Archived — SOR/99-107

Registration
SOR/99-107

Radiocommunication Act

Regulations Amending The Radiocommunication Regulations — P.C. 1999-320

His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 6Footnote a of the Radiocommunication ActFootnote b, hereby makes the annexed Regulations Amending the Radiocommunication Regulations.

Amendments

1. The Radiocommunication Regulations Footnote 1 are amended by adding the following after section 15:

Exemption of Radio Apparatus on Board an Aircraft

15.1 (1) This section applies in respect of an aircraft that is

  1. registered or licensed under an Act of Parliament; or
  2. owned by, or under the direction or control of, Her Majesty in right of Canada or a province.

(2) A radio apparatus that is operated on board an aircraft in the performance of the aeronautical service or the radiodetermination service is exempt from subsection 4(1) of the Act, in respect of a radio licence, if

  1. the operation of the radio apparatus occurs when
    1. the aircraft is within Canada,
    2. the aircraft is outside Canada and the territory of another country, or
    3. the aircraft is in the territory of another country with which Canada has entered into a reciprocal agreement that confers similar privileges on Canadians;
  2. the operation of the radio apparatus is in accordance with the technical requirements for mobile stations operating in the aeronautical service that are specified in section 34.1; and
  3. the radio apparatus meets the applicable standards.

Exemption of Radio Apparatus on Board a Ship or Vessel

15.2 (1) This section applies in respect of a ship or vessel that is

  1. registered or licensed under an Act of Parliament; or
  2. owned by, or under the direction or control of, Her Majesty in right of Canada or a province.

(2) A radio apparatus that is operated on board a ship or vessel in the performance of the maritime service or the radiodetermination service is exempt from subsection 4(1) of the Act, in respect of a radio licence, if

  1. the operation of the radio apparatus occurs when
    1. the ship or vessel is within Canada,
    2. the ship or vessel is outside Canada and the territory of another country, or
    3. the ship or vessel is in the territory of another country with which Canada has entered into a reciprocal agreement that confers similar privileges on Canadians;
  2. the operation of the radio apparatus is in accordance with the technical requirements for mobile stations operating in the maritime service specified in section 34.2; and
  3. the radio apparatus meets the applicable standards.

2. Section 34 of the Regulations is replaced by the following:

34. (1) A person who holds a radio licence authorizing the operation of any radio apparatus in the aeronautical service or maritime service may permit another person to operate the radio apparatus only if the other person holds the appropriate radio operator certificate set out in column I of any of items 1 and 3 to 14 of Schedule II.

(2) A person who operates any radio apparatus that is exempt from licensing in accordance with section 15.1 in the case of the aeronautical service, or section 15.2 in the case of the maritime service, may permit another person to operate the radio apparatus only if the other person holds the appropriate radio operator certificate set out in column I of any of items 1 and 3 to 14 of Schedule II.

Operation in the Aeronautical Service

34.1 A person shall operate any radio apparatus on board an aircraft in the aeronautical service in accordance with the Technical Requirements for the Operation of Mobile Stations in the Aeronautical Service, issued by the Minister, as amended from time to time.

Operation in the Maritime Service

34.2 A person shall operate any radio apparatus on board a ship or vessel in the maritime service in accordance with the Technical Requirements for the Operation of Mobile Stations in the Maritime Service, issued by the Minister, as amended from time to time.

Coming Into Force

3. These Regulations come into force on


Footnotes

Footnote a

S.C. 1989, c. 17, s. 4

Return to footnote a referrer

Footnote b

S.C. 1989, c. 17, s. 2

Return to footnote b referrer

Footnote 1

SOR/96-484

Return to footnote 1 referrer


Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement
(This statement is not part of the Regulation.)

Description

Industry Canada manages the use and development of the radio frequency spectrum for such essential radiocommunications services as over-the-air broadcasting, mobile radio, satellite, cellular, public safety, and the aeronautical and maritime services.

This initiative is directed at the aeronautical and maritime services. Currently, Industry Canada issues approximately eighty thousand individual radio licences to people operating radios in these services. The operation of radio apparatus is authorized to provide for the safety, navigation and other operations of aircraft or ships as well as the exchange of messages for the public.

