RDP 100-500 MHz — Redeployment Plan for Spectrum Efficient Land Mobile Equipment in the Frequency Range 100-500 MHz

October 1998

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Background
  3. Implementation of Redeployment Plan
  4. Implementation

1.0 Introduction

In view of the limited availability of radio frequency spectrum in the land mobile bands between 100 and 500 MHz in large urban areas of the country, the Department of Industry initiated in April, 1995, a process leading to a change in the spectrum management framework for these bands. This change will facilitate the introduction of more spectrum efficient equipment and systems, leading to increased overall traffic capacity of the bands, as part of long term solutions in meeting mobile spectrum needs.

The changes to the spectrum management framework that are presented in the redeployment plan follow the guiding principles established in the Spectrum Policy 30–896 MHz, Part II, issued in April, 1995 and the consultation with the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC). The Department will use several spectrum management tools, including policy, equipment certification and authorization provisions, to achieve the redeployment objectives.

Also, the plan provides incentives for voluntary early deployment of more spectrum efficient technologies (i.e. based on demonstrated need, applicants will be able to use a portion of the spectrum that is freed-up through early deployment).

In addition to these incentives, the Department is currently developing a new radio licence fee model, based on spectrum consumption and relative spectrum scarcity. Under the proposed new model, licensees who adopt spectrum efficient technologies would benefit from lower licence fees. The new fee model would therefore encourage voluntary early migration to more spectrum efficient technologies.

The provisions of the present plan will be applicable within congested areas (i.e. areas of intensive mobile use, where applicants are denied access to spectrum). These provisions may also be applied to assignments in areas surrounding the congested areas if they are expected to impact on the availability of spectrum within the congested areas. The frequency bands to which this plan applies are the Land Mobile Service bands in the range 100–500 MHz. A list of the specific bands is provided in Section 3.

This plan is scheduled according to a time frame in two phases, to allow graceful migration to more spectrum efficient technologies.

2.0 Background

In the spectrum policy review entitled Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Mobile, Broadcasting and Amateur Services in the Frequency Range 30–896 MHz, Part II (SP 30–896 MHz, Part II), the Department outlined a number of principles that will be followed in implementing a redeployment plan. Certain segments of industry represented at the RABC, also provided input on a number of principles. To the extent possible, the following principles are incorporated as guidelines to the redeployment plan:

  1. Provide a gradual transition to new technologies with a minimum of disruption to existing users.
  2. Recognize backward and forward compatibility with existing and future mobile systems to support a smooth and graceful transition to new technologies.
  3. Adopt transition periods that reflect the future spectrum needs of a majority of users and include appropriate periods for equipment amortization.
  4. Provide flexibility to enhance deployment of new technologies and address the diverse communication requirements of a wide array of large and small users.
  5. Recognize the benefits from regional and international harmonization of Land Mobile Services in easing frequency coordination in border areas, and in the economy of scale on radio products.
  6. Recognize regional differences in policy directions related to spectrum density or congestion.
  7. Offer first consideration to freed-up spectrum to incumbents who deploy more spectrum efficient technologies prior to their current systems becoming non-standard.

3.0 Implementation of Redeployment Plan

3.1 General

The redeployment plan for spectrum efficient equipment will be applied to land mobile systems in the frequency range of 100–500 MHz. Specifically, the redeployment plan provisions will be applied to the Land Mobile Service:

for the Band 150 MHz:
138–174 MHz
410–420 MHz
and for the Band 450 MHz:
406.1–410 MHz
410–420 MHz
420–430 MHz
450–470 MHz

A new channelling plan will be introduced in these bands to permit the use of spectrum efficient equipment. Stations will be authorized on the new channels based on the new radio standard system plans and full coordination to stations in the adjacent channels.

The amalgamation of a number of channels is allowed provided the equipment (or the system) meets the spectrum efficiency criteria set out in the certification section of this document.

The Department introduces a redeployment plan that will increase spectrum efficiency in the bands 150 MHz and 450 MHz through the introduction of more spectrum efficient equipment. The redeployment plan will take place in two phases that will require a transition to more spectrum efficient equipment to free-up more mobile spectrum in areas of intensive mobile use where additional mobile users cannot be accommodated.

