CPC-2-1-03 — Licensing Radiocommunication Systems Using FM Subsidiary Communication Multiplex Operation (FM/SCMO) or Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB) Installations

Issue 2, October 2008

Spectrum Management and Telecommunications
Client Procedures Circular

CPC-2-1-03 - Licensing Radiocommunication Systems Using FM Subsidiary Communication Multiplex Operation (FM/SCMO) or Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB) Installations (PDF, 49 KB, 6 pages)

Preface

Client Procedures Circulars describe the various procedures or processes to be followed by the public when dealing with Industry Canada. The information contained in these circulars is subject to change without notice. It is therefore suggested that interested persons consult the nearest district office of Industry Canada for additional details. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. As well, these circulars have no status in law.

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Attention: DOS

E-mail: spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Contents


Principle

The radio frequency spectrum is a natural resource to which all Canadians are entitled access for the purpose of carrying out their business affairs.

Mandate

Section 5 of the Radiocommunication Act states that the Minister may issue radio licences in respect of radio apparatus.

Policy

In Canada Gazette Notice DGTP-007-97 dated September 27, 1997, Industry Canada announced the release of a Spectrum Utilization Policy entitled Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide Non-Broadcasting Services (SP 1452). As stated in this policy, the following persons are eligible for radio licensing under the Radiocommunication Act:

  1. Radiocommunication users or radiocommunication service providers operating Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB) transmission capacity to provide non-broadcasting services which are not related to the broadcasting programming, such as radio paging and alphanumeric data transmission.
  2. Radiocommunication users or radiocommunication service providers operating FM Subsidiary Communication Multiplex Operation (FM/SCMO) transmission capacity to provide non-broadcasting services which are not related to the broadcasting programming, such as radio paging and alphanumeric data transmission.

Procedure

In accordance with the Radiocommunication Regulations, radio licences may be issued to eligible operators in respect of radio apparatus. Pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act, the radio licence will be issued to the entity that is deemed to be operating the broadcasting transmitter. Before a radio licence can be issued, the broadcasting operator will need to attest that implementation of non-broadcasting SCMO or DRB applications will not degrade the broadcast signal. A radio licence will not be issued to a system operator until the broadcasting certificate has been amended to allow changes to the installation(s).

Licence applications for non-broadcasting services using DRB and FM/SCMO installations will be processed in the same manner as other radio licence applications, with the following particularities:

Environmental Process, Radio Frequency Fields, Land-Use Consultation and Air Navigation Obstruction Marking

If these procedures have already been completed as part of the application process for a broadcasting certificate, no further action is required.

Electromagnetic Compatibility

Electromagnetic Compatibility Studies (EMC analysis) are not required for non-broadcasting services using DRB or FM/SCMO installations.

Ownership

The applicant must comply with the Radiocommunication Regulations and the Telecommunications Act eligibility requirements with respect to Canadian ownership and control.

Fixed Service

For the purposes of radio licensing, point-to-multipoint applications will be licensed as mobile services.

Fees for Land Mobile Service, Electronic News Gathering, Dispatch and Paging

The fees applicable are those prescribed in sections 63, 64, 66, 67 and 68 of the Radiocommunication Regulations. These fees are prescribed for each transmit or receive frequency:

  • for analog applications, a radio frequency will be deemed to correspond to an assigned bandwidth of 25 kHz employed for non-broadcasting purposes;
  • for digitally modulated applications, a radio frequency will be deemed to correspond to a bit rate of 37.5 kilobits per second employed for non-broadcasting purposes.Footnote 1

Appendix 1 provides a few examples of fee calculations for different radiocommunication services. It should be noted that the Department will periodically review the radio licence fees and that the fees indicated may be subject to change.

FM Rebroadcasting Stations and DRB Gap Fillers/Coverage Extenders/Single Frequency Network Transmitters

With regard to the non-broadcasting service only, when such a transmitter works as a Zone Enhancer, as described in CPC-2-1-05, in a way that it does not extend the main service area of the non-broadcasting service, the fee for non-cellular/non-PCS Zone Enhancers will be applied to one frequency only, as defined in CPC-2-1-05. In all other cases, licence fees will be applied to each frequency, based on service category, using the above calculation.

