Archived — Notice No. DGTP-001-94

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-001-94

Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market

Introduction

The purpose of this policy framework is to permit the orderly provision of mobile satellite services via regional and global satellite systems in the Canadian market. The policy framework is applicable to those regional and global satellite systems in respect of which a licence under the Radiocommunication Act is not issued for the satellite portion of the system.

The former Department of Communications issued Canada Gazette Notice No. DGTP-006-93, dated May 12, 1993, respecting a proposed policy framework for the provision of mobile satellite services via regional and global satellite systems in the Canadian market, and invited comments on the same. Based on the review of the public submissions made in response to that request and on internal study, the finalized policy framework is now being issued.

This policy framework has been developed, in particular, for the guidance of potential future operators of mobile satellite systems having regional or global coverage capabilities, and providing domestic mobile satellite services (MSS) 1 within Canada or services between Canada and other countries. Entities proposing to utilize Canadian satellite facilities to offer mobile satellite services between or among countries other than Canada are not restricted by Canadian policy, but may be subject to the regulatory regimes of the country or countries to be served.

The aim of the policy framework is to enable Canadians to benefit fully from these regional or global mobile satellite systems and to encourage Canadians to be active in their development, ownership and operation.

Access to high quality telecommunications services must be offered to Canadians if they are available to other competitive users and if their introduction would provide demonstrable benefits to Canadians. Through the use of mobile satellite systems, Canadians could have a greater choice of communications services, and users in remote and rural areas of Canada would, in particular, benefit from access to better and more affordable communications services.

Furthermore, satellite communications are likely to play a key role in providing an increasingly mobile population with continuous access to the information highway. Satellites might also prove to be instrumental in giving more Canadians access to the information infrastructure sooner, since the delay and costs of laying cable can be avoided if satellite coverage is available.

The Government continues to place a high priority on Canadian ownership and control of transmission facilities used for the carriage of Canadian traffic. Therefore, specific requirements respecting Canadian ownership and control also constitute key elements of the policy framework for the provision of mobile satellite services via regional and global satellite systems in the Canadian market.

Policy Framework

The following policy framework for the commercial provision of mobile satellite services via current and proposed regional and global mobile satellite systems (utilizing satellites in either geostationary or non-geostationary orbits) is herewith adopted.

Under the powers conferred by the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister will consider and, at his or her discretion, grant licences in respect of applications for the radio apparatus in mobile terminals, fixed gateway earth stations, and the telemetry, tracking and command stations which form part of the regional or global mobile satellite system.

Any radio apparatus licences issued to an applicant proposing to offer such mobile satellite services in Canada would be subject to certain licence eligibility, technical and policy conditions. The following are criteria against which applications will be assessed and licence conditions developed:

  • the applicant must be a Canadian-owned and controlled corporation incorporated or continued under the laws of Canada or a province, the corporation being Canadian-owned and controlled if, were it a Canadian carrier, it would be eligible to operate as a telecommunications common carrier under the provisions of the Telecommunications Act and the regulations made thereunder;
  • a Canadian or Canadians ("Canadian" having the same meaning in this paragraph as in the Telecommunications Act and the regulations made thereunder) must hold an equity share in the entity2 that owns the satellites and operates the regional or global mobile satellite system, which equity share is, at the time the mobile satellite service commences, at least proportional to a good faith estimate of the expected Canadian usage 3 of that system (as compared to the total usage of the system) over an initial period of time, and that Canadian or those Canadians must, after the service has commenced, take all suitable steps to have held by Canadians an equity share in the entity at least proportional to Canadian usage of that system, the equity position in all cases being accompanied by an appropriate interest in the direction and control of the entity that owns the satellites and operates the regional or global mobile satellite system;
  • the services offered must provide a demonstrable benefit to Canadians, which benefit may in part be demonstrated through, for example, a showing that similar services are not available and are not likely to soon become available on Canadian telecommunications facilities, or that Canadian industries would be placed at a competitive disadvantage because of the non-availability of these services;
  • the status of any Canadian carrier(s) as the only provider(s) of overseas telecommunications facilities for the carriage of Canadian traffic, during the period and to the extent such status is obtained or maintained, must be respected 4;
  • spectrum policy requirements with respect to allocation, utilization and efficiency, orderly deployment and co-existence with other radio services authorized for use in the bands, must be met; and
  • spectrum management, including frequency coordination with existing and planned Canadian stations, and type approval considerations must be satisfied with respect to all radio apparatus.