In Phase 1, this will be accomplished through specific channel plans, certification and deployment of narrow band equipment that moves from one voice channel in a 25/30 kHz channel spacing to meet a new spectrum efficiency requirement of the equivalent of one voice channel (vc) in a 12.5/15 kHz channel spacing.

In Phase 2, there is a requirement to move from a spectrum efficiency requirement of one voice channel in a 12.5/15 kHz channel spacing to the equivalent one voice channel in a 6.25/7.5 kHz channel spacing.

Equipment that has been certified to meet the spectrum efficiency requirement of one voice channel in a 25/30 kHz channel spacing may continue to be used in areas of low spectrum congestion i.e. where spectrum availability does not preclude the entry of new applicants and there is no impact on spectrum availability in areas of intensive mobile use.

For the purpose of this document, spectrum efficient equipment is defined as equipment capable of using less than 12.5 kHz bandwidth per voice channel in a 12.5/15 kHz spacing, and as equipment capable of using less than 6.25 kHz bandwidth per voice channel in a 6.25/7.5 kHz spacing.

In this Plan, new systems generally means systems that do not use existing radiocommunication infrastructure.

3.2 Policy Provisions to Move to Narrowband Technology

In 1992, the Department released the Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada to provide guidelines on how best to respond to new spectrum requirements, to maintain the necessary flexibility to implement emerging technologies and to meet the increased demand for radiocommunication as Canada moves toward the 21st century. In the Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada, the Department adopted several policy guidelines to achieve this, one of which relates to spectrum conservation and efficiency and was stated as follows:

"Policy Guideline 6 - Spectrum Conservation and Efficiency

To conserve spectrum in critical frequency bands, the Department may encourage appropriate radio systems to be developed in alternate frequency bands and the use of existing networks to their maximum capacity. Emphasis also will continue to be placed on efficient spectrum utilization and conservation techniques, if viable, as a requirement for existing and new services. Priority will be considered for technologies and systems which are more spectrum efficient."

Within the context of the Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada, the Department may also adopt, with appropriate notification, spectrum policies or system standards to conserve spectrum such as those envisaged in this redeployment plan, for the bands 150 MHz and 450 MHz.

The spectrum utilization policy document entitled General Information Related to Spectrum Utilization and Radio Systems Policies (SP Gen) classifies radio systems as either standard or non-standard. Standard systems are those that conform to the most recent issue of a Spectrum Utilization Policy (SP) and the Radio Systems Policy (RP), whichever is applicable (SP/RP), and when relevant, to the corresponding Standard Radio System Plan (SRSP). Non-standard systems are those that are already licensed and do not conform to the most recent issue of the SP/RP and the SRSP for the frequency band in question.

When the Department adopts a policy or system standard for the introduction of more spectrum efficient equipment in a particular frequency band, the SP Gen, unless determined otherwise, sets out the specific, appropriate minimum period for equipment/systems being declared non-standard and the notification time frames. In general, a minimum period of five years is provided before equipment or a system becomes non-standard as a result of a change in an SP/RP or SRSP and a minimum notification period of two years will be given by the Department for any radio system change (modification, replacement or removal) that is required.

In the context of the redeployment plan for mobile service bands in the range 100–500 MHz and the economic incentives of the new radio licence fee model, the Department will apply this five and two year rule. This will apply where non-spectrum efficient equipment blocks the entry of narrow band systems that meet the new equipment efficiency standard.

Radio systems policy RP-004, Policy for the Licensing of Very Low Capacity Point to Point Links in the Band 30–890 MHz, traditionally has been used to define the cities that are considered to be "Areas of Intensive Mobile Use"Footnote 1. However, the Department has developed a new technique for measuring spectrum consumption, scarcity and licensed mobile spectrum below 1 GHz and it has defined spectrum saturation levels. These levels will, for the time being, replace RP-004 and the information is more current for the definition of "Areas of Intensive Mobile Use". Table 1 sets out a brief description of the saturation levels numbered 1 through 5, Level 1 being the lowest spectrum saturation level 1 and Level 5 being the highest spectrum saturation level.