Radio Standards Procedure  113 (RSP-113)

The Application Procedures for Planned Radio Stations Above 960 MHz in the Fixed Service described in Radio Standards Procedure 113 (RSP-113) do not apply to systems using DRB installations.

International Coordination

No international coordination is required for licensing radiocommunication systems if the coordination was previously carried out during the broadcasting certificate issuance process using FM/SCMO or DRB installations.

Licence Conditions

The following licence condition shall appear on the radio licence for FM/SCMO radiocommunication installations:

"The FM/SCMO radiocommunication installation must meet the requirements of the Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, Part 3 (BPR, Part 3), Application Procedures and Rules for FM Broadcasting Undertakings, and must be maintained in proper adjustment. All conditions or restrictions specified on the Broadcasting Certificate must be complied with. The Department must be notified of any changes to the equipment affecting the FM/SCMO signal."

The following licence condition shall appear on the radio licence for DRB radiocommunication installations:

"The DRB installation must meet the requirements of the Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, Part 5 (BPR, Part 5), Application Procedures and Rules for Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB) Undertakings and Spectrum Utilization Policies SP-1452 (SP-1452), Spectrum Policy Provisions to Permit the Use of Digital Radio Broadcasting Installations to Provide Non-Broadcasting Services, and must be maintained in proper adjustment. All conditions or restrictions specified on the Broadcasting Certificate must be complied with. The Department must be notified of any changes to the DRB facilities."

Implementation of the Policy for Existing Systems

Broadcasting certificate holders who are currently endorsed to allow the use of their installations to provide non-broadcasting services which are not related to the broadcasting programming will be informed that, upon expiration of their broadcasting certificate, the radiocommunication facility will require a radio licence as prescribed in the Radiocommunication Regulations.

Appendix 1: Examples of Fee Calculations

Example 1:

A DRB broadcaster allows a 64 kbit/s bit rate to be used by a radiocommunication service provider (paging company) in a high congestion zone. The licence renewal* fee would be:

  • (64 kbit/s )/(37.5 kbit/s ) = 1.70 equivalent 25 kHz channel (rounded off to the highest number of channels) = 2 frequencies;
  • using RR Schedule III Part  V of the Radiocommunication Regulations: 2 frequencies at $368 per frequency (renewal fee) = $736.00

Example 2:

An FM broadcaster allows a radiocommunication user to use its full SCMO bandwidth (46 kHz as per Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, Part 3 (BPR, Part 3), section  C-7) for paging purposes in a non-metropolitan area. The licence renewal* fee would be:

  • 46 kHz requires the equivalent of 2 x 25 kHz channels;
  • using RR Schedule III Part IV of the Radiocommunication Regulations: 2 frequencies at $53 per frequency (renewal fee) = $106.00

* It should be noted that, upon issuance of a radio licence, an issuance fee is applied.


Footnotes

Return to footnote reference 1 As per Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, Part 5 (BPR, Part 5): a 1.536 MHz DRB channel has a 2304 kbit/s capacity. To convert the applicable bit rate to an equivalent 25 kHz channel, the following calculation was used: 2304 kbit/s ÷ 1.536 MHz (1 DRB channel) = 1.5 kbit/s per kHz or 37.5 kbit/s for each 25 kHz channel.

CPC-2-1-03 — Délivrance de licence à l’égard des systèmes de radiocommunications utilisant l’exploitation multiplex de communications secondaires FM FM/EMCS) ou des installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB)

2e édition
Octobre 2008

Les intéressés désireux de faire parvenir leurs observations ou propositions peuvent les adresser à :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

À l'attention de la DOS

Par courriel : ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Dans nos publications, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Table des matières


Principe

Le spectre des fréquences radioélectriques est une ressource naturelle à laquelle tous les Canadiens sont en droit d'avoir accès pour la conduite de leurs affaires.

Mandat

L'article 5 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication stipule que le ministre peut délivrer des licences radio à l'égard d'appareils radio.

