Archived — Notice No. SMBR-002-98

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMBR-002-98: DTV (Digital Television) Transition Allotment Plan

Introduction

Industry Canada announces publication of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan for public comment. The Plan is predicated on the use of the A/53 Digital TV Standard and is designed to provide for the introduction of DTV undertakings as well as continue to accommodate the existing NTSC undertakings during the transition period. Thereafter, DTV only will remain.

The allotment criteria which were used to develop the Plan are listed in the Preamble to the Plan.

The A/53 Digital Television Standard describes a system designed to transmit high quality digital video and audio as well as ancillary data over a 6 MHz channel. It was adopted as the DTV standard for Canada in Gazette Notice No. SMBR-004-97, "Adoption of Standard for Digital Television (DTV) Broadcasting in Canada," which was published on

DTV Transition Allotment Plan Principles

The DTV Transition Allotment Plan is based on principles developed in government/industry discussions, including relevant recommendations of the Task Force on the Implementation of Digital Television. These principles include the following:

  • DTV should be introduced as an eventual replacement service to analog NTSC services;
  • The Plan shall accommodate both NTSC and DTV broadcasting;
  • Planning parameters for DTV are based on implementation of the ATSC A/53 standard; and
  • A DTV allotment shall be provided for each regular and low power NTSC undertaking, and to each allotment to the extent possible.

Coordination with the United States

The plan was developed taking US DTV allotments and existing US regular NTSC stations into account.

As usual, allotments near the border area will need to be coordinated with the United States. Industry Canada has started discussions with USA officials in this regard in order to reduce incompatibilities as much as possible. Any resulting changes to the Plan will be announced after discussions are completed.

Final Plan

After the ultimate phase-out of NTSC, it is expected this DTV Transition Allotment Plan will be replaced by a new DTV Allotment Plan containing only DTV allotments. It is likely that in a number of cases the channels for these DTV allotments will be different from those for the DTV allotments in the transition plan.

The required core spectrum for the final DTV-only plan has yet to be determined. Operational experience from early implementation of DTV undertakings will help in determining the criteria to be used in the DTV-only plan.

Further Information

The DTV Transition Allotment Plan is available electronically on the Internet at the WWW address: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum for the English version and http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre for the French version.

Submission of Comments

Interested parties may submit comments concerning the DTV Transition Allotment Plan to the Director General, Spectrum Engineering Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8, or at the Internet address broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca in the case of E-mail submissions.

Comments should be submitted no later than 90 days from the date of publication of this Notice. Comments received will be made available on written request to the Director General.

Dated at Ottawa

R. W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no SMBR-002-98

Radiocommunication Act

Avis no SMBR-002-98 : Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN)

Introduction

Industrie Canada annonce la publication d'un Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN). Ce Plan est fondé sur l'utilisation de la norme A/53 sur la télévision numérique et vise à permettre l'implantation des entreprises de TVN aux côtés des entreprises de radiodiffusion NTSC pendant la période de transition. Par la suite, le système NTSC sera progressivement abandonné.

Les critères d'allotissement qui ont servi à préparer le Plan sont décrits dans le préambule du Plan d'allotissement.

La norme A/53 sur la télévision numérique décrit un système conçu pour transmettre des signaux audio et vidéo de qualité supériuere, ainsi que des données auxiliaires au moyen d'un canal de 6 MHz. Cette norme a été adoptée en tant que norme sur la TVN pour le Canada et fait l'objet de l'avisSMBR-004-097 publié dans la Gazette du Canada le sous le titre ® Adoption d'une norme sur la télévision numérique au Canada (TVN) ¯.

Principes du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique

Le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN) s'inspire de principes adoptés suite à des discussions entre le gouvernement et l'industrie, y compris les recommandations pertinentes du Groupe de travail sur la mise en œuvre de la télévision numérique.

Ces principes sont les suivants : 

  • La TVN sera implantée de manière à remplacer peu à peu les services NTSC analogiques.
  • Le Plan englobera tant la radiodiffusion NTSC que la radiodiffusion télévisuelle numérique (TVN).
  • Les paramètres de planification de la TVN sont fondés sur l'implantation de la norme A/53 ATSC.
  • Un allotissement pour la TVN sera prévu pour chaque entreprise NTSC ordinaire et chaque entreprise NTSC de faible puissance, ainsi que pour chaque allotissement existant, dans la mesure du possible.

Coordination avec les États-Unis

Le Plan a été élaboré en tenant compte des allotissements aux stations TVN et aux stations NTSC actuellement exploitées aux États-Unis.

Comme d'habitude, les allotissements près de la frontière devront faire l'objet d'une coordination avec les États-Unis. À cet égard, Industrie Canada a entrepris des discussions avec les fonctionnaires des États-Unis afin de réduire le plus possible les conflits. Tout changement à apporter au Plan suite à ces discussions sera annoncé une fois les pourparlers terminés.

Plan final

Après le retrait progressif du système NTSC, on prévoit que le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN) sera remplacé par un nouveau Plan d'allotissement TVN renfermant les seuls allotissements TVN. Bon nombre des allotissements TVN seront différents des allotissements TVN du Plan transitoire.

Il reste encore à déterminer les fréquences centrales du Plan qui sont requises pour les stations TVN uniquement. L'expérience tirée de la mise en œuvre hâtive des entreprises de TVN va permettre de déterminer plus facilement les critères à utiliser pour établir le Plan de stations TVN uniquement.

Renseignements supplémentaires

On peut se procurer des copies électroniques du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN) à l'adresse Internet  :  http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum pour la version anglaise et http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre pour la version française.

Présentation des observations

Les parties intéressées peuvent présenter leurs observations concernant le Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN) au Directeur général, Direction du Génie du spectre, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ont.), K1A 0C8, ou, par courrier électronique, à l'adresse Internet suivante : broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca.

On doit présenter ses observations au plus tard 90 jours après la date de publication du présent avis. On pourra consulter les observations qui auront été reçues par le Ministère en en faisant la demande écrite au Directeur général.

Fait à Ottawa

R. W. McCaughern
Directeur général
Direction du génie du spectre

Date de modification :