Archived — Notice No. DGTP-015-98

Industry Canada

Review of The Spectrum Cap Applied to Providers of Personal Communications Services

Industry Canada
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-015-98

1. Intent

The purpose of this Notice is to solicit public comment on whether to continue, modify or rescind the application of a limit on the aggregate amount of spectrum that can be held by providers of Personal Communications Services (PCS).

2. Background and Discussion

The Policy and Call for Applications for Wireless Personal Communications Services in the 2 GHz Range, dated June 15, 1995 (Notice No. DGTP-005-95/DGRB-002-95) established the regulatory framework for the implementation of PCS in Canada and invited eligible entities to apply for licences to provide PCS. Among other matters, the Policy addressed the issue of the potential for the existing cellular service providers to use their established position in the mobile radio market to their advantage in the new market for PCS if they were awarded licences with the same provisions as new entrants. Among the methods of addressing this matter, a limit on the aggregation of spectrum was established. This limit, commonly referred to as the Spectrum Cap, was set at 40 MHz and consists of frequency assignments for PCS at 2 GHz, cellular radiotelephony and similar public high-mobility radiotelephony services. The determination of the services counted as part of the Spectrum Cap included those services offered by an affiliate of the entity. Footnote 1

The Policy stated that the Spectrum Cap will be in effect during a term of three years from the initial selection of PCS licensees, after which the restriction may be reviewed by Industry Canada. This three-year period will terminate in December 1998 and Industry Canada believes that it is appropriate to review, through public consultation, the application of the Spectrum Cap.

The Policy also indicated that in the absence of exceptional circumstances, no transfer of PCS radio authorizations will be permitted in the first three years after the award of authorizations, after which, the transfer of an authorization to another party will not be allowed without a full review of the application by Industry Canada and the approval of the Minister. The three-year prohibition on the transfer of radio authorizations ends on December 18, 1998.

On December 18, 1995, the Minister of Industry announced his decision to authorize four PCS providers at 2 GHz, following consideration of the applications received in the Call for Applications. In accordance with the Policy, the incumbent cellular service providers, Rogers Cantel Inc. and Mobility Canada, were each authorized 10 MHz PCS spectrum blocks. The new entrant PCS providers, Clearnet Communications Inc. and Microcell Telecommunications Inc., were each authorized 30 MHz PCS spectrum blocks.

In 1985, two licensed Canadian cellular service providers Footnote 2 began offering service in the 800 MHz band. This duopoly provision of cellular radio services served Canada well. By 1995, when public consultation on the PCS Policy was undertaken, the cellular industry was mature, offering service to a significant percentage of Canadians. The advent of PCS provided an opportunity to access additional spectrum for mobile radiotelephony services.

An objective of the Policy was to provide a greater opportunity for competition in the provision of PCS than had existed in the duopoly provision of cellular services, as competition is considered to provide the most efficient means of achieving more aggressive deployment and implementation strategies, lower prices, greater consumer choice and an accelerated introduction of innovative new services.

The Spectrum Cap encouraged new entrants and, therefore, competition, by providing the means to authorize the new entrants the larger 30 MHz PCS spectrum blocks, but also provided the means to allow for the participation of incumbent service providers by recognizing the potential economies of scale and scope they could derive from adapting their networks to provide PCS.

The application of the Spectrum Cap during the initial authorizations of PCS licences in December 1995 appears to have been successful, as it has generated a more competitive market than had existed in the duopoly provision of cellular services in regions where the new entrant PCS providers have established services.

The licensing of the smaller 10 MHz PCS blocks appears to have caused no spectrum shortage to the incumbent cellular service providers in their initial deployment of PCS. However, the implementation of the next generation of PCS technologies, which will be capable of supporting much higher communication capacity services than available today, may present unique technical and economic challenges for any licensee that has limited spectrum in the 2 GHz range.

