GL-03 — Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence Relating to Research and Development (R&D)

Issue 3
February 2014

Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Condition of Licence Relating to R&D
  3. Definition of R&D
  4. Reporting Process
  5. Transferred, Divided and Subordinated Spectrum Licences

1. Introduction

1.1 Definitions

In these guidelines,

Adjusted gross revenues means total service revenues less inter-carrier payments, bad debt, third party commissions, and provincial and goods and services taxes collected.

Audited financial statements means financial statements prepared in accordance with the standards, as amended from time to time, of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Auditor’s report means an auditor’s report prepared in accordance with the standards, as amended from time to time, of the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Licensee means a wireless telecommunications carrier that has been granted a radio authorization pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act, as amended from time to time.

Minister means the Minister of Industry.

Radio authorization means a licence, certificate or authorization issued by the Minister under paragraph 5(1)(a) of the Radiocommunication Act, as amended from time to time.

Spectrum licence means a spectrum licence as defined in section 2 of the Radiocommunication Act, as amended from time to time.

SR&ED means scientific research and experimental development as defined in the Income Tax Act.

Wireless telecommunications means the emission, transmission or reception of intelligence by radio or another wireless electromagnetic system.

1.2 Background

The policy objectives adopted by Canada with respect to telecommunications are set out in section 7 of the Telecommunications ActFootnote1. The Minister, in exercising his authority to issue radio authorizations to wireless telecommunications carriers, as conferred on him by section 5 of the Radiocommunication ActFootnote2, has due regard to these objectivesFootnote3. One of the objectives is “to stimulate research and development in Canada in the field of telecommunications and to encourage innovation in the provision of telecommunications services.”Footnote4

To help to meet this objective, the Minister has issued certain radio authorizations which have, as a condition of licence, the requirement to invest a percentage of the licensees’ adjusted gross revenues in eligible research and development (R&D) related to telecommunications. These licensees must provide Industry Canada with an annual report that includes, but is not limited to, a statement of R&D expenditures, signed by a duly authorized officer of the licensee (e.g. Chief Financial Officer), for the fiscal year covered by the report and a description of the R&D activities. Industry Canada reserves the right to request an audited financial statement of R&D expenditures with an accompanying auditor’s report and, if so, will provide reasonable notice. Eligible R&D activities are those which meet the definition of SR&ED adopted by the Canada Revenue Agency in the Income Tax Act.Footnote5

The guidelines put forward in this document were developed to provide licensees with additional information on the condition of licence relating to R&D. In order to facilitate compliance and ensure consistency of reporting, these guidelines also set out the procedures to be followed by the licensees in reporting on these investments in R&D to Industry Canada.


2. Condition of Licence Relating to R&D

2.1 General

The condition of licence relating to R&D is currently found on many spectrum licences and was revised on February 19, 2014, as per Industry Canada’s decision document, SLPB-002-14Decisions on Conditions of Licence Regarding Research and Development and Learning Plans. The revised condition is as follows:

The licensee must invest, as a minimum, 2 percent of its adjusted gross revenues resulting from the use of this licence, averaged over the term of the licence, in eligible research and development activities related to telecommunications. Eligible research and development activities are those which meet the definition of scientific research and experimental development adopted in the Income Tax Act, as amended from time to time. Adjusted gross revenues are defined as total service revenues, less inter-carrier payments, bad debts, third party commissions, and provincial goods and services taxes collected. The licensee is exempt from research and development expenditure requirements if it, together with all affiliated licensees that are subject to the research and development condition of licence, has less than $1 billion in annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada, averaged over the term of the licence. For this condition of licence, an affiliate is defined as a person who controls the carrier, or who is controlled by the carrier or by any person who controls the carrier, as per subsection 35(3) of the Telecommunications Act.

Spectrum licences and their licence conditions can be viewed on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.


