Standards and Certification of Radio Apparatus and Electronic Equipment Used in Canada

Who should read this booklet?

This booklet provides helpful information for people who manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale, or sell in Canada any radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment. It outlines certification and compliance procedures to ensure that this equipment meets Industry Canada's technical standards.

Equipment imported or manufactured in Canada for export to other countries is not subject to the standards and certification procedures described in this booklet.

Why is the information in this booklet important?

Canada's Radiocommunication Act and Radiocommunication Regulations state that manufacturers, importers, distributors and sellers of radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment have three responsibilities:

  • They must make sure that the equipment they provide meets all the technical standards that are required in Canada for that type of equipment.
  • They must obtain a Technical Acceptance Certificate (TAC) if it is required for that type of equipment.
  • They must ensure that all equipment is labelled to show that it meets the applicable standards.

Individuals and corporations that do not comply with the Regulations may face charges under the Radiocommunication Act. An individual may be fined up to $5,000 and/or face one year in prison. Corporations can be fined up to $25,000.

The Act also states that any officer, director or agent of a corporation who participated in an offence committed by that corporation is liable to the same punishment (fine and/or jail term) as an individual who is found guilty under the Act.

Why are standards and certification necessary?

Technical standards for radio equipment help to:

  • Ensure electromagnetic compatibility between radio apparatus and services such as: broadcasting, air traffic control, security services and communications with satellites.
  • Minimize interference between radio apparatus and equipment that is not radio-based.
  • Improve the quality of equipment offered for sale in Canada.

Certification of equipment for use in Canada guarantees that:

  • The equipment meets the technical requirements under Canada's Radiocommunication Regulations. Certified equipment also meets the regulations of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) of which Canada is a member.
  • The requirements and standards for specific types of equipment are the same for all manufacturers and importers of radio apparatus.
  • The use of spectrum efficient radio devices is encouraged. Greater efficiency in spectrum use allows a greater number of Canadians to benefit from radiocommunication services.

How was the certification process established?

Canada's Radiocommunication Act permits technical requirements and standards to be set for radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment, and radio-sensitive equipment. Under the Act, the Minister of Industry may issue Technical Acceptance Certificates for approved products.

The Act states that no person shall manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale or sell any radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment unless:

  • Equipment for which a Technical Acceptance Certificate is required, must meet all of the certification requirements;
  • Apparatus or equipment for which technical standards have been established, must comply with those standards.

Industry Canada consulted with representatives of the radiocommunication industry to develop the Radiocommunication Regulations. To respond to industry's request for control over sub-standard equipment, the Regulations now give responsibility to the manufacturer, importer, distributor or seller of radio apparatus or equipment to ensure that it meets all applicable technical standards.

Industry Canada's Spectrum Management program (called the Department in this booklet) has overall responsibility for setting standards, certifying that radio apparatus and equipment meet these standards, and enforcing the Act and Regulations.

What equipment is covered by standards?

Standards can apply to the following types of equipment:

  • Radio apparatus - A device or combination of devices intended for, or capable of being used for, radiocommunication (includes a broad range of equipment from remote car alarms to high-powered broadcast transmitters).
  • Interference-causing equipment - Any device, machinery or equipment, other than radio apparatus, that can cause interference to radiocommunication (includes digital equipment that uses a microprocessor or microcontroller, and Industrial, Scientific and Medical equipment such as switching power supplies used in halogen lamps).
  • Radio-sensitive equipment - Any device, machinery or equipment, other than radio apparatus, that can be adversely affected by radiocommunication emissions (includes consumer electronics and industrial controls).

Two categories of equipment have been defined:

Category I equipment must meet technical standards and requires a Technical Acceptance Certificate (TAC). The following equipment is included in Category I: broadcasting transmitters, portable radio transmitters, digital scanner receivers, cellular phones, remote car alarms and starters, garage door openers and wireless computer links.

Category II equipment must meet technical standards but does not have to be certified. The following equipment is included in Category II: electronic transformers or ballasts, alarm keypads, intelligent battery chargers, satellite TV receivers, VCR's and computers.

