SP 944 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy in the Frequency Range 944-960 MHz

July 1998

Table of Contents


Industry Canada
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-011-98 — Spectrum Utilization Policy in the Frequency Range 944-960 MHz

The purpose of this Notice is to announce the release of the spectrum utilization policy for the use of the frequency bands 944–952 MHz, and 953–960 MHz. This policy follows the July 1996 release of a policy proposals paper entitled The Designation of Spectrum for Cordless Telephones and Proposals for the Future Use of the Bands 944–952 MHz and 953–956 MHz (Gazette Notice DGTP-006-96).

The spectrum utilization policy addresses the issues of the future use of parts of the frequency bands referenced above for cordless telephones, wireless local loop applications, and fixed radio service links to support Studio-to-Transmitter Links.

The spectrum utilization policy entitled Spectrum Utilization Policy in the Frequency Range 944–960 MHz is available electronically via the Internet at the following address:

World Wide Web (WWW)
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

or in hard copy, for a fee, from:

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714 Fenton Road
Gloucester, Ontario
K1T 3T7

Canada toll-free number: 1-800-267-4862
U.S. toll-free number: 1-800-574-0137
Worldwide telephone number : 613-822-0740
Fax number : 613-822-1089

Canada Communication Group
45 Sacré-Coeur Blvd.
Hull, Quebec
K1A 0S9

Toll-free number: 1-888-562-5561
Fax number : 819-779-2858
Worldwide telephone number: 819-779-4335

June 25, 1998

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


1.0 Intent

This document addresses the spectrum utilization policy for the use of the frequency bands 944–952 MHz, and 953–956 MHz in response to the public consultation on Gazette Notice DGTP-006-96 entitled The Designation of Spectrum for Cordless Telephones and Proposals for the Future Use of the Bands 944–952 MHz and 953–956 MHz. In addition, this document addresses the modified use of the adjacent frequency band 956–960 MHz. The decisions taken herein amend the appropriate parts of the Spectrum Utilization Policy 896 MHz1 (SP–896 MHz).

2.0 Background

In September 1991, the former Department of Communications designated the band 944–948 MHz for cordless telephones by Gazette Notice DGTP-007-91. In addition, the band 948–952 MHz was placed on reserve for potential growth and development of cordless telephones. In November 1992, by Gazette Notice DGTP-007-92, the band 948–948.5 MHz was added to the designation of spectrum to support signalling channels for cordless telephones.

Through extensive public consultation and with the support of industry, a common air interface standard for cordless telephones was established under the requirements of the CT2 Plus Class 2 standard. It was anticipated that cordless telephones would be implemented in public, business, and residential environments.

In December 1992, four national licences were awarded to provide cordless telephone service to the public. However, none of the four licensees have implemented a public commercial service for cordless telephones. One contributing factor is that there are no suppliers or manufacturers of equipment that have fully developed the technology to accommodate the public deployment of the cordless telephone services envisaged by the four national licensees. As well, the residential market has not materialized, although cordless telephones have had reasonable penetration in the business environment.

In June 1995, a spectrum policy framework was issued for the provision of Personal Communications Services (PCS) at 2 GHz, which included a designation of spectrum for licence exempt applications in the band 1910–1930 MHz. This licence exempt band could accommodate similar technologies for cordless telephones as those developed for the 900 MHz range to provide services in the business and residential environments. An Industry Advisory Group has been established, including participation by Industry Canada, to support the implementation of licence exempt PCS.

On another matter, the band 953–956 MHz has been on reserve for over ten years. The Department received a request from the Canadian Association of Broadcasters (CAB) to use this band as an extension to the band 956–960 MHz for fixed radio service to support audio AM and FM broadcasting Studio-to-Transmitter Links (STLs) in congested areas.

In July 1996, by Gazette Notice DGTP-006-96, the Department issued a document entitled The Designation of Spectrum for Cordless Telephones and Proposals for the Future Use of the Bands 944–952 MHz and 953–956 MHz to discuss the future use these bands and to invite public comment. Among other matters the document addressed issues relating to the lack of deployment of cordless telephones in public and residential environments.

Among the comments received in response to Gazette Notice DGTP-06-96 was a request for the use of the band 953–960 MHz for wireless local loop (WLL) applications to serve rural areas while sharing with STLs on a geographical separation basis.

3.0 Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Band 944–960 MHz

3.1 Spectrum Policy Provisions for the Band 944–948.5 MHz

3.1.1 Discussion

The band 944–948.5 MHz was originally intended to provide the full complement of cordless telephone services for public, business, and residential users. However, the current cordless telephone use of this band has only developed in the business environment.