These amendments to the Radiocommunication Regulations waive the requirement for obtaining a radio licence, in the aeronautical or maritime service, in order to operate radio apparatus (a mobile station) on board an aircraft, a ship, or a vessel provided that the apparatus complies with the following exemption criteria:

  1. restrictions relating to the international area of operation of the aircraft, ship or vessel;
  2. technical requirements for the operation of mobile stations in the service to ensure proper operation of the radio apparatus in the applicable frequency bands; and
  3. the use of approved radio apparatus that meets applicable standards.

The criteria were selected to exempt as many mobile radio stations as possible based upon sound spectrum management principles and to not have a negative impact on safety in the aeronautical and maritime services. The exemption criteria also recognize that the majority of the licensees that operate mobile stations in the aeronautical or maritime services are granted similar operating privileges as a term and condition of their licence.

For example, in the aeronautical service the terms of the licence are set out in the document "Technical Requirements for the Operation of Mobile Stations in the Aeronautical Service". The common set of obligations in this document regarding the use of the frequency bands, identifying the mobile station and using approved equipment facilitates delicensing the majority of mobile stations that operate in this radiocommunication service in Canada. Mobile stations in the maritime service are treated in a similar way.

Delicensing rather than deregulation of these types of stations effectively removes the administrative burden created by issuing licences and paying radio licence fees. It also improves the efficiency of the Department's spectrum management programme without compromising the regulatory regime for these services.

Effective regulatory control in the aeronautical and maritime service will be maintained by requiring the radio operators in these services to hold an operator's certificate and to share the use of internationally allocated radio frequency bands used exclusively for these services. The use of standard radio equipment that meets the requirements of Industry Canada and the Department of Transport also ensures effective control. In short, the operators of these stations must continue to comply with any Acts or regulations governing their use.

The exemption may apply to the private and commercial operators of aircraft, ships and vessels. Those engaged in domestic recreational flying, boating, or as commercial regional airline carriers or in commercial fishing may benefit from this initiative. For example, most of the privately operated small aircraft within Canada would be exempted. Fewer commercially operated aircraft would qualify because they may fly international routes.

Licences for radio apparatus on board aircraft and ships will continue to be issued to comply with certain international treaty obligations. For example, a licence will be required for radio apparatus on board an aircraft that is registered in Canada and that flies in the territory of another country. The current annual radio licence fee of $36 per station will apply.

A licence will also be required for radio apparatus on board a ship or vessel that is registered in Canada and that travels in the territory of another country. Ships or vessels compulsorily fitted with radio apparatus in accordance with the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, 1974 or the Department of Transport's Canada Shipping Act may continue to require a licence. In each case, the current annual radio licence fee of $36 per station will apply.

In the aeronautical or maritime service, fixed stations – those located at an airport or at a port – will still need to be licensed and pay the current annual renewal fee of $41. Licensing of fixed stations in these services ensures compliance with international and domestic frequency coordination requirements.

A radio licence will also be required for aircraft and ship stations that use frequencies in the land mobile service and the applicable fees will be charged.

It is anticpated that these regulatory amendments will come into force to correspond with the expiry date of existing licences and the beginning of the next annual licence renewal.

Alternatives

Three alternatives were considered: keeping the status quo, adopting a one time licensing regime and seeking partners to assume licensing responsibilities on behalf of the Department.

Continuing with the existing practice of requiring radio station applications and collecting fees from the majority of licensees in these services is no longer acceptable. The Department has determined that for certain radiocommunication services individual licences are not needed to manage the radio spectrum and control the use of the radio apparatus.

One time rather than annual licensing of aircraft and ship radio apparatus would still require significant program resources. This option does not significantly reduce the regulatory paper burden of administering and issuing individual licences because of the large number of transfers of ownership of pleasure boats and aircraft.

Partnerships with Transport Canada and NAVCAN to assume licensing responsibility were discussed. Officials from both organizations indicated they did not see the value added by them undertaking the licensing of radio apparatus on board aircraft. A similar response was also expressed by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans and Transport Canada in respect of undertaking the licensing of ship radio stations.

Benefits and Costs

Benefits

The Department will benefit by yearly savings in reducing costs of approximately $116 K associated with issuing new licences, making amendments and printing and mailing renewal invoices and licences. The spectrum management programme resources currently involved with these transactional activities can be deployed to implement new radiocommunication services.

The operators of these stations that meet the exemption criteria will no longer need to obtain a radio licence or pay radio licence fees. This reduces the cost for all the parties and eliminates delay in obtaining aeronautical and maritime radiocommunication services.

