SP 1-20 GHz — Proposals to Provide New Opportunities for the Use of the Radio Spectrum in the 1-20 GHz Frequency Range

August 1997

Table of Contents


Amended by:

DGTP-006-99 Amendments to the Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the 1–3 GHz Frequency Range (October 1999)

DGTP-008-04 Revisions to Spectrum Utilization Policies in the 3–30 GHz Frequency Range and Further Consultation (October 2004)

DGTP-007-97 Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide to Non-Broadcasting Services (September 1997)


Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-006-97

This Notice invites comments on proposed revisions to spectrum utilization policies in the 1–20 GHz frequency range. In addition, Industry Canada has taken the opportunity to announce certain policy decisions related to some of the proposed revisions.

Background

Industry Canada released a new set of spectrum utilization policy provisions for the microwave frequency bands in the 1–20 GHz range in January 1995. The document entitled Revisions to Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the Range of 1–20 GHz (SP 1–20 GHz) established new policy directions to accommodate increasing spectrum demand by existing and emerging services, address the move to digital facilities and provide greater flexibility for both service providers and equipment manufacturers to access frequency bands.

Since the release of SP 1–20 GHz, industry and the Department have moved quickly to develop new Standard Radio System Plans (SRSP). Consequently, manufacturers have been able to make the necessary adjustments to their product lines and service providers have been able to deploy radio equipment in a timely fashion.

Recently, Industry Canada has had representation from industry for new radio services in the microwave bands. In particular, there is considerable interest in the introduction of fixed wireless access systems, multipoint communications systems, and licence exempt voice and data equipment.

The purpose of this paper is to seek public comments from all interested parties on a number of new proposals for the use of the microwave spectrum in the 1–20 GHz range. In addition, with the issuance of this document, the Department has taken the opportunity to announce some policy decisions which are consequential to certain revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested and affected parties to provide their views and comments on the above referenced document.

This document is available electronically as follows:

World Wide Web (WWW)
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

Submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 and must be received on or before October 14, 1997 to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part I Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

Written comments received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing by the public, two weeks after the closing date of this Notice, during normal business hours, at the Industry Canada Library, 365 Laurier Ave. West, Ottawa, and at the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver, for a period of one year from the close of the comment period.

August 9, 1997

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


Proposed Revisions to SP 1–20 GHz

1.0 Introduction

Industry Canada released a new set of spectrum policy provisions for the microwave frequency bands in the 1–20 GHz range in January 1995. The document entitled Revisions to Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the Range of 1–20 GHz (SP 1–20 GHz) established new policy directions to accommodate increasing spectrum demand by existing and emerging services, address the move to digital facilities and provide greater flexibility for both service providers and equipment manufacturers to access frequency bands.

Since the release of SP 1–20 GHz, industry and the Department have moved quickly to develop new Standard Radio System Plans (SRSP). By the end of 1996, the Radio Relay Committee of the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC) had developed 10 new SRSPs covering the most affected frequency bands. Consequently, manufacturers have been able to make the necessary adjustments to their product lines and service providers have been able to implement new systems in accordance with the policy provisions in SP 1–20 GHz. As a result, some of the benefits of SP 1–20 GHz were realized in a timely fashion. For example, a wide range of thin-route radio equipment is now available in the 1700–1850 MHz band as a result of new policy initiatives such as permitting more relaxed technical standards in remote areas, and adopting new channelling arrangements (wide range of channel bandwidths and transmit/receive spacings).

More recently, Industry Canada has had representation from industry for new radio services in the microwave bands. In particular, there is considerable interest in the introduction of fixed wireless access (FWA) systems, multipoint communications systems (MCS), and licence exempt voice and data equipment. Also, during the preparation of the SRSPs, industry recommended a number of minor amendments to the policy provisions of SP 1–20 GHz that would be beneficial from an equipment availability or system implementation standpoint.

