Archived — Proposed Regulatory Text

Industry Canada

Proposed Regulatory Text

Notice is hereby given that the Governor in Council proposes, pursuant to section 6 Footnote 1 of the Radiocommunication Act Footnote 2, to make the annexed Regulations Amending the Radiocommunication Regulations.

Interested persons may make representations concerning the proposed Regulations to the Minister of Industry within 30 days after the date of publication of this Notice. All such representations should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, and the date of publication of this Notice and be addressed to:

Name:
Mr. Ronald Amero, Director
Organization:
Space and International Regulatory Activity Directorate
Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Indsutry Canada
Address:
300 Slater Steet, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8
Telephone:
613-998-3759
Fax:
613-9529871
E-mail:
ron.amero@canada.ca

The representations should also stipulate the parts of the representations that should not be disclosed pursuant to the Access to Information Act, in particular, pursuant to sections 19 and 20 of that Act, the reason why those parts should not be disclosed and the period during which those parts should remain undisclosed. The representations should also stipulate the parts of the representations for which there is consent to disclosure pursuant to the Access to Information Act.


Michel Garneau

Assistant Clerk of the Privy Council


Regulations Amending The Radiocommunication Regulations

Amendment

1. The Radiocommunication Regulations Footnote 3 are amended by adding the following after section 10:

10.1 (1) The definitions in this subsection apply in this section.

  • "earth station" means a fixed or mobile station that operates either in the fixed satellite service or in the mobile satellite service. (station terrienne)
  • "fixed satellite service" means a radiocommunication service that provides for communications between fixed stations and space stations. (service fixe par satellite)
  • "mobile satellite service" means a radiocommunication service that provides for communications between mobile stations and space stations. (service mobile par satellite)
  • "radiocommunication service" means a service provided by means of radiocommunication but excludes the following services:
    1. services regulated under the Broadcasting Act and measures affecting those services; and
    2. telecommunications services supplied for the transmission of services regulated under the Broadcasting Act where such services are intended for direct reception by the public. (service de radiocommunication)

(2) Notwithstanding sections 9 and 10, the following persons, who operate an earth station in the fixed satellite service, are eligible to be issued, in respect of that earth station, a radio licence as a radiocommunication user, a radiocommunication service provider other than a radiocommunication carrier, or a radiocommunication carrier:

  1. an individual who is
    1. a citizen within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Citizenship Act,
    2. a permanent resident within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Immigration Act, or
    3. a non-resident who has been issued an employment authorization under the Immigration Act;
  2. a corporation that is incorporated or continued under the laws of Canada or a province;
  3. a partnership or joint venture where each partner or co-venturer is eligible to be issued a radio licence under this subsection; and
  4. a Canadian government, whether federal, provincial or local, or an agency thereof.

(3) Notwithstanding sections 9 and 10, the following persons, who operate an earth station in the mobile satellite service, are eligible to be issued, in respect of that earth station, a radio licence as a radiocommunication user, as a radiocommunication service provider other than a radiocommunication carrier, or a radiocommunication carrier:

  1. an individual who is
    1. a citizen within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Citizenship Act,
    2. a permanent resident within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Immigration Act, or
    3. a non-resident who has been issued an employment authorization under the Immigration Act;
  2. a corporation that is incorporated or continued under the laws of Canada or a province;
  3. a partnership or joint venture where each partner or co-venturer is eligible to be issued a radio licence under this subsection; and
  4. a Canadian government, whether federal, provincial or local, or an agency thereof.

(4) This section applies beginning on March 1, 2000 in respect of earth stations that are fixed stations in the fixed satellite service and that provide telecommunication services between points in Canada and between points in Canada and the United States.

Coming into Force

2. These Regulations come into force on the day on which they are registered.

600681e. just approved by LSB/Regulations Sept 25 1998 for prepublication


Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement

(This statement is not part of the Regulations.)