Table 1
Cell Saturation Level Areas Affected
Level 1 – 0 - 30% 97% of the geography of Canada
Level 2 – 30 – 45% 2% of the geography of Canada, including:
Edmonton, Calgary, Ottawa, Charlottetown, Saint John N.B.
Level 3 – 45 – 60% 0.6% of the geography of Canada, including:
the outskirts of Vancouver, Montreal and Toronto, Halifax
Level 4 – 60 – 75% 0.1% of the geography of Canada -
Greater Montreal area, Greater Vancouver area,
Greater Toronto area excluding the core, Ottawa
Level 5 – 75 – 100% less than 0.01% of the geography of Canada -
the city of Toronto, and a small area near Windsor, Ontario

This technique will assist in providing an indication of the areas within which redeployment of more spectrum efficient equipment will first be required in the short term, as well as those areas that will be affected in the longer term. [refer to Annex 2 that sets out spectrum saturation level maps for the cities of Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver]Footnote 2.

3.2 Time Table

In accordance with these policy provisions and spectrum saturation levels, the Department establishes the following timetable for the introduction of more spectrum efficient equipment in the bands 150 MHz and 450 MHz.

3.2.1 Phase 1 — 12.5/15 kHz Channel Spacing Efficiency Standard

Existing mobile systems that operate in areas of high spectrum congestion employing 25/30 kHz channel spacing technologies and carrying a single voice channel will be deemed to be non-standard as of January 1, 2004 [refer to spectrum saturation levels 4 and 5 in Annex 2].

This means that in the highly spectrum congested urban centres of Vancouver, Toronto and Montreal and other urban areas [refer to spectrum saturation level 5 in Annex 2], where there is a clear demand for spectrum in the frequency bands or where narrow band standard systems are being blocked from entry into these bands, non-standard systems will be first to receive such notice. In these areas, notices will be served on or before January 1, 2002 to conform to Phase 1 spectrum efficiency criteria of the equivalent of one voice channel in a 12.5/15.0 kHz channel.

3.2.2 Phase 2 — 6.25/7.5 kHz Channel Spacing Efficiency Standard

Existing mobile systems that operate in areas of high spectrum congestion employing 12.5/15 kHz channel spacing technologies and carrying a single voice channel will be deemed to be non-standard as of January 1, 2010 and will need to conform to Phase 2 spectrum efficiency criteria of the equivalent of one voice channel in a 6.25/7.5 kHz channel. The Department will provide notification of the five and two year rule to non-standard systems that require change-over prior to January 1, 2010.

The Table contained in Annex 1 provides the important implementation dates for the redeployment plan and the different areas of activities.

3.3 Equipment Certification

The radio equipment operating in the bands listed in section 3.1 must be certified under the appropriate equipment standard. At the moment, all the relevant equipment specifications are encompassed within the Radio Standards Specification 119 (RSS-119), Land Mobile and Fixed Radio Transmitters and Receivers, 27.41 to 960.0 MHz. In 1996, a fifth issue of RSS-119 was released which provided for an increase in spectrum efficiency for all new models of equipment with an effective date of February 24, 1997. Since then, all new models must meet a minimum spectrum efficiency standard of one voice channel per 12.5 kHz bandwidth (RSS-119), regardless of whether the equipment operates within a 12.5 kHz or 15 kHz radio channel spacing, according to the relevant frequency band.

The Department is not revoking the certification of equipment which was certified prior to February 24, 1997 and which does not meet the latest spectrum efficiency standard.

New models of equipment which offer both one vc per 25 kHz and two vc per 25 kHz, called dual mode equipment, will continue to be certified as they can facilitate the migration of existing networks to the required spectrum efficiency.

After January 1, 2005, equipment for which certification is required must meet a spectrum efficiency level of one vc per 6.25 kHz bandwidth (RSS-119), regardless of whether the equipment operates within a 6.25 kHz or 7.5 kHz radio channel spacing, according to the relevant frequency band.