How do you find out what standards apply?

Industry Canada publishes the lists of standards that apply to Category I and Category II equipment in the Canada Gazette.

These lists are available on our Internet site at the following address:

http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

What are the procedures for certification and compliance?

Requirements that apply to both Category I and Category II equipment:

Maximum number - The maximum number of units that may be manufactured or imported without a TAC or without compliance to the standard, is one more than the number listed in the standard for that type of equipment.

Testing - The Department may test, or request that the manufacturer or importer test, the equipment at any time in order to ensure compliance with applicable standards.

Labels - Equipment certified to comply with applicable standards and/or for which a TAC has been issued must be labelled according to the requirements set out in the Industry Canada standards which apply to that equipment.

These requirements do not prevent labelling the product for other purposes or pursuant to other legislation.

You may not:

  • remove, replace or alter a label that has been attached as required by the applicable standards; or
  • mark, label or otherwise indicate how to modify equipment so that it will not comply with applicable standards.

Additional requirements for Category I equipment

A person who manufactures, imports, distributes, leases, offers for sale, or sells a piece of equipment in Category I must apply to Industry Canada for a Technical Acceptance Certificate (TAC). The applicant must demonstrate that the model (or models) of equipment meet all the required standards. A report showing the results of all tests performed on the equipment must be submitted to the Department with the TAC application.

Applicants must follow the procedures outlined in Radio Standards Procedure 100 (RSP-100), Radio Equipment Certification Procedure, or in Broadcasting Equipment Standards Procedure 100 (BESP-100), Certification of Broadcasting Equipment.

Industry Canada may issue a TAC for a specific model of equipment or for several models that have similar technical characteristics.

Applicants may choose to submit the equipment directly to the Department's certification branch for testing and issuance of a TAC.

Special Considerations

New Models - The TAC number can only be used on the model of equipment that was tested and approved. If the holder of a TAC wants to produce a new model of equipment that possesses similar technical characteristics to a previously approved model, that person must submit a request to the Department to list the new model under the same TAC number. If the request is approved, the new model will be added to the radio equipment list published by the Department. This process is called "Family Approval".

New Manufacturers - The TAC number can only be used by the company that received the approval. If a different company wants to market equipment for which a TAC has been issued, it will have to apply to the Department for approval. The applicant must include an authorization from the holder of the current TAC with the request. If the request is accepted, the Department will issue a new TAC number for the new manufacturer. This process is called "Multiple Listing".

Changes to the Equipment - The TAC can only be used for the specific model or models of equipment for which it was issued. If the equipment is modified in such a way as to affect any parameter specified in the standard under which the equipment was certified, the modified equipment is no longer considered to be certified and requires testing to ensure that it complies with the applicable standard.

FCC Standards - Industry Canada wants to reduce the burden on manufacturers and importers and to expedite the process of certification in Canada. As a result, the Department will accept reports that show equipment complies with the U.S. Federal Communications Commission (FCC) standards. However, the applicant must indicate how FCC standards compare to Canadian standards for this equipment. Where there are differences between the technical standards of Industry Canada and the FCC, supplementary test results will be required.

Pre-November 1996 - Approvals issued by Industry Canada before November 1996 are still valid as long as the approved equipment is labelled according to the requirements and standards in effect when the equipment was approved.

Additional requirements for Category II equipment

The manufacturer or importer of Category II equipment must ensure that it meets all the required standards for that type of equipment. Testing must be carried out as necessary. Test results must be made available to Industry Canada if the Department requests this information. The standards published in the Canada Gazette show the period of time for which test results must be made available.

Where can you get more information?

Reference:

Radio Standards Procedure 100 (RSP-100), Radio Equipment Certification Procedure.

Broadcasting Equipment Standards Procedure 100 (BESP-100), Certification of Broadcasting Equipment.

Associated documents are available on our Internet site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum

Contacts:

For more information, contact the nearest Industry Canada Spectrum Management office.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada (Industry Canada) 1998
Cat. No. C2-394\1998E
ISBN 0-662-63993-6
Distribution Product No. 52481 B

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

La normalisation et l'homologation des appareils radio et dispositifs électroniques utilisés au Canada

Qui devrait lire le livret ?

