Notice DGRB-001-97

Department of Industry

Department of Industry Act, S.C. 1995, c.1 Notice No. DGRB-001-97 — Radio Authorization Fees for Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Below 1 GHz

Introduction

An emerging class of global mobile satellite service (MSS) radiocommunication networks will provide Canadians with a variety of very low capacity, non-voice messaging and position location services throughout Canada. These mobile satellite networks will use radio frequency bands below 1 GHz which are allocated for mobile satellite services. Generally, these networks will use less than 2-3 MHz of radio spectrum and will share the use of this spectrum with other radiocommunication services.

The MSS networks will avoid causing interference to these other services by operating under restrictions that limit the maximum number of transmissions from certain stations within the network or on the amount of time that certain stations may transmit.

On December 14, 1996, Industry Canada issued Gazette Notice DGRB-006-96Spectrum Licence Fees for Mobile Satellite Services Using Radio Spectrum Below 1 GHz. This notice announced that the Minister will grant spectrum licences, which permit the service provider to operate an unlimited number of subscriber earth stations, to provide this class of mobile satellite service in Canada.

In addition, Industry Canada invited comments on a proposed annual authorization fee of $1140 per 100 kHz, or portion thereof, of assigned radio spectrum for the use of radio frequency bands below 1 GHz to provide mobile satellite services in Canada. This authorization fee takes into consideration that MSS service providers are only granted very limited access to this spectrum and that the potential Canadian market value of the spectrum resources has yet to be determined.

In response to the Notice, four submissions were received from interested parties. All of the respondents support the Department's broad policy objectives of fostering sustainable competition and innovative services by facilitating the timely and orderly implementation of these types of MSS networks within Canada. The respondents also agreed with the interim licence fee as proposed. One respondent cautioned that spectrum licence fees should not favour one mode of service over another thereby inhibiting fair competition between those services.

In view of the general support for this initiative and Industry Canada's efforts directed at establishing a general fee framework based on a market determined valuation of the radio spectrum, the Department will implement the authorization fee as proposed. Complete details of the fees fixed for the mobile satellite services using radio spectrum below 1 GHz are set out in the following fee schedule.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective the date of publication of this notice. The fees are applicable to radio authorizations issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) of the 'em>Radiocommunication Act to establish mobile satellite services using radio spectrum below 1 GHz in accordance with the terms of the authorization.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"mobile satellite service" (MSS) means a radiocommunication service that uses the radio frequency bands below 1 GHz for communications between mobile or fixed earth stations by means of one or more space stations;
"renewal fee" means the annual fee payable for the renewal of a radio authorization before the radio authorization expires on March 31 of each year.

Annual Radio Authorization Fee

Annual Fee

2. The annual radio authorization fee is $1140 per 100 kHz, or portion thereof, of assigned radio spectrum for the use of radio frequency bands below 1 GHz to provide mobile satellite services in Canada.

Prorated Fees

3. The month that the Minister issues the annual radio authorization determines the applicable prorated fee.

4. The prorated fee is $95 per 100 kHz, or portion thereof, of assigned radio spectrum for the use of radio frequency bands below 1 GHz to provide mobile satellite services in Canada for each month until the licence expires on March 31.

Renewal Fee

5. The renewal fee is $1140 per 100 kHz, or portion thereof, of assigned radio spectrum for the use of radio frequency bands below 1 GHz to provide mobile satellite services in Canada.

General Notes

This is an interim fee regime for mobile satellite services using radio spectrum below 1 GHz. The fees may be adjusted in accordance with a market determined valuation of MSS which will be used to establish a general fee framework.

John Manley
Minister of Industry

Avis DGRB-001-97

Ministère de l'Industrie Loi sur le ministère de l'industrie, L.C. 1995, ch.1

Avis no DGRB-001-97 — Droits d'autorisation radio concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio inférieures à 1 GHz

Introduction

Une nouvelle classe de réseaux de radiocommunication mondiaux assurant un service mobile par satellite (SMS) va permettre d'offrir aux Canadiens une gamme de services de messagerie non vocale de très faible capacité et de radiolocalisation partout au Canada. Ces réseaux mobiles à satellite utiliseront les bandes de fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz qui sont attribuées au service mobile par satellite. En général, ces réseaux utiliseront au plus 2 ou 3 MHz du spectre, qu'ils partageront avec d'autres services de radiocommunication.