In spite of the lack of deployment of cordless telephones in public and residential environments, several respondents to DGTP-006-96 indicated that cordless telephones have been successfully deployed in the business environment and that this application has been growing. Although some respondents suggested alternative uses for this frequency spectrum, there was no direction to indicate future alternative uses at this time.

The 900 MHz range is a suitable technical choice for mobile systems. In order to ease the congestion of mobile spectrum in major metropolitan areas, Industry Canada contemplated the possibility of designating the band 944–948.5 MHz for mobile services, other than cordless telephones. However, it was determined that such a designation would not be feasible in the short term for several reasons.

Firstly, the band 944–948.5 MHz (and the extended band 944–952 MHz) is not paired with another portion of the spectrum. In order to accommodate frequency division duplexing (FDD) which is generally used in the mobile service it would require a portion of spectrum that could be paired with a technically feasible frequency separation. An analysis of the neighbouring spectrum shows that there is not a suitable portion of spectrum that could fill this requirement without heavily impacting existing services. The alternative would be to deploy mobile equipment operating in a single band with a time division duplexing (TDD) method. Although this technique is used in specialized applications, such as cordless telephones, it has not been generally used in mobile services to date. This may change in the future.

The second challenge in the deployment of mobile systems is that suitable equipment is not generally available to operate in these bands. The Canadian marketplace may be too small to support sustainable sources of supply of equipment developed for unique frequency plans.

3.1.2 Decision on Cordless Telephones

Industry Canada notes that the deployment of cordless telephones has not materialized in the public environment in the band 944–948.5 MHz. Furthermore, it is expected that suppliers in the Canadian marketplace will gravitate towards the 2 GHz range where global developments of cordless telephones and other personal communications services are emerging. For these reasons Industry Canada believes that it is appropriate to terminate the designation of spectrum for cordless telephones in the band 944–948.5 MHz as of July 1, 2002. Cordless telephones can continue in operation after that date but without assurance of protection from new uses of the spectrum.

A further review will be carried out by the year 2000 to assess the current usage of the band by cordless telephones and other demands on the spectrum. Depending on the outcome of this review, the Department will make this band (and possibly the band 948.5–952 MHz) available for other wireless radio services. In considering new services that could be introduced in this band after July 1, 2002, one factor will be minimizing the impact on existing users of cordless telephones recognizing the current deployment of these units in the business environment. However, Industry Canada cannot give an assurance at this time that a completely interference free environment will exist for cordless telephones operating in the band 944–948.5 MHz after the year 2002.

Several respondents to the discussion paper commented on the appropriateness of continuing with a unique cordless telephone standard (CT2Plus Class 2), as the public component has not been deployed. It was noted that the CT2Plus Class 2 Standard has not been adopted on an international scale resulting in relatively high priced CT2Plus Class 2 products.

The adoption of additional standards for other cordless telephone technologies would require resources of industry and government. Since the designation of spectrum for cordless telephones will be terminated on July 1, 2002, it is not regarded as beneficial to undertake the effort required to adopt additional cordless standards for this band.

3.1.3 Policy Provisions

  1. The band 944–948.5 MHz is designated for cordless telephones until July 1, 2002. A review will be initiated by the year 2000 to determine future uses of the band. The operation of cordless telephones may continue after July 1, 2002 but without the assurance of protection from new uses of the band. However, consideration will be given in the deployment of future systems, to minimize the impact on existing users of cordless telephones, recognizing their current deployment in the business environment.
  2. Additional standards for cordless telephones will not be adopted due to the decision to add other services in the band 944–948.5 MHz in the year 2002, possibly resulting in the removal of the protected status of cordless telephones.

3.2 Spectrum Policy Provisions for the Band 948.5–952 MHz

3.2.1 Discussion

The band 948.5–952 MHz is currently on reserve for the potential growth and development of cordless telephones.

Some respondents suggested that the reserve band 948.5–952 MHz should be held for the potential growth of cordless telephone services that may be stimulated by the adoption of multiple cordless telephone standards for the band 944–948.5 MHz. Other respondents suggested that the band 948.5–952 MHz is not required for cordless telephones and should eventually be opened for other service applications in conjunction with the band 944–948.5 MHz.

3.2.2 Decision

With regards to the band 948.5–952 MHz, no compelling arguments were brought forward to open this band at this time. Consequently, this band will be placed on general reserve and will be reviewed in conjunction with the band 944–948.5 MHz by the year 2000 to determine the future use of both bands. Depending on the outcome of the review, consideration will be given to opening the band 944–952 MHz for other radio applications.