Le présent livret renferme des renseignements utiles pour les personnes qui fabriquent, importent, distribuent, louent, mettent en vente ou vendent au Canada des appareils radio, du matériel brouilleur ou du matériel radiosensible. On y décrit les procédures d'homologation et de conformité établies pour faire en sorte que les dispositifs en question répondent aux normes techniques d'Industrie Canada.

Le matériel fabriqué ou importé au Canada en vue d'être exporté vers d'autres pays n'est pas visé par les procédures de normalisation et d'homologation définies dans le présent livret.

Pourquoi l'information contenue dans le livret est-elle importante?

Au Canada, dans la Loi sur la radiocommunication et dans le Règlement sur la radiocommunication, on précise que les fabricants, les importateurs, les distributeurs et les vendeurs d'appareils radio, de matériel brouilleur ou de matériel radiosensible assument trois responsabilités :

  • ils doivent veiller à ce que le matériel qu'ils fournissent soit conforme à toutes les normes techniques applicables au Canada;
  • ils doivent, le cas échéant, obtenir un certificat d'acceptation technique (CAT);
  • ils doivent veiller à ce que tout le matériel soit étiqueté de manière à attester le respect des normes applicables.

Les personnes physiques et les personnes morales qui ne se conforment pas au Règlement peuvent faire l'objet de poursuites en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication. Les personnes physiques sont passibles d'une amende maximale de 5 000 $ ou d'un emprisonnement maximal d'un an, ou les deux. Les personnes morales sont passibles d'une amende maximale de 25 000 $.

La Loi prévoit aussi pour tout dirigeant, administrateur ou mandataire qui a participé à l'infraction perpétrée par une personne morale la même peine que celle qui est prévue (amende ou emprisonnement) pour une personne physique trouvée coupable en vertu de la Loi.

Pourquoi avons-nous besoin de normes et d'une homologation?

Les normes techniques applicables aux appareils radio ont pour but :

  • de garantir la compatibilité électromagnétique entre les appareils radio et les services de radiocommunication comme la radiodiffusion, le contrôle de la circulation aérienne, les services de sécurité et les communications par satellite;
  • de réduire au minimum le brouillage entre les appareils radio et le matériel qui n'utilise pas les fréquences radioélectriques;
  • d'améliorer la qualité du matériel mis en vente au Canada.

L'homologation du matériel utilisé au Canada donne les garanties suivantes:

  • le matériel répond aux exigences techniques définies dans le Règlement sur la radiocommunication du Canada; en outre, le matériel homologué répond également aux règlements de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), dont le Canada fait partie;
  • tous les fabricants et les importateurs d'appareils radio sont assujettis aux exigences et aux normes applicables à ces types précis d'appareil;
  • l'utilisation efficace du spectre à l'égard des appareils radio a pour effet de donner à un plus grand nombre de Canadiens la possibilité de bénéficier de services de radiocommunication.

Comment le processus d'homologation a-t-il été établi?

La Loi sur la radiocommunication permet l'établissement d'exigences et de normes techniques à l'égard d'appareils radio, de matériel brouilleur et de matériel radiosensible. En vertu de la Loi, le ministre de l'Industrie peut délivrer des certificats d'approbation technique au matériel jugé conforme.

Dans la Loi, on précise en outre qu'il est interdit de fabriquer, d'importer, de distribuer, de louer, de mettre en vente ou de vendre tout appareil radio, matériel brouilleur ou matériel radiosensible, à moins que :

  • le matériel pour lequel un certificat d'approbation technique est exigé ne réponde à tous les critères d'homologation;
  • l'appareil ou le matériel visé par les normes techniques établies ne soit conforme aux normes en question.

Pour mettre au point le Règlement sur la radiocommunication, Industrie Canada a consulté des représentants de l'industrie de la radiocommunication. Conformément au désir de l'industrie de voir s'instaurer de meilleures mesures de contrôle des produits de moindre qualité, le Règlement impute aujourd'hui au fabricant, à l'importateur, au distributeur ou au vendeur de matériel ou d'appareils radio la responsabilité de veiller à ce que ceux-ci soient conformes à toutes les normes techniques applicables.