No adverse impact upon the spectrum is anticipated.

Costs

Revenue from licence fees will decrease by approximately $2.67 M with $600 K attributed to the aeronautical service and $2.07 M for the maritime service. This decrease in licence fee revenue is about 1 % of the total licence fee revenue for the 1998-1999 fiscal year.

Consultation

Consultations with other government Departments and organizations have been very favourable during Industry Canada's review of the licensing policy for radio equipment onboard aircraft and ships in Canada. The following views have been expressed while assessing the level of support for the initiative.

The Air Line Pilots Association-Canada has no objection to abolishing the requirements for private operators to have a radio licence for domestic operations provided that the radio equipment meets all the appropriate technical standards.

The Canadian Owners and Pilots Association fully supports the initiative and applauds the Department's efforts to seek a reciprocal operating agreement with the American Authorities that will allow exempt Canadian stations to operate in the United States without having to obtain a radio licence. The Americans have already eliminated their domestic licensing requirements.

Retaining equipment certification and technical operational requirements as part of the exemption criteria satisfy NAVCAN concerns over the proposal from either an Air Traffic Services operational perspective or a technical standard perspective. Transport Canada Civil Aviation also supports the initiative as the total effect of the exemption is solely to eliminate the document (licence) for domestic operation and the associated fee.

Officials from the Department of Transport Marine and Department of Fisheries and Oceans reviewed the proposal and aniticipate no negative impact on their respective marine programs.

During a presentation to the Canadian Marine Association of Council (CMAC), representatives of the commercial fishing industry and members of the Global Maritime Distress and Safety System subcommittee expressed their support for the proposal to de emphasize radio station licensing for the bulk of the marine community.

The Canadian Power and Sail Squadron support the proposal provided it meets with the Canadian Coast Guard approval and that operator proficiency certification is maintained. The elimination of radio station licences and the associated fees may improve safety on the water by acting as an incentive for boaters to install a radio on their vessel and respond to distress calls.

Compliance and Enforcement

Although an operator's radio apparatus in the aeronautical or maritime service is exempt from radio licensing requirements, the operator of the apparatus is still subject to the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations made thereunder. Improved radio equipment standards, the interest of the operator in maintaining the apparatus for purposes of safety, and regulatory sanctions, such as ticketing issued under the Contraventions Act, where appropriate, will continue to ensure the orderly management of the radio frequency spectrum for the aeronautical and maritime services.

Contact

Mr. Darius Breau, Manager
Spectrum Management Operations Directorate
Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8
telephone: 613-990-4736;
Fax: 613-952-9871;
Internet: breau.darius@ic.gc.ca
Date modified:

Archivé — DORS/99-107

Enregistrement
DORS/99-107

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Règlement modifiant le règlement sur la radiocommunication — C.P. 1999-320

Sur recommandation du ministre de l'Industrie et en vertu de l'article  6note a de la Loi sur la radiocommunicationnote b, Son Excellence le Gouverneur général en conseil prend le Règlement modifiant le Réglement sur la radiocommunication, ci-après.

Modifications

1. Le Règlement sur la radiocommunicationnote 1 est modifié par adjonction, après l'article 15, de ce qui suit :

Exemption des appareils radio à bord des aéronefs

15.1 (1) Le présent article s'applique à tout aéronef qui, selon le cas ,:

  1. est immatriculé ou fait l'objet d'un permis aux termes d'une loi fédérale;
  2. appartient à Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou d'une province, ou est placé sous sa responsabilité.

(2) L'appareil radio utilisé à bord d'un aéronef aux fins du service aéronautique ou du service de radiorepérage est soustrait à l'application du paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi, en ce qui concerne la licence radio, lorsque les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  1. il est utilisé lorsque l'aéronef est :
    1. au Canada,
    2. à l'extérieur du Canada et du territoire de tout autre pays,
    3. dans le territoire d'un autre pays qui a conclu avec le Canada un accord de réciprocité accordant les mêmes privilèges aux Canadiens;
  2. son utilisation est conforme aux exigences techniques applicables aux stations mobiles fonctionnant dans le cadre du service aéronautique et visées à l'article 34.1;
  3. il satisfait aux normes applicables.

Exemption des appareils radio à bord des navires ou bâtiments

15.2 (1) Le présent article s'applique à tout navire ou bâtiment qui, selon le cas :

  1. est immatriculé ou fait l'objet d'un permis aux termes d'une loi fédérale;
  2. soit appartient à Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou d'une province, ou est placé sous sa responsabilité.