The Department may incorporate in a future version of its standard, a spectrum efficiency requirement for digital equipment if a suitable definition can be established and if it can assist in achieving the redeployment objectives.

3.4 Authorization

Forty-five days after the publication of this Plan, new systems in areas of high congestion, subject to local conditions, shall meet the one vc per 12.5 kHz efficiency standard or equivalent of Phase 1 spectrum efficiency criteria.

In certain circumstances, new systems that make use of equipment not meeting the spectrum efficiency criteria may be authorized. For example, a new system that optimizes the use of the existing spectrum environment through vertical loading may be permitted. Such systems would be considered as any other non-standard system as per the calendar of events. Furthermore, applications for the expansion of an existing network or system employing non-spectrum efficient equipment may be authorized on a case-by-case basis.

To the extent possible, first consideration to vacated spectrum will be given to incumbents who deploy spectrum efficient equipment prior to their system becoming non-standard where additional frequency assignment can be justified.

4.0 Implementation

It is suggested that applicants contact the nearest office of Industry Canada regarding licensing in the bands 138–174 MHz, 406.1–430 MHz and 450–470 MHz. General inquiries about the policy provisions contained in this document may be addressed to the Terrestrial Engineering Directorate, Spectrum Engineering Branch, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

Issued under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act


Robert W. McCaughern Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch


Date modified:

PRA 100-500 MHz — Plan de réaménagement visant le matériel mobile terrestre faisant une utilisation efficace du spectre dans la gamme 100-500 MHz

Octobre 1998

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Contexte
  3. Mise en œuvre du plan de réaménagement
  4. Mise en œuvre

1.0 Introduction

Étant donné le nombre restreint de fréquences radioélectriques disponibles dans les bandes du service mobile terrestre dans la gamme 100–500 MHz dans les grandes zones urbaines du pays, le ministère de l'Industrie a lancé, en avril 1995, un processus devant mener à la modification du cadre de gestion du spectre. Cette modification, nommée réaménagement, facilitera la mise en service de matériel et de systèmes offrant un meilleur rendement spectral, ce qui augmentera la capacité globale d'acheminement de trafic des bandes visées. Il s'agit de l'une des solutions à long terme au problème de la demande de fréquences du service mobile.

Les modifications apportées au cadre de gestion du spectre et présentées dans le plan de réaménagement sont conformes aux principes directeurs définis dans la Politique d'utilisation du spectre 30–896 MHz, partie II, publiée en avril 1995, ainsi qu'aux résultats de la consultation menée auprès du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR). Le Ministère utilisera plusieurs outils de gestion du spectre, y compris des dispositions liées aux politiques, à la certification du matériel et à l'autorisation, pour atteindre les objectifs de réaménagement. En outre, le plan comporte des incitatifs pour promouvoir la mise en œuvre hâtive volontaire de technologies offrant un meilleur rendement spectral, (c.-à-d. que les requérants ayant des besoins bien fondés pourront utiliser une partie du spectre libéré par le déploiement hâtif).

En outre, le Ministère élabore actuellement un nouveau modèle de droits de licence, qui est fondé sur la consommation spectrale et sur la rareté relative du spectre. En vertu du nouveau modèle proposé, les droits des titulaires de licence qui adoptent du matériel offrant un meilleur rendement spectral seraient réduits. Le nouveau modèle de droits favorise ainsi la mise en œuvre hâtive volontaire de technologies offrant un meilleur rendement spectral.

Les dispositions du présent plan de réaménagement seront en vigueur dans les zones où il y a encombrement du spectre, (c.-à-d. dans les zones où le trafic du service mobile est intensif et où des requérants se voient refuser l'accès au spectre). Ces dispositions pourront également viser les assignations dans les zones voisines d'une zone encombrée si l'on prévoit que ces assignations auront une incidence sur la disponibilité du spectre dans la zone encombrée. Le plan s'applique aux bandes de fréquences du service mobile terrestre dans la gamme 100–500 MHz. La liste des bandes visées est présentée à la section 3 de ce plan.