Description

On February 15, 1997 at the World Trade Organization (WTO), Canada and 68 other countries concluded a multilateral agreement, the General Agreement on Trade in Services Agreement on Basic Telecommunications (GATS-ABT), to liberalize trade in telecommunications services.

Under this agreement Canada committed to eliminating monopolies in overseas telecommunications services and fixed satellite services. As a result of these commitments, Teleglobe's monopoly on the provision of facilities for overseas will end on October 1, 1998. Telesat's monopoly on the provision of fixed satellites services will end on March 1, 2000. These measures will enable Canadians to have access to all types of competing domestic and foreign satellites (except Direct to Home and Direct Broadcast Satellite).

Amongst other commitments concerning the mobile satellite service (MSS), and traffic routing requirements, Canada also agreed to remove foreign ownership and control restrictions for earth stations that operate in the fixed satellite service (FSS). The FSS uses fixed earth stations and one or more space stations to route radio signals between fixed locations. The MSS provides for communications between mobile stations, (i.e., radio apparatus on board aircraft, ships and other vehicles) and space stations.

This amendment to the Radiocommunication Regulations concerns the eligibility requirements for licensing earth stations in the fixed and mobile satellite services. The existing regulations require that radiocommunication carriers be Canadian-owned and controlled in terms of voting shares, board membership, and control of the corporation. These licensing eligibility requirements will be broadened to meet Canada's GATS-ABT commitments.

Accordingly, a new provision is being added to the regulations that complements the provision in the Telecommunications Act under which Canadian ownership and control provisions do not apply to "earth stations that provide telecommunications services by means of satellites".

The new provision removes the requirement for Canadian ownership and control of licence holders for earth stations in the FSS and MSS that provide telecommunications services by means of satellites.

The new section of the regulations will allow a service provider that is not Canadian-owned and controlled to be eligible to hold a radio licence as a radicocommunication carrier for earth stations in the fixed satellite service and the mobile satellite service.

The new provision excludes

  1. services, i.e., over-the-air TV, radio, and cable TV, regulated under the Broadcasting Act and measures affecting such services, and
  2. telecommunications services supplied for the transmission of services, i.e. Direct to Home and Direct Broadcasting Satellite, regulated under the Broadcasting Act where such services are intended for direct reception by the public.

In each case, the applicable Canadian ownership and control requirements made under the Broadcasting Act, Telecommunication Act or Radiocommunication Act apply. This is consistent with Canada's GATS-ABT commitments.

The proposed effective date of the Regulations is the date of registration.

Alternatives

There is no alternative: this is an enabling regulation required to meet Canada's trade commitments.

Benefits and Costs

Benefits

The GATS agreement on basic telecommunications allows the Canadian telecommunications industry greater access to the United States, Europe and other important markets. Through this agreement Canadian telecommunications companies are able to capture a larger share of the multi billion dollar global market in telecommunications services. From a consumer perspective, implementation of the agreement is expected to eventually result in cheaper international long distance rates as competition in the overseas long distance market increases.

Costs

No additional costs to the Department in administering the licensing of service providers is anticipated.

Consultation

The development of Canada's offer to the WTO was done with full public consultation and support of Canadian industry. The implementation of the agreement has been the subject of extensive consultation during the approval of legislative amendments to the Telecommunications Act (Bill C-17) and with the release of various policy and discussion papers.

In February 1998, the Department gazetted a Notice (DGTP-001-98) that announced amendments to the Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services Via Regional and Global Satellite Systems in the Canadian Market (RP-007). The amendments rescinded the provision of the policy framework that required that the Canadian licensee for the provision of mobile satellite services in Canada hold an equity share in the entity owning the satellite system at least proportional to the expected Canadian usage. The policy framework also made other amendments that liberalized the routing of mobile satellite services.

The revised policy, however, maintained that the applicant (MSS service provider) must be a Canadian-owned and controlled corporation incorporated or continued under the laws of Canada or a province.