The growth in spectrum demand by existing and emerging wireless services has been stimulated in large part by the government's policy framework for convergence and the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission's (CRTC) recent decision regarding the introduction of competition in the local telephone and broadcast distribution markets. The government's August 1996 Convergence Policy Statement supported competition in the provision of all information highway facilities, products and services, and cleared the way for cable and telephone companies to compete in each others' core businesses in an environment of fair and sustainable competition. The CRTC's local competition decision (Local Competition, Telecom Decision CRTC 97-8), released on May 1, 1997, put in place the rules that will enable cable companies, wireless service providers, and others, to enter the local telephone market in competition against the incumbent telephone companies.

The purpose of this paper is to seek public comments from all interested parties on new proposals for use of the microwave spectrum in the 1–20 GHz range. In addition, with the issuance of this document, the Department has taken the opportunity to announce some policy decisions which are consequential to certain revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations. Revisions to the Table, which was the subject of the consultation process under Gazette Notice DGTP-003-97, are being finalized within the Department for release in the third quarter of 1997.

2.0 General Spectrum Policy Proposals Applicable to Microwave Facilities in Frequency Bands above 1 GHz

The policy provisions of SP 1–20 GHz support individual site licensing of microwave facilities in accordance with the established procedures such as the Radio Standards Procedure 113 (RSP-113), Application Procedures for Planned Radio Stations Above 960 MHz in the Fixed Service. In more recent consultations, industry has indicated a preference to shift away from conventional site licensing in certain frequency bands to a process that permits blocks of spectrum to be assigned on an area basis to individual operators. This approach is referred to as the block-area frequency assignment process. It provides significant advantages to licensees by allowing the implementation of radio facilities with a minimum of licensing and technical requirements. The Department has adopted this approach in assigning spectrum in the Local Multipoint Communications Systems (LMCS) band 25.35-28.35 GHz and the fixed service bands at 38 GHz and 23 GHz which are available for point-to-point and multipoint communications systems respectively. Experience in the block-area assignment process has been favourable. Departmental officials believe that the frequency bands between 1–20 GHz should be reviewed to determine if the block-area approach applies to other bands where sufficient interested is shown.

The question of the spectrum assignment approach leads to the need to clearly identify the types of fixed systems that use the microwave spectrum and to expand existing definitions in order to accommodate these systems. A proposal to create two categories of fixed systems is given in Table 1. Also included are the possible spectrum assignment options.

Table 1 — Categories of Fixed Systems
Category and Definition Typical Microwave Applications Possible Spectrum Assignment Options
Point-to-Point (P-t-P)
One or two way radiocommunications between two known fixed locations
  • Radio relay systems
    • multihop
    • single hop
  • Studio-to-transmitter links
  • TV-pickups
  1. Site licensing. The nature of point-to-point systems lends itself to individual site licensing.
  2. Block-area licensing. Block-area licensing of point-to-point systems has not been used in this frequency range.
Multipoint Communications System (MCS)

One or two way radiocommunications between a central station to one or more subscriber stations at fixed locations. The specific location of subscriber stations may or may not be known.
  • MCS (voice, data and video applications)
  • Subscriber Radio Systems
  • Fixed Wireless Access Systems
  • Wireless telemetry systems e.g. meter reading, telecontrol, etc.
  • Very High Capacity Microwave (VHCM)
  • LMCS (cellular spectrum re-use)
  1. Site licensing. Site licensing of subscriber radio systems has been successful.

    This is due in part to the rural nature of this service.
  2. Block-area licensing. Block-area licensing is not currently used in the 1–20 GHz range for MCS.

    Many MCS applications, particularly those operating in urban areas, may benefit for block-area licensing. (See Annex 1 for a list of the MCS bands available in Canada.)

The Department is seeking comments on the suitability of the categories of microwave systems described in Table 1, noting that alternative suggestions are also welcome. In the event these categories of fixed service applications are adopted, the Department would revise SP-GEN and SP 1–20 GHz accordingly. Also, interested parties are invited to review the fixed service bands in SP 1–20 GHz, with particular attention to MCS bands found in Annex 1, and identify the most appropriate frequency assignment approach (site licensing, block-area licensing).

Noting the above discussion of the categories of fixed service applications, licensing will continue to be subject to the provisions of the Policy for Licensing Intercity Radio Facilities (RP-017) and Radio Licensing Policy for Limited Area Radio Systems (RP-018) which outline carriage conditions and certain licensing procedures.


