Archived — Notice No. DGTP-014-98

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-014-98

Proposed Amendment to The Policy Framework for the Provision of Mobile Satellite Services

Introduction

The purpose of this Notice is to solicit public comments on proposed revisions to the eligibility of service providers to offer services under the existing Mobile Satellite Policy Framework.

Background

In February 1998, Industry Canada amended the Policy Framework through Canada Gazette Notice DGTP-001-98 to implement Canada's commitment in the World Trade Organization (WTO) agreement on basic telecommunications services. This amendment removed the requirement that a Canadian provider of mobile satellite services hold equity participation in the satellite system.

Proposal

In the WTO agreement on basic telecommunications services, Canada has specified a schedule for liberalizing its national and international satellite services market whereby foreign satellite systems may be used to provide services to Canadians. Accordingly, under provisions of Bill C-17, An Act to Amend the Telecommunications Act and the Teleglobe Canada Reorganization and Divestiture Act, amendments have been made to the Telecommunications Act which exempt satellite earth stations from the Canadian ownership and control provisions of section  16 of the Act. These legislative changes require consequential changes to the Radiocommunication Regulations and satellite service licensing policies.

In the proposed amendments to the Radiocommunication Regulations, published in the Canada Gazette, Part 1 on October 10, 1998, it is proposed that any service provider using domestic or foreign mobile satellite capacity but owning or operating its mobile earth stations (customer terminals) and gateways or feeder link earth stations may be authorized if the entity is eligible to hold a radio station licence as defined below:

"10.1 (3) Notwithstanding sections 9 and 10, the following persons, who operate an earth station in the mobile satellite service, are eligible to be issued, in respect of that earth station, a radio licence as a radiocommunication user, as a radiocommunication service provider other than a radiocommunication carrier, or a radiocommunication carrier: 

  1. an individual who is
    1. a citizen within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Citizenship Act
    2. a permanent resident within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Immigration Act, or
    3. a non-resident who has been issued an employment authorization under the Immigration Act;
  2. a corporation that is incorporated or continued under the laws of Canada or a province;
  3. a partnership or joint venture where each partner or co-venturer is eligible to be issued a radio licence under this subsection; and
  4. a Canadian government, whether federal, provincial or local, or an agency thereof."

Industry Canada is of the view that the liberalization of the licensing regime for earth stations of the mobile satellite service should not lag that for fixed satellite service. Further, there may be no compelling reason to require that mobile satellite service providers who provide the earth stations communicating with a foreign or domestic mobile satellite space station be Canadian owned and controlled.

Therefore Industry Canada proposes to amend the first criterion of Section 2 of the present Mobile Satellite Policy Framework as follows:

® "the applicant (service provider) must be eligible to be issued a radio licence or a spectrum licence under the Radiocommunication Act;"

Invitation to Comment

Industry Canada invites interested parties to provide their views and comments as described below.

Submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 and must be received within 30 days after publication of this Notice to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part 1 Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

All submissions received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing by the public two weeks after the closing date of this Notice, during normal business hours, at the Industry Canada Library, 235 Queen Street, West Tower, 3rd Floor, Ottawa and at the offices of Industry Canada in Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver, for a period of one year from the close of the comment period.

Respondents are strongly encouraged to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the Department's web site. Documents submitted via electronic media should be sent with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. All submissions should cite Canada Gazette Notice reference number DGTP-014-98. This Canada Gazette Notice is available electronically via the Internet at the following address: World Wide Web (WWW), http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-014-98

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-014-98

Proposition de modifications au cadre de politique pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite

Introduction

Le présent avis a pour objet de solliciter des commentaires sur les propositions de révision à l'admissibilité des fournisseurs de services à la prestation de services en vertu du Cadre de politique existant pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite.

Contexte

En février 1998, Industrie Canada a modifié le Cadre de politique au moyen de l'avis DGTP-001-98, publié dans la Gazette du Canada, pour mettre en vigueur l'acceptation par le Canada de l'accord sur les services de télécommunications de base de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). Cette modification a annulé l'exigence selon laquelle un fournisseur canadien de services mobiles par satellite devait détenir une action participative dans le système à satellites.