In March 1998, the release of a document entitled Policy Consultation Paper Respecting the Authorization of Earth and Space Stations for Fixed Satellite Services following the Coming into Force of the GATS Agreement on Basic Telecommunications, solicited public comment on issues relating to the Canadian satellite policies (other than the policies governing satellites providing mobile satellite and broadcasting services) that are to be implemented as a result of the agreement.

Overall, the response to the policy paper was favourable with many of the respondents supporting the Government's commitment to open its fixed satellite services market to full competition by March 1, 2000. Some respondents, such as Teleglobe and the Satellite Industry Association (SIA) favour accelerating the timetable for the change from monopoly to competitive market conditions in order to offer new services to Canadian consumers. In response to this call, the date for the removal of certain routing restrictions on international services and on foreign ownership of fixed satellites used to provide service between points in Canada and all points outside Canada, except in the United States has been advanced to October 1, 1998 from December 31, 1999.

In response to the FSS policy paper, The Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC) requested that Industry Canada clarify the application of Canadian ownership and control requirements to radio apparatus communicating with fixed satellites that are interconnected with the public switched network (PSN). The RABC believes that a satellite service provider that supplies an earth station interconnected with the PSN should not be subject to Canadian ownership and control restrictions when it does not operate other telecommunication facilities. The Department has clarified these requirements with this new provision.

The different foreign ownership and control licensing eligibility requirements for earth stations in the MSS and FSS may unnecessarily restrict strategic business alliances that may wish to offer both services. Accordingly, the Department has initiated public consultations through gazette Notice (DGTP-014-98) published in this Canada Gazette on page … and this regulatory initiative to solicit views on liberalizing these requirements for the mobile satellite service.

Compliance and Enforcement

Service providers that are not Canadian-owned and controlled and who are issued earth station licences will be subject to the same compliance and enforcement regime and laws as Canadian owned and controlled service providers. The Minister, through due process, will be able to suspend or revoke these licences for contraventions of the Radiocommunication Act, the Radiocommunication Regulations or terms and conditions of the licence.

Contact

Name:
Mr. Ronald Amero, Director
Organization:
Space and International Regulatory Activity Directorate
Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Indsutry Canada
Address:
300 Slater Steet, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8
Telephone:
613-998-3759
Fax:
613-9529871
E-mail:
ron.amero@canada.ca

Footnotes

Footnote 1

S.C. 1989, c. 17, s. 4

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

S.C. 1989, c. 17, s. 2

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

SOR/96-484

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Date modified:

Archivé — Projet de réglementation

Industrie Canada

Projet de réglementation

Avis est donné que le gouverneur en conseil, en vertu de l'article 6 Note de bas de page 1 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication Note de bas de page2, se propose de prendre les Règlements modifiant le Règlement sur la radiocommunication, ci-après.

Les intéressés peuvent présenter au ministre de l'Industrie leurs observations au sujet du projet de règlement dans les 30 jours suivant la date de publication du présent avis.

Ils sont priés d'y citer la Gazette du Canada Partie I ainsi que la date de publication et d'envoyer le tout à:

Nom : 
M. Ronald Amero, directeur
Organisation : 
Direction des activités spaciale et internationale de la réglementation
Direction générale de la réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
Indsutie Canada
Addresse : 
300 rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8
Téléphone : 
613-998-3759
Télécopieur : 
613-9529871
Courrier : 
ron.amero@canada.ca

Ils doivent également y indiquer, d'une part, lesquelles des observations, peuvent être divulguées en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et, d'autre part, lesquelles sont soustraites à la divulgation en vertu de cette loi, notamment aux termes articles 19 et 20, en précisant les motifs et la période de non-divulgation.


Le greffier adjoint du Conseil privé,

Michel Garneau


Règlement Modifiant Le Règlement Sur La Radiocommunication

Modification

1. Le Règlement sur la radiocommunication Note de bas de page 3 est modifié par adjonction, après l'article 10, de ce qui suit :

10.1 (1) Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent article.