Les réseaux SMS devront éviter de causer du brouillage aux autres services en observant des restrictions limitant le nombre maximal de transmissions pouvant être faites à partir de certaines stations du réseau ou la durée de transmission de certaines stations.

Le 14 décembre 1996, Industrie Canada a publié dans la Gazette du Canada l'Avis DGRB-006-96 intitulé – Droits de licence de spectre concernant les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radio inférieures à 1 GHz. Dans cet avis, le ministre annonçait qu'il accorderait des licences de spectre pour permettre aux fournisseurs de service d'exploiter un nombre illimité de stations terriennes d'abonné pour offrir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada.

En outre, Industrie Canada invitait les intéressés à faire connaître leur opinion sur un projet de droit d'autorisation annuel de 1 140 $ par segment ou partie de segment de 100 kHz de spectre assigné dans des bandes de fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz utilisées pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada. Ce droit d'autorisation a été proposé en tenant compte que les fournisseurs de services mobiles par satellite (SMS) n'ont qu'un accès très limité à ces fréquences et qu'il reste encore à déterminer la valeur potentielle sur le marché canadien des ressources spectrales.

Quatre répondants ont répondu à l'invitation du Ministère. Tous étaient d'accord avec les grandes orientations prises par le Ministère, qui désire favoriser une concurrence durable et des services innovateurs en facilitant l'implantation opportune et ordonnée de réseaux SMS de ce type au Canada. Ces répondants sont également d'accord sur le projet de droit de licence provisoire. Un des répondants a indiqué qu'il ne faudrait pas que les droits de licence de spectre favorisent un mode de service au détriment d'un autre, ce qui nuirait à une juste concurrence entre ces services.

Compte tenu du soutien général de cette initiative et des efforts qu'Industrie Canada déploie pour établir un cadre général de droits de licence fondé sur une évaluation du spectre déterminée par le marché, le Ministère a décidé de mettre en œuvre le droit d'autorisation proposé. Les détails complets des droits établis pour les services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz sont présentés dans le barème de droits qui suit.

Barème de droits

Conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, le ministre de l'Industrie établit ci-dessous les droits qui suivent, dont la date d'entrée en vigueur correspond à la date de publication du présent avis. Ces droits sont applicables aux autorisations radio émises par le Ministère conformément à l'alinéa 5(1)(a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication pour établir des services mobiles par satellite qui utilisent des fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz, conformément aux conditions de l'autorisation.

Interprétation

1. Aux fins du présent barème de droits,

« service mobile par satellite » (SMS) désigne un service de radiocommunication qui utilise des fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz pour assurer des communications entre des stations terriennes fixes ou mobiles au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs stations spatiales;

« droit de renouvellement » désigne le droit annuel à payer pour obtenir le renouvellement d'une autorisation radio avant son expiration, le 31 mars de chaque année.

Droit d'autorisation radio annuel

Droit annuel

2. Le droit d'autorisation radio annuel est de 1 140 $ par segment ou partie de segment de 100 kHz assigné dans des bandes de fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz utilisées pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada.

Droits proportionnels

3. Le mois au cours duquel le Ministère délivre l'autorisation radio annuelle détermine le droit de licence proportionnel applicable.

4. Le droit de licence proportionnel est de 95 $ par mois par segment ou partie de segment de 100 kHz assigné dans des bandes de fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz utilisées pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada, jusqu'à l'expiration de la licence le 31 mars.

Droit de renouvellement

5. Le droit de renouvellement est de 1 140 $ par segment ou partie de segment de 100 kHz assigné dans des bandes de fréquences radioélectriques inférieures à 1 GHz pour fournir des services mobiles par satellite au Canada.

Notes générales

Le présent barème de droits de licence autorisant la prestation de services mobiles par satellite dans des bandes de fréquences inférieures à 1 GHz n'est que provisoire. Ces droits pourront être revus à la lumière d'une évaluation des SMS déterminée par le marché, dont on se servira pour établir un cadre général de droits.

Le ministre de l'Industrie,
John Manley