Archived — Notice No. DGTP-005-95/DGRB-002-95a

Radiocommunication Act

This Notice announces the release of the paper entitled Wireless Personal Communications Services in the 2 GHz Range.The purpose of this document is to facilitate the timely and orderly implementation within Canada of wireless Personal Communications Services (PCS) in the 2 GHz range, by providing the policy and procedural framework within which potential service providers can submit radio applications. This notice and the above-noted paper initiate the selection and licensing process for 2  GHz PCS by calling for expressions of interest and detailed radio applications from prospective licensees.

On November 5, 1994, Industry Canada issued Gazette Notice DGTP-006-94, entitled Policy Discussion and Proposals Respecting the Future Provision of Personal Communications Services and Frequency Spectrum in Canada in the 2 GHz Range. That Notice outlined the general telecommunications policy objectives which would be pursued by the Industry Canada during the implementation of PCS, and raised a number of issues for public comment. In response to the Notice, twenty seven submissions were received from interested parties. The public submissions were given careful consideration by Industry Canada, and were also reviewed by the Information Highway Advisory Council, which provided Industry Canada with its recommendations on policy issues relating to PCS and the development of the Canadian information highway.

Wireless Personal Communications Services in the 2 GHz Range is available electronically via the Internet at the following addresses:

Anonymous file transfer (FTP) son of debra.dgbt.doc.ca/ic-data/regulatory/gazette/dgtp
Gopher son of debra.dgbt.doc.ca port 70/Industry Canada Documents
World Wide Web (WWW) http://info.ic.gc.ca/ic-data/regulatory/gazette/dgtp

Copies of the subject document are also available from the Communications Branch, Industry Canada, 235 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466, and from the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver.

Dated at Ottawa this 9th day of June, 1995.

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications & Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-005-95/DGRB-002-95a

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le présent avis annonce la publication d'un document intitulé Services de communications personnelles dans la gamme 2 GHz. Ce document a pour but de faciliter la mise en oeuvre opportune et ordonnée des services de communications personnelles (SCP) sans fil au Canada dans la gamme 2 GHz, en énonçant la politique et les modalités de présentation des demandes de licences radio par les fournisseurs de services éventuels. Cet avis et le document mentionné ci-haut, commencent le processus de sélection et d'attribution de licence des SCP dans la gamme 2 GHz en invitant les titulaires éventuels à manifester leur intérêt et à présenter des demandes de licence radio détaillées.

Le 5 novembre 1994, Industrie Canada a publié, dans la Gazette du Canada, l'avis DGTP-006-94 intitulé Document de travail concernant des propositions de politique visant la prestation future de services de communications personnelles et le spectre des fréquences au Canada dans la gamme 2 GHz. Cet avis exposait les grands objectifs en matière de politique de télécommunications que le Ministère entend poursuivre au cours de la période de mise en oeuvre des SCP et invitait la population à formuler ses observations au sujet d'un certain nombre de questions qui y étaient soulevées. En réponse à cet avis, 27 mémoires ont été reçus de parties intéressées. Ces mémoires ont été soigneusement étudiés par Industrie Canada et examinés par le Comité consultatif sur l'autoroute de l'information, qui a présenté à Industrie Canada ses recommandations concernant les questions de politique touchant les SCP et le développement de l'autoroute canadienne de l'information.

On peut se procurer le document intitulé Services de communications personnelles dans la gamme 2 GHz sur le réseau Internet aux adresses suivantes :

FTP (Anonymous File Transfer)
son of debra.dgbt.doc.ca/ic-data/regulatory/gazette/dgtp
Gopher
son of debra.dgbt.doc.ca port 70/Industry Canada Documents
World Wide Web (WWW)
http://info.ic.gc.ca/ic-data/regulatory/gazette/dgtp

On peut également se procurer des exemplaires de ce document en s'adressant à la Direction générale des communications, Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466 ou aux bureaux d'Industrie Canada situés à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver.

Signé à Ottawa, ce 9e jour de juin 1995.

Michael Helm
Directeur général
Politique des télécommunications

Jan Skora
Directeur général intérimaire
Direction de la règlementation de radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion

Date de modification :