Archived — Notice No. DGRB-006-96

Industry Canada

Department of Industry Act and Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-006-96

Spectrum Licence Fees For Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Below 1 GHz

Introduction

An emerging class of global mobile satellite service (MSS) radiocommunication networks will provide Canadians with a variety of very low capacity, non-voice messaging and position location services throughout Canada. These mobile satellite networks will use radio frequency bands below 1 GHz which are allocated for mobile satellite services. Generally, these networks will use no more than 2-3 MHz of radio spectrum, and they will share the use of one or more of the bands of operation with other radiocommunication services. Where this is the case, the MSS networks must operate in a manner that avoids causing interference to the other services. To this end, there will be limits placed on, for example, the maximum number of transmissions from certain stations within the network, or on the amount of time that certain stations may transmit.

Under the authority granted in section 5.(1)(a)(i.1) of the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister will grant spectrum licences to successful applicants who wish to use these frequency bands for the provision of mobile satellite services in Canada. Such spectrum licences will permit the service provider to operate an unlimited number of subscriber earth stations in Canada. By means of this Notice, Industry Canada is proposing an authorization fee for the use of MSS radio spectrum below 1 GHz and seeking comments on the appropriateness of this fee. After the Department has reviewed all the responses to this notice, an appropriate fee will be set pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act.

Proposal

Industry Canada is of the view that fees should reflect the economic value of the radio frequency spectrum resource consumed. However, in the absence of a market-based mechanism by which the economic value would be revealed, the Department recognizes that such determinations are difficult.

Having considered the potential Canadian market value of the spectrum resources in question and recognizing that MSS service providers are only granted very limited access to this spectrum, Industry Canada proposes an annual authorization fee of $1140 per 100 kHz, or portion thereof, of assigned radio spectrum for the use of radio frequency bands below 1 GHz to provide mobile satellite services in Canada. In fact, comments received in response to recent public consultations on new licence fees and regulations suggest that $25,000 would be an appropriate fee for these types of networks. This proposal of $25,000 was adjusted, using the amount of spectrum these systems are likely to utilize, to derive the proposed fee. It is further proposed that at the time of authorization the applicant pay a prorated issuance fee of $95 per 100 kHz for each month until the licence expires on March 31. Thereafter, the annual fees will be due on April 1st of each year.

The Department notes that these new MSS technologies have significant potential to compete with both existing and future spectrum-based, and conceivably non-spectrum based, technologies in the provision of telecommunications services. Further, the Department is concerned that the choice of technologies not be distorted by the availability of spectrum at a cost that is not representative of the opportunity cost associated with its use. Interested parties are invited to comment on the appropriateness of the proposed interim fee. At such time as Industry Canada has developed a general fee framework that can appropriately embrace these technologies or has available to it a market determined valuation, this interim fee will be adjusted accordingly.

Invitation to Comment

Interested parties are invited to comment on the appropriateness of the proposed interim fee. Submissions in response to this Canada Gazette notice should be addressed to Ronald Amero, Manager, Space Services Frequency and Orbit Management, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8. within 30 days after its publication. Submissions can also be sent by electronic mail to: Amero.Ron@ic.gc.ca (Internet). All representations should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the notice publication date, title and reference number.

This Canada Gazette notice is available electronically on the Internet at:

http://info.ic.gc.ca/ic-data/telecom/dgse/english/index2e.html.

December 4, 1996

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGRB-006-96

Industrie Canada

Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie et Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-006-96

Droits de licence de spectre concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio inférieures à 1 GHz

Introduction

Une nouvelle classe de réseaux de radiocommunication mondiaux assurant un service mobile par satellite (SMS) va permettre d'offrir aux Canadiens une gamme de services de messagerie non vocale de très faible capacité et de radiolocalisation partout au Canada. Ces réseaux mobile à satellite utiliseront les bandes de fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz qui sont attribuées au service mobile par satellite. En général, ces réseaux utiliseront au plus 2 ou 3 MHz de spectre et ils partageront une ou plusieurs de ces bandes d'exploitation avec d'autres services de radiocommunication. Lorsqu'il y aura effectivement partage de fréquences, les réseaux SMS devront fonctionner de manière à ne pas causer de brouillage aux autres services. À cette fin, on posera des limites, par exemple, au nombre maximal de transmissions pouvant êtres émises par certaines stations du réseau, ou à la durée de transmission de certaines stations.

