Notice DGRB-004-97

Department of Industry
Department of Industry Act, S.C. 1995, c.1

Notice DGRB-004-97 – Radio Authorization Fees for Fixed Radio Systems in the 38.4-40.0 GHz Frequency Bands

Introduction

The opening of the 38 GHz frequency bands will provide new fixed service applications for broadband local wireless facilities and cell site network support for cellular and Personal Communication Services.

On September 7, 1996 Industry Canada issued Gazette Notice DGTP-007-96 announcing the release of the paper entitled Spectrum Policy and Licensing Considerations, Fixed Radio Systems in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz Frequency Bands. The paper set out the new microwave spectrum utilization policy for these bands and initiated a first come, first served selection and an interim authorization process for fixed radio systems operating in these bands.

Interested parties were also invited to comment, by October 22, 1996 on the proposed annual authorization fee that would be proportional to the geographic area being licensed. Specifically, comments were sought respecting: 

  1. the appropriateness of applying a fee based on the area served, as defined by the Department (Local Multipoint Communication System service areas) or the user.
  2. an annual fee of $20 per square kilometre per paired block that would be applied to each of the 8 pairs of frequency blocks in the 23 GHz band and to each of the 14 pairs of frequency blocks in the 38 GHz band, and an annual fee of $10 per square kilometre per block that would be applied to the 4 single blocks in the 38 GHz band.
  3. the methodology that should be used to set fees for predefined or user defined service areas.
  4. the use of a competitive bidding process instead of first come, first served when the express demand for spectrum exceeds the spectrum available in a geographic area.

In response to the Notice, 13 of the 14 comments received concerned the proposed fee regime. Several of the respondents fully support the Department's broad policy objectives of facilitating the timely and orderly implementation within Canada of wireless telecommunications in the 23 and 38 GHz frequency bands and fostering sustainable competition and innovative services.

Most of the respondents found favour with using the Local Multipoint Communication Systems (LMCS) service areas and the frequency block assignment approach. This approach does not require site-by-site authorization which facilitates the rapid deployment of these bands.

Several of the respondents, however, argued that the level of the proposed fees, which were derived from the LMCS fee of $.50 per household per 500 MHz frequency block and prorated for 50 MHz, would be excessive. Essentially, the fixed cost of the high annual fee level offset the benefit of the low cost of the equipment in the 38 GHz band. Also, the fees were disproportionate because of the different size of the LMCS service areas for cities with approximately the same population.

The proposed fee regime also lacked flexibility to accommodate systems designed to cover part of, or go beyond, the LMCS service area. With respect to auctioning, one respondent recommended immediately auctioning the spectrum to ensure its efficient allocation. Other respondents opined that the Department should reduce the fees and make more spectrum available before proceeding with auctions.

Recognizing these and other concerns, and in view of the significant expressed demand for this spectrum, Industry Canada issued a subsequent 23/38 GHz Information Release on January 9, 1997 giving notice of its intention to introduce certain policy modifications pertaining to the use of both bands in Canada.

Accordingly, the Department has adopted the following policy that will: 

  1. accommodate a greater number of licensees to offer service in a given geographical area for spectrum blocks in the 38 GHz band by licensing them on a shared use basis where circumstances warrant.
  2. apply the fees to the 38 GHz frequency band only, covering both sub-band 38.4-38.6 GHz (one-way point-to-point, and one-way point-to-multipoint communications systems) and sub-band 38.6-40.0 GHz (two-way point-to-point communications systems).
  3. defer fixing fees for the 23 GHz band because of the need for further development of this band.
  4. make use of an area grid of hexagonal cells with an area of 25 square kilometres which allows licensees and the Department to define and refer to geographic service areas in Canada in a consistent and simple manner.
  5. fix the annual licence fee at $120 per cell per 50 MHz spectrum block. Thus, the fee for a defined service area covering five area grid cells is $600 ($120 x 5) per 50 MHz, one-way; or $1200, two-way.

Complete details of the fees fixed for these systems are set out in the following fee schedule.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective upon publication in the Canada Gazette of this notice. The fees are applicable to radio authorizations issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) of the Radiocommunication Act to establish fixed radiocommunication systems in the 38.4-40.0 GHz frequency bands in accordance with the terms of the authorization.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"cell" means a hexagonal cell with an area of 25 km2;

"defined service area" means the geographic area specified in the radio authorization;

"spectrum block" means a 50 MHz block, or portion thereof, of radio spectrum in the 38.4-40.0 GHz frequency bands;

"total authorized cells" means the total number of cells in a defined service area;

"renewal fee" means the annual fee payable for the renewal of a radio authorization before the radio authorization expires on March 31 of each year.