« service de radiocommunication »
Service fourni par radiocommunication. Sont exclus de la présente définition :
  1. les services régis par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et les mesures touchant ces services;
  2. les services de télécommunication qui sont fournis pour la transmission de services régis par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, et qui ont pour objet la réception directe par le public. (radiocommunication service)
« service fixe par satellite »
Service de radiocommunication qui sert à assurer les communications entre des stations fixes et des stations spatiales. (fixed satellite service)
« service mobile par satellite »
Service de radiocommunication qui sert à assurer les communications entre des stations mobiles et des stations spatiales. (mobile satellite service)
« station terrienne »
Station fixe ou station mobile qui est exploitée soit dans le cadre du service fixe par satellite ou du service mobile par satellite.

(earth station)

(2) Malgré les articles 9 et 10, les personnes suivantes, qui exploitent une station terrienne du service fixe par satellite sont admissibles à l'attribution d'une licence radio pour cette station à titre d'usager radio, de fournisseur de services radio autre qu'un transporteur de radiocommunications, ou de transporteur de radiocommunications : 

  1. la personne physique qui est :
    1. soit un citoyen au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur la citoyenneté,
    2. soit un résident permanent au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration,
    3. soit un non-résident qui a obtenu une autorisation d'emploi sous le régime de la Loi sur l'immigration;
  2. la personne morale qui est constituée ou prorogée sous le régime des lois fédérales ou provinciales;
  3. la société de personnes ou la coentreprise dont chaque associé ou coentrepreneur est admissible à l'attribution d'une licence radio en vertu du présent paragraphe;
  4. le gouvernement fédéral, un gouvernement provincial ou une administration locale au Canada, ou un organisme de l'un d'eux.

(3) Malgré les articles 9 et 10, les personnes suivantes, qui exploitent une station terrienne du service mobile par satellite sont admissibles à l'attribution d'une licence radio pour cette station à titre d'usager radio, de fournisseur de services radio autre qu'un transporteur de radiocommunications ou de transporteur de radiocommunications : 

  1. la personne physique qui est :
    1. soit un citoyen au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur la citoyenneté,
    2. soit un résident permanent au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration,
    3. soit un non-résident qui a obtenu une autorisation d'emploi sous le régime de la Loi sur l'immigration;
  2. la personne morale qui est constituée ou prorogée sous le régime des lois fédérales ou provinciales;
  3. la société de personnes ou la coentreprise dont chaque associé ou coentrepreneur est admissible à l'attribution d'une licence radio en vertu du présent paragraphe;
  4. le gouvernement fédéral, un gouvernement provincial ou une administration locale au Canada, ou un organisme de l'un d'eux.

(4) Le présent article s'applique à compter du 1er mars 2000 aux stations terriennes qui sont des stations fixes du service fixe par satellite et qui offrent des services de télécommunications entre des lieux au Canada et entre des lieux au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Entrée en vigueur

2. Le présent règlement entre en vigueur à la date de son enregistrement.

600681f. juste approuvé par LSB/regulations le 25 septembre 1998


Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation

(Ce résumé ne fait pas partie du règlement)

Description

Le 15 février 1997, à l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), le Canada et 68 autres pays ont conclu un accord multilatéral, l'Accord sur les télécommunications de base de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (ATB-AGCS), qui vise à libéraliser le commerce dans les services de télécommunications.

En vertu de cette entente, le Canada s'engageait à éliminer les monopoles dans les services de télécommunications outre-mer et les services fixes par satellite. Par suite de cet engagement, le monopole de Téléglobe sur la fourniture d'installations de téléphonie outre-mer prendra fin le 1er octobre 1998. Le monopole de Télésat sur la prestation de services fixes de satellite prendra fin le 1er mars 2000. Ces mesures permettront aux Canadiens d'avoir accès à tous les types de satellites qui se font concurrence dans les marchés nationaux et internationaux (à l'exception des satellites de radiodiffusion directe et des satellites de radiodiffusion directe à domicile).