3. Definition of R&D

3.1 The Income Tax Act Definition of “Eligible” R&D

R&D activities must meet the definition of SR&ED as defined in the Income Tax ActFootnote6 in order to be eligible under the condition of licence. These activities may take the form of basic research, applied research or experimental development.

It should be noted that Industry Canada’s use of the Income Tax Act definition is for the purposes of the Department’s condition of licence related to R&D. In accepting the licensees’ reports on their R&D investments, Industry Canada is not making a determination that the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) will accept these expenditures as eligible for tax deductions and/or tax credits for SR&ED. Licensees interested in ensuring that their investments in R&D are eligible for these tax deductions and/or tax credits should consult the provisions of the Income Tax Act and the Income Tax Regulations related to SR&ED.

3.2 Industry Canada and R&D

In addition to meeting the definition of eligible R&D activities as defined in the Income Tax Act, Industry Canada also requires that the R&D activities under the condition of licence be relating to telecommunications, as defined in the Telecommunications Act.

For the purposes of compliance with Industry Canada’s condition of licence relating to R&D, the type of expenditure is a material consideration, but where the R&D was performed is not relevant. To be deemed an investment for the purposes of compliance with Industry Canada’s condition of licence related to R&D, an expenditure must be a current expenditure of the type that would be taken into account by the CRA when assessing eligibility for a tax deduction and/or a tax credit for SR&ED.

3.3 Calculation of Revenues Resulting from the use of a Licence

The R&D condition of licence is attached to the licence itself, and not to the licensee. However, a licensee may choose to report on the aggregate of all of its licences. The licensee may also calculate and report on a licence-by-licence or on a frequency-band-by-frequency-band basis.


4. Reporting Process

4.1 Reporting Requirements Under the Radio Authorizations

Reporting requirements relating to investments made in R&D apply to certain spectrum licences and can be found in the licence conditions appended to these licences. All spectrum licensees must submit an annual report within 120 days of their fiscal year-end, for each year of the term of their licence, indicating continued compliance with all licence conditions. This annual report must include a statement of R&D expenditures, signed by a duly authorized officer of the licensee (e.g. Chief Financial Officer). R&D reports should provide a breakdown of R&D projects by method of investment and an indication of how much investment was made in each category. Industry Canada reserves the right to request an audited financial statement of R&D expenditures with an accompanying auditor’s report. Licensees may share R&D facilities and allocate expenses accordingly, provided that an expense is only claimed by one licensee, and only one time.

The specific wording of reporting requirements may vary between satellite licences and spectrum licences. All licensees should refer to their conditions of licence for specific reporting requirements. Spectrum licences and their licence conditions can be viewed on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.


5. Transferred, Divided and Subordinated Spectrum Licences

Many spectrum licences are transferable and divisible. When a spectrum licence is transferred or divided, the condition of licence relating to R&D continues to apply for the remainder of the term of the licence. Licensees should refer to the conditions of licence for the specific obligations relating to transferability and divisibility.

Where research and development (R&D) requirements exist, the responsibility of being in compliance rests with the primary licensee for each licence. The adjusted gross revenue resulting from operations of the licence should include all payments to the primary licensee from the subordinate licensee. In any given year, “annual gross operating revenues from the provision of wireless services in Canada” for the purposes of determining the $1 billion threshold shall include revenues from operations of all licences issued under the Radiocommunication Act, whether the licensees hold primary or subordinate spectrum licences, radio licences or other authorizations. The R&D investment made by the subordinate licensee can be counted towards the primary licensee’s R&D requirement, and should be reported accordingly to Industry Canada.

The related Client Procedures Circular, CPC-2-1-23Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services will be amended accordingly.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See the Telecommunications Act, as amended (http://laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/T-3.4/).

Return to footnote 1referrer

Footnote 2

See the Radiocommunication Act, as amended (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/R-2/).

Return to footnote 2referrer

Footnote 3

Subsection 5(1.1) of the Radiocommunication Act allows the Minister of Industry to take into account Canada’s telecommunications policy: In exercising the powers conferred by subsection (1), the Minister may have regard to the objectives of the Canadian telecommunications policy set out in section 7 of the Telecommunications Act.