Date modified:

PS 1-20 GHz — Propositions portant sur de nouvelles possibilités d'utilisation des fréquences radioélectriques de la bande 1-20 GHz

Août 1997

Table de matières


Modifié par:

DGTP-006-99 Modifications aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre micro-ondes dans les bandes hertziennes de 1 à 3 GHz (octobre 1999)

DGTP-008-04 Révisions apportées aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans la gamme de fréquences 3–30 GHz et consultation supplémentaire (octobre 2004)

DGTP-007-97 Politiques spectrales pour permettre l'utilisation d'installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion (septembre 1997)


Ministére de l'Industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis No DGTP-006-97

Par le présent avis, le Ministère invite les parties intéressées à lui transmettre leurs observations sur les révisions qu'il est projeté d'apporter aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande de 1 à 20 GHz. Industrie Canada en profite aussi pour annoncer certaines orientations prises relativement à quelques-unes des révisions projetées.

Contexte

En janvier 1995, Industrie Canada a publié un nouvel ensemble de politiques d'utilisation du spectre pour les hyperfréquences (micro-ondes) de la bande de 1 à 20 GHz. Le document intitulé Révisions aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1 à 20 GHz (PS 1–20 GHz) prévoit de nouvelles orientations pour répondre à la demande croissante de fréquences en provenance des services existants comme des nouveaux services, pour libérer les fréquences nécessaires afin de passer à une technologie numérique et pour permettre plus de souplesse afin que les fournisseurs de services et les fabricants de matériel puissent accéder plus rapidement aux bandes de fréquences voulues.

Depuis la publication du document PS 1–20 GHz, l'industrie et le Ministère ont rapidement entrepris d'élaborer de nouveaux Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH). Par conséquent, les fabricants ont été en mesure d'apporter les ajustements nécessaires à leurs séries de produits et les fournisseurs de service ont pu offrir du matériel radio en temps opportun.

Récemment, Industrie Canada a reçu de l'industrie des demandes pour qu'il établisse de nouveaux services radio dans les bandes des micro-ondes. Plus particulièrement, on est vivement intéressé par l'établissement de systèmes fixes à accès sans fil, de systèmes de télécommunications multipoint et de matériel de transmission vocale et de données exempté de la licence.

Le présent document a pour objet d'inviter tous les intéressés à faire connaître leur opinion sur diverses propositions nouvelles en vue d'utiliser les hyperfréquences (micro-ondes) de la bande 1–20 GHz. En outre, en publiant ce document, le Ministère annonce certaines politiques découlant de révisions apportées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

Invitation à présenter des observations

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées et celles qui seront touchées à faire connaître leur opinion et leurs observations sur le document cité en rubrique.

On peut consulter la version électronique de ce document à l'adresse suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

Les mémoires doivent être envoyés au Directeur général, Direction de la politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa, (Ont.), K1A 0C8, et parvenir au Ministère au plus tard le 14 octobre 1997 pour être pris en considération. Tous les envois doivent faire état de la date de publication de l'avis dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, du titre et du numéro de référence.

Deux semaines après la date de clôture du présent avis, les observations reçues seront mises à la disposition du public pour qu'il puisse les consulter pendant les heures ouvrables, à la bibliothèque d'Industrie Canada, 365, rue Laurier ouest, Ottawa, ainsi qu'aux bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver, pendant un an à partir de la date de clôture des observations.

Le 9 août 1997

Directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications
Larry Shaw


Révisions du document PS 1–20 GHz

1.0 Introduction

En janvier 1995, Industrie Canada a publié un nouvel ensemble de politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande d'hyperfréquences (micro-ondes) 1–20 GHz. Le document intitulé Révisions aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1 à 20 GHz ( PS 1–20 GHz) prévoit de nouvelles orientations pour répondre à la demande croissante de fréquences en provenance des services existants comme des nouveaux services, pour libérer les fréquences nécessaires afin de passer à une technologie numérique et pour permettre plus de souplesse afin que les fournisseurs de services et les fabricants de matériel puissent accéder plus rapidement aux bandes de fréquences voulues.