Le plan prévoit une mise en œuvre en deux phases pour permettre une migration en douceur vers l'utilisation de technologies offrant un meilleur rendement spectral.

2.0 Contexte

Dans le document d'examen de la politique du spectre intitulé Politique d'utilisation du spectre aux services mobile, de radiodiffusion et d'amateur dans la gamme 30 - 896 MHz, partie II (PS 30–896 MHz, partie II), le Ministère expose une série de principes à respecter lors de la mise en œuvre d'un plan de réaménagement. Différents secteurs de l'industrie, représentés au CCCR, ont également contribué à la définition de certains principes. Dans toute la mesure du possible, les principes ci-dessous sont intégrés au plan de réaménagement à titre de lignes directrices :

  1. Assurer une transition graduelle vers les nouvelles technologies, en perturbant le moins possible les utilisateurs existants.
  2. Prévoir la compatibilité descendante et ascendante avec les systèmes mobiles actuels et futurs pour assurer une transition en douceur vers les nouvelles technologies.
  3. Adopter des périodes de transition qui tiennent compte des besoins futurs de la majorité des utilisateurs et qui comportent des périodes d'amortissement du matériel appropriées.
  4. Fournir la souplesse nécessaire pour promouvoir la mise en œuvre de nouvelles technologies et répondre aux divers besoins de télécommunications d'une vaste gamme de petits et gros utilisateurs.
  5. Reconnaître les avantages de l'harmonisation régionale et internationale des services mobiles terrestres pour faciliter la coordination des fréquences dans les régions frontalières et permettre des économies d'échelle au chapitre du matériel radio.
  6. Tenir compte des différences régionales dans les orientations stratégiques relatives à la densité d'utilisation du spectre et à l'encombrement du spectre.
  7. Donner la priorité pour les fréquences libérées aux titulaires de licence qui mettent en œuvre des technologies offrant un meilleur rendement spectral avant que leurs systèmes existants ne deviennent non normalisés.

3.0 Mise en œuvre du plan de réaménagement

3.1 Généralités

Le plan de réaménagement visant le matériel offrant un bon rendement spectral s'appliquera aux systèmes mobiles terrestres fonctionnant dans la gamme de fréquences 100–500 MHz. Plus précisément, les dispositions du plan de réaménagement s'appliqueront au service mobile terrestre :

Dans les bandes 150 MHz :
138–174 MHz
410–420 MHz
et dans les bandes 450 MHz :
406.1–410 MHz
410–420 MHz
420–430 MHz
450–470 MHz

Un nouveau plan de répartition des voies sera mis en œuvre dans ces bandes pour permettre l'utilisation de matériel ayant un bon rendement spectral. Les stations seront autorisées dans les nouvelles voies en fonction des nouveaux plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens et de la coordination intégrale avec les stations fonctionnant dans les canaux adjacents.

La fusion d'un certain nombre de canaux est permise sous réserve que le matériel (ou le système) satisfait aux critères de rendement spectral énoncés dans les sections relatives à la certification du présent document.

Le Ministère présente un plan de réaménagement qui améliorera l'exploitation du spectre dans les bandes 150 MHz et 450 MHz grâce à la mise en service de matériel offrant un meilleur rendement spectral. Le plan, qui sera mis en œuvre en deux étapes, prévoit une transition vers du matériel faisant une utilisation plus efficiente du spectre de façon à libérer des fréquences du service mobile dans les régions où le trafic de ce service est intensif et où il est impossible d'accueillir de nouveaux utilisateurs.

À cette fin, pendant la phase 1, des plans de répartition des voies et des mesures de certification spécifiques seront mis en vigueur en vue de l'introduction de matériel à bande étroite pour passer d'une voie téléphonique avec espacement de 25/30 kHz entre les voies à une nouvelle condition de rendement spectral équivalent d'une voie téléphonique (v.t.) avec un espacement de 12,5/15 kHz entre les voies.

Lors de la phase 2, le rendement spectral devra passer d'une voie téléphonique avec espacement de 12,5/15 kHz entre les voies à une voie téléphonique avec espacement de 6,25/7,5 kHz entre les voies.