Le Canada, entre autres engagements concernant les services mobiles par satellite et les exigences de l'acheminement du trafic, a également accepté de lever les restrictions sur la propriété et le contrôle étrangers des stations terriennes qui assurent le fonctionnement des services fixes par satellite. Ces services utilisent des stations terriennes fixes et une ou plusieurs stations spatiales pour acheminer les signaux radio entre des points fixes. Les services mobiles par satellite assurent les communications entre des stations mobiles (p. ex. les appareils radio à bord des aéronefs, des navires et d'autres véhicules) et des stations spatiales.

Cette modification du Règlement sur la radiocommunication porte sur les exigences relatives à l'attribution de licences aux stations terriennes de services fixe et mobile par satellite. La réglementation actuelle exige que les transporteurs de radiocommunications appartiennent à des intérêts canadiens et soient sous contrôle canadien en ce qui touche les actions avec droit de vote, la composition du conseil d'administration et le contrôle de la société. Ces règles d'admissibilité seront élargies pour répondre aux engagements du Canada dans le cadre de l'ATB-AGCS.

En conséquence, une nouvelle disposition est ajoutée à la réglementation et vient compléter la disposition de la Loi sur les télécommunications en vertu de laquelle les dispositions relatives à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens ne s'appliquent pas aux stations terriennes fournissant des services de télécommunications par satellite.

La nouvelle disposition annule l'exigence de la propriété canadienne et du contrôle canadien pour les détenteurs de licences de stations terriennes fournissant des services fixe et mobile de télécommunications par satellite.

La nouvelle partie de la réglementation permettra aux fournisseurs de services qui n'appartiennent pas à des intérêts canadiens ou qui ne sont pas sous contrôle canadien de se voir attribuer une licence radio comme transporteur de radiocommunications pour les stations terriennes dans le service fixe par satellite et le service mobile par satellite.

La nouvelle disposition exclut : 

  1. les services, c.-à-d. la télévision par la voie des ondes, la radio et la télévision par câble, réglementés par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et les mesures touchant de tels services;
  2. les services de télécommunications fournis pour la transmission de services, c.-à.-d. les satellites de radiodiffusion directe et des satellites de radiodiffusion directe à domicile, réglementés par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, lorsque ces services doivent être reçus directement par le grand public.

Dans chaque cas, les exigences de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, de la Loi sur les télécommunications et de la Loi sur la radiocommunication applicables à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens s'appliquent, ce qui est conforme aux engagements du Canada dans le cadre de l'ATB de l'AGCS.

La date proposée pour l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement est la date d'enregistrement.

Solutions de rechange

Il n'y a pas de solution de rechange  : il s'agit d'un règlement habilitant nécessaire au respect des engagements commerciaux du Canada.

Avantages et coûts

Avantages

L'Accord sur les télécommunications de base de l'AGCS procure à l'industrie canadienne des télécommunications un accès plus grand aux marchés américain et européen et à d'autres marchés importants. Grâce à cet accord, les entreprises canadiennes de télécommunications peuvent s'assurer une part plus grande du marché mondial des services de télécommunications, d'une valeur de plusieurs centaines de milliards de dollars. Du point de vue du consommateur, la mise en œuvre de l'ATB devrait tôt ou tard entraîner une réduction des tarifs interurbains internationaux, à mesure qu'augmentera la concurrence dans le marché des communications interurbaines outre-mer.

Coût

On ne prévoit aucune augmentation des frais pour le Ministère découlant de l'administration de l'attribution de licences aux fournisseurs de services.

Consultation

L'offre canadienne à l'OMC a été élaborée après consultation générale du public et avec le soutien de l'industrie canadienne. La mise en œuvre de l'accord a fait l'objet de consultations à grande échelle pendant l'approbation de modifications à la Loi sur les télécommunications (Loi c-17) et la parution de diverses politiques et de divers documents de travail.