Le programme de gestion du spectre d'Industrie Canada (appelé le Ministère dans le présent livret) a pour responsabilité générale d'établir des normes, d'homologuer l'équipement et les appareils radio, et d'appliquer la Loi et le Règlement.

Quels types de matériel sont visés par les normes?

Les normes peuvent viser les types de matériel suivants :

  • Appareils radio - Dispositif ou assemblage de dispositifs destiné ou pouvant servir à la radiocommunication (s'applique à un large éventail d'appareils, de la télécommande du système d'alarme de voiture aux puissants émetteurs de radiodiffusion).
  • Matériel brouilleur - Tout dispositif, appareillage ou matériel, autre qu'un appareil radio, susceptible de brouiller la radiocommunication (comprend notamment le matériel numérique qui utilise un microprocesseur ou un microcontrôleur et le matériel industriel, scientifique et médical, par exemple les alimentations à découpage utilisées dans les lampes à halogène).
  • Matériel radiosensible - Tout dispositif, appareillage ou matériel – autre qu'un appareil radio – dont l'utilisation ou le fonctionnement peut être contrarié par des émissions de radiocommunication (comprend les dispositifs de commande industriels ou grand public).

On a défini deux catégories de matériel :

Le matériel de la catégorie I doit répondre à des normes techniques et nécessite un certificat d'approbation technique (CAT). Voici des exemples de matériel de la catégorie I : les émetteurs de radiodiffusion, les émetteurs de radio portatifs, les récepteurs de balayage numériques, les téléphones cellulaires, les télécommandes du système d'alarme de voiture et les démarreurs à distance, les dispositifs d'ouverture de portes de garage et les dispositifs sans fil de liaison entre ordinateurs.

Le matériel de la catégorie II doit être conforme à des normes techniques, mais n'exige pas de CAT. Les appareils suivants sont des exemples de matériel de la catégorie II : les transformateurs électroniques ou les ballasts, les claviers numériques d'alarme, les chargeurs de batterie intelligents, les récepteurs de télévision par satellite, les magnétoscopes et les ordinateurs.

Comment déterminer les normes applicables?

Industrie Canada publie dans la Gazette du Canada les listes des normes applicables au matériel de la catégorie I et de la catégorie II.

Ces listes figurent sur notre site Internet à l'adresse suivante,

http://ww.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Quelle est la procédure d'homologation et de vérification de la conformité?

Exigences qui s'appliquent au matériel de la catégorie I et de la catégorie II :

Nombre maximal - Le nombre maximal d'unités de matériel qui peut être fabriqué ou importé sans obtenir de CAT ou sans qu'il y ait conformité avec la norme applicable est le nombre indiqué dans la norme, plus un.

Mise à l'essai - Le Ministère peut mettre à l'essai ou exiger que le fabricant ou l'importateur mettent à l'essai le matériel afin de s'assurer de sa conformité avec les normes applicables.

Étiquettes - Tout matériel reconnu comme étant conforme aux normes applicables et/ou pour lequel un CAT a été délivré doit être étiqueté conformément aux exigences définies dans les normes applicables d'Industrie Canada.

Ces mesures n'empêchent pas l'étiquetage qui sert à d'autres fins ou qui est prévu par d'autres lois.

Il est interdit :

  • d'enlever, de remplacer ou de modifier une étiquette qui a été apposée conformément aux normes applicables; et
  • de marquer, d'étiqueter le matériel ou d'y indiquer la façon de le modifier, de sorte que le matériel ne soit plus conforme aux normes applicables.

Exigences additionnelles pour le matériel de la catégorie I

La personne qui fabrique, importe, distribue, loue, met en vente ou vend un appareil appartenant à la catégorie I doit présenter à Industrie Canada une demande de certificat d'approbation technique (CAT). Le requérant doit démontrer que le modèle (ou les modèles) de matériel est conforme aux normes applicables. À cette fin, un rapport montrant les résultats des essais effectués doit être présenté au Ministère, accompagné de la demande de CAT.