3. Issues

In order for the Department to assess the relative impact of the potential removal or modification of the Spectrum Cap, we are seeking public comment on the following issues:

  1. Has the original purpose of the Spectrum Cap been served, or is there a need for its retention, possibly with modification? What sort of modification would be appropriate?
  2. Would the removal of the Spectrum Cap lessen or enhance competition? For example, would rescinding the Spectrum Cap remove a barrier to consolidation, which may reduce competition, or would it strengthen service providers and hence promote competition? Does the Competition Act provide sufficient safeguards against anti-competitive industry consolidation?
  3. What would be the effect of the continuation of the Spectrum Cap in the future on the availability of new PCS services and on the growth of these services?
  4. What would be the effect of the removal of the Spectrum Cap on the efficient use of frequency spectrum?
  5. What other matters are relevant to this review of the Spectrum Cap?

Note: The Department plans to conduct a separate public consultation, commencing in early 1999, on the use of PCS spectrum blocks C and E and other spectrum that would eventually be licensed for PCS.

4. Invitation to Comment

Comment is invited on issues concerning the potential removal or modification of the Spectrum Cap.

This Notice is available electronically as follows: World Wide Web (WWW) http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 and must be received on or before January 22, 1999 to receive full consideration.

All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part 1 Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

Respondents are strongly encouraged to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to facilitate posting on the Department's web site. Documents submitted via electronic media should be sent to spectrumcap@ic.gc.ca with a note specifying the software, version number and operating Canada Gazette Notice reference number DGTP-015-98.

Our time frame for a decision on the Spectrum Cap is early spring, 1999. Should this schedule be problematic to any entity, it may submit an application requesting temporary relief for a particular geographical area, and for a certain amount of spectrum, pending the outcome of the review. Any such applications will be made available to the public on the Industry Canada Internet site referenced above for comment for a period of 30 days after which the Department will deal expeditiously with the request.

All submissions received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing by the public two weeks after the closing date of this Notice, during normal business hours, at the Industry Canada Library, 235 Queen Street, West Tower, 3rd Floor, Ottawa and at the offices of Industry Canada in Moncton, Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver, for a period of one year from the close of the comment period of the Notice. These submissions may also be obtained, for a fee, from:

Organization:
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Address:
2714 Fenton Road, Gloucester, Ontario K1T 3T7 Canada
toll-free telephone: 
1-800-267-4862
United States toll-free telephone: 
1-800-574-0137
Worldwide telephone: 
613-822-0740
Facsimile: 
613-822-1089

and

Organization:
Canada Communications Group
Address:
45 Sacré-CoeurBoulevard Hull, Quebec K1A 0S7 Canada
toll-free telephone:
 1_888_562_5561
Canada toll-free facsimile: 
1-800-565-7757
Worldwide telephone:
 819-779-4335
Worldwide facsimile:
 819-779-2833

Michael Helm
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Refer to Section 6.1 of the Policy and Call for Applications for Wireless Personal Communications Services in the 2 GHz Range dated June 15, 1995 (Notice No. DGTP-005-95/DGRB-002-95)

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

 The cellular licences awarded to affiliates of telephone companies were granted on the basis of the operating area of the telephone companies.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no DGTP-015-98

Industrie Canada

Examen du plafond imposé aux fournisseurs de services de communications personnelles

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-015-98

1. Objet

Le présent avis a pour objet d'inviter la population à présenter des observations concernant l'opportunité de maintenir, de modifier ou d'éliminer l'imposition de la limite visant la quantité totale de spectre assigné à un fournisseur de services de communications personnelles (SCP).

2. Contexte et discussion

Le document intitulé Politique et dépôt de demandes : Les services de communications personnelles sans fil dans la gamme 2 GHz, mise en œuvre des SCP au Canada, publié le 15 juin 1995 (Avis No DGTP-005-95/DGRB-002-95), définissait le cadre de réglementation de la mise en œuvre des SCP au Canada etinvitait les entités admissibles à présenter une demande de licence en vue de la prestation de services SCP. La Politique traitait notamment de la possibilité que les fournisseurs de services cellulaires déjà en place profitent de leur position bien établie sur le marché des services mobiles de radiocommunications pour accaparer le nouveau marché des SCP s'ils obtenaient des licences aux mêmes conditions que les nouveaux venus. L'une des mesures alors préconisées fut l'imposition d'une limite sur la quantité totale de spectre assignée à un titulaire de licence. Cette limite, connue sous le nom de plafond, a été fixée à 40 MHz et vise les fréquences SCP dans la gamme 2 GHz, les fréquences de radiotéléphonie cellulaire et les fréquences assignées à des services publics de radiotéléphonie haute mobilité similaires. Les fréquences des services offerts par une filiale d'une entité sont comptabilisées dans le total des fréquences exploitées par l'entité et sont donc visées par le plafond Note de bas de page 1