3.2.3 Policy Provisions

The band 948.5–952 MHz will remain in reserve. A further review will be carried out by the year 2000 in conjunction with the band 944–948.5 MHz to determine the future usage of the spectrum.

1 SP 896 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Fixed, Mobile, Radiolocation and Amateur Services in the Band 896–960 MHz.


Date modified:

PS 944 MHz — Politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande de fréquences 944-960 MHz

Juillet 1998

Table de matières


Industrie Canada
loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis No DGTP-011-98

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer la publication de la politique d'utilisation du spectre relativement aux bandes de fréquences 944–952 MHz et 953–960 MHz. Cette politique fait suite à la publication du document de propositions de politiques publié en juillet 1996 sous le titre Désignation de fréquences pour les téléphones sans fil et propositions concernant l'utilisation future des bandes 944–952 MHz et 953–956 MHz (Avis de la Gazette no DGTP-006-96).

La politique d'utilisation du spectre qui est ici présentée porte sur les aspects de l'utilisation future de segments des bandes de fréquences susmentionnées par les téléphones sans fil, les applications associées aux lignes d'abonnés sans fil et les liaisons du service radio fixe pour soutenir les liaisons studio-émetteur.

On peut consulter la version électronique de la politique d'utilisation du spectre intitulée Politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande de fréquences 944–960 MHz à l'adresse Internet suivante :

World Wide Web (WWW)
Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

Les copies papier sont disponibles, moyennant des coûts, auprès de :

Tyrell Press Ltd.
2714, chemin Fenton
Gloucester Ontario
K1T 3T7 
Numéro sans frais (Canada) : 1-800-267-4862 
Numéro sans frais (É.U.) : 1-800-574-0137 
Numéro international : 613-822-0740 
Télécopieur : 613-822-1089

Groupe Communication Canada
45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur
Hull (Québec)
K1A 0S9
Numéro sans frais : 1-888-562-5561
Télécopieur : 819-779-2858
Numéro international : 819-779-4335

Le 25 juin 1998

Michael Helm
Directeur général
Direction de la politique des télécommunications


1.0 Objet

Le présent document traite de la politique d'utilisation du spectre relativement aux bandes de fréquences 944–952 MHz et 953–956 MHz, en réponse à la consultation publique faite par l'avis DGTP-006-96 paru dans la Gazette du Canada sous le titre Désignation de fréquences pour les téléphones sans fil et propositions concernant l'utilisation future des bandes 944–952 MHz et 953–956 MHz. En outre, ce document traite de l'utilisation modifiée de la bande de fréquences adjacente 956–960 MHz. Les décisions énoncées dans ce document modifient les parties concernées de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre 896 MHz1 (PS-896 MHz).

2.0 Contexte

En septembre 1991, l'ancien ministère des Communications a désigné la bande de 944–948 MHz comme la bande dans laquelle fonctionneraient les téléphones sans fil. Cette décision fut annoncée dans l'avis DGTP-007-91 paru dans la Gazette du Canada. En outre, on a gardé en réserve la bande 948–952 MHz en vue d'une croissance et d'une expansion éventuelles des téléphones sans fil. Par la suite, en novembre 1992, dans l'avis DGTP-007-92, on a aussi ajouté à la liste des fréquences désignées la bande de 948–948,5 MHz pour permettre le fonctionnement des voies de signalisation des téléphones sans fil.

Suite à des consultations publiques intenses et avec l'appui de l'industrie, on a établi une interface hertzienne commune normalisée pour le fonctionnement des téléphones sans fil en tenant compte des exigences de la norme CT2 Plus classe 2. On prévoyait que le service de téléphonie sans fil serait mis en oeuvre dans les secteurs public, commercial et résidentiel.

En décembre 1992, quatre licences nationales ont été délivrées pour la fourniture du service de téléphonie sans fil au public. Cependant, aucun des quatre titulaires n'a réussi à mettre en oeuvre un service commercial public permanent de téléphonie sans fil. Cette situation s'explique entre autres par le fait qu'aucun fournisseur ou fabricant n'a réussi à développer la technologie jusqu'à un point où le déploiement public des services de téléphonie sans fil envisagés par les quatre titulaires de licences nationaux aurait été possible. En outre, le marché résidentiel ne s'est pas développé, même si le service avait réussi une pénétration raisonnable du marché commercial.

En juin 1995, un cadre de politique du spectre a été publié relativement à la fourniture des Services de communications personnelles (SCP) dans la bande des 2 GHz, en incluant la désignation de fréquences pour des applications exemptes de la licence dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz. Cette bande exempte de la licence pourrait, dans l'intérêt des téléphones sans fil, accueillir des technologies semblables à celles qui ont été élaborées pour la bande de 900 MHz, pour assurer des services dans les secteurs commercial et résidentiel. On a établi un Groupe consultatif de l'industrie incluant la participation d'Industrie Canada afin de soutenir l'implantation de SCP exempts de la licence.