(2) L'appareil radio utilisé à bord d'un navire ou d'un bâtiment aux fins du service maritime ou du service de radiorepérage est soustrait à l'application du paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi, en ce qui concerne la licence radio, lorsque les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  1. il est utilisé lorquue le navire ou le bâtiment est :
    1. au Canada,
    2. à l'extérieur du Canada et du territoire de tout autre pays,
    3. dans le territoire d'un autre pays qui a conclu avec le Canada un accord de réciprocité accordant les mêmes privilèges aux Canadiens;
  2. son utilisation est conforme aux exigences techniques applicables aux stations mobiles fonctionnant dans le cadre du service maritime et visées à l'article 34.2;
  3. il satisfait aux normes applicables.

2. l'article 34 du même règlement est épar ce qui suit :

34. (1) Le titulaire d'une licence radio autorisant l'utilisation d'un appareil radio aux fins du service aéronautique ou du service maritime ne peut permettre à nul autre que le titulaire du certificat d'opérateur radio applicable mentionné à la colonne I d'un des articles 1 et 3 à 14 de l'annexe II de faire fonctionner cet appareil.

(2) La personne qui utilise un appareil radio exempté d'une licence en vertu de l'article 15.1 en ce qui concerne le service aéronautique ou de l'article 15.2 en ce qui concerne le service maritime ne peut permettre à nul autre que le titulaire du certificat d'opérateur radio applicable mentionné à la colonne I d'un des articles 1 et 3 à 14 de l'annexe II de faire fonctionner cet appareil.

Utilisation dans le cadre du service aéronautique

34.1 La personne qui utilise un appareil radio à bord d'un aéronef aux fins du service aéronautique se conforme aux Exigences techniques pour l'exploitation des stations mobiles dans le service aéronautique, publiées par le ministre, compte tenu de leurs modifications successives.

Utilisation dans le cadre du service maritime

34.2 La personne qui utilise un appareil radio à bord d'un navire ou bâtiment aux fins du service maritime se conforme aux Exigences techniques pour l'exploitation des stations mobiles dans le service maritime, publiées par le ministre, compte tenu de leurs modifications successives.

Entrée en vigueur

3. Le présent règlement entre en vigueur le


Notes en bas de page

Note a

S.C. 1989, c. 17, s. 4

retour à la référence de note en bas de page a

Note b

S.C. 1989, c. 17, s. 2

retour à la référence de note en bas de page b

Note 1

SOR/96-484

retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1


Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation
(Ce résumé ne fait pas partie du règlement.)

Description

Industrie Canada gère l'utilisation et le développement du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques pour des services de radiocommunication essentiels comme les services de radiodiffusion en direct, de radio mobile, de satellite, de celullaires et de sécurité publique, ainsi que les services aéronautique et maritime.

Ce projet vise les services aéronautique et maritime. À l'heure actuelle, Industrie Canada délivre environ 80 000 licences radio individuelles à des personnes qui utilisent des radios dans ces services. L'utilisation d'un appareil radio est autorisée afin d'assurer la sécurité, la navigation et d'autres activités des aéronefs ou navires, ainsi que l'échange de messages pour le compte du public.

Les modifications du Règlement sur la radiocommunication suppriment l'obligation d'obtenir une licence radio, dans les services aéronautique ou maritime, pour utiliser un appareil radio (station mobile) à bord d'un aéronef, d'un navire ou d'un bâtiment, à condition que l'appareil respecte les critères d'exemption suivants  :

  1. les restrictions relatives au secteur international d'utilisation de l'aéronef, du navire ou du bâtiment;
  2. les exigences techniques visant l'utilisation de stations mobiles dans le service afin d'assurer le bon fonctionnement des appareils radio dans les bandes de fréquence applicables;
  3. l'utilisation d'appareils radio approuvés qui respectent les normes applicables.

Les critères ont été choisis afin d'exempter autant de stations de radio mobile que possible, en fonction de sains principes de gestion du spectre, et de n'entraîner aucun effet négatif sur la sécurité des services aéronautique et maritime. Les critères d'exemption reconnaissent également que la majorité des titulaires de licence qui utilisent des stations mobiles dans les services aéronautique ou maritime jouissent des mêmes privilèges d'utilisation que dans le cadre de leur licence.

