Language selection

Search

Archived — Notice No. DGTP-001-98

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

No.DGTP-001-98:

Amendments to the mobile satellite policy framework to implement Canada's commitment to the WTO basic agreement in telecommunications

This Notice announces amendments to the Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services Via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market (c-007) promulgated on November 5, 1994 by Notice DGTP-001-94. These amendments are intended to bring into effect changes required by Canada’s acceptance in the World Trade Organization (WTO) to the multilateral agreement on basic telecommunications services, entitled the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) reached in February 1997.

Specifically, the Department rescinds the provision of the Policy Framework effective February 5, 1998 that requires the Canadian licensee for the provision of mobile satellite services in Canada to hold an equity share in the entity owning the satellite system at least proportional to the expected Canadian usage. The Policy Framework is further amended effective February 5, 1998 with respect to the routing of mobile satellite services which will be liberalized between points within Canada, and between Canada and points in the United States. However, until October 1, 1998, mobile satellite services between Canada and points outside Canada and the United States must be routed through the designated overseas carrier.

This Notice also announces the release of a revision to the Policy Framework which contains the amendments stated above, in addition to some further changes to update the policy provisions for the licensing of regional and global mobile satellite systems.

This Canada Gazette Notice and the referenced publication are available electronically via the Internet at the following addresses:

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Copies of the subject document are also available from the Communications Branch, Industry Canada, 235 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466, and from the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver.

February 13, 1998

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch
Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-001-98

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-001-98 :

Modifications apportées au cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite afin de mettre en œuvre l'engagement du Canada relativement àl'accord de l'OMC en matière de télécommunications de base

Le présent avis annonce les modifications apportées auCadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux (PR-007), dont la promulgation a été faite dans l'avis DGTP-001-94 paru le 5 novembre 1994. Ces modifications visent à mettre en vigueur les changements requis par l'acceptation par le Canada de l'accord multilatéral sur les services de télécommunications de base de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce intitulé Accord général sur le commerce des services (GATS), intervenu en février 1997.

Plus particulièrement, le Ministère annule, à compter du 5 février 1998, la disposition du Cadre de politique qui exige que les titulaires de licence canadiens désirant assurer des services mobiles par satellite au Canada détiennent une action participative dans l'entité qui possède le système à satellites au moins proportionnelle à l'utilisation que l'on compte faire du système au Canada. De plus, le Cadre de politique est modifié à compter du 5 février 1998 relativement à l'acheminement des services mobiles par satellite, qui seront libéralisés entre les emplacements canadiens et entre le Canada et des emplacements situés aux États-Unis. Cependant, d'ici le 1er octobre 1998, les services mobiles par satellite entre le Canada et des emplacements situés à l'extérieur du Canada et des États-Unis devront être acheminés par l'intermédiaire de l'entreprise de télécommunication outre-mer officiellement désignée.

Par cet avis, le Ministère annonce également la publication d'une révision du Cadre de politique qui renferme les modifications énoncées ci-dessus ainsi que certains autres changements afin de mettre à jour les dispositions d'orientation sur la délivrance de licence à l'égard des systèmes mobiles à satellites régionaux et mondiaux.

Le présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada et la publication donnée en référence sont disponibles en version électronique sur Internet à l'adresse suivante  :

World Wide Web (WWW)
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Des copies du document indiqué en objet sont également disponibles auprès de la Direction générale des communications, Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466, et auprès des bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver.

le 13 février 1998

Le directeur général de la Politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Date de modification :