Le matériel homologué qui satisfait à la condition de rendement spectral d'une voie téléphonique avec espacement de 25/30 kHz entre les voies pourra toujours être utilisé dans les régions à faible encombrement du spectre, c.-à-d. dans les régions où il y a assez de fréquences libres pour accueillir de nouveaux requérants et où il n'y a pas de répercussions sur la disponibilité du spectre quand le trafic du service mobile est intensif.

Aux fins du présent document, le matériel à bon rendement spectral est défini comme étant un matériel pouvant utiliser une largeur de bande de moins de 12,5 kHz par voie téléphonique avec un espacement de 12,5/15 kHz entre les voies, ou une largeur de bande de moins de 6,25 kHz par voie téléphonique avec un espacement de 6,25/7,5 kHz entre les voies.

Dans le présent plan, l'expression nouveau système signifie généralement un système qui n'utilise pas l'infrastructure de radiocommunications existante.

3.2 Dispositions de politique pour la transition vers des technologies à bande étroite

En 1992, le Ministère a publié le document intitulé Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre, qui présente des principes directeurs devant permettre de mieux répondre aux nouveaux besoins en matière de spectre, de maintenir la souplesse nécessaire pour la mise en œuvre de technologies naissantes et de satisfaire à la demande croissante de services de radiocommunications au Canada à l'aube du 21e siècle. Dans le Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre, le Ministère adopte plusieurs principes directeurs devant lui permettre d'atteindre ces objectifs, dont le principe concernant l'économie et l'utilisation efficiente du spectre suivant :

« Principe directeur no 6 — économie et efficacité du spectre

Dans le but d'économiser les bandes cruciales de fréquences du spectre, le Ministère pourrait encourager la conception de systèmes radio exploités en bandes de fréquences de remplacement et l'utilisation des réseaux existants, à leur capacité optimale. L'accent sera encore mis sur les techniques d'utilisation efficace et économique du spectre, si elles sont viables; ceci deviendra en fait une exigence pour les services nouveaux et existants. On accordera la priorité aux technologies et aux systèmes les plus efficaces du point de vue du spectre. »

Conformément au Cadre de la politique canadienne du spectre, le Ministère pourrait également adopter, avec avis approprié, des politiques du spectre ou des normes sur les systèmes visant l'économie du spectre, similaires à celles exposées dans le présent plan de réaménagement du spectre, pour les bandes 150 MHz et 450 MHz.

La politique d'utilisation du spectre intitulée Renseignements généraux sur les politiques d'utilisation du spectre et les politiques des systèmes radio (PS Gen) divise les systèmes radio en systèmes normalisés et systèmes non normalisés. Les systèmes normalisés sont les systèmes conformes à l'édition la plus récente de la politique d'utilisation du spectre (PS) et de la politique des systèmes radio (PR) applicable et, le cas échéant, du plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens (PNRH) correspondant. Les systèmes non normalisés sont les systèmes déjà autorisés qui ne sont pas conformes à l'édition la plus récente de la PS, de la PR ou du PNRH applicable à la bande de fréquences pertinente.

Quand le Ministère adopte une politique ou une norme de systèmes en vue de la mise en œuvre de matériel offrant un meilleur rendement spectral dans une bande donnée, la PS Gen fixe, à moins d'indications contraires, les délais minimaux appropriés de désignation de systèmes non normalisés et le calendrier de notification. En général, une période minimale de cinq ans est prévue avant qu'un matériel ou un système soit désigné non normalisé suite à la modification d'une PS, d'une PR ou d'un PNRH, et un avis minimal de deux ans est donné par le Ministère pour tout changement (modification, remplacement ou élimination d'un système radio) exigé.

Dans le cas du plan de réaménagement des bandes du service mobile de la gamme 100–500 MHz, et selon les incitatifs économiques du nouveau modèle des droits de licence, le Ministère s'en tiendra à cette règle de cinq et de deux ans. Ceci s'appliquera au matériel n'ayant pas un bon rendement spectral qui empêche la mise en service de systèmes à bande étroite conformes à la nouvelle norme de rendement du matériel.