La politique précisait que le plafond serait en vigueur pendant une période de trois ans suivant la date de sélection initiale des titulaires de licence SCP, et qu'il pourrait ensuite être revu par Industrie Canada. Cette période de trois ans prend fin en décembre 1998 et Industrie Canada est d'avis qu'il est opportun de revoir, au moyen d'une consultation publique, l'imposition du plafond en vigueur.

La Politique précisait également que, à moins de circonstances exceptionnelles, aucun transfert d'autorisation radio SCP ne serait permis dans les trois ans suivant la délivrance des autorisations, et que, après ce délai, le transfert d'une autorisation à un tiers devait faire l'objet d'un examen complet de la demande par Industrie Canada et être approuvé par le ministre. La période d'interdiction de transfert d'autorisation radio de trois ans prend fin le 18 décembre 1998.

Le 18 décembre 1995, le ministre de l'Industrie a annoncé sa décision d'autoriser quatre fournisseurs de services SCP dans la gamme 2 GHz, suite à l'examen des demandes reçues en réponse à l'appel lancé à cet effet. Conformément aux dispositions de la Politique, les fournisseurs de services cellulaires en place, les sociétés Rogers Cantel et Mobilité Canada, ont chacun reçu des blocs de fréquences SCP de 10 MHz, alors que les nouveaux venus, les sociétés Clearnet Communications Inc. et Microcell Télécommunications Inc., ont chacun reçu des blocs de fréquences SCP de 30 MHz.

En 1985, deux fournisseurs canadiens autorisés de services cellulaires Note de bas de page 2 ont commencé à offrir leurs services dans la bande 800 MHz. Ce duopole en matière de services cellulaires a bien servi les intérêts du Canada. En 1995, quand la consultation publique sur la Politique SCP a été entreprise, l'industrie du cellulaire avait atteint sa maturité et desservait un nombre considérable de Canadiens. L'arrivée des SCP offrit alors l'occasion de mettre de nouvelles fréquences à la disposition des services radiotéléphoniques mobiles.

L'un des objectifs de la Politique était de favoriser une plus grande concurrence dans la prestation de services SCP que celle permise dans le régime de duopole des services cellulaires, étant donné que la concurrence serait la meilleure solution pour promouvoir des stratégies dynamiques de déploiement et de mise en œuvre, réduire les prix, accroître les choix offerts aux consommateurs et accélérer le lancement de nouveaux services innovateurs.

Le plafond favorisait les nouveaux venus, et de ce fait la concurrence, en leur offrant des blocs de 30 MHz, tout en permettant aux fournisseurs en place de percer sur le nouveau marché, compte tenu des économies d'échelle et de diversification pouvant découler de l'adaptation de leurs réseaux en vue de la fourniture de services SCP.

L'imposition du plafond lors des autorisations initiales des fournisseurs SCP en décembre 1995 semble avoir été un succès, et elle a produit un marché plus concurrentiel que le marché duopolistique des services cellulaires dans les régions où les nouveaux venus ont lancé leurs services SCP.

La délivrance de licences visant de petits blocs de 10 MHz ne semble pas avoir nui aux fournisseurs de services cellulaires en place, qui ont disposé d'assez de spectre pour la mise en œuvre initiale de services SCP. Cependant, l'introduction de la prochaine génération de technologies SCP, qui offriront une capacité de communication largement supérieure à celle offerte aujourd'hui, pourrait poser des problèmes techniques et économiques uniques aux titulaires de licence qui disposent d'un bloc de fréquences restreint dans la gamme 2 GHz.

