Archived — Notice DGTP-006-97

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-006-97

Proposal to Provide New Opportunities for the Use of the Radio Spectrum in the 1-20 GHz frequency range

This Notice invites comments on proposed revisions to spectrum utilization policies in the 1-20 GHz frequency range. In addition, Industry Canada has taken the opportunity to announce certain policy decisions related to some of the proposed revisions.

Background

Industry Canada released a new set of spectrum utilization policy provisions for the microwave frequency bands in the 1-20 GHz range in January 1995. The document entitled Revisions to Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the Range of 1-20 GHz (SP 1-20 GHz) established new policy directions to accommodate increasing spectrum demand by existing and emerging services, address the move to digital facilities and provide greater flexibility for both service providers and equipment manufacturers to access frequency bands.

Since the release of SP 1-20 GHz, industry and the Department have moved quickly to develop new Standard Radio System Plans (SRSP). Consequently, manufacturers have been able to make the necessary adjustments to their product lines and service providers have been able to deploy radio equipment in a timely fashion.

Recently, Industry Canada has had representation from industry for new radio services in the microwave bands. In particular, there is considerable interest in the introduction of fixed wireless access systems, multipoint communications systems, and licence exempt voice and data equipment.

The purpose of this paper is to seek public comments from all interested parties on a number of new proposals for the use of the microwave spectrum in the 1-20 GHz range. In addition, with the issuance of this document, the Department has taken the opportunity to announce some policy decisions which are consequential to certain revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested and affected parties to provide their views and comments on the above referenced document.

This document is available electronically as follows:

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Submissions should be addressed to the:

Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

and must be received on or before October 14, 1997 to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

Written comments received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing by the public, two weeks after the closing date of this Notice, during normal business hours, at the Industry Canada Library, 365 Laurier Ave. West, Ottawa, and at the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver, for a period of one year from the close of the comment period.

August 9, 1997

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis DGTP-006-97

Industry Canada

Loi sur la Communication

Avis No DGTP-006-97

Propositions portant sur de nouvelles possibilités d'utilisation des fréquences radioélectriques de la bande 1-20 GHz

Par le présent avis, le Ministère invite les parties intéressées à lui transmettre leurs observations sur les révisions qu'il est projeté d'apporter aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande de 1 à 20 GHz. Industrie Canada en profite aussi pour annoncer certaines orientations prises relativement à quelques-unes des révisions projetées.

Contexte

En janvier 1995, Industrie Canada a publié un nouvel ensemble de politiques d'utilisation du spectre pour les hyperfréquences (micro-ondes) de la bande de 1 à 20 GHz. Le document intitulé Révisions aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1 à 20 GHz (PS 1-20 GHz) prévoit de nouvelles orientations pour répondre à la demande croissante de fréquences en provenance des services existants comme des nouveaux services, pour libérer les fréquences nécessaires afin de passer à une technologie numérique et pour permettre plus de souplesse afin que les fournisseurs de services et les fabricants de matériel puissent accéder plus rapidement aux bandes de fréquences voulues.

Depuis la publication du document PS 1-20 GHz, l'industrie et le Ministère ont rapidement entrepris d'élaborer de nouveaux Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH). Par conséquent, les fabricants ont été en mesure d'apporter les ajustements nécessaires à leurs séries de produits et les fournisseurs de service ont pu offrir du matériel radio en temps opportun.

Récemment, Industrie Canada a reçu de l'industrie des demandes pour qu'il établisse de nouveaux services radio dans les bandes des micro-ondes. Plus particulièrement, on est vivement intéressé par l'établissement de systèmes fixes à accès sans fil, de systèmes de télécommunications multipoint et de matériel de transmission vocale et de données exempté de la licence.

Le présent document a pour objet d'inviter tous les intéressés à faire connaître leur opinion sur diverses propositions nouvelles en vue d'utiliser les hyperfréquences (micro-ondes) de la bande 1-20 GHz. En outre, en publiant ce document, le Ministère annonce certaines politiques découlant de révisions apportées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

Invitation à présenter des observations

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées et celles qui seront touchées à faire connaître leur opinion et leurs observations sur le document cité en rubrique.

On peut consulter la version électronique de ce document à l'adresse suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Les mémoires doivent être envoyés au :

Directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater
Ottawa, (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

et parvenir au Ministère au plus tard le 14 octobre 1997 pour être pris en considération. Tous les envois doivent faire état de la date de publication de l'avis dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, du titre et du numéro de référence.

Deux semaines après la date de clôture du présent avis, les observations reçues seront mises à la disposition du public pour qu'il puisse les consulter pendant les heures ouvrables, à la bibliothèque d'Industrie Canada, 365, rue Laurier ouest, Ottawa, ainsi qu'aux bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver, pendant un an à partir de la date de clôture des observations.

Le 9 août 1997

Directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications

Larry Shaw

Date de modification :