Par ailleurs, on a mis en réserve la bande 953–956 MHz pour une période de plus de dix ans. L'Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs (ACR) a demandé au Ministère qu'on utilise cette bande afin de prolonger la bande 956–960 MHz pour les liaisons du service radio fixe en vue de soutenir les liaisons studio-émetteur (LSÉ) de la radiodiffusion AM et FM dans les zones encombrées.

En juillet 1996, dans l'avis DGTP-006-96 paru dans la Gazette du Canada, le Ministère a publié le document intitulé Désignation de fréquences pour les téléphones sans fil et propositions concernant l'utilisation future des bandes 944–952 MHz et 953–956 MHz afin de discuter de l'utilisation future de ces bandes de fréquences, et inviter le public à présenter ses observations sur la question. Le document traitait entre autres du déploiement insuffisant du service téléphonique sans fil dans les secteurs public et résidentiel.

Entre autres commentaires reçus en réponse à l'avis DGTP-006-96 paru dans la Gazette du Canada, quelqu'un proposait que l'on prévoie des fréquences pour les applications des lignes d'abonné sans fil (LASF) pour assurer la desserte des régions rurales dans la bande 953–960 MHz utilisée en partage avec les LSÉ dans des conditions d'espacement géographique.

3.0 Politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande 944–960 MHz

3.1 Dispositions concernant la politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande 944–948,5 MHz

3.1.1 Examen de la question

Au départ, on prévoyait que la bande 944–948,5 MHz servirait à assurer le complément entier des services de téléphone sans fil pour les secteurs public, commercial et résidentiel. Cependant, le service téléphonique sans fil dans cette bande n'a pénétré que le secteur commercial.

Même si le service téléphonique sans fil n'a pas vraiment pénétré les secteurs public et résidentiel, plusieurs répondants ont indiqué, en réponse à l'avis DGTP-006-96, que le service a connu beaucoup de succès dans le milieu des affaires et que la pénétration est en pleine croissance. Certains intervenants ont proposé d'autres utilisations de cette bande de fréquences, mais aucune orientation n'a été proposée quant à des utilisations de rechange futures à ce moment-ci.

La bande de 900 MHz est un choix technique convenable pour les systèmes mobiles. Afin d'alléger l'encombrement des bandes réservées aux services mobiles dans les grands centres urbains, Industrie Canada envisage la possibilité de désigner la bande 944–948,5 MHz pour les services mobiles autres que le service sans fil. Cependant, on en a conclu que, pour plusieurs raisons, une telle désignation ne serait pas réalisable à court terme.

Tout d'abord, la bande 944–948,5 MHz (et la bande de prolongement 944–952 MHz) n'est pas appariée avec une autre section du spectre. Afin de permettre le duplexage par répartition en fréquence (DRF), technique qui est généralement utilisée dans le service mobile, il faudrait qu'on puisse disposer d'une partie du spectre qu'on pourrait apparier avec un espacement de fréquence techniquement faisable. Une analyse des bandes voisines montre qu'il n'existe pas un segment du spectre qui pourrait répondre à ce besoin sans que cela n'ait d'importantes répercussions sur les services existants. La solution serait de déployer du matériel mobile fonctionnant dans une bande unique en duplexage par répartition dans le temps (DRT). Bien que cette technique soit utilisée dans les applications spécialisées comme la téléphonie sans fil, elle n'est pas répandue dans les services mobiles, à ce jour. Par contre, cette situation pourrait changer à l'avenir.

Le deuxième problème en matière de déploiement des systèmes mobiles, c'est qu'on ne trouve pas, généralement, de matériel capable de fonctionner dans ces bandes. Il se peut que le marché canadien soit trop restreint pour soutenir des sources durables d'approvisionnement en matériel élaboré pour des plans de fréquences uniques.

3.1.2 Décision concernant les téléphones sans fil

Industrie Canada constate que le déploiement des téléphones sans fil ne s'est pas matérialisé dans le secteur public, dans la bande 944–948,5 MHz. En outre, les fournisseurs du marché canadien devraient surtout songer à la bande des 2 GHz que vise le développement mondial des téléphones sans fil et les autres services de communications personnelles. Pour ces raisons, Industrie Canada estime approprié de mettre un terme à la désignation de fréquences pour l'exploitation des téléphones sans fil dans la bande 944–948,5 MHz à compter du 1er juillet 2002. On pourra continuer à utiliser des téléphones sans fil après cette date, mais sans avoir l'assurance d'être protégé contre le brouillage causé par les nouvelles utilisations du spectre.