Depuis la publication du document PS 1–20 GHz, l'industrie et le Ministère ont rapidement entrepris d'élaborer de nouveaux Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH). À la fin de 1996, le Comité sur les réseaux de relais hertziens du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR) avait élaboré dix nouveaux PNRH pour les bandes de fréquences les plus touchées. Par conséquent, les fabricants ont été en mesure d'apporter les ajustements nécessaires à leurs séries de produits et les fournisseurs de service ont pu mettre en oeuvre leurs nouveaux systèmes en respectant les dispositions exposées dans le document PS 1–20 GHz. Ainsi, certains avantages du document PS 1–20 GHz ont été réalisés en temps opportun. Par exemple, un large éventail de matériels radio à faible trafic est maintenant disponible dans la bande 1700–1850 MHz grâce à de nouvelles initiatives stratégiques comme permettre un assouplissement des normes techniques dans les régions éloignées et adopter de nouveaux arrangements sur l'assignation des voies (grand choix de largeurs de bande et d'espacements entre les stations d'émission et les stations de réception).

Plus récemment, Industrie Canada a reçu de l'industrie des demandes concernant l'établissement de nouveaux services radio dans les bandes d'hyperfréquences. Plus particulièrement, on est vivement intéressé par l'établissement de systèmes fixes à accès sans fil (FAF), de systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) et de matériel de transmission vocale et de données exempté de la licence. En outre, durant la préparation des PNRH, l'industrie a recommandé d'apporter un certain nombre de modifications mineures aux politiques exposées dans la PS 1–20 GHz qui seraient avantageuses du point de vue de la disponibilité du matériel ou de l'implantation des systèmes.

La croissance de la demande de fréquences en provenance des services existants comme des nouveaux services sans fil a été stimulée en grande partie par l'énoncé de politique du gouvernement sur la convergence et la récente décision du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) concernant l'introduction de la concurrence sur les marchés de la téléphonie locale et de la distribution des émissions de radiodiffusion. L'énoncé de politique que le gouvernement a publié sur la convergence en août 1996 préconise la concurrence dans la prestation de tous les produits, services et installations visant l'autoroute de l'information, et ouvre la voie aux câblodistributeurs et aux compagnies de téléphone qui désirent se faire concurrence entre eux dans des conditions de concurrence loyale et viable. La décision rendue par le CRTC relativement à la concurrence locale (Concurrence locale, Décision Télécom CRTC 97-8), publiée le 1er mai 1997, établit les règles qui vont permettre aux câblodistributeurs, aux fournisseurs de service sans fil et à d'autres intervenants de pénétrer le marché de la téléphonie locale et de faire ainsi concurrence aux compagnies de téléphone attitrées.

Le présent document vise à obtenir de toutes les parties intéressées des observations sur de nouvelles propositions d'utilisation des micro-ondes de la bande de 1 à 20 GHz. En outre, en publiant le présent document, le Ministère annonce certaines orientations nouvelles qui découlent de révisions apportées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences. Le Ministère a maintenant terminé les révisions du Tableau, sur lesquelles a porté le processus de consultation enclenché par la diffusion de l'avis DGTP-003-97 publié dans la Gazette du Canada, et ces révisions pourront être publiées durant le troisième trimestre de 1997.

2.0 Politiques générales proposées pour l'utilisation d'installations à micro-ondes dans les bandes de fréquences supérieures à 1 GHz

Les dispositions du document PS 1–20 GHz préconisent la délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un emplacement où seront implantées des installations à micro-ondes, conformément aux procédures établies, comme la Procédure sur les normes radioélectriques 113 (PNR-113), Procédures relatives aux stations radio projetées fonctionnant à une fréquence supérieure à 960 MHz dans le service fixe. Lors de consultations plus récentes, l'industrie a indiqué sa préférence pour délaisser la méthode classique de délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un emplacement dans certaines bandes de fréquences au profit de l'assignation de blocs de fréquences à des exploitants en prenant la zone d'exploitation comme critère. On parle dans ce cas de la délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un bloc de fréquences sectoriel. Cette approche signifie d'importants avantages pour les titulaires de licence du fait que ceux-ci peuvent mettre en oeuvre leurs installations radio en ayant un minimum d'exigences techniques et de délivrance de licence à respecter. Le Ministère a adopté cette approche pour assigner des fréquences de la bande des Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux (STML), soit la bande 25,35–28,35 GHz, et des fréquences des bandes de 38 et de 23 GHz du service fixe, bandes disponibles pour les systèmes point à point et les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint, respectivement. La délivrance de licence pour l'utilisation de blocs de fréquences sectoriels s'est révélée avantageuse. Le Ministère estime que les bandes de fréquences comprises entre 1 et 20 GHz devraient faire l'objet d'un examen afin de déterminer si la méthode visant l'exploitation d'un bloc de fréquences sectoriel s'applique aux autres bandes, si l'intérêt est suffisant.