Par exemple, dans le service aéronautique, les modalités de la licence sont énoncées dans un document intitulé « Exigences techniques pour l'exploitation des stations mobiles dans le service aéronautique ». La série d'obligations courantes figurant dans ce document relatif à l'utilisation des bandes de fréquence, visant l'identification de la station mobile et l'utilisation d'appareils approuvés, facilite l'élimination des licences pour la majorité des stations mobiles qui fonctionnent dans ce service de radiocommunication au Canada. Les stations mobiles du service maritime sont traitées de la même façon.

L'élimination de la licence plutôt que la déréglementation de ces types de stations supprime en fait le fardeau administratif que représentent la délivrance de licences et le versement de droits de licence radio. En outre, elle améliore l'efficacité du programme de gestion du spectre du Ministère sans compromettre le régime réglementaire visant ces services.

L'efficacité du contrôle réglementaire dans les services aéronautique et maritime sera maintenue par l'obligation faite aux opérateurs radio de ces services de détenir un certificat d'opérateur et de partager l'utilisation de bandes de fréquence radio accordées internationalement servant exclusivement à ces services. L'utilisation d'un équipement radio standard qui répond aux exigences d'Industrie Canada et du ministère des Transports assure également un contrôle efficace. Bref, les exploitants de ces stations doivent continuer de respecter les lois et les règlements régissant les stations.

L'exemption peut s'appliquer aux exploitants privés et commerciaux d'aéronefs, de navires et de bâtiments. Les personnes faisant des vols récréatifs ou du bateau de plaisance au pays, les transporteurs aériens régionaux commerciaux ou les intervenants du secteur de la pêche commerciale peuvent bénéficier de ce projet. Par exemple, la majorité des petits aéronefs exploités par des particuliers au Canada seraient exemptés. Un moins grand nombre d'aéronefs exploités commercialement seraient exemptés parce qu'ils peuvent emprunter des routes internationales.

Les licences pour les appareils radio à bord des aéronefs et des navires continueront d'être délivrées pour que soient respectées certaines obligations imposées par les traités internationaux. Par exemple, une licence sera nécessaire pour les appareils radio à bord d'un aéronef immatriculé au Canada, qui vole dans le territoire d'un autre pays. Le droit de licence radio annuel actuel de 36 $ par station s'appliquera.

Une licence sera également nécessaire pour les appareils radio à bord d'un navire ou d'un bâtiment immatriculé au Canada, qui circule dans le territoire d'un autre pays. Les navires ou bâtiments munis obligatoirement d'un appareil radio conformément à la Convention internationale pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer de 1974 ou à la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada de Transports Canada peuvent continuer d'avoir besoin d'une licence. Dans chaque cas, le droit de licence radio annuel actuel de 36 $ par station s'appliquera.

Dans les services aéronautique ou maritime, les stations fixes, celles situées dans un aéroport ou un port, devront toujours avoir une licence et verser le droit de renouvellement annuel actuel de 41 $. La licence des stations fixes de ces services assure la conformité aux exigences internationales et nationales visant la coordination des fréquences.

Une licence radio sera également nécessaire pour les stations à bord des aéronefs et des navires qui utilisent des fréquences du service mobile terrestre, et les droits applicables seront demandés.

L'entrée en vigueur de ces modifications est prévue pour le afin de correspondre à la date d'expiration des licences existantes et au début du renouvellement des licences annuelles suivantes.

Solutions envisagées

Trois solutions ont été envisagées : le maintien du statu quo, l'adoption d'un régime de licences permanentes et la recherche de partenaires qui assumeraient les fonctions d'octroi de licences pour le Ministère.

Le maintien de la pratique existante consistant à exiger une demande de licence et à percevoir des droits de la majorité des titulaires de licence de ces services n'est plus acceptable. Le Ministère a décidé que, pour certains services de radiocommunication, les licences individuelles ne sont pas nécessaires à la gestion du spectre et au contrôle de l'utilisation des appareils radio.

L'octroi d'une licence permanente plutôt qu'annuelle pour les appareils radio à bord d'un aéronef ou d'un navire exigerait malgré tout d'importantes ressources du programme. Cette option ne diminue pas de façon significative le fardeau administratif imposé par le Règlement, qui consiste à administrer et à délivrer des licences individuelles, en raison du nombre élevé de transferts de propriété à l'égard des bateaux de plaisance et des aéronefs.