Return to footnote 3referrer

Footnote 4

See the Telecommunications Act at paragraph 7(g).

Return to footnote 4referrer

Footnote 5

See the Income Tax Act, as amended (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/I-3.3/index.html).

Return to footnote 5referrer

Footnote 6

See the Income Tax Act, as amended (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/I-3.3/).

Return to footnote 6referrer

Date modified:

LD-03 — Lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition relative à la recherche-développement (R-D) pour les licences d'autorisation de radiocommunication

3e édition
Février 2014

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Condition de licence relative à la R-D
  3. Définition de la R-D
  4. Processus pour la présentation des rapports
  5. Licences de spectre transférées, divisées et subordonnées

1. Introduction

1.1 Définitions

Dans les présentes lignes directrices :

Autorisation de radiocommunication désigne une licence, un certificat ou une autorisation délivrés par le Ministre en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)(a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et ses modifications successives.

États financiers vérifiés désignent des états financiers préparés conformément aux normes publiées et modifiées au besoin par l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés.

Licence de spectre désigne une licence de spectre au sens de l'article 2 de la version modifiée de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et ses modifications successives.

Ministre désigne le ministre de l'Industrie.

Rapport d'un vérificateur désigne un rapport de vérification préparé conformément aux normes publiées de temps à autre par l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés.

Revenus bruts rajustés désignent les revenus globaux générés par les services, moins les paiements entre entreprises de télécommunications, les mauvaises créances, les commissions versées à des tiers, les taxes provinciales et les taxes perçues sur les produits et services.

RS&DE désigne la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental au sens de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Télécommunications sans fil désignent l'émission, la transmission ou la réception de messages par radio ou autre système électromagnétique.

Titulaire de licence désigne une entreprise de télécommunications sans fil qui a reçu une autorisation de radiocommunication conformément à la version modifiée de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, et ses modifications successives.

1.2 Contexte

Les objectifs de la politique adoptée par le Canada en matière de télécommunications sont présentés à l’article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunicationsNote de bas de page 1. Le Ministre, en exerçant son autorité au moment de délivrer des autorisations de radiocommunication à des transporteurs de télécommunications sans fil, conformément aux pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par l’article 5 de la Loi sur la radiocommunicationNote de bas de page 2, tient dûment compte de ces objectifsNote de bas de page 3. Un de ces objectifs est de « stimuler la recherche et le développement au Canada dans le domaine des télécommunications ainsi que l’innovation en ce qui touche la fourniture de services dans ce domaine »Note de bas de page 4.

Pour faciliter la réalisation de cet objectif, le Ministre a délivré des autorisations de radiocommunication qui prévoient, comme condition de licence, l’investissement d’un certain pourcentage des revenus bruts rajustés des titulaires dans la R-D admissible dans le domaine des télécommunications. Ces titulaires de licence doivent présenter à Industrie Canada un rapport annuel qui inclut, sans s’y limiter, un état de leurs dépenses de R-D, signé par un agent dûment autorisé par le titulaire de licence (par exemple le directeur financier), pour l’exercice visé par le rapport, de même qu’une description des activités de R-D ainsi financées. Industrie Canada se réserve le droit d’exiger un état financier vérifié des dépenses destinées à la R-D, accompagné d’un rapport de l’auditeur; dans ce cas, un avis préalable raisonnable sera donné. Les activités de R-D admissibles sont celles qui répondent à la définition de la RS&DE adoptée par l’Agence du revenu du Canada dans la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenuNote de bas de page 5.

Les lignes directrices présentées dans ce document ont été préparées pour fournir aux titulaires de licence des informations additionnelles concernant la condition de licence relative à la R-D. Pour faciliter le respect des conditions de licence et rendre la présentation des rapports plus uniforme, ces lignes directrices décrivent aussi les procédures à suivre par les titulaires de licence au moment de présenter leur rapport à Industrie Canada en ce qui concerne leurs investissements dans la R-D.