La question de la méthode utilisée pour assigner les fréquences a comme corollaire la nécessité d'identifier clairement les genres de systèmes fixes qui utilisent les micro-ondes et le besoin d'étendre les définitions actuelles afin de permettre l'exploitation de ces systèmes.

Le Tableau 1 propose la création de deux catégories de systèmes fixes, avec des assignations de fréquences possibles.

Tableau 1 — Catégories de systèmes fixes
Catégorie et définition Applications à micro-ondes caractéristiques Options d'assignations de fréquences possibles
Point à point (P-à-P)
Radiocommunications unilatérales ou bilatérales entre deux emplacements fixes connus.
  • Réseaux de relais hertziens
    • à plusieurs bonds
    • à un seul bond
  • Liaisons studio-émetteur
  • Liaisons de reportage télévisé
  1. Délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un emplacement. Vu leur nature, les systèmes point à point se prêtent bien à la délivrance de licence de ce type.
  2. Délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un bloc de fréquences sectoriel. La délivrance de licence pour l'utilisation de blocs de fréquences sectoriels afin d'exploiter des systèmes point à point n'est pas utilisée dans cette bande de fréquences.
Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM)

Systèmes assurant des radiocommunications unilatérales ou bilatérales entre une station centrale et une ou plusieurs stations d'abonné à des emplacements fixes. L'emplacement particulier des stations d'abonné peut ou non être connu.
STM (voix, données et image)

Réseaux hertziens d'abonnés

Systèmes fixes à accès sans fil

Systèmes de télémesure sans fil comme les systèmes de lecture des compteurs, la télécommande, etc.

Systèmes à micro-ondes de très grande capacité (MOTGC)

STML (réutilisation des fréquences du service cellulaire)
  1. Délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un emplacement. La délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un emplacement en vue d'utiliser des réseaux hertziens d'abonnés a connu beaucoup de succès, vu, entre autres, la nature rurale du service.
  2. Délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un bloc de fréquences sectoriel. La délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation de blocs de fréquences sectoriels n'est pas utilisée actuellement dans la bande 1–20 GHz pour les STM.

    De nombreuses applications STM, notamment celles qui sont exploitées dans les zones urbaines, peuvent tirer profit de la délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un bloc de fréquences sectoriel. (L'Annexe 1 donne la liste des bandes disponibles pour les STM au Canada.)

Le Ministère souhaite recevoir des observations sur la pertinence des catégories des systèmes à micro-ondes décrits au Tableau 1, ainsi que des propositions de rechange. Si ces catégories d'applications dans le service fixe sont adoptées, le Ministère fera la révision des documents PS GEN et PS 1–20 GHz en en tenant compte. Par ailleurs, le Ministère invite les parties intéressées à revoir les bandes réservées au service fixe du document PS 1–20 GHz, en portant une attention particulière aux bandes des STM de l'Annexe 1, pour cerner l'approche la plus appropriée en matière d'assignation de fréquences (délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un emplacement, délivrance de licence pour l'exploitation d'un bloc de fréquences sectoriel).

Compte tenu de la discussion qui précède sur les catégories des applications du service fixe, on continuera de délivrer des licences sous réserve des dispositions de la Politique d'autorisation d'installations de radiocommunications interurbaines (PR-017) et de la Politique de délivrance de licences visant les systèmes de radiocommunications desservant une zone restreinte (PR-018), où sont exposées les conditions d'acheminement des signaux et certaines procédures de délivrance de licence.


Date de modification :