Archived — Notice No. SMBR-004-98

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMBR-004-98 — Allotment Plan for Digital Radio Broadcasting (DRB)

Industry Canada announces the publication for comment of the Allotment Plan for Digital Radio Broadcasting DRB, Issue 2, for stations operating within the 1452 to 1492 MHz frequency band (L-band) using the EUREKA 147 (DAB) system. This Plan contains only allotments for terrestrial DRB.

The Allotment Plan, Issue 2, replaces the Allotment Plan, Issue 1, which was published June 1996 via Gazette Notice SMBR-001-96. Issue 2 reflects the terms of the recently-concluded agreement with the USA on the coordination of the operations of terrestrial DRB in Canada. It also addresses the requirements of the CBC to meet its national mandate, and extends the provision of a digital allotment for every AM and FM station to include the new stations and applications as of August 31, 1998.

The continued availability of a digital allotment for any AM or FM station will depend on the applications received for the digital service and any modifications made to the Plan during the licensing process. It should be noted that in many locations in Canada, the Plan contains vacant allotments that can accommodate AM or FM stations applied for after August 31, 1998 and to allow a measure of future growth.

Issue 1 of the allotment plan contained a list of fixed systems operating in the 1452–1492 MHz band that could be impacted by DRB. However, additional analysis in the Department and industry has led to the application of revised interference criteria. It is expected that additional existing fixed systems will be identified as potentially affected by DRB in this band. A revised list of these potentially impacted fixed systems will be published in the near future.

In addition, the above studies have indicated potential adjacent channel interference between DRB and fixed systems operating on frequencies adjacent to the 1452 to 1492 MHz frequency band. In this regard, these adjacent channels were avoided during the re-planning, to the extent possible. However, in the remaining cases, the actual impact and mitigation techniques will depend on each situation. A coordination procedure for adjacent channel interference cases is being developed in conjunction with industry and this will be published in the near future.

DRB Plan, Issue 2 — Description

As in the previous version, the new issue of the Plan groups up to five existing AM and /or FM broadcasters together to share the same transmitting facility.

The Plan includes:

  • DRB service areas
  • Frequencies for each of the DRB service areas
  • Frequency re-use contours for the DRB service areas

Also included in the proposed plan for information purposes are the groupings of existing AM and FM stations and allotments . This will not be published in the final version of the plan.

Interested parties may submit comments on the DRB Allotment Plan to the Director General, Spectrum Engineering Branch, Department of Industry, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8, or at the Internet address broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca.

Comments should be submitted no later than 60 days from the date of publication of this Notice. Comments received will be made available electronically at the following Internet address:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

This Gazette Notice, the DRB Allotment Plan (Issue 2) and the terms of the Canada/US agreement are available electronically on the Internet at the following address:
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum for the English version
and
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre for the French version.

Dated at Ottawa on

R. W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no SMBR-004-98

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no SMBR-004-98 — Plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB), 2e édition

Plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB), 2e édition

Industrie Canada annonce la publication, pour fins d'observations, du Plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB), 2e édition, applicable aux stations qui sont exploitées dans la bande de fréquences de 1452 à 1492 MHz (bande L) au moyen du système EUREKA-147 (DAB). Le Plan contient uniquement les allotissements pour les services DRB de Terre.

Le Plan d'allotissement, 2e édition, remplace le Plan d'allotissement, 1re édition, qui a été publié en juin 1996 suite à l'avis dans la Gazette no SMBR-001-96. La deuxième édition tient compte des conditions de l'entente récemment conclu avec les États-Unis relativement à la coordination de l'exploitation des services DRB de Terre au Canada. Elle englobe aussi les exigences qu'impose la réalisation du mandat national de la Société Radio-Canada et prévoit un allotissement numérique pour toutes les stations AM et FM, nouvelles ou visées par une demande de licence, en date du 31 août 1998.

Le maintien de l'allotissement numérique de toute station AM ou FM dépendra des demandes reçues à l'égard du service numérique et de toute modification apportée au Plan pendant le processus de délivrance des licences. Il faut noter que, à bon nombre d'emplacements au Canada, le Plan comprend des allotissements libres pour accueillir les stations AM ou FM qui auront déposé une demande de licence après le 31 août 1998 et pour permettre une certaine croissance future.

La première édition du Plan d'allotissement contenait une liste des systèmes fixes fonctionnant dans la bande 1452–1492 MHz, qui pourraient être touchés par la DRB. Cependant, suite à des études complémentaires menées par le Ministère et l'industrie, des critères révisés de brouillage sont utilisés. On s'attend à ce que d'autres systèmes fixes existants soient ajoutés à la liste des systèmes qui pourraient être touchés par la DRB dans cette bande. Une liste révisée de ces systèmes fixes sera publiée bientôt.

En outre, les études susmentionnées font état de brouillage possible dans les voies adjacentes entre les systèmes DRB et les systèmes fixes fonctionnant à des fréquences adjacentes à la bande 1452–1492 MHz. Dans la mesure du possible, on a évité ces voies adjacentes dans le nouveau processus de planification. Le cas échéant, les effets de ce brouillage et les techniques d'atténuation dépendront de la situation. Une procédure de coordination pour les cas de brouillage dans les voies adjacentes est actuellement élaborée en collaboration avec l'industrie, et elle sera publiée bientôt.

Plan pour la DRB, 2e édition — Description

Comme dans le cas de l'édition précédente, la nouvelle édition du Plan regroupe jusqu'à cinq radiodiffuseurs AM et/ou FM existants, qui se partageront la même installation d'émission.

Le Plan indique :

  • les zones de service DRB;
  • les fréquences correspondant à chacune des zones de service DRB;
  • les contours de réutilisation de fréquences pour les zones de service DRB.

Le Plan proposé contient également, à titre d'information, une liste des regroupements de stations AM et FM et des allotissements existants. Cette liste ne sera pas publiée dans la version définitive du Plan.

Les intéressés peuvent présenter leurs observations concernant le Plan d'allotissement pour la DRB au directeur général, Génie du spectre, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8, ou, par courrier électronique, à l'adresse Internet suivante : broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca.

On doit présenter ses observations au plus tard 60 jours après la date de publication du présent avis. Les observations reçues pourront être consultées sur l'Internet, à l'adresse suivante : 
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Le présent avis dans la Gazette, le Plan d'allotissement pour la DRB (2e édition) et les conditions de l'Entente entre le Canada et les États-Unis peuvent être consultés à l'adresse Web suivante :

http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre, pour la version française,
et
http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum, pour la version anglaise.

Fait à Ottawa le

Le directeur général
Génie du spectre

R. W. McCaughern

Date de modification :