Annual Radio Authorization Fee

2. The annual radio authorization fee is $120 per cell per spectrum block times the total authorized cells.

Initial Annual Radio Authorization Fee

3. The prorated balance of the then-current fiscal year's authorization fee that corresponds to the total authorized cells per spectrum block is due on the date of the issuance of the radio authorization.

Prorated Fees

4. The month that the annual radio authorization is issued determines the applicable prorated fee.

5. The prorated fee is $10 per cell per spectrum block times the total authorized cells for each month until the licence expires on March 31.

Renewal Fee

6. The renewal fee is $120 per cell per spectrum block times the total authorized cells.

General Notes

This is an interim fee regime. The fees may be adjusted in accordance with a market-determined valuation of the spectrum for these types of systems or as other circumstances so warrant.

John Manley
Minister of Industry

October 4, 1997

Date modified:

Avis DGRB-004-97

Ministère de l'Industrie
Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, S.C. 1995, c.1

Avis no DGRB-004-97 – Frais d'autorisation de radiocommunication pour les systèmes radio fixes dans les bandes de fréquences de 38,4 à 40,0 GHz

Introduction

L'ouverture des bandes de fréquences de 38 GHz offrira de nouvelles applications du service fixe pour les installations locales sans fil à bande de base et le soutien de réseau des emplacements de cellules pour la téléphonie cellulaire et les Services de communication personnelle.

Le 7 septembre 1996, Industrie Canada a publié dans la Gazette l'avis no DGTP-007-96 pour annoncer la publication du document intitulé Considérations en matière de politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences pour les systèmes radio fixes dans les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et 38 GHz. Dans ce document, on énonçait la nouvelle politique d'utilisation du spectre pour ces bandes. En outre, on y énonçait un processus de sélection premier arrivé, premier servi et un processus provisoire d'autorisation pour les systèmes radio fixes qui fonctionnent dans ces bandes.

On a également invité les parties intéressées à faire part de leurs observations, au plus tard le 22 octobre 1996, sur les droits d'autorisation annuels proposés dont le montant serait proportionnel au secteur géographique qui fait l'objet de la licence. Plus particulièrement, on voulait connaître leur opinion sur les questions suivantes : 

  1. la pertinence de l'application d'un droit proportionnel à la région géographique desservie, selon la définition qu'en donne le Ministère (secteurs de service des systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux – STML) ou l'utilisateur;
  2. le droit annuel de 20 $ par kilomètre carré, pour chaque bloc de fréquences appairé serait appliqué à chacune des 8 paires de blocs de fréquences de la bande de 23 GHz et à chacune des 14 paires de blocs de fréquences dans la bande de 38 GHz, et un droit annuel de 10 $ par kilomètre carré pour chaque bloc serait appliqué aux 4 blocs distincts de la bande de 38 GHz;
  3. la méthodologie qui devrait servir à établir le montant des droits pour chaque zone de service définie au préalable ou définie par les utilisateurs;
  4. le recours à un processus d'appel d'offres au lieu de la méthode premier arrivé, premier servi lorsque la demande exprimée à l'égard du spectre dépasse le spectre disponible dans un secteur géographique.

Treize des 14 observations faites en réponse à l'avis portaient sur le régime proposé de tarification. Plusieurs répondants appuyaient entièrement les larges objectifs de politique du Ministère ayant pour but d'assurer une mise en œuvre opportune et ordonnée au Canada des télécommunications sans fil dans les bandes de fréquences de 23 et de 38 GHz, ainsi que de susciter une concurrence durable et des services innovateurs.

La plupart des répondants étaient en faveur du recours aux zones de service des systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux (STML) et de la méthode d'attribution des blocs de fréquences. Cette démarche ne nécessite pas une autorisation pour chaque emplacement qui facilite l'attribution rapide de ces bandes.

Toutefois, plusieurs de ces répondants estimaient que les droits proposés seraient excessifs; ces droits sont dérivés des droits de STML de 50 cents par ménage, pour chaque bloc de fréquences de 500 MHz, calculés au prorata pour les blocs de 50 MHz. Pour l'essentiel, le coût fixe du droit annuel élevé compenserait les avantages que présente le coût faible du matériel dans la bande de 38 GHz. En outre, on estimait que les droits étaient disproportionnés à cause de la taille différente des zones de service des STML dans le cas de villes de taille semblable.

