance with subsection 9(2) of the Radiocommunication Act, no person shall divulge the contents, or the existence, of communications transmitted, received or intercepted by a radio station, except as permitted by the addressee of the message or his/her accredited agent, or to authorized officials of the Government of Canada, officers of the court or an operator of a telecommunications system as is necessary to forward or deliver the communication. These restrictions do not apply to a message of distress, urgency, safety or to messages addressed to "ALL STATIONS" (i.e. weather reports, storm warnings, etc.).

As outlined in section 9.1 of the Act, any person who violates the privacy of communications is liable, on summary conviction, in the case of an individual, to a fine not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year, or to both, or, in the case of a person other than an individual, on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding seventy-five thousand dollars.

4.3 Control of Communications

In communications between aeronautical ground stations and aircraft stations, the aircraft station shall comply with instructions given by the ground station in all matters relating to the order and time of transmission, the choice of frequency and the duration and suspension of communications. This does not apply in the cases of distress or urgency communications, where the control lies with the station initiating the priority call.

The operation of an aircraft station is under the control of the pilot or another person in charge of the station.

In communications between aeronautical ground stations and aircraft stations, it is normally the ground station that retains communications control. In communications between aircraft stations, however, the aircraft station being called is the controlling station.

If the station called is in agreement with the calling station, it shall transmit an indication that from that moment onwards it will listen on the working frequency or channel announced by the calling station. However, if the station called is not in agreement with the calling station on the working frequency or channel to be used, it shall transmit an indication of the working frequency or channel to be used.

Examples:

(a) Ground station calling an aircraft (the ground station has control of radiocommunications)

PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUEBEC QUEBEC
THIS IS
OTTAWA RADIO
GO AHEAD ON TOWER FREQUENCY ONE TWO TWO DECIMAL ONE
OVER

(b) Aircraft calling a ground station (the ground station has control of radiocommunications)

OTTAWA RADIO
THIS IS
PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUEBEC QUEBEC
ON FREQUENCY ONE TWO TWO DECIMAL ONE
OVER

(c) One aircraft to another aircraft (the aircraft being called has control of radiocommunications)

CESSNA CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUEBEC TANGO
THIS IS
PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUEBEC QUEBEC
ON FREQUENCY ONE ONE NINE DECIMAL SEVEN
OVER
PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUEBEC QUEBEC
THIS IS
CESSNA CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUEBEC TANGO
CHANGE TO SEARCH AND RESCUE FREQUENCY ONE TWO
THREE DECIMAL SIX
OUT

4.4 Superfluous Communications and Interference

Radiocommunications between aeronautical stations should be restricted to those relating to safety and flight regularity. In accordance with subsection 32(1) of the Radiocommunication Regulations, superfluous communication, as well as profane and obscene language, is strictly prohibited.

Any person who violates the regulations relative to unauthorized communications, profane or obscene language is liable, on summary conviction, in the case of an individual, to a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year, or to both, or, in the case of a corporation, on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars.

The Act clearly states that all radio stations shall be operated so as not to interfere with or interrupt the working of another radio station. The penalties for doing so are the same as those noted above. The only situation under which you may interrupt or interfere with the normal working of another station is when you are required to transmit a higher priority call or message, for example, distress, urgency or other priority calls or messages.

4.5 False Distress Signals

Paragraph 9(1)(a) of the Act clearly states that no person shall knowingly send, transmit, or cause to be sent or transmitted any false or fraudulent distress signal, message, call or radiogram of any kind. Penalties for this offence, on summary conviction, in the case of an individual, can include a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars or imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year, or to both, or, in the case of a corporation, to a fine not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars.

CIR-21 — Guide d'étude du certificat restreint d’opérateur radio (compétence aéronautique)

3e édition
Février 2010

Gestion du spectre et télécommunications
Circulaire d'information sur les radiocommunications

Préface

Les circulaires d'information sur les radiocommunications sont publiées dans le but de renseigner ceux qui s'occupent activement des radiocommunications au Canada. Des modifications peuvent y être effectuées sans préavis. Il est donc conseillé aux intéressés qui veulent d'autres renseignements de communiquer avec le plus proche bureau de district d'Industrie Canada. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour assurer l'exactitude des renseignements contenus dans la présente circulaire, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou tacitement. De plus, lesdites circulaires n'ont aucun statut légal.