En février 1998, le Ministère a fait paraître dans la Gazette un avis (DGTP-001-98) annonçant des modifications au Cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada, assurés au moyen de systèmes à satellites régionaux et mondiaux (PR-007). Les modifications révoquaient la disposition du cadre de politique exigeant que les détenteurs canadiens de licences de prestation de services mobiles par satellite au Canada détiennent une action participative dans l'entité qui possède le système à satellites au moins proportionnelle à l'utilisation que l'on compte faire du système au Canada. Le cadre de politique a également apporté d'autres modifications qui libéralisaient l'acheminement des services mobiles par satellite.

Toutefois, la politique révisée continuait d'imposer au requérant (fournisseur de services mobiles par satellite) d'être une société appartenant à des intérêts canadiens et sous contrôle canadien constituée ou prorogée en vertu des lois du Canada ou d'une province.

En mars 1998, la publication d'un document intitulé Document de consultation sur l'autorisation des stations terriennes et des stations spatiales assurant des services fixes par satellite après l'entrée en vigueur de l'accord du GATS sur les services de télécommunications de base visait à recueillir les observations du public sur les questions relatives aux politiques canadiennes sur les satellites (autres que les politiques applicables aux satellites fournissant des services mobiles et de radiodiffusion) qui doivent entrer en vigueur par suite de l'accord.

En général, la réaction à ce document d'orientation a été favorable, de nombreux répondants soutenant l'engagement du gouvernement à soumettre le marché des services fixes par satellite à la pleine concurrence d'ici le 1er mars 2000. Certains répondants, tels que Téléglobe et la Satellite Industry Association (SIA), se sont prononcés en faveur de l'accélération de la transition d'un marché monopolistique à un marché concurrentiel afin d'offrir de nouveaux services aux consommateurs canadiens. En réponse à cette demande, la date pour la suppression de certaines restrictions relatives à l'acheminement de services internationaux et à la propriété étrangère de satellites fixes utilisés pour la prestation de services entre des points au Canada et tous les points à l'extérieur du Canada, sauf aux États-Unis, a été ramenée du 31 décembre 1999 au 1er octobre 1998.

En réaction au document de politique sur les services fixes par satellite, le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR) a demandé à Industrie Canada d'éclaircir l'application des exigences relatives à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens aux appareils radio communiquant avec des satellites fixes reliés au réseau public commuté. Le CCCR est d'avis qu'un fournisseur de services par satellite qui exploite une station terrienne reliée au RPC ne devrait pas être assujetti aux restrictions relatives à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens lorsqu'il n'exploite pas d'autres installations de télécommunications. Le Ministère a éclairci ces exigences par cette nouvelle disposition.

Les différentes règles relatives à la propriété et au contrôle étrangers et à l'attribution de licences aux stations terriennes des services fixe et mobile par satellite pourraient inutilement faire obstacle à la constitution d'alliances par des entreprises qui souhaitent offrir les deux services. En conséquence, le Ministère a lancé des consultations publiques au moyen d'un avis (DGTP-014-98) publié dans la présente Gazette à la page… et de cette initiative de réglementation pour recueillir des observations sur la libéralisation de ces exigences relatives au service mobile par satellite.

Conformité et application

Les fournisseurs de services qui n'appartiennent pas à des intérêts canadiens et ne sont pas sous contrôle canadien et qui ont obtenu une licence d'exploitation de station terrienne devront se soumettre aux mêmes régimes et lois sur les licences que les fournisseurs de services qui appartiennent à des intérêts canadiens et qui sont sous contrôle canadien. Le Ministre, par application régulière de la loi, pourra annuler ou révoquer ces licences si leurs détenteurs contreviennent à la Loi sur la radiocommunication ou à son règlement d'application ou encore aux conditions de la licence.

Personne-ressource

Nom : 
M. Ronald Amero, directeur
Organisation : 
Direction des activités spaciale et internationale de la réglementation
Direction générale de la réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
Indsutie Canada
Addresse : 
300 rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8
Téléphone : 
613-998-3759
Télécopieur : 
613-9529871
Courrier : 
ron.amero@canada.ca

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

L.C. 1989, ch. 17, art. 4

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

L.C. 1989, ch. 17, art. 2

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

DORS/96-484

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Date de modification :