3. Questions à examiner

De façon à pouvoir évaluer les répercussions de l'élimination ou de la modification éventuelle du plafond visant la quantité de spectre autorisé, le Ministère invite la population à présenter des observations concernant les questions ci-dessous  :

  1. Est-ce que l'imposition d'un plafond a atteint son but initial, ou faut-il maintenir un plafond, peut-être sous une forme modifiée? Comment devrait-il être modifié?
  2. Est-ce que l'élimination du plafond réduirait ou accroîtrait la concurrence? Par exemple, est-ce que la suppression du plafond éliminerait un obstacle aux regroupements, ce qui pourrait réduire la concurrence, ou renforcerait les fournisseurs de services, et donc favoriserait la concurrence? Est-ce que la Loi sur la concurrence contient des dispositions de garantie suffisantes contre les regroupements anticoncurrentiels?
  3. Quelles seraient les répercussions du maintien du plafond sur la disponibilité de nouveaux services SCP et la croissance de ces services?
  4. Quelles seraient les répercussions de l'élimination du plafond sur l'utilisation efficiente du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques?
  5. Est-ce qu'il y a d'autres questions qui devraient être abordées dans le cadre du présent examen?

Nota : Le Ministère compte tenir une consultation publique distincte, au début de 1999, concernant l'utilisation des blocs de fréquences C et E du SCP et des autres fréquences éventuellement attribuées au SCP.

4. Invitation à présenter des observations

Les intéressés sont invités à présenter leurs observations concernant l'élimination ou la modification du plafond imposé.

Le présent document est disponible à l'adresse électronique suivante  : World Wide Web (WWW) http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les observations écrites doivent être adressées au directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8, et doivent être reçues au plus tard le 22 janvier 1999 pour être prises en considération.

Les intervenants doivent indiquer la date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, et le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis.

Les répondants sont fortement encouragés à présenter leurs observations dans un format électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) afin d'en faciliter la publication sur le site Web du Ministère. Les documents envoyés par voie électronique doivent être transmis à l'adresse spectrumcap@ic.gc.ca et être accompagnés d'un message précisant le logiciel et son numéro de version et le système d'exploitation utilisés. Tous les mémoires doivent  : Avis dans la Gazette du Canada, No DGTP-015-98.

Le Ministère compte rendre sa décision concernant le plafond au début du printemps de 1999. Si le calendrier projeté crée des difficultés pour une entité, elle peut présenter une demande d'exemption temporaire visant une région précise et un bloc spécifique de fréquence, en attendant la décision du Ministère. Une telle demande sera publiée sur le site Web susmentionné d'Industrie Canada pendant une période de trente jours, après quoi le Ministère donnera promptement suite à la demande.

Deux semaines après la date limite de présentation des observations, tous les mémoires reçus en réponse au présent avis seront mis à la disposition du public, durant les heures normales de bureau, à la bibliothèque d'Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Tour Ouest, 3e étage, Ottawa, ainsi qu'aux bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, à Montréal, à Toronto, à Winnipeg et à Vancouver, pendant une période d'un an après la date limite de présentation des observations. On pourra également obtenir les observations sur support papier, contre paiement, en s'adressant à :

Organisation : 
Tyrell Press Ltd.
Addresse : 
2714 chemin Fenton, Gloucester, (Ontario) K1T 3T7 Canada
Numéro de téléphone sans frais : 
1-800-267-4862
numéro sans frais aux É.-U.  : 
1-800-574-0137
Numéro de téléphone mondia : 
613-822-0740
Numéro de télécopieur : 
613-822-1089

et

Organisation:
Groupe Communication Canada
Addresse : 
45, boulevard Sacré-Coeur Hull (Québec) K1A 0S7 Canada
Numéro de téléphone sans frais : 
 1-888-562-5561
numéro de téléphone sans frais au Canada : 
1-800-565-7757
Numéro de téléphone mondial : 
 819-779-4335
Numéro detélécopieur mondial : 
 819-779-2833

Le directeur général,
Politique des télécommunications

Michael Helm

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Voir la section 6.1 du document intitulé Politique et dépôt de demandes : Les services de communications personnelles sans fil dans la gamme 2 GHz, mise en œuvre des SCP au Canada publié le 15 juin 1995 (Avis No DGTP-005-95/DGRB-002-95).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Les licences de services cellulaires délivrées aux filiales des compagnies de téléphone ont été octroyées en fonction des zones de services des compagnies de téléphone.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Date de modification :