Politique

Dans l'avis DGTP-007-97 publié dans la Gazette du Canada le 27 septembre 1997, Industrie Canada annonce la publication de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre intitulée, Politiques spectrales pour permettre l'utilisation d'installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion. Comme on l'indique dans le document de politique, les personnes suivantes sont admissibles à une licence radio en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication :

  1. Les utilisateurs de radiocommunications ou les fournisseurs de services de radiocommunications qui exploitent une capacité de transmission de radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB) pour offrir des services autres que de radiodiffusion qui ne sont pas liés à la programmation de radiodiffusion, comme la radiomessagerie et la transmission de données alphanumériques.
  2. Les utilisateurs de radiocommunications ou les fournisseurs de services de radiocommunications qui exploitent une capacité de transmission d'exploitation multiplex de communications secondaires FM (FM/EMCS) pour offrir des services autres que de radiodiffusion qui ne sont pas liés à la programmation de radiodiffusion, comme la radiomessagerie et la transmission de données alphanumériques.

Procédure

Conformément au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, on délivrera des licences radio à l'égard d'appareils radio aux personnes admissibles. En vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, on délivrera la licence radio à l'entité qui exploite l'émetteur de radiodiffusion. Pour qu'une licence radio soit délivrée, il faut que l'exploitant d'installations de radiodiffusion prouve que la mise en œuvre d'applications EMCS ou DRB autres que de radiodiffusion n'aura pas pour conséquence de dégrader le signal de radiodiffusion. Une licence radio sera délivrée à l'exploitant d'un système seulement après que le certificat de radiodiffusion aura été modifié pour permettre d'apporter les changements aux installations.

Les demandes de licence relatives à la fourniture de services autres que de radiodiffusion au moyen d'installations DRB ou FM/EMCS seront traitées de la même façon que les autres demandes de licence radio, à l'exception des particularités suivantes :

Processus environnemental, champs de radiofréquences, consultation sur l'utilisation du sol et balises d'identification des obstacles de la navigation aérienne

Si ces procédures ont déjà été suivies dans le cadre du processus de demande de certificat de radiodiffusion, aucune autre mesure n'est nécessaire.

Compatibilité électromagnétique

Des études de compatibilité électromagnétique (analyse CEM) ne sont pas exigées dans le cas des services autres que de radiodiffusion utilisant des installations DRB ou FM/EMCS.

Propriété

Le requérant doit se conformer aux exigences d'admissibilité du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et de la Loi sur les télécommunications en ce qui concerne la propriété et le contrôle canadiens.

Service fixe

Les demandes de licence radio pour l'exploitation de systèmes point à multipoint seront autorisées à titre de service mobile.

Droits pour le service mobile terrestre, le journalisme électronique, la dépêche et le téléappel

Les droits applicables sont les droits prescrits aux articles 63, 64, 66, 67 et 68 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Ces droits sont prescrits pour chaque fréquence d'émission et pour chaque fréquence de réception :

  • pour les applications analogiques, une fréquence radio correspondra à une largeur de bande assignée de 25 kHz utilisée à des fins autres que de radiodiffusion;
  • pour les applications à modulation numérique, une fréquence radio correspondra à un débit binaire de 37,5 kbit/s utilisé à des fins autres que de radiodiffusionNote de bas de page 1.

L'annexe 1 donne quelques exemples de calcul de droits pour différents services de radiocommunications. Il est important de noter que le Ministère révise périodiquement les droits de licence radio et que les droits indiqués pourraient être modifiés.

Les stations de réémission FM et les émetteurs DRB de réseaux à fréquence unique, de couverture complémentaire ou servant d'extenseurs de couverture

En ce qui a trait uniquement aux services autres que de radiodiffusion, lorsqu'un tel émetteur est exploité comme enrichisseur de zone, conformément à la description énoncée dans la CPC-2-1-05, de telle sorte qu'il n'étend pas la zone de service principale des services autres que de radiodiffusion, les droits pour les enrichisseurs de zone utilisés dans des systèmes autres que cellulaires et de communications personnelles seront appliqués pour une seule fréquence seulement, conformément aux modalités énoncées dans la CPC-2-1-05. Dans tous les autres cas, les droits de licence seront appliqués pour chaque fréquence en fonction de la catégorie de service, selon les calculs susmentionnés.