2. Condition de licence relative à la R-D

2.1 Généralités

La condition de licence relative à la R-D vise actuellement plusieurs licences de spectre et a été révisée le 19 février 2014 conformément au document d’Industrie Canada SLPB-002-14Décisions au sujet des conditions de licence concernant la recherche et le développement, et le plan d’apprentissage. La condition révisée est la suivante :

Le titulaire de licence doit investir au moins 2 % de ses revenus bruts rajustés provenant de l’exploitation de cette licence, échelonné sur la durée de la licence, dans des activités de R-D admissibles se rattachant aux télécommunications. Les activités de R-D admissibles sont celles qui répondent à la définition de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental adoptée dans la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, et ses modifications successives. Les revenus bruts rajustés sont définis comme étant les recettes totales provenant du service, moins les paiements entre les entreprises, les créances irrécouvrables, les commissions payées à des tiers, et les taxes provinciales et les taxes sur les biens et services perçues. Le titulaire de licence est exempt des exigences applicables aux dépenses consacrées à la R-D si, lui même, ainsi que tous les titulaires de licence affiliés et assujettis à la condition de licence ayant trait à la R-D, font moins d’un milliard de dollars de revenus d’exploitation bruts annuels provenant de leurs services sans-fil au Canada, et ce, échelonné sur la durée de la licence. Dans le cadre de cette condition de licence, conformément au paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, un affilié s’entend de toute personne qui, soit contrôle l’entreprise, soit est contrôlée par celle ci ou par la personne qui la contrôle.

Les conditions rattachées aux licences de spectre sont affichées sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.


3. Définition de la R-D

3.1 Définition de la R-D « admissible » en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu

Afin d’être admissibles dans le cadre de la condition de licence, les activités de la R-D doivent correspondre à la définition de la RS&DE en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenuNote de bas de page 6. Ces activités peuvent prendre la forme de recherche fondamentale, de recherche appliquée ou de développement expérimental.

Il importe de noter qu’Industrie Canada utilise la définition de l’Agence du revenu du Canada pour l’application de sa condition de licence relative à la R-D. En acceptant les rapports des titulaires de licence concernant leurs investissements dans la R-D, Industrie Canada ne détermine pas que l’Agence du revenu du Canada acceptera ces dépenses comme admissibles aux fins de déductions et(ou) de crédits d’impôt pour la RS&DE. Les titulaires de licence qui souhaitent s’assurer que leurs investissements dans la R-D sont admissibles pour ces déductions et(ou) crédits d’impôt peuvent consulter les dispositions de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu et du Règlement de l’impôt sur le revenu.

3.2 Industrie Canada et la R-D

En plus de correspondre à la définition des activités de la R-D admissibles en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, Industrie Canada exige également que les activités de la R-D aient un rapport avec le domaine des télécommunications, conformément à la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Aux fins d’assurer la conformité à la condition de licence relative à la R-D d’Industrie Canada, le type de dépenses représente une considération matérielle, mais l’endroit où la R-D a été mise en œuvre n’est pas pertinent. Pour être considérée comme un investissement admissible aux fins de la condition de licence relative à la R-D, une dépense doit être une dépense courante du type qui serait pris en considération par l’Agence du revenu du Canada au moment d’évaluer si cette dépense rend le titulaire admissible à une déduction ou à un crédit d’impôt au titre de la RS&DE.

3.3 Calcul des revenus provenant de l’exploitation de la licence

La condition de licence relative à la R-D s’applique la licence elle-même, et non au titulaire de licence. Toutefois, le titulaire peut choisir de rendre compte sur l’ensemble de ses licences. Le titulaire peut également calculer et de déclarer sur une base de licence par licence ou de bande de fréquences par bande de fréquences.