Proposition

Dans l'accord sur les services de télécommunications de base de l'OMC, le Canada a prescrit un calendrier portant sur la libéralisation du marché des services par satellite canadiens ou internationaux par lequel les systèmes à satellites étrangers peuvent être utilisés pour offrir des services aux Canadiens. Par conséquent, en vertu des dispositions du projet de loi C-17, Loi modifiant la Loi sur les télécommunications et la Loi sur la réorganisation et l'aliénation de Téléglobe Canada, des modifications ont été apportées à la Loi sur les télécommunications selon lesquelles les stations terriennes de télécommunication par satellite sont exemptées des dispositions de l'article 16 de la Loi visant la propriété et le contrôle canadiens. Par conséquent, ces modifications législatives nécessitent d'apporter des modifications au Règlement sur la radiocommunication ainsi qu'aux politiques régissant la délivrance de licence du service par satellite.

Dans les modifications proposées du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, publiées dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1, du 10 octobre 1998, il est proposé que tout fournisseur de services faisant appel à la capacité d'un satellite canadien ou étranger du service mobile tout en étant le propriétaire ou l'exploitant des stations mobiles terriennes (terminaux des clients) de ce service et des passerelles ou des stations terriennes de la liaison de connexion en reçoive l'autorisation si l'entité est admissible à l'attribution d'une licence de station radio selon les dispositions suivantes :

10.1(3) Malgré les articles 9 et 10, les personnes suivantes, qui exploitent une station terrienne du service mobile par satellite sont admissibles à l'attribution d'une licence radio pour cette station à titre d'usager radio, de fournisseur de services radio autre qu'un transporteur de radiocommunications, ou de transporteur de radiocommunications : 

  1. la personne physique qui est :
    1. soit un citoyen au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur la citoyenneté,
    2. soit un résident permanent au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration,
    3. soit un non-résident qui a obtenu une autorisation d'emploi sous le régime de la Loi sur l'immigration;
  2. la personne morale qui est constituée ou prorogée sous le régime des lois fédérales ou provinciales;
  3. la société de personnes ou la coentreprise dont chaque associé ou coentrepreneur est admissible à l'attribution d'une licence radio en vertu du présent paragraphe;
  4. le gouvernement fédéral, un gouvernement provincial ou une administration locale au Canada, ou un organisme de l'un d'eux.

Industrie Canada est d'avis que l'assouplissement des conditions de délivrance des licences pour les stations terriennes du service mobile par satellite ne devrait pas accuser de retard par rapport à celui du service fixe par satellite. En outre, il n'y aurait pas de raison impérieuse d'exiger que les fournisseurs de services mobiles par satellite qui fournissent des stations terriennes communiquant avec une station spatiale du service mobile étranger ou canadien par satellite soient la propriété de Canadiens et sous contrôle canadien.

Par conséquent, Industrie Canada propose de modifier le premier critère de la section 2 du Cadre de politique existant pour la prestation de services mobiles par satellite comme suit :

® le requérant (fournisseur de services) doit être admissible à l'attribution d'une licence radio ou d'une licence de spectre en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication; ¯

Demande de commentaires

Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à faire connaître leurs opinions et leurs commentaires selon les modalités ci-dessous.

Les observations doivent être adressées au Directeur général, Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8, et doivent être reçues dans les 30 jours suivant la publication du présent avis pour être prises en considération. Toutes les représentations doivent citer la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1.

Toutes les observations reçues en réponse au présent avis seront rendues disponibles au public pour fins de consultation, deux semaines après la date limite du présent avis, durant les heures normales de travail, à la bibliothèque d'Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Tour ouest, 3e étage, Ottawa, ainsi qu'aux bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, à Montréal, à Toronto, à Winnipeg et à Vancouver, pour une période d'une année à compter de la date limite.

Les répondants sont fortement encouragés à fournir leurs commentaires sous un format électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) afin d'en faciliter l'affichage sur le site Web du Ministère. Les documents envoyés par voie électronique doivent être accompagnés d'un message précisant le logiciel, le numéro de version et le système d'opération utilisés. Toutes les présentations doivent porter la mention : Avis de la Gazette du Canada, No de référence DGTP-014-98.

Le présent document est disponible en version électronique sur l'Internet, à l'adresse suivante : World Wide Web (WWW) http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le

Directeur général
Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Date de modification :