En vertu de l'autorité que lui confère l'article 5.(1)(a)(i.1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le ministre accordera des licences de spectre aux requérants retenus qui désirent utiliser ces bandes de fréquences pour offrir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada. De telles licences permettront au fournisseur de desservir un nombre illimité de stations d'abonnés au Canada. Par le présent avis, Industrie Canada propose un droit d'autorisation pour l'utilisation des fréquences radioélectriques du SMS inférieures à 1 GHz, puis invite les intéressés à lui présenter des observations sur la pertinence de ce droit. Dès que le Ministère aura examiné toutes les observations reçues en réponse à cet avis, un droit approprié sera fixé conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie.

Proposition

Industrie Canada est d'avis que les droits doivent refléter la valeur économique de la ressource spectrale utilisée. Cependant, en l'absence d'un mécanisme fondé sur le marché par lequel cette valeur économique pourrait être déterminée, le Ministère reconnaît que de telles évaluations sont difficiles.

Après l'analyse de la valeur potentielle des ressources spectrales en question sur le marché canadien et reconnaissant que les fournisseurs de service SMS n'ont qu'un accès très limité à ce spectre, Industrie Canada propose un droit d'autorisation annuel de 1 140 $ par segment ou partie de segment de 100 kHz de spectre assigné dans des bandes de fréquences radioélectrique inférieures à 1 GHz utilisées pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada. De fait, des observations reçues en réponse aux récentes consultations publiques sur les nouveaux droits de licence et règlements suggèrent que $25,000 serait un droit approprié pour ce genre de réseaux. Cette proposition de $25,000 fût ajustée, en employant la quantité de spectre que ces systèmes sont appelés à utiliser, pour dériver le droit proposé. Il est en outre proposé, qu'au moment de l'autorisation, le requérant verse un droit de délivrance de 95 $ par segment de 100 kHz par mois, jusqu'à l'expiration de la licence le 31 mars. Par la suite, les droits annuels seront payables le 1er avril de chaque année.

Le Ministère constate que ces nouvelles technologies SMS ont d'excellentes possibilités de concurrencer les technologies spectrales et, éventuellement, non spectrales aussi bien existantes que futures, dans la prestation de services de télécommunications. De plus, il importe au Ministère que le choix des technologies n'soit pas biaisé par la disponibilité du spectre à un coût qui n'est pas représentatif du coût d'opportunité associé à son utilisation.. Le Ministère invite les intéressés à présenter leurs observations sur la pertinence du droit provisoire proposé. Ce droit sera réajusté lorsqu'Industrie Canada aura établi un cadre de droits général pouvant englober convenablement ces technologies ou lorsque le Ministère disposera d'une évaluation déterminée par le marché.

Invitation à soumettre des observations

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à présenter leurs observations sur la pertinence du droit provisoire proposé. Les observations présentées en réponse au présent avis doivent être adressées à Ronald Amero, Gestionnaire, Services spatiaux gestion des fréquences et de l'orbite, Direction générale de la réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ont.) KlA OC8, dans les 30 jours suivant la publication de l'avis. Les parties intéressées peuvent aussi faire parvenir leurs observations par courrier électronique à l'adresse Internet suivante : amero.ron@ic.gc.ca. Tous les intervenants doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis.

Le présent Avis de la Gazette du Canada est disponible par voie électronique sur Internet à l'adresse suivante:

http://info.ic.gc.ca/ic-data/telecom/dgse/francais/index2f.html

Le 4 decembre 1996

Jan Skora
Directeur général
Direction de la réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion

Date de modification :