L'établissement d'un partenariat avec Transports Canada et NAVCAN visant la délivrance des licences a été discuté. Des représentants des deux organisations ont indiqué qu'ils ne voyaient pas la valeur qu'ils ajoutaient en assumant la fonction d'octroyer les licences pour les appareils radio à bord des aéronefs. Les ministères des Pêches et des Océans et Transports Canada ont répondu dans le même sens à l'égard des licences pour les stations radio à bord des navires.

Avantages et coûts

Avantages

Le Ministère réalisera des économies annuelles par la réduction d'environ 116 000 $ des frais liés à la délivrance de nouvelles licences, aux modifications ainsi qu'à l'impression et à l'envoi par la poste des factures et des licences de renouvellement. Les ressources du programme de gestion du spectre affectées à l'heure actuelle à ces activités provisoires peuvent être déployées afin de mettre en oeuvre les nouveaux services de radiocommunication.

L'exploitant des stations qui remplissent les critères d'exemption n'aura plus à obtenir ou à payer une licence radio, ce qui permettra de réduire les coûts pour toutes les parties et d'éliminer les retards dans l'obtention des services de radiocommunication aéronautique et maritime.

Aucune incidence négative sur le spectre n'est prévue.

Coûts

Les recettes résultant des droits de licence baisseront d'environ 2,67 millions de dollars, dont 600 000 $ pour le service aéronautique et 2,07 millions de dollars pour le service maritime. Cette baisse correspond environ 1 p. 100 du total des recettes résultant des droits de licence pour l'exercice 1998-1999.

Consultations

Les consultations effectuées auprès d'autres ministères gouvernementaux et organismes se sont révélées très favorables lors de l'examen, par Industrie Canada, de sa politique d'octroi des licences pour l'équipement radio à bord des aéronefs et des navires au Canada. Les opinions suivantes ont été recueillies lors de l'évaluation de l'appui donné au projet.

La Air Line Pilots Association-Canada ne s'oppose pas à l'abolition de l'obligation, pour les exploitants privés, d'avoir une licence radio pour les vols intérieurs, à condition que l'équipement radio respecte toutes les normes techniques applicables.

La Canadian Owners and Pilots Association appuie entièrement le projet et applaudit aux efforts du Ministère qui tente de conclure une entente d'utilisation réciproque avec les autorités américaines qui permettront aux stations canadiennes exemptées d'exercer aux États-Unis sans avoir à obtenir une licence radio. Les Américains ont déjà éliminé leurs exigences à cet égard pour les vols intérieurs.

Le maintien de l'approbation de l'équipement et des exigences opérationnelles techniques parmi les critères d'exemption répond aux préoccupations de NAVCAN relatives à la proposition, tant du point de vue opérationnel des services de la circulation aérienne que de celui des normes techniques. Transports Canada Aviation civile appuie également le projet, car l'exemption n'a comme effet que d'éliminer le document (licence) pour les vols intérieurs et le droit connexe.

Les représentants du Groupe marine des Transports et des Pêches et des Océans ont examiné la proposition et ne prévoient aucune incidence négative sur leur programme maritime respectif.

Au cours d'une présentation au Conseil consultatif maritime canadien (CCMC), des représentants de l'industrie de la pêche commerciale et des membres du sous-comité du Global Maritime Distress and Safety System ont manifesté leur appui à la proposition de supprimer les licences relatives aux stations radio, pour l'ensemble du secteur maritime.

Les Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance appuient la proposition à condition que celle-ci reçoive l'approbation de la Garde côtière canadienne et que l'attestation de compétence des opérateurs soit maintenue. L'élimination de la licence de station radio et du droit connexe peut améliorer la sécurité sur les eaux en incitant les propriétaires de bateau à installer une radio sur leur bâtiment et à répondre aux appels de détresse.

Respect et exécution

Même si l'appareil radio d'un exploitant du service aéronautique ou maritime est exempté des exigences visant les licences radio, l'exploitant de l'appareil est toujours visé par la Loi sur la radiocommunication et le Règlement sur la radiocommunication. L'amélioration des normes applicables à l'équipement radio, l'intérêt de l'exploitant à entretenir l'appareil à des fins de sécurité et les sanctions réglementaires, par exemple les contraventions données en application de la Loi sur les contraventions, le cas échéant, continueront d'assurer la gestion ordonnée du spectre des fréquences radio pour les services aéronautique et maritime