In addition to the foregoing, applications for the above radio licences may also be assessed according to a number of factors, including but not restricted to:

  • the potential, longer-term effects of the proposed operation on access to reliable, affordable, high quality telecommunications services in both urban and rural areas in all regions of Canada;
  • commitments for the maximized use of Canadian telecommunications facilities, including gateway ground stations, whenever possible, to the extent that the use of such facilities is consistent with the optimal provision of the mobile satellite services, having regard to such factors as service reliability, service quality, and consumer pricing;
  • the prospects for stimulating Canadian research and development and technological innovation;
  • the effect of the proposed operation on the efficiency and competitiveness of the Canadian telecommunications industry, factors in respect of which include the opportunities available for the provision of the subject mobile satellite services in the Canadian market by more than one operator; and
  • the ability of potential entrants in the mobile satellite services field to ensure that the public's demands for more efficient and sophisticated telecommunications services are accompanied by appropriate safeguards for the privacy of individual users.

Furthermore, the licensing, under the Radiocommunication Act, of individual Canadian registered mobile satellite subscriber terminals 5 (and the operation of foreign registered terminals) for a regional or global mobile satellite communications system, will be facilitated by, for example, enabling the successful applicant to hold the licences for the terminals, provided that:

  • the Canadian registered mobile terminals are registered for use on the system through a Canadian service provider and meet the appropriate Canadian technical specifications;
  • the non-Canadian registered mobile terminals are duly authorized in their home country and meet the appropriate system specifications, and Canadian users are permitted to use their Canadian approved and registered terminals in the foreign country on a reciprocal basis; and
  • an equitable arrangement is in place for sharing revenue between the Canadian and non-Canadian operating entities.

As noted above, it is considered important that mobile satellite services provided via a regional or global satellite system be offered in Canada with the participation of Canadians holding an equity position in the entity which owns the satellites and operates the regional or global mobile satellite service. However, where the services offered are directed to a small and specialized market segment, the availability of such services would provide clear benefits that would otherwise remain unavailable to Canadian telecommunications users, and equity participation in the system by Canadians is not feasible, consideration will be given, after a careful review of the merits of any such application, to the licensing of subscriber terminals or other equipment, on a case-by-case basis, under the Radiocommunication Act.

This policy takes effect upon publication. It should be noted, however, that spectrum allocation and utilization policies, as well as frequency coordination and other considerations, may need to be resolved before any service is actually implemented.

October 26, 1994

Michael Helm

Director General
Telecommunications Policy

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-001-94

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis No DGTP-001-94

Cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux

Introduction

Le présent cadre de politique vise à permettre la prestation ordonnée de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux. Ce cadre s'applique aux systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux pour lesquels une licence en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication n'est pas délivrée pour la portion satellite du système.

L'ancien ministère des Communications a publié dans la Gazette du Canada l'avis no DGTP-006-93, en date du 12 mai 1993, concernant un projet de cadre de politique visant la prestation au Canada de services mobiles par satellite assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux, dans lequel les intéressés étaient invités à présenter leurs observations concernant ce projet. La version définitive du cadre de politique, modifiée en fonction des observations présentées par le public en réponse audit avis et d'un examen interne, est maintenant publiée.

Le présent cadre de politique a été élaboré notamment pour guider les exploitants éventuels de systèmes mobiles à satellites, qui peuvent assurer une couverture régionale ou mondiale, et qui assurent des services mobiles par satellite (SMS) 1 au Canada ou des services entre le Canada et l'étranger. Les entités qui proposent d'utiliser les installations des satellites canadiens pour offrir des services mobiles par satellite entre ou parmi des pays autres que le Canada ne sont pas limitées par la politique canadienne, mais elles peuvent être assujetties aux régimes réglementaires du pays ou des pays à servir.