La politique des systèmes radio PR-004, Politique de délivrance des licences relatives aux liaisons de très faible capacité entre points fixes fonctionnant à des fréquences comprises entre 30 et 890 MHz, a traditionnellement servi à définir les villes qui constituent des « régions à utilisation intensive du service mobile »Note de bas de page 1 . Cependant, le Ministère a mis au point une nouvelle technique de mesure de la consommation spectrale, de la rareté du spectre et du spectre autorisé du service mobile au-dessous de 1 GHz, et il a défini des niveaux de saturation du spectre. Ces niveaux remplaceront, pour l'immédiat, la PR-004 et l'information est plus à jour pour la définition des « régions à utilisation intensive du service mobile ». Le tableau 1 ci-dessous donne une brève description des niveaux de saturation, du niveau le moins élevé (niveau 1) au plus élevé (niveau 5).

Tableau 1
Niveau de saturation de la cellule Régions
Niveau 1 — 0 - 30% 97 % du Canada
Niveau 2 — 30 - 45% 2 % du Canada, y compris :
Edmonton, Calgary, Ottawa,
Charlottetown, Saint John (N.-B.)
Niveau 3 — 45 - 60% 0,6 % du Canada, y compris :
les banlieues de Vancouver,
Montréal et Toronto, Halifax
Niveau 4 — 60 - 75% 0,1 % du Canada -
région métropolitaine de Montréal,
région métropolitaine de Vancouver,
région métropolitaine de Toronto
excluant le centre-ville, Ottawa
Niveau 5 — 75 - 100% moins de 0,01 % du Canada -
centre-ville de Toronto et
une petite zone près de Windsor (Ontario)

Cette technique aidera à fournir une indication des régions où l'introduction de matériel offrant un meilleur rendement spectral sera d'abord exigée à court terme, ainsi que des régions qui seront touchées à plus long terme. [consulter l'annexe 2 pour obtenir les cartes de niveaux de saturation du spectre des villes de Montréal, de Toronto et de Vancouver]Note de bas de page 2.

3.2 Calendrier

Tenant compte des dispositions de politique et des niveaux de saturation du spectre exposés dans le présent document, le Ministère a fixé le calendrier ci-dessous en vue de la mise en œuvre de matériel offrant un meilleur rendement spectral dans les bandes 150 MHz et 450 MHz.

3.2.1 Phase 1 — Norme de rendement d'un espacement de 12,5/15 kHz entre les voies

Les systèmes mobiles existants qui sont exploités dans des régions à fort encombrement du spectre et qui utilisent des technologies demandant un espacement de 25/30 kHz entre les voies pour acheminer une seule voie téléphonique seront considérés comme non normalisés à compter du 1er janvier 2004 [voir les niveaux de saturation du spectre 4 et 5 à l'annexe 2].

Cela signifie que dans les centres urbains fortement encombrés de Vancouver, de Toronto et de Montréal et dans d'autres centres urbains (voir le niveau de saturation 5 à l'annexe 2), où il y a une demande manifeste de fréquences dans les bandes visées ou encore où les systèmes normalisés à bande étroite ne peuvent pas accéder à ces bandes, les exploitants de systèmes non normalisés seront les premiers à recevoir un avis. Cet avis leur parviendra au plus tard le 1erjanvier 2002, leur demandant de se conformer aux conditions de rendement spectral de la phase 1, soit l'équivalent d'une voie téléphonique par canal de 12,5/15 kHz.

3.2.2 Phase 2 — Norme de rendement d'un espacement de 6,25/7,5 kHz entre les voies

Les systèmes mobiles existants qui sont exploités dans des régions à fort encombrement du spectre et qui utilisent des technologies demandant un espacement de 12,5/15 kHz entre les voies pour acheminer une seule voie téléphonique seront considérés comme non normalisés à compter du 1er janvier 2010, et ils devront se conformer er aux conditions de rendement spectral de la phase 2, soit l'équivalent d'une voie téléphonique par canal de 6,25/7,5 kHz. Le Ministère enverra un avis conforme à la règle des cinq et deux ans aux systèmes non normalisés qui devront être modifiés avant le 1er janvier 2010.

