SP-1452 — Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide Non-Broadcasting Services

September 1997

Table of Contents


Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-007-97 — Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide Non-Broadcasting Services (SP-1452 MHz)

Intent

The purpose of this Notice is to announce the release of a spectrum policy document under the above-mentioned title. These spectrum policy provisions permit the use of Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB) installations to provide non-broadcasting services. Also, this policy is extended to include subsidiary communications multiplex operation (SCMO) on FM stations for non-broadcasting services. This completes the public consultation process which began on January 24, 1997 with the release of the document entitled Proposed Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide Non-Broadcasting Services (DGTP-002-97).

Based on the assessment of public comments made during the review and internal study, the Department has developed policy provisions which apply to digital radio broadcasting installations and analogue FM installations that provide such services.

It should be noted that significant public input was received in support of this policy from both the broadcasting and the mobile wireless communities.

This above-mentioned spectrum policy is available electronically via the Internet at the following addresses:

World Wide Web (WWW)
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

Copies of the subject document are also available from the Communications Branch, Industry Canada, 235 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466, and from the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver.

September 27, 1997

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


1.0 Introduction

The purpose of this policy document is to establish minimum policy provisions for the use of Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB) installations to provide non-broadcasting services. Also, these provisions are extended to include subsidiary communications multiplex operation (SCMO) on FM stations for non-broadcasting services. The release of this policy completes the public consultation process which began on January 24, 1997 with the release of the document entitled Proposed Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide Non-Broadcasting Services (DGTP-002-97).

Based on the assessment of public comments made during the review and internal study, the Department herewith sets the spectrum policy provisions which apply to digital radio broadcasting and FM/SCMO installations that provide non-broadcasting services. It is Industry Canada's view that the transmission of non-broadcasting services using the spare capacity of DRB and FM installations will provide a choice of innovative wireless services to consumers and make for more effecient use of radio facilities.

2.0 Spectrum Policy for DRB Installations

The use of DRB installations to provide non-broadcasting services in the broadcasting band 1452- 1492 MHz is subject to the following policy provisions:

  1. The use of DRB transmission capacity to provide program-associated data services, such as the alphanumeric transmission of supplementary information and advertising, is permitted under the authority of a broadcasting certificate issued under the Radiocommunication Act.
  2. The use of DRB transmission capacity to provide non-broadcasting services which are not related to the broadcasting program, such as radio paging and alphanumeric data transmission, is permitted provided that:
    1. the primary spectrum objective to provide transmission capacity for five audio broadcasting programs of CD-like quality is not compromised; and
    2. non-broadcasting services are authorized under the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations and are subject to an applicable authorization fee and to any requirements under the Telecommunications Act.
  3. The use of DRB transmission capacity for non-broadcasting services (program-associated services and those services that are not program-associated) shall not prevent future use of the full complement of five high quality CD-like transmission channels for audio broadcasting programming. Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide Non-Broadcasting Services SP-1452
  4. Where third party access to DRB installations is made available for non-broadcasting services, the transmission capacity should be offered on a non-discriminatory basis.
  5. Users of DRB transmission capacity for non-broadcasting services cannot be guaranteed priority access to DRB installations as the spectrum capacity may be needed for DRB programming services. The designated spectrum must accommodate the long term requirement of digital radio broadcasting services.

3.0 Spectrum Policy for Subsidiary Communications Multiplex Operation on FM Facilities

The use of SCMO on FM channel sub-carriers to provide non-broadcasting services in the VHF frequency band 88–108 MHz is subject to the following policy provisions:

  1. The use of FM/SCMO transmission capacity to provide program-associated services related to in-house operations, such as broadcasting station monitoring and control, cue and control of remote broadcasting stations and standby studio transmitter links, is permitted under the authority of a broadcasting certificate issued under the Radiocommunication Act.
  2. The use of FM/SCMO transmission capacity to provide non-broadcasting services which are not related to the broadcasting program, such as radio paging and alphanumeric data transmission, is permitted provided that these non-broadcasting services are authorized under the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations and are subject to an applicable authorization fee and to any requirements under the Telecommunications Act.

4.0 Radio Licensing

Industry Canada will release a proposed Client Procedures Circular (CPC) in which procedures will be set out regarding authorization of non-broadcasting services using the DRB and FM/SCMO facilities based on the above-mentioned policy provisions. These procedures will take note of the comments received during the public consultation on such issues as fees, timing of licensing and conditions of operation.

5.0 Supplementary Information

6.0 Implementation

Applicants should contact the Chief, Authorization, Operational Policies, Procedures and Programs at 613-990-4747 or facsimile 613-952-9871 regarding the future procedures on authorization of the use of DRB and FM/SCMO installations to provide the non-broadcasting services outlined in this policy.

Issued under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

PS-1452 — Politiques spectrales pour permettre l'utilisation d'installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion

Septembre 1997

Table de matières


Avis No DGTP-007-97

But

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la publication d'un document sur les politiques spectrales telles que mentionnées ci-haut. Ces politiques spectrales permettent l'utilisation d'installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique (RAN) afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion. De plus, la politique régira l'exploitation multiplex de communications secondaires (EMCS) des stations FM assurant des services autres que de radiodiffusion. La publication de cette politique met un terme au processus de consultations publiques entrepris le 24 janvier 1997 avec la publication du document intitulé Politiques spectrales proposées pour permettre l'utilisation d'installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion (DGTP-002-97).

Compte tenu des observations publiques faites durant l'examen et l'étude interne, le Ministère a mis au point des politiques spectrales qui s'appliqueront aux installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique ainsi qu'aux installations FM analogiques utilisées pour assurer de tels services.