Le cadre de politique vise à garantir que les Canadiens profiteront pleinement de ces systèmes mobiles à satellites, régionaux et mondiaux, et à les inciter à participer activement à leur développement, à leur propriété et à leur exploitation.

L'accès à des services de télécommunication de haute qualité doit être offert aux Canadiens s'ils le sont à des utilisateurs concurrents et si leur mise en uvre leur offre des avantages manifestes. Grâce à l'utilisation de systèmes mobiles à satellites, les Canadiens pourraient jouir d'un choix plus vaste de services de télécommunication et les utilisateurs des régions rurales et éloignées du Canada pourraient notamment avoir accès à de meilleurs services de télécommunication à moindre coût.

En outre, les télécommunications par satellite joueront probablement un rôle clé dans l'accès ininterrompu à l'autoroute de l'information par une population de plus en plus mobile. Les satellites pourraient également contribuer à assurer l'accès hâtif d'un plus grand nombre de Canadiens à l'infrastructure de l'information, étant donné qu'il est possible d'éviter les délais et les coûts engendrés par la pose de câbles grâce à la couverture par satellite.

Le Gouvernement continue d'accorder une grande priorité à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens ainsi qu'à l'utilisation d'installations de transmission canadiennes pour l'acheminement du trafic canadien. En conséquence, des exigences précises concernant la propriété et le contrôle canadiens sont également un élément clé du cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux.

Cadre de politique

Le cadre de politique exposé ci-dessous, concernant la prestation commerciale de services mobiles par satellite, assurés au moyen de systèmes mobiles à satellites (géostationnaires ou non géostationnaires) régionaux et mondiaux, existants ou projetés, est maintenant adopté.

Conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le ministre examinera et, à son gré, délivrera des licences à l'égard du matériel radio des stations mobiles, des stations de transit fixes terriennes, et des stations de télémesure, de poursuite et de commande, qui font partie d'un système mobile à satellite régional ou mondial.

Toutes les licences pour les appareils radio délivrées à un requérant qui propose d'offrir de tels services mobiles par satellite au Canada seront assujetties à certaines conditions liées à l'admissibilité, aux paramètres techniques et à la politique. Voici les critères qui serviront à évaluer les demandes et à élaborer les conditions de licence :

  • le requérant doit être une personne morale constituée ou prorogée sous le régime des lois fédérales ou provinciales et être la propriété de Canadiens et sous contrôle canadien; une société est réputée être la propriété de Canadiens et sous le contrôle canadien si, dans l'hypothèse où il s'agirait d'une entreprise canadienne, elle avait droit d'exploitation en tant qu'entreprise canadienne de télécommunication aux termes de la Loi sur les télécommunications et de ses règlements d'exécution;
  • un Canadien ou des Canadiens ( « Canadien » ayant le même sens dans le présent paragraphe que dans la Loi sur les télécommunications et ses règlements d'exécution) doivent détenir un pourcentage des actions de participation de l'entité2 propriétaire des satellites et qui exploite le système mobile à satellite régional ou mondial, qui soit, au moment de la mise en uvre du service mobile par satellite, au moins proportionnel à l'estimation faite de bonne foi de l'utilisation 3 projetée de ce système au Canada (par rapport à l'utilisation totale du système) au cours d'une période initiale donnée, et ce Canadien ou ces Canadiens doivent, après la mise en uvre du service, prendre toutes les mesures appropriées pour que les Canadiens détiennent un pourcentage des actions de participation de l'entité, qui soit au moins proportionnel à l'utilisation de ce système au Canada; dans tous les cas, sa participation au capital doit être accompagnée d'un intérêt approprié dans la direction et le contrôle de l'entité qui est propriétaire des satellites et qui exploite le système mobile à satellite régional ou mondial;
  • les services offerts doivent apporter un avantage manifeste aux Canadiens, qui peut en partie être expliqué en montrant que des services analogues ne sont pas offerts, et ne le seront probablement pas dans un avenir rapproché, sur des installations de télécommunication canadiennes, ou encore que l'absence de ces services nuirait à la compétitivité de l'industrie canadienne;
  • il faut respecter le statut de toute(s) entreprise(s) canadienne(s) de télécommunication de seul fournisseur d'installations de télécommunication outre-mer, pour l'acheminement du trafic au Canada, durant la période et dans la mesure où ce statut est obtenu ou maintenu 4;
  • il faut respecter les exigences des politiques d'utilisation du spectre relatives à l'attribution et à l'exploitation des fréquences, à l'utilisation efficace du spectre, à la mise en uvre ordonnée des systèmes et à la coexistence avec les autres services radio dont l'exploitation dans les bandes visées a été autorisée;
  • enfin, tous les appareils radio doivent satisfaire aux dispositions concernant la gestion du spectre, y compris la coordination des fréquences avec les stations canadiennes existantes ou projetées, et l'homologation.