Le tableau de l'annexe 1 présente les dates clés du plan de réaménagement, relatives aux différentes activités.

3.3 Certification du matériel

Le matériel radio fonctionnant dans les bandes énumérées à la section 3.1 doit être certifié conformément à la norme de matériel pertinente. Actuellement, toutes les normes de matériel pertinentes sont exposées dans le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 119 (CNR-119), intitulé Émetteurs et récepteurs radio mobiles terrestres et fixes, 27,41 à 960 MHz. La cinquième édition du CNR-119, publiée en 1996, prévoit une amélioration du rendement spectral de tous les nouveaux modèles, les nouvelles normes entrant en vigueur le 24 février 1997. Depuis cette date, tous les nouveaux modèles doivent satisfaire à une norme minimale de rendement spectral d'une voie téléphonique par largeur de bande de 12,5 kHz (CNR-119), peu importe que le matériel soit exploité avec un espacement de 12,5 kHz ou de 15 kHz entre les voies radio, selon la bande de fonctionnement.

Le Ministère ne révoque pas la certification du matériel homologué avant le 24 février 1997, et qui ne satisfait pas à la norme de rendement spectral la plus récente.

Les nouveaux modèles de matériel double mode, qui permettent le fonctionnement avec une voie téléphonique par largeur de bande de 25 kHz ou avec deux voies téléphoniques par largeur de bande de 25 kHz, continueront d'être certifiés, étant donné qu'ils peuvent faciliter la migration des réseaux existants vers la nouvelle norme de rendement spectral.

Après le 1 janvier 2005, le matériel faisant l'objet er d'une demande de certification devra satisfaire à une norme minimale de rendement spectral d'une voie téléphonique par largeur de bande de 6,25 kHz (CNR-119), peu importe que le matériel soit exploité avec un espacement de 6,25 kHz ou de 7,5 kHz entre les voies radio, selon la bande de fonctionnement.

Le Ministère pourra ajouter à une édition future de la norme une condition de rendement spectral applicable au matériel numérique, si une définition appropriée peut être établie et si une telle condition favorise l'atteinte des objectifs de réaménagement.

3.4 Autorisation

Quarante-cinq jours après la publication du présent plan, les nouveaux systèmes exploités dans des régions où l'encombrement du spectre est élevé devront, sous réserve des conditions locales, satisfaire à la norme de rendement spectral d'une voie téléphonique par largeur de bande de 12,5 kHz, ou l'équivalent du critère d'efficacité du spectre de la phase 1.

Dans certains cas, les nouveaux systèmes qui exploitent du matériel non conforme à la norme de rendement spectral peuvent être autorisés. Par exemple, un nouveau système qui fait appel à la charge verticale pour optimiser l'utilisation des fréquences disponibles pourrait être autorisé. Un tel système serait considéré comme tout autre système non normalisé conformément au calendrier du plan de réaménagement. En outre, les demandes d'expansion de réseaux ou systèmes existants qui exploitent du matériel n'ayant pas le rendement spectral exigé pourront être approuvées cas par cas.

Dans la mesure du possible, on donnera la priorité pour les fréquences libérées aux titulaires de licence qui mettent en œuvre des technologies offrant un meilleur rendement spectral avant que leurs systèmes existants ne deviennent non normalisés, quand l'assignation de fréquences supplémentaires est justifiée.

4.0 Mise en œuvre

Les requérants sont invités à contacter le bureau le plus proche d'Industrie Canada en ce qui a trait à la délivrance de licences dans la bande 138–174 MHz, 406,1–430 MHz et 450–470 MHz. Les personnes intéressées à obtenir des renseignements généraux sur les dispositions du présent document peuvent adresser leur demande par écrit à la Direction de l'Ingénierie Terrestre, Direction générale de l'Ingénierie du Spectre, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Publié en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Directeur général
Direction générale du génie du spectre


Robert W. McCaughern


Date de modification :