Les intéressés désireux de faire parvenir leurs observations ou propositions peuvent les adresser à :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale des Opérations
de la gestion du spectre
des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8

À l'attention des Opérations de la gestion du spectre

Par courriel : spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Dans nos publications, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.


Table des matières

  1. Intention
  2. Contexte
  3. Exigences relatives aux candidats
  4. Réglementation
  5. Procédures d'exploitation
  6. Communications d'urgence
  7. Communications d'urgence

1. Intention

Ce document a été créé à l'intention des candidats au certificat restreint d'opérateur radio (compétence aéronautique). Le certificat d'opérateur radio est délivré à vie et n'exige aucune validation subséquente. Veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de district d'Industrie Canada le plus proche pour remplacer un certificat égaré ou endommagé.

2. Contexte

L'opérateur d'une installation radiotéléphonique à bord d'un aéronef et dans une station terrestre du service aéronautique fixe ou mobile utilisant des fréquences du service mobile aéronautique doit être titulaire d'un certificat restreint d'opérateur ratio (compétence aéronautique). Le matériel radiotéléphonique de la station, dont la puissance de sortie ne doit pas dépasser 250 W de puissance apparente rayonnée (p.a.r.) - soit l'équivalence de 400 W de puissance. Également, tous les éléments servant au choix des fréquences doivent être préréglés dans le transmetteur de la station.

3. Exigences relatives aux candidats

3.1 Examen

L'examen pour le certificat restreint d'opérateur radio (compétence aéronautique) est administré par un examinateur accrédité par Industrie Canada. Ces examinateurs oeuvrent généralement dans le domaine de l'industrie aéronautique.

Une recherche pour trouver un examinateur accrédité près de vous peut se faire sur le site web pour les Services des certificats prosfessionels d'opérateur radio à l'adresse www.ic.gc.ca/operateur-radio.

Il est possible que l'examen comporte des épreuves écrites, pratiques et orales. Le candidat doit démontrer à l'examinateur :

  • qu'il a la compétence voulue pour se servir d'une installation radiotéléphonique;
  • qu'il possède une connaissance générale des procédures d'exploitation en radiotéléphonie, des règlements internationaux applicables au service aéronautique et, plus particulièrement, des règles relatives à la sauvegarde de la vie humaine;
  • qu'il possède une connaissance générale de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et de ses règlements d'application.

3.2 Admissibilité

Il n'y a pas de restriction d'âge ni de nationalité en ce qui concerne l'admissibilité à l'examen ou la possession d'un certificat restreint d'opérateur radio (compétence aéronautique). Le candidat doit attester qu'il n'a pas d'incapacité qui pourrait influer sur son aptitude à exploiter une station radio en toute sécurité.

3.3 Documentation

Une pièce d'identité doit être présentée à l'examen. Il peut s'agir d'un passeport, d'un permis de conduire, d'un certificat de naissance, d'un certificat de baptême, d'un certificat de nationalité, d'une carte d'identité d'immigrant reçu, à la discrétion de l'examinateur.

4. Réglementation

4.1 Priorité des communications - service aéronautique

Dans le service aéronautique, voici l'ordre de priorité d'émission des messages :

  1. Communications de détresse
  2. Communications d'urgence
  3. Communications relatives à la radiogoniométrie
  4. Communications relatives à la sécurité des vols
  5. Messages météorologiques
  6. Messages relatifs à la régularité des vols
  7. Communications relatives à l'application de la Charte des Nations Unies
  8. Communications d'État pour lesquelles le droit de priorité a été demandé
  9. Communications de service relatives au fonctionnement du service de télécommunications ou à des communications ayant fait l'objet d'un échange
  10. Toute autre communication aéronautique

4.2 Caractère confidentiel des communications

Les opérateurs radio et les autres personnes qui prennent connaissance de radiocommunications sont tenus d'en respecter le caractère confidentiel. Conformément au paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, nul ne doit divulguer la teneur ou l'existence de communications émises, reçues ou interceptées par radio, sauf au destinataire du message ou à son agent accrédité, à des représentants dûment autorisés du gouvernement du Canada, à une cour de justice compétente ou à l'opérateur d'un réseau de télécommunications, dans la mesure où il y a lieu de le faire pour l'acheminement ou la livraison des communications. Les restrictions qui précèdent ne s'appliquent pas aux messages adressés à « TOUTES LES STATIONS », comme les bulletins météorologiques et les avertissements de tempête.