En outre, la tarification proposée n'offre pas la souplesse nécessaire pour tenir compte de systèmes conçus pour couvrir une partie seulement de la zone de service des STML, ou pour couvrir une superficie plus grande. Pour ce qui est des ventes aux enchères, un répondant a recommandé que l'on procède à une vente aux enchères immédiate pour assurer une attribution efficiente du spectre. D'autres répondants étaient d'avis que le Ministère devrait diminuer les droits et offrir une plus large part du spectre avant de procéder à des ventes aux enchères.

Industrie Canada a tenu compte, entre autres, de ces préoccupations et de la demande importante exprimée à l'égard de ce spectre. Ce Ministère a donc publié, le 9 janvier 1997, un communiqué d'information ultérieur sur les bandes de 23 et de 38 GHz. Il faisait alors part de son intention d'introduire certaines modifications de politiques ayant trait à l'utilisation de ces deux bandes au Canada.

Par conséquent, le Ministère a adopté la politique ci-après qui devrait permettre d'atteindre les objectifs suivants : 

  1. accepter un plus grand nombre de détenteurs de licence qui pourront offrir des services dans un secteur géographique donné à l'égard de blocs du spectre de la bande de 38 GHz en leur accordant une licence en fonction d'une utilisation partagée, lorsque les circonstances le justifient;
  2. appliquer les droits à la bande de fréquences de 38 GHz seulement, comprenant la sous-bande de 38,4 à 38,6 GHz (systèmes de communication point à point unilatéraux et point à multipoint unilatéraux) et la sous-bande de 38,6 à 40,0 GHz (systèmes de communication point à point bilatéraux);
  3. reporter la détermination des droits à l'égard de la bande de 23 GHz étant donné la nécessité de développer davantage cette bande;
  4. recourir à une grille de secteur, formée de cellules hexagonales de 25 kilomètres carrés, qui permet aux détenteurs de licence et au Ministère de définir, d'une façon uniforme et simple, les zones de service géographiques au Canada et d'y référer;
  5. fixer le droit annuel de licence à 120 $ par cellule, par bloc de spectre de 50 MHz. Ainsi, le droit d'une vente de service définie qui englobe 5 cellules serait de 600 $ (soit 120 $ x 5) pour les communications unilatérales, ou de 1 200 $ pour les communications bilatérales.

Vous trouverez tous les détails établis à l'égard de ces systèmes dans la tarification qui suit.

Tarification

Le ministre de l'Industrie, en vertu de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, fixe par la présente les droits qui suivent, à compter de la date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada. Les droits sont applicables aux autorisations de radiocommunication émises par le Ministère en vertu du paragraphe 5(1)(a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, pour établir des systèmes radio fixes dans les bandes de fréquences de 38,4 à 40,0 MHz, en conformité avec les modalités de l'autorisation.

Définition

1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente tarification.
 

« cellule » Cellule hexagonale d'une superficie de 25 kilomètres carrés.

« zone de service définie » Région géographique précisée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

« bloc du spectre » Bloc de 50 MHz, ou une partie de celui-ci, du spectre radio dans la bande de fréquences de 38,4 à 40,0 GHz.

« nombre total de cellules autorisées » Nombre total de cellules dans une zone de service définie.

« droit de renouvellement » Droit annuel à payer pour le renouvellement d'une autorisation de radiocommunication avant l'expiration de cette dernière, soit le 31 mars de chaque année.

Droit annuel d'autorisation de radiocommunication

2. Le droit annuel d'autorisation de radiocommunication est de 120 $ par cellule, par bloc du spectre, multiplié par le nombre total de cellules autorisées.

Droit initial annuel d'autorisation de radiocommunication

3. Le solde au prorata du droit d'autorisation de l'exercice alors courant, qui correspond au nombre total de cellules autorisées, par bloc du spectre, est payable le jour d'émission de l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

Droits au prorata

4. Le mois d'émission de l'autorisation de radiocommunication annuelle détermine le droit applicable au prorata.

5. Le droit au prorata et de 10 $ par cellule, par bloc du spectre, multiplié par le nombre total de cellules autorisées pour chaque mois, jusqu'à l'expiration de la licence, le 31 mars.

Droit de renouvellement

6. Le droit de renouvellement est de 120 $ par cellule, par bloc du spectre, multiplié par le nombre total de cellules autorisées.

Généralités

Cette tarification est provisoire. Les droits peuvent être adaptés en fonction d'une évaluation du spectre établie par le marché pour ces catégories de systèmes ou en fonction d'autres circonstances.

John Manley
Ministre de l'Industrie

le 4 octobre 1997

Date de modification :