On fera un autre examen de la situation d'ici l'an 2000 pour évaluer l'utilisation courante de la bande par les téléphones sans fil et les autres demandes de fréquences. Suivant le résultat obtenu, le Ministère mettra cette bande (et éventuellement la bande 948,5–952 MHz) à la disposition d'autres services radio sans fil. Au moment d'examiner de nouveaux services qui pourraient être introduits dans cette bande après le 1er juillet 2002, on devra s'efforcer, entre autres, de réduire le plus possible l'impact sur les utilisateurs existants de téléphones sans fil compte tenu du déploiement courant de ces appareils dans le secteur commercial. Cependant, Industrie Canada ne peut pas donner l'assurance, à ce moment-ci, que les téléphones sans fil pourront bel et bien fonctionner dans un environnement exempt de brouillage dans la bande 944–948,5 MHz après l'an 2002.

Plusieurs personnes qui ont répondu au document de discussion ont fait des observations sur l'opportunité de conserver une seule norme sur les téléphones sans fil (CT2Plus classe 2), avant le déploiement de la composante publique. On a fait remarquer que la norme CT2Plus classe 2 n'a pas été adoptée à l'échelle internationale, d'où le prix assez élevé des produits correspondant à ce type.

L'adoption de normes supplémentaires pour d'autres technologies de téléphones sans fil demanderait l'investissement de ressources par l'industrie et le gouvernement. Comme la désignation d'une bande de fréquences pour les téléphones sans fil prendra fin le 1 juillet 2002, er on ne considère pas qu'il serait avantageux de faire les efforts nécessaires pour adopter des normes supplémentaires pour l'utilisation de téléphones sans fil dans cette bande.

3.1.3 Dispositions de la politique

  1. La bande 944–948,5 MHz est désignée pour utilisation par les téléphones sans fil jusqu'au 1er juillet 2002. D'ici l'an 2000, on va entreprendre un examen pour déterminer les utilisations futures de la bande. L'utilisation des téléphones sans fil pourra se poursuivre après le 1er juillet 2002, mais sans l'assurance d'une protection contre le brouillage causé par les nouvelles utilisations de cette bande. Cependant, au moment de déployer d'autres systèmes, on cherchera à réduire le plus possible l'impact sur les utilisateurs en titre de téléphones sans fil, compte tenu que le déploiement courant de ces téléphones se fait actuellement dans le secteur commercial.
  2. On n'adoptera pas d'autres normes pour régir les téléphones sans fil étant donné la décision d'ajouter d'autres services dans la bande 944–948,5 MHz en l'an 2002, ce qui pourrait entraîner le retrait de la protection accordée aux téléphones sans fil.

3.2 Dispositions de la politique du spectre pour la bande 948,5–952 MHz

3.2.1 Examen de la question

La bande 948,5–952 MHz a été mise en réserve pour répondre à la croissance possible et au développement éventuel des téléphones sans fil.

Certains répondants ont proposé que l'on conserve la bande 948,5–952 MHz pour la croissance éventuelle des services téléphoniques sans fil que pourrait stimuler l'adoption de normes multiples concernant les téléphones numériques sans fil dans la bande 944–948,5 MHz. D'autres répondants sont d'avis que la bande 948,5–952 MHz n'est pas nécessaire pour le fonctionnement des téléphones sans fil et qu'on devrait peut-être permettre à d'autres services d'y accéder, comme on le ferait pour la bande 944–948,5 MHz.

3.2.2 Décision

En ce qui concerne la bande 948,5–952 MHz, aucun argument convaincant n'a été apporté pour que le Ministère donne accès à ces fréquences à ce moment-ci. Par conséquent, cette bande sera mise de côté et fera l'objet d'un examen avec la bande 944–948,5 MHz d'ici l'an 2000 pour déterminer l'utilisation future de l'une et de l'autre. Selon les résultats de l'examen, on pourra permettre à d'autres applications radio d'avoir accès à la bande 944–952 MHz.

3.2.3 Dispositions de la politique

On va conserver en réserve la bande 948,5–952 MHz. La bande 944–948,5 MHz fera l'objet d'un nouvel examen d'ici l'an 2000 pour déterminer l'utilisation future de ces fréquences.

1 PS-896 MHz — Politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant le service fixe, service mobile, service de radiolocalisation et service d'amateur dans la bande 896–960 MHz.


Date de modification :