Il importe de souligner l'appui important qu'ont apporté à ces politiques les membres du milieu de la radiodiffusion comme ceux du milieu des communications sans fil mobiles.

On peut se procurer la version électronique du document de politiques spectrales mentionné plus tôt à l'adresse suivante d'Internet :

World Wide Web (WWW)
Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

Des copies du document indiqué en objet sont également disponibles auprès de la Direction générale des communications, Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466, et auprès des bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver.

Le 27 septembre 1997

Le directeur général de la
Politique des télécommunications
Michael Helm


1.0 Introduction

Le présent document a pour objet d'établir des conditions minimales d'utilisation des installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique (RAN) pour offrir des services autres que de radiodiffusion. De plus, ces politiques s'appliquent également à l'exploitation multiplex de communications secondaires (EMCS) à même des stations FM pour les services autres que de radiodiffusion. La publication du présent document met un terme au processus de consultations publiques entrepris le 24 janvier 1997 avec la publication du document intitulé Politiques du spectre proposées pour permettre l'utilisation d'installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion (DGTP-002-97).

Compte tenu des observations publiques faites durant l'examen et l'étude interne, le Ministère fixe dans le présent document les politiques spectrales qui s'appliqueront aux installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique et aux installations FM/EMCS qui offrent des services autres que des services de radiodiffusion. Industrie Canada est d'avis que la prestation de services autres que de radiodiffusion à partir de la capacité de réserve des installations RAN et FM offrira aux consommateurs une gamme de services sans fil innovateurs et rendra l'utilisation des installations radio plus efficace.

2.0 Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les installations RAN

L'utilisation d'installations RAN pour assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion dans la bande de radiodiffusion 1452–1492 MHz est assujettie aux dispositions suivantes :

  1. L'utilisation de la capacité de transmission RAN pour offrir des services de données reliés à la transmission d'un service de programmation, comme la transmission alphanumérique de publicité et d'information supplémentaire, est autorisée pourvu que le fournisseur se procure un certificat de radiodiffusion délivré en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.
  2. L'utilisation de la capacité de transmission RAN pour offrir des services autres que de radiodiffusion qui ne sont pas reliés à la programmation de la radiodiffusion, comme la radiomessagerie et la transmission de données alphanumériques, est autorisée pourvu que :
    1. le principal objectif d'utilisation du spectre, soit offrir la capacité de transmission pour cinq programmes de radiodiffusion sonore de qualité comparable à celle du disque compact, ne soit pas compromise;
    2. ces services soient autorisés en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et qu'ils soient assujettis au paiement du droit d'autorisation correspondant et à toute exigence prévue par la Loi sur les télécommunications.
  3. L'utilisation de la capacité de transmission RAN pour assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion (y compris les émissions reliées à la programmation et celles qui ne le sont pas) ne doit pas restreindre l'utilisation future du complément complet de cinq voies de transmission de qualité comparable à celle du disque compact pour offrir une programmation de radiodiffusion sonore.
  4. Lorsque l'accès de tiers à des installations de RAN est rendu possible pour la fourniture de services autres que de radiodiffusion, la capacité de transmission devrait être offerte sans discrimination.
  5. Les utilisateurs de la capacité de transmission RAN pour assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion ne peuvent pas compter sur un accès prioritaire garanti à des installations RAN, étant donné qu'on peut avoir besoin de la capacité spectrale pour assurer des services de programmation RAN. Les bandes de fréquences désignées doivent permettre de satisfaire au besoin à long terme de services de radiodiffusion audionumérique.

3.0 Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour assurer des services d'exploitation multiplex de communications secondaires à même les installations FM

L'utilisation de sous-porteuses de voies FM pour des EMCS afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion dans la bande de fréquences VHF 88–108 MHz est assujettie aux dispositions suivantes :

  1. L'utilisation de la capacité de transmission FM/EMCS pour offrir des services reliés à la programmation associée à des opérations internes, comme le contrôle et la surveillance des stations de radiodiffusion, le repérage et le contrôle des stations de radiodiffusion éloignées et les liaisons d'attente studio-émetteur, est autorisée pourvu que le fournisseur se procure un certificat de radiodiffusion délivré en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.
  2. L'utilisation de la capacité de transmission FM/EMCS pour offrir des services autres que de radiodiffusion qui ne sont pas reliés à la programmation de la radiodiffusion, comme la radiomessagerie et la transmission de données alphanumériques, est autorisée pourvu que ces services autres que de radiodiffusion soient autorisés en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, et qu'ils soient assujettis au paiement du droit d'autorisation correspondant ainsi qu'à toute exigence prévue par la Loi sur les télécommunications.

4.0 Droits de délivrance de licence

Industrie Canada publiera une proposition dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients (CPC) dans laquelle des procédures seront établies en ce qui concerne l'autorisation de fournir des services autres que de radiodiffusion au moyen d'installations RAN et d'installations FM/EMCS, compte tenu des conditions susmentionnées. Ces procédures tiendront compte des observations reçues pendant les consultations publiques sur des questions comme les droits, le calendrier de délivrance des licences et les conditions d'exploitation.

5.0 Renseignements supplémentaires

6.0 Mise en vigueur

Les requérants sont priés de communiquer avec le Chef de l'autorisation, Politiques, procédures et programmes opérationnels, au 613-990-4747 ou par télécopieur au 613-952-8971, pour connaître les futures procédures d'autorisation de l'utilisation des installations RAN et FM/EMCS pour offrir les services autres que de radiodiffusion qui sont décrits dans la présente politique.

Publié en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le Directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications
Michael Helm

Date de modification :