Archived — Notice DGTP-003-97

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-003-97: Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

This Notice invites comments on proposals for the revision of the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

Background

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) adopts a Table of Frequency Allocations as part of the International Radio Regulations. This International Table allocates radio frequency spectrum to various combinations of radio services and is revised on a periodic basis along with other parts of the international regulations.

The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations is derived from the International Table of Frequency Allocations adopted by the ITU. The Canadian Table selects those radio services required to meet Canadian needs and also specifies, by Canadian footnote, any additional provisions for use of those services in Canada. Industry Canada revises the Canadian Table on a periodic basis normally following an ITU World Radiocommunication Conference. The WRC-95 Conference, which met in October/November 1995, adopted a number of changes to the frequency allocations in the International Table. The Conference dealt largely with the issues concerning the mobile satellite service including its feeder links and the simplification of the Radio Regulations. The resulting changes to the International Table demand the consideration of several issues on a domestic basis. The referenced Discussion Document presents these issues and makes proposals for revision to the Canadian Table.

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested and affected parties to provide their views and comments on the above referenced Discussion Document as described below.

Submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 and must be received on or before April 11, 1997 to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

Written comments received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing by the public, two weeks after the closing date of this Notice, during normal business hours, at the Industry Canada Library, 365 Laurier Ave. West, Ottawa, and at the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver, for a period of one year from the close of the comment period.

January 31, 1997

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis DGTP-003-97

Industrie Canada

Loi Sur La Radiocommunication

Avis No DGTP-003-97 – Révisions du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

Le présent avis invite les intéressés à faire connaître leur opinion sur la révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

Contexte

L'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) utilise un Tableau d'attribution des bandes de fréquences dans l'application du Règlement international des radiocommunications. Ce Tableau, dont on se sert pour attribuer les fréquences radioélectriques aux diverses combinaisons de services radio, est révisé périodiquement en tenant compte des autres parties du Règlement international des radiocommunications.

Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences s'inspire du Tableau international adopté par l'UIT. Le Tableau canadien choisit les services radio nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins canadiens et précise, par des renvois canadiens, les dispositions additionnelles applicables à ces services au Canada. Industrie Canada revoit le Tableau canadien périodiquement après la tenue d'une Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications (CMR). La CMR-95 tenue en octobre et novembre 1995 a adopté plusieurs changements touchant les attributions de fréquences dans le Tableau international. La Conférence a traité en grande partie des questions qui concernent le service mobile par satellite, y compris les liaisons de connexion et la simplification du Règlement des radiocommunications. Les changements qui en ont résulté dans le Tableau international suscitent l'examen de plusieurs questions nationales. Le document de discussion donné en référence traite de ces questions et propose des révisions à apporter au Tableau canadien.

Mémoires du public

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées ou touchées à lui présenter leur opinion et leurs observations sur le document de référence mentionné ci-dessus, en suivant la démarche décrite ci-après.

Les mémoires doivent être adressés au directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8, et être reçus au plus tard le 11 avril 1997 pour être pris en considération. Toutes les observations présentées doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis.

Les commentaires reçus en réponse au présent avis pourront être consultés par le public deux semaines après la date limite du présent avis, pendant les heures normales de bureau, à la bibliothèque d'Industrie Canada, 365, avenue Laurier ouest, Ottawa (Ontario), ainsi que dans les bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver, pendant une période d'un an après la date de clôture des commentaires.

Le 31 janvier 1997

Larry Shaw,
Directeur général
Direction de la Politique des télécommunications

Date de modification :