Comme le précise l'article 9.1 de la Loi, quiconque enfreint les dispositions relatives au caractère confidentiel des communications est passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire, dans le cas d'une personne physique, d'une amende maximale de 25 000 $ et d'un emprisonnement maximal d'un an, ou de l'une de ces peines, ou, dans le cas d'une personne morale, d'une amende maximale de 75 000 $.

4.3 Direction des communications

Dans les communications entre stations d'aéronef et stations au sol du service aéronautique, la station d'aéronef doit se conformer aux instructions données par la station au sol pour tout ce qui a trait à l'ordre et à l'heure des transmissions, au choix de la fréquence, ainsi qu'à la durée et à la suspension des communications. Cela ne s'applique pas aux communications de détresse ou d'urgence, où la direction des communications appartient à la station d'où provient l'appel prioritaire.

L'exploitation d'une station d'aéronef relève du pilote ou d'une autre personne responsable de la station.

Dans le cas de communications entre stations d'aéronef et stations au sol du service aéronautique, c'est normalement la station au sol qui dirige le trafic. Dans le cas des communications entre stations d'aéronef, c'est cependant la station appelée qui dirige le trafic.

Si la station appelée est d'accord avec la station appelante, elle transmet une indication qu'elle maintient l'écoute sur la fréquence ou la voie de travail annoncée par la station appelante. Par contre, si elle n'est pas d'accord avec la station appelante au sujet de la fréquence ou de la voie de travail, elle doit émettre une indication de la fréquence ou de la voie de travail à utiliser.

Exemples :

a) Station au sol appelant une station d'aéronef (la station au sol dirige la radiocommunication)

PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUÉBEC QUÉBEC
ICI
OTTAWA RADIO
CONTINUEZ SUR LA FRÉQUENCE DE LA TOUR UN DEUX DEUX DÉCIMAL UN
À VOUS

b) Station d'aéronef appelant une station au sol (la station au sol dirige la radiocommunication)

OTTAWA RADIO
ICI
PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUÉBEC QUÉBEC
SUR LA FRÉQUENCE UN DEUX DEUX DÉCIMAL UN
À VOUS

c) Station d'aéronef appelant une autre station d'aéronef (la station appelée dirige la radiocommunication)

CESSNA CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUÉBEC TANGO
ICI
PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUÉBEC QUÉBEC
SUR LA FRÉQUENCE UN UN NEUF DÉCIMAL SEPT
À VOUS

PIPER CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUÉBEC QUÉBEC
ICI
CESSNA CHARLIE FOXTROT X-RAY QUÉBEC TANGO
PASSEZ À LA FRÉQUENCE DE RECHERCHES ET DE SAUVETAGE UN DEUX TROIS DÉCIMAL SIX
TERMINÉ

4.4 Communications superflues et brouillage

Les radiocommunications entre stations du service aéronautique doivent se limiter à celles qui ont trait à la sécurité et à la régularité des vols. Conformément au paragraphe 32(1) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, les paroles superflues, grossières ou obscènes sont formellement interdites.

Quiconque enfreint les prescriptions relatives aux communications non autorisées ou à l'émission de paroles grossières ou obscènes est passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire, dans le cas d'une personne physique, d'une amende maximale de 5 000 $ et d'un emprisonnement maximal d'un an, ou de l'une de ces peines, ou, dans le cas d'une personne morale, d'une amende maximale de 25 000 $.

La Loi stipule clairement que toute station radio doit être exploitée de manière à ne pas brouiller ni interrompre le travail d'autres stations. Toute infraction est passible des mêmes pénalités que celles qui sont précisées ci-dessus. Il n'est permis d'interrompre ou de brouiller le travail normal d'une autre station que lorsque l'opérateur doit transmettre un appel ou un message de plus haute priorité, tel un appel ou message de détresse, d'urgence, ou encore tout autre appel ou message à priorité plus élevée.

4.5 Faux signaux de détresse

L'alinéa 9(1) a) de la Loi stipule clairement que quiconque sciemment envoie, émet ou fait envoyer ou émettre un signal de détresse ou un message, un appel ou un radiogramme de quelque nature, faux ou frauduleux, commet une infraction et encourt, sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire, dans le cas d'une personne physique, une amende maximale de 5 000 $ et un emprisonnement maximal d'un an, ou l'une de ces peines, ou, dans le cas d'une personne morale, une amende maximale de 25 000 $.


Pour consulter la version PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet :