Consultation on Whether to Permit Licence-Exempt Family Radio Devices in the Land Mobile Frequency Sub-Bands 462/467 MHz

March 1999

1.0 Introduction

The purpose of this consultation paper is to initiate public discussion on whether spectrum policy provisions should be established to permit the operation of licence-exempt radio devices in the land mobile frequency sub-bands 462.5625-462.7125 MHz and 467.5625-467.7125 MHz.

2.0 Background

In May 1996, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) in the United States established a new licence-exempt radio service which they called Family Radio Service (FRS). FRS is a short-range, two-way radio service which uses portable, hand-held radios providing simplex operation on 14 radio channels and incorporating tone encoded squelch. These radios are designed to fill a niche market in private personal communications by providing an inexpensive, short range means of communications for private users and small groups. In the United States, FRS radios operate on a no protection, no interference basis, require certification and are limited to an output power of 0.5 watt ERP.

FRS devices operate on 14 simplex frequencies. These frequencies are interstitial to the duplex frequency pairs of the U.S. General Mobile Radio Service (General Mobile Radio Service). The frequencies and corresponding FRS channel numbers are as follows:

Table 1 – FRS Frequencies Designated in the U.S.
FREQUENCY (MHz) AND FRS CHANNEL No.
462.5625 (1) 467.5625 (8)
462.5875 (2) 467.5875 (9)
462.6125 (3) 467.6125 (10)
462.6375 (4) 467.6375 (11)
462.6625 (5) 467.6625 (12)
462.6875 (6) 467.6875 (13)
462.7125 (7) 467.7125 (14)

Manufacturers and distributors of family radio devices perceive a strong consumer demand for this radio equipment and have expressed interest in introducing these devices in Canada. Industry Canada has yet to determine whether a similar type of service is in the public interest.

3.0 Canadian Spectrum Environment

The frequencies set out in Table 1 for family radio devices in the U.S. are allocated in Canada to the land mobile service on a primary basis as outlined in Spectrum Utilization Policy SP 30-896 MHz (SP 30-896 MHz), Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Mobile, Broadcasting and Amateur Services in the Frequency Range 30-896 MHz (Part II). These frequencies are assigned according to Standard Radio System Plan 501 (SRSP-501) entitled Technical Requirements for Land Mobile and Fixed Radio Services Operating in the Bands 406.1-430 MHz and 450-470 MHzFootnote 1.

These frequencies currently accommodate a large number of land mobile radio service users in Canada which have been licensed on a coordinated and protected basis. Our records indicate that currently there are approximately 238 licensees across Canada operating 200 base stations and 5295 mobile terminals on the 14 FRS candidate frequenciesFootnote 2. Also, these frequencies represent approximately 350 kHz of spectrum within the 450-470 MHz land mobile band.

In urban areas, these mobile frequencies could be heavily used. Industry Canada has announced a plan to redeploy the mobile service frequency bands below 500 MHz to more spectrum efficient narrow band technologies to meet growing mobile spectrum needs. In heavily congested urban areas including Montreal and Toronto, it may be difficult to relocate some of the existing licensees within the 450-470 MHz land mobile band. (Refer to Annex 1 for the existing use of spectrum.)

3.1 Technical Analysis of the Impact of the Utilization of Family Radio Devices on Existing Land Mobile Operations

Generally, family radio devices will operate on a co-channel basis with the land mobile systems operating in the band 450-470 MHzFootnote 3. However, there are two cases of potential interference:

  • interference from FRS terminals into a land mobile handset; and
  • interference from FRS terminals into a land mobile base station.

With regard to potential interference to a land mobile handset, the probability of such interference is considered to be low since both the FRS device and the mobile unit would have to be close to each other, to operate on the same channel and, to respectively transmit and receive at the same time. Furthermore, the mobility of both the land mobile handset and the FRS terminals is also a factor that would facilitate the mitigation of interference. The potential of interference from FRS terminals to land mobile base stations may be more problematic. Base station receivers are typically located in high vantage points, such as building tops, to provide reliable coverage throughout the service area. However, this characteristic would also subject land mobile base station receivers to interference signals from all FRS units also operating in the land mobile base station service area. In addition, the statistical probability of interference would increase with the proliferation of the FRS devices within this service area.

3.2 Further Consideration

The department recognizes that if it were to permit the use of family radio devices in the sub-bands 462/467 MHz, some land mobile users would want to move to different frequency bands. In addition, users could incur additional costs to replace existing radio station equipment. In this regard, the department has met with representatives of manufacturers/distributors of family radio devices, to determine whether they would be prepared to assist only the most affected land mobile operators to move to other frequency bands. The representatives are studying this proposal seriously and the department encourages them to propose practical steps to facilitate the move to other frequency bands of only the most affected land mobile users, should FRS devices be permitted for use in the sub-bands 462/467 MHz following this consultation. For example, the department would encourage manufacturers to offer discounts on new radio equipment to speed this transition.

4.0 Comments Invited on Whether Family Radio Devices Should Be Accommodated

In view of the previously-described spectrum environment and in order to determine the public interest for family radio devices in Canada and the means to minimize the impact on existing land mobile users, Industry Canada seeks comments on the potential designation of the frequencies described in Table 1 in part or in whole. Comments are sought on the following questions:

  1. What are the consumer benefits and level of public interest in permitting FRS devices to operate in Canada?
  2. Could the manufacturers and distributors facilitate the move of the most seriously affected base stations of land mobile users to other frequency bands to permit the introduction of family radio devices?
  3. Do the land mobile users believe that the burden of moving to other frequency bands is outweighed by the effects of the potential for some interference to their overall operations?
  4. What measures, if any, could be introduced to enable existing land mobile users of these frequencies to share the spectrum with family radio users either in the short or long term?
  5. What would the impact be on existing land mobile users if family radio devices were permitted without limitation?
  6. Can manufacturers and distributors modify the operational design of family radio devices to prevent or limit harmful interference to existing land mobile licensees from family radio users? For example, could family radio devices be modified to operate on seven channels as opposed to the current fourteen channels?
  7. If the decision were to open these frequencies to family radio, what steps should Industry Canada take, and in what time frame, to ensure a smooth transition? How should the existing land mobile users be accommodated?
  8. Are there any other issues that need to be considered?

Interested parties are encouraged to comment on any aspect of these issues.

5.0 Conclusion

Based on the results of the public consultation initiated in this document and further internal evaluation, Industry Canada will decide if it is in the public interest to make appropriate provisions for family radio devices.

ANNEX 1- Summary of Frequency Usage by Industry Canada Region

Summary of Frequency Usage by Industry Canada Region
Regional Total
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

6
1856
30

88
4737
95

144
1919
79

38
909
52

10
52
15
National Total Licensees
286
Mobiles
9473
Base Stations
271
Frequency (FRS Ch #) Industry Canada RegionFootnote 4
Pacific Prairies/NWT Ontario Quebec Atlantic
462.5625 (Ch. 1)          
Licensees 0 3 102 5 1
Mobiles 0 13 109 162 0
Base Stations 0 3 26 5 1
467.5625 (Ch. 8)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

4
13
4

18
443
17

0

1
0
2
462.5875 (Ch. 2)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

4
21
4

4
64
7

0

2
12
2
467.5875 (Ch. 9)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

7
1051
16

3
64
7

10
381
23

2
12
2
462.6125 (Ch.3)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

4
55
4

3
59
4

0

1
0
2
467.6125 (Ch.10)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

17
113
6
(1-RSP)Footnote 5
4
62
4

0

1
0
2
462.6375 (Ch.4)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

5
228
5

0

5
46
1

0
467.6375 (Ch.11)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

3
219
3

0

9
291
14

0
462.6625 (Ch. 5)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

1
2
1

1
31
1

0

0
467.6625 (Ch. 12)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

0

2
1026
10
(1-RSP)Footnote 6
2
31
2

7
27
7

0
462.6875 (Ch. 6)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations
(RSP)Footnote 6
1
0
1

5
45
5

1
4
1

0

1
14
2
467.6875 (Ch. 13)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations
(RSP)Footnote 6
1
0
1

21
196
20

2
57
4

0

1
14
2
462.7125 (Ch. 7)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

2
928
14

5
877
6
(1-RSP)Footnote 6
2
2
3

0

0
467.7125 (Ch. 14)
Licensees
Mobiles
Base Stations

2
928
14

7
878
8
(1-RSP)Footnote 6
2
9
3
(1-RSP)Footnote 6
2
2
2

0

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Channel assignments are done based on a separation of 25 kHz starting at the center frequency 450.0125 kHz in the 450-470 MHz band.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

These figures represent the total number of licensees and stations operating on FRS candidate frequencies across Canada. Annex 1 provides a breakdown of these licensees and their licences by frequency and Industry Canada region.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

According to SRSP-501, FRS channels 1 to 7 are within the base receiver portion of the duplex band 460.0375-464.0125 MHz of the 450-470 MHz band. FRS channels 8 to 14 are within the mobile receiver portion of the duplex band 465.0375-469.0125 MHz of the 450-470 MHz band.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

These figures indicate the number of existing licensees and licences for each FRS frequency within each Industry Canada region. These figures will differ from the totals provided in Section 3.0 as a licensee may operate in more than one region and/or on more than one FRS frequency (i.e. duplex assignments).

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Does not include licence-exempt radiocommunication service provider (RSP) subscriber stations.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

Does not include licence-exempt radiocommunication service provider (RSP) subscriber stations.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Date modified:

Consultation relative à l'autorisation des dispositifs radio domestiques exemptés de licence dans les sous-bandes de fréquences 462/467 MHz du service mobile terrestre

Mars 1999
Gestion du spectre et Politique des télécommunications

DGTP-002-99

1.0 Introduction

Ce document de consultation a pour objectif de lancer un débat public pour déterminer s'il faut établir des dispositions de politique du spectre autorisant l'exploitation de dispositifs radio exemptés de licence dans les sous-bandes de fréquences 462,5625-462,7125 MHz et 467,5625-467,7125 MHz du service mobile terrestre.

2.0 Contexte

En mai 1996, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) des États-Unis a créé un nouveau service radio exempté de licence appelé Family Radio Service (FRS). Le FRS est un service radio bilatéral de courte portée qui utilise des appareils radio portatifs de poche fonctionnant en simplex sur 14 canaux de radiofréquences et comprenant un silencieux codé par tonalités. Ces appareils sont conçus pour combler un créneau du marché des communications personnelles privées en offrant un moyen de communication de courte portée peu coûteux pour les utilisateurs privés et les petits groupes. Aux États-Unis, les appareils radio FRS fonctionnent en régime de non-protection et de non-brouillage, nécessitent une homologation et leur puissance de sortie est limitée à une p.a.r. de 0,5 W.

Les dispositifs FRS fonctionnent sur 14 fréquences simplex intercalées entre les paires de fréquences duplex du General Mobile Radio Service (General Mobile Radio Service) des États-Unis. Les fréquences et les numéros de canaux FRS correspondants sont les suivants :

Tableau 1 - Fréquences FRS désignées aux États-Unis
FRÉQUENCE (MHz) ET No DE CANAL FRS
462,5625 (1) 467,5625 (8)
462,5875 (2) 467,5875 (9)
462,6125 (3) 467,6125 (10)
462,6375 (4) 467,6375 (11)
462,6625 (5) 467,6625 (12)
462,6875 (6) 467,6875 (13)
462,7125 (7) 467,7125 (14)

Les fabricants et les distributeurs de dispositifs radio FRS perçoivent une forte demande de la part des consommateurs pour ce genre d'appareils radio et ont exprimé un certain intérêt pour l'introduction de ces dispositifs au Canada. Industrie Canada doit encore déterminer si un type de service similaire est d'intérêt public.

3.0 Situation du spectre au Canada

Les fréquences indiquées au tableau 1 pour les dispositifs radio FRS aux États-Unis sont attribuées au Canada au service mobile terrestre à titre primaire dans le document de Politique d'utilisation du spectre PS 30-896 MHz intitulé Politique d'utilisation du spectre aux services mobile, radiodiffusion et amateur dans la gamme 30-896 MHz (partie II). Ces fréquences sont assignées conformément au Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens 501 (PNRH-501) intitulé Prescriptions techniques relatives aux services radio terrestres mobiles et fixes fonctionnant dans les bandes de 406,1-430 MHz et 450-470 MHzNote de bas de page 1.

Ces fréquences servent à l'heure actuelle à de nombreux utilisateurs du service radio mobile terrestre au Canada qui ont obtenu leur licence sur une base de coordination et de protection. Selon nos dossiers, il y a actuellement au Canada près de 238 titulaires de licence exploitant 200 stations de base et 5 295 terminaux mobiles sur les quatorze fréquences FRS candidatesNote de bas de page 2. De même, ces fréquences représentent près de 350 kHz de spectre à l'intérieur de la bande de 450-470 MHz du service mobile terrestre.

Dans les zones urbaines, ces fréquences du service mobile peuvent être fortement utilisées. Pour répondre aux besoins croissants du service mobile, Industrie Canada a annoncé un plan de redéploiement des bandes de fréquences du service mobile en dessous de 500 MHz, à des technologies à bande étroite faisant une utilisation plus efficace du spectre. Dans les zones urbaines très encombrées, notamment à Montréal et Toronto, il peut être difficile de relocaliser certains titulaires de licence dans la bande de 450 - 470 MHz du service mobile terrestre (voir à l'annexe 1 l'utilisation actuelle du spectre).

3.1 Analyse technique de l'incidence de l'utilisation de dispositifs radio FRS sur le service mobile terrestre actuel

En général, les dispositifs radio FRS utiliseront les mêmes canaux que les systèmes mobiles terrestres fonctionnant dans la bande 450-470 MHzNote de bas de page 3. Cependant il y a deux cas de brouillage possible :

  • le brouillage causé par des terminaux FRS à un combiné du service mobile terrestre; et
  • le brouillage causé par des terminaux FRS à une station de base du service mobile terrestre.

On estime que la probabilité de brouillage d'un combiné du service mobile terrestre est faible, car il faudrait que le dispositif FRS et l'unité mobile soient proches l'un de l'autre, qu'ils fonctionnent sur le même canal et que l'un émette pendant que l'autre reçoit. En outre, la mobilité du combiné mobile terrestre et des terminaux FRS est également un facteur susceptible d'atténuer le brouillage.

Par contre, le risque de brouillage causé par les terminaux FRS aux stations de base pourrait être plus problématique. Les récepteurs de station de base sont généralement situés en des points élevés, notamment au sommet des immeubles, pour donner une couverture fiable de toute la zone de service. Mais à cause de cette caractéristique, les récepteurs de station de base mobile terrestre risquent d'être soumis aux signaux brouilleurs de toutes les unités FRS fonctionnant également dans la zone de service de la station de base mobile terrestre. En outre, la probabilité statistique de brouillage augmenterait avec la prolifération des dispositifs FRS situés dans cette zone de service.

3.2 Autres considérations

Le Ministère reconnaît que s'il autorisait l'utilisation de dispositifs FRS dans les sous-bandes 462/467 MHz, certains utilisateurs du service mobile terrestre voudraient passer à des bandes de fréquences différentes et que le remplacement du matériel de leur station de radio actuelle ferait intervenir des coûts. À cet égard, le Ministère a rencontré des représentants des fabricants et distributeurs de dispositifs FRS pour déterminer s'ils accepteraient d'aider uniquement les exploitants les plus touchés du service mobile terrestre à passer à d'autres bandes de fréquences. Ces représentants étudient la proposition sérieusement et le Ministère les encourage à proposer des étapes concrètes pour aider les utilisateurs les plus touchés du service mobile terrestre à passer à d'autres bandes de fréquences, au cas où l'utilisation de dispositifs FRS serait autorisée dans les sous-bandes 462/467 MHz à la suite de la présente consultation. Par exemple, le Ministère encouragerait les fabricants à offrir des rabais sur le nouveau matériel radio pour accélérer le passage des utilisateurs les plus touchés du service mobile terrestre.

4.0 Appel de commentaires sur la question de l'autorisation éventuelle de dispositifs FRS

Étant donné l'environnement radioélectrique décrit précédemment, et afin de déterminer l'intérêt public pour les dispositifs FRS au Canada et les moyens de minimiser les incidences sur les utilisateurs actuels du service mobile terrestre, Industrie Canada demande des commentaires sur la désignation possible des fréquences décrites au tableau 1 en partie ou en totalité. Nous souhaitons recevoir des commentaires sur les questions suivantes :

  1. Quels avantages présente pour le consommateur l'autorisation des dispositifs FRS au Canada et quel intérêt suscite-t-elle auprès du public?
  2. Les fabricants et distributeurs pourraient-ils faciliter le passage à d'autres bandes de fréquences des stations de base des utilisateurs les plus touchés du service mobile terrestre pour permettre l'introduction des dispositifs FRS?
  3. Les utilisateurs du service mobile terrestre pensent-ils que l'inconvénient d'avoir à passer à d'autres bandes de fréquences l'emporte sur les effets du risque de brouillage de l'ensemble de leurs activités?
  4. Quelles mesures peut-on prendre à court ou à long terme le cas échéant pour permettre aux utilisateurs actuels du service mobile terrestre sur ces fréquences de partager le spectre avec les utilisateurs de dispositifs FRS?
  5. Quel serait l'effet sur les utilisateurs actuels du service mobile terrestre si les dispositifs FRS étaient autorisés sans restriction?
  6. Les fabricants et distributeurs peuvent-ils modifier la conception opérationnelle des dispositifs FRS pour éviter ou limiter le brouillage préjudiciable causé par les dispositifs FRS aux titulaires actuels de licences du service mobile terrestre? Par exemple, les dispositifs FRS pourraient-ils être modifiés pour fonctionner sur sept canaux plutôt que sur les quatorze canaux actuellement envisagés?
  7. Si la décision était prise d'ouvrir ces fréquences aux dispositifs FRS, quelles mesures devrait prendre Industrie Canada et dans quel délai, pour que le passage se fasse sans difficulté? Comment les utilisateurs actuels du service mobile terrestre devraient-ils être pris en compte?
  8. Existe-t-il d'autres points dont il faut tenir compte?