4. Processus pour la présentation des rapports

4.1 Exigences relatives à la présentation des rapports en vertu des autorisations de radiocommunication

Les exigences relatives à la présentation des rapports sur les investissements en R-D s’appliquent à certaines licences de spectre et sont annexées à celles-ci. Tous les titulaires de licence de spectre doivent présenter un rapport annuel dans les 120 jours suivant la fin de l’exercice financier, durant chacune des années de la période de validité de leur licence, en indiquant le maintien de la conformité à toutes les conditions de leur licence. Ce rapport annuel doit inclure un état financier des dépenses de recherche-développement signé par un agent dûment autorisé par le titulaire de licence. Les rapports de R-D doivent décrire en détail les projets de R-D par méthode d’investissement ainsi que le montant investi dans chaque catégorie. Industrie Canada se réserve le droit d’exiger un état financier vérifié des dépenses destinées à la R-D, accompagné d’un rapport de l’auditeur; si c’est le cas, un avis préalable raisonnable sera donné. Les titulaires de licences peuvent partager des installations en matière de R-D et allouer les dépenses en conséquence, à condition qu’une dépense ne soit réclamée que par un seul titulaire de licence, et une fois seulement.

La formulation utilisée dans les licences varie légèrement entre les licences de spectre et les autorisations pour services par satellite. Les titulaires de licences doivent se référer à leur propre licence pour les exigences spécifiques en ce qui concerne le rapport annuel. Les licences, ainsi que les conditions qui s’y rattachent sont affichées sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.


5. Licences de spectre transférées, divisées et subordonnées

Les licences de spectre sont transférables et divisibles. Lorsqu’une licence de spectre est transférée ou divisée, la condition de licence relative à la R-D peut continuer à s’appliquer jusqu’à l’échéance de la licence. Les titulaires de licences de spectre devraient consulter les conditions de licence applicables aux obligations spécifiques visant le transfert et la division.

S’il existe des exigences en matière de R-D, la responsabilité de s’y conformer incombe au titulaire de licence principal pour chaque licence. Siles revenus d’exploitation bruts annuels d’un titulaire subordonné, provenant de ses services sans-fil au Canada excèdent ’un milliard de dollars, ou si le titulaire subordonné choisit de soumettre un rapport au nom du titulaire primaire, les revenus bruts rajustés provenant de l'exploitation de la licence doivent inclure tous les paiements remis au titulaire principal par le titulaire de licence subordonnée. Pour une année donnée, aux fins de la détermination du seuil d’un milliard de dollars, « revenus d’exploitation bruts annuels provenant de leurs services sans-fil au Canada » doit comprendre les revenus provenant de l’exploitation de toutes les licences délivrées en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, détenues par les titulaires de licences de spectre primaires ou subordonnées, des licence radio ou d’autres autorisations. L'investissement du titulaire de licence subordonnée en R-D peut être pris en compte dans l’exigence en R-D du titulaire principal, et doit conséquemment être signalé à Industrie Canada.

La Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-23Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre sera modifiée en conséquence.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Loi sur les télécommunications, dans sa version modifiée (http://laws.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/T-3.4/).

Retour à l'appel de note 1

Note de bas de page 2

Loi sur la radiocommunication, dans sa version modifiée (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/R-2/).

Retour à l'appel de note 2

Note de bas de page 3

L’alinéa 5 (1.1) de la Loi sur les télécommunications autorise le ministre de l’Industrie à tenir compte de la politique canadienne de télécommunication: Dans l’exercice des pouvoirs prévus au paragraphe (1) le Ministre peut aussi tenir compte de la politique canadienne de télécommunication indiquée à l’article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Retour à l'appel de note 3

Note de bas de page 4

Ibid., renvoi 1, alinéa 7(g).

Retour à l'appel de note 4

Note de bas de page 5

Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, dans sa version modifiée (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/I-3.3/).

Retour à l'appel de note 5

Note de bas de page 6

Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, (http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/I-3.3/).

Retour à l'appel de note 6

Date de modification :