Les requérants doivent suivre la démarche décrite dans la Procédure sur les normes radioélectriques 100 (PNR-100), Procédure d'homologation du matériel radio, ou dans la Procédure sur les normes de matériel de radiodiffusion 100 (PNMR-100), Homologation du matériel de radiodiffusion.

Industrie Canada peut délivrer un CAT soit pour un modèle particulier de matériel, soit pour plusieurs modèles de ce matériel possédant des caractéristiques techniques similaires.

Les requérants peuvent choisir de présenter leur matériel directement à la Direction d'homologation du Ministère pour y faire subir des essais et obtenir un CAT.

Considérations particulières

Nouveaux modèles - Le numéro du CAT peut seulement être utilisé sur le modèle de matériel qui a été mis à l'essai et approuvé. Le titulaire d'un CAT qui désire produire un nouveau modèle de matériel qui possède des caractéristiques techniques similaires à celles d'un modèle déjà approuvé doit demander au Ministère d'inscrire le nouveau modèle sous le numéro du certificat du modèle déjà approuvé. Si la demande est accueillie favorablement, le nouveau modèle sera ajouté à la nomenclature du matériel radio publiée par le Ministère. Il s'agit de ce qu'on appelle la procédure « d'approbation de groupe ».

Nouveaux fabricants - Seule la société qui a obtenu l'approbation peut utiliser le numéro de CAT. Une autre société qui désire commercialiser du matériel pour lequel un CAT a déjà été délivré doit obtenir l'approbation du Ministère. La demande du requérant doit faire état de l'autorisation du titulaire du CAT existant. Si la demande est acceptée, le Ministère délivrera un nouveau numéro de CAT au nouveau fabricant. Il s'agit de la procédure dite des « inscriptions multiples ».

Normes de la FCC - Pour réduire le fardeau imposé aux fabricants et aux importateurs et pour accélérer le processus d'homologation au Canada, Industrie Canada acceptera les rapports de conformité avec les normes de la Federal Communication Commission (FCC) des États-Unis. Cependant, le requérant doit indiquer comment les normes de la FCC se comparent aux normes canadiennes applicables au matériel concerné. En cas d'écarts entre les normes techniques d'Industrie Canada et de la FCC, d'autres essais seront exigés.

Modification du matériel - Le CAT peut seulement être utilisé pour le ou les modèles précis pour lesquels il a été délivré. Lorsque le matériel est modifié à un point tel qu'il n'est plus conforme à l'un ou l'autre des paramètres précisés dans la norme en fonction de laquelle le CAT a été délivré, ce matériel n'est plus considéré comme étant approuvé et doit être mis à l'essai pour s'assurer que celui-ci se conforme à la norme applicable.

Avant novembre 1996 - Les approbations accordées par Industrie Canada avant novembre 1996 demeurent valides, à condition que le matériel approuvé soit étiqueté conformément aux exigences et aux normes en vigueur au moment de l'approbation.

Exigences additionnelles pour le matériel de la catégorie II

Le fabricant ou l'importateur de matériel appartenant à la catégorie II doit veiller à ce que ce dernier soit conforme aux normes applicables. À cet effet, des essais doivent être effectués. Si Industrie Canada en fait la demande, les résultats des essais doivent lui être communiqués. Les normes publiées dans la Gazette du Canada font état de la période durant laquelle les résultats des essais doivent être disponibles pour consultation par le Ministère .

puis-je obtenir d'autres renseignements?

Ouvrages de référence :

Procédure sur les normes radioélectriques 100 (PNR-100), Procédure d'homologation du matériel radio

Procédure sur les normes de matériel de radiodiffusion 100 (PNMR-100), Homologation du matériel de radiodiffusion.

On peut se procurer des documents connexes sur notre site Internet: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Pour renseignements :

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le bureau de la gestion du spectre d'Industrie Canada le plus proche.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada (Industrie Canada) 1998
No de catalogue C2-394\1998F
ISBN 0-662-63993-6
No de distribution de produit 52481 B

Date de modification :