L'évaluation des demandes de licences radio sera fondée sur le respect des conditions ci-dessus. Les demandes pourront également être examinées en fonction d'autres facteurs, y compris :

  • l'incidence éventuelle à long terme du système proposé sur l'accès à des services de télécommunication fiables, abordables et de grande qualité dans les régions urbaines et rurales partout au Canada;
  • les engagements relatifs à l'utilisation maximale d'installations de télécommunication canadiennes, incluant des stations de transit terriennes, chaque fois que cela est possible, dans la mesure où cette utilisation est compatible avec la prestation optimale de services mobiles par satellite, compte tenu de facteurs comme la fiabilité, la qualité et le prix à la consommation des services;
  • les possibilités de stimuler la recherche et le développement, ainsi que les innovations technologiques au Canada;
  • l'incidence du système projeté sur l'efficacité et la compétitivité de l'industrie canadienne des télécommunications, facteurs qui incluent la possibilité de prestation, par plus d'un exploitant, des services mobiles par satellite en question dans le marché canadien;
  • enfin, la capacité des nouveaux venus éventuels sur le marché des services mobiles par satellite de garantir que les services de télécommunication plus efficaces et perfectionnés offerts en réponse aux demandes de la population soient accompagnés de garanties quant à la protection de la vie privée des utilisateurs.

En outre, la délivrance de licences, en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, au regard des stations terminales 5 des abonnés canadiens enregistrés de services mobiles assurés par des systèmes de télécommunication à satellites régionaux et mondiaux (et l'exploitation de terminaux mobiles enregistrés à l'étranger), sera facilitée, notamment en permettant au requérant retenu de détenir les licences visant les terminaux, sous réserve que :

  • les stations mobiles canadiennes enregistrées soient enregistrées aux fins d'exploitation sur le système par l'intermédiaire du fournisseur canadien et respectent les conditions techniques canadiennes pertinentes;
  • les stations mobiles étrangères enregistrées soient dûment autorisées dans leur pays d'origine et respectent les conditions techniques pertinentes et que les utilisateurs canadiens soient autorisés à utiliser leurs terminaux approuvés et enregistrés au Canada dans ledit pays, en régime de réciprocité;
  • enfin, un accord équitable soit conclu en ce qui a trait au partage des recettes entre l'entité exploitante canadienne et l'entité exploitante étrangère.

Comme cela a été souligné ci-dessus, il est jugé important que les services mobiles par satellite assurés au moyen d'un système à satellite régional ou mondial soient offerts au Canada avec la participation de Canadiens qui détiennent des actions de participation dans l'entité qui possède les satellites et exploite le service mobile par satellite régional ou mondial. Cependant, quand les services offerts sont destinés à un petit créneau spécialisé du marché, que la disponibilité de ces services offrirait des avantages manifestes qui ne seraient pas disponibles autrement pour les utilisateurs canadiens de services de télécommunication, et qu'aucun aucun Canadien n'est en mesure d'avoir une participation au capital de l'entreprise exploitant le système, on prendra en considération la possibilité de délivrer, après un examen attentif des avantages offerts dans le cas de chaque demande et conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication, une licence visant les terminaux d'abonnés ou d'autre matériel.

La présente politique entre en vigueur dès sa publication. Il faut toutefois souligner que les questions d'attribution des fréquences, des politiques d'utilisation du spectre et de coordination des fréquences, ainsi que toute autre question pertinente, pourraient devoir être réglées avant la mise en uvre de tout service.

Le 26 octobre 1994

Le directeur général
Politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Date de modification :