Procédure sur les normes radioélectriques 113 (PNR-113)

Les Procédures relatives aux stations radio projetées fonctionnant à une fréquence supérieure à 960 MHz dans le service fixe qui sont décrites dans la Procédure sur les normes radioélectriques 113 (PNR-113) ne visent pas les systèmes qui utilisent des installations DRB.

Coordination internationale

Aucune coordination internationale n'est nécessaire pour la délivrance de licence à l'égard des systèmes de radiocommunications utilisant des installations FM/EMCS ou DRB si cette démarche a déjà été faite dans le cadre du processus de demande de certificat de radiodiffusion.

Conditions de licence

Les conditions de licence qui suivent doivent apparaître sur la licence radio autorisant des installations de radiocommunications FM/EMCS :

« L'installation de radiocommunications FM/EMCS doit satisfaire aux exigences des Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie 3 (RPR, Partie 3), Règles et procédures de demande relatives aux entreprises de radiodiffusion FM, et elle doit être maintenue en bon état de fonctionnement. L'exploitant doit respecter toutes les conditions ou restrictions précisées sur le certificat de radiodiffusion. On doit informer le Ministère de tout changement apporté au matériel qui risquerait de dégrader le signal FM/EMCS. »

Les conditions de licence qui suivent doivent apparaître sur la licence radio dans le cas d'installations de radiocommunications DRB :

« L'installation DRB doit satisfaire aux exigences des Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie 5 (RPR, Partie 5), Règles et procédures de demande relatives aux entreprises de radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB) et à la Politique d'utilisation du spectre 1452 (PS-1452), Politiques spectrales pour permettre l'utilisation d'installations de radiodiffusion audionumérique afin d'assurer des services autres que de radiodiffusion, et elle doit être maintenue en bon état de fonctionnement. L'exploitant doit respecter toutes les conditions ou restrictions précisées sur le certificat de radiodiffusion. On doit informer le Ministère de tout changement apporté aux installations DRB. »

Mise en œuvre de la politique dans le cas des systèmes existants

Les personnes qui détiennent un certificat de radiodiffusion leur permettant d'utiliser leurs installations pour offrir des services autres que de radiodiffusion qui ne sont pas reliés à la programmation de radiodiffusion seront informées, qu'à partir de la date d'expiration de leur certificat de radiodiffusion, l'installation de radiocommunications devra être autorisée en vertu d'une licence radio comme le prescrit le Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

Annexe 1 : exemples de calculs de droits

Exemple no 1

Un radiodiffuseur DRB autorise un fournisseur de service de radiocommunications (entreprise de téléappel) à utiliser un débit binaire de 64 kbit/s dans une zone d'encombrement intense. Le droit de renouvellement* de licence se calcule ainsi :

  • (64 kbit/s)/(37,5 kbit/s) = 1,70 voie équivalente de 25 kHz (arrondi au nombre le plus élevé de voies) = 2 fréquences;
  • selon l'annexe III, partie V du Règlement sur la radiocommunication (RR) : 2 fréquences à 368 $ par fréquence (droit de renouvellement) = 736 $.

Exemple no 2

Un radiodiffuseur FM autorise un utilisateur de radiocommunications à utiliser toute sa largeur de bande EMCS (46 kHz selon les Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie 3 (RPR-3), article 3.13) pour assurer des services de téléappel dans une zone non métropolitaine. Le droit de renouvellement* de licence se calcule ainsi :

  • pour obtenir une largeur de bande de 46 kHz, on a besoin de deux voies de 25 kHz;
  • selon l'annexe III, partie IV du Règlement sur la radiocommunication (RR) : 2 fréquences à 53 $ par fréquence (droit de renouvellement) = 106 $.

* Remarque : Des droits de délivrance seront prescrits au moment de la délivrance de la licence.


Date de modification :