Les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire part de leurs commentaires sur tous les aspects de ces questions.

5.0 Conclusion

D'après les résultats de la consultation publique mise en oeuvre dans le présent document et l'évaluation interne qui suivra, Industrie Canada décidera s'il est dans l'intérêt du public de prendre des dispositions concernant les dispositifs FRS.

ANNEXE 1- Résumé de l'utilisation des fréquences, par région d'Industrie Canada

Résumé de l'utilisation des fréquences, par région d'Industrie Canada
Total régional
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

6
1856
30

88
4737
95

144
1919
79

38
909
52

10
52
15
Total national Titulaires de licence
286
Mobiles
9473
Stations de base
271
Fréquence (no de canal FRS) Région d'Industrie CanadaNote de bas de page 4
Pacifique Prairies/
T.N.-O.
Ontario Quebec Atlantique
462,5625 (Canal 1)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

3
13
3

102
109
26

5
162
5

1
0
1
467,5625 (Canal 8)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

4
13
4

18
443
17

0

1
0
2
462,5875 (Canal 2)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

4
21
4

4
64
7

0

2
12
2
467,5875 (Canal 9)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

7
1051
16

3
64
7

10
381
23

2
12
2
462,6125 (Ch.3)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

4
55
4

3
59
4

0

1
0
2
467,6125 (Ch.10)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

17
113
6
(1-FSR)Note de bas de page 5
4
62
4

0

1
0
2
462.6375 (Ch.4)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

5
228
5

0

5
46
1

0
467,6375 (Ch.11)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

3
219
3

0

9
291
14

0
462,6625 (Canal 5)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

1
2
1

1
31
1

0

0
467,6625 (Canal 12)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

0

2
1026
10
(1-FSR)Note de bas de page 6
2
31
2

7
27
7

0
462,6875 (Canal 6)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base
(FSR)6
1
0
1

5
45
5

1
4
1

0

1
14
2
467,6875 (Canal 13)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base
(FSR)6
1
0
1

21
196
20

2
57
4

0

1
14
2
462,7125 (Canal 7)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

2
928
14

5
877
6
(1-FSR)6
2
2
3

0

0
467.7125 (Canal 14)
Titulaires de licence
Mobiles
Stations de base

2
928
14

7
878
8
(1-FSR)6
2
9
3
(1-FSR)6
2
2
2

0

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

L'assignation des canaux se fait avec une séparation de 25 kHz à partir de la fréquence centrale de 450,0125 kHz dans la bande 450-470 MHz.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Ces chiffres représentent le nombre total de titulaires de licence et de stations fonctionnant sur les fréquences FRS candidates au Canada. L'annexe 1 donne la répartition de ces titulaires et de leurs licences par fréquence et par région d'Industrie Canada.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

.Selon le PNRH-501, les canaux FRS 1 à 7 sont dans la partie récepteur de base de la bande duplex 460,0375-464,0125 MHz de la bande 450-470 MHz. Les canaux FRS 8 à 14 sont dans la partie récepteur mobile de la bande duplex 465,0375-469,0125 MHz de la bande 450-470 MHz.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Ces chiffres indiquent le nombre actuel de licences et de titulaires de licences pour chaque fréquence FRS dans chaque région d'Industrie Canada. Ces chiffres sont différents des totaux figurant à la section 3.0, car un titulaire de licence peut exploiter des stations dans plusieurs régions ou sur plusieurs fréquences FRS (assignations duplex).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Ne comprend pas les stations d'abonné de fournisseur de services de radiocommunications, exemptées de licence.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Ne comprend pas les stations d'abonné de fournisseur de services de radiocommunications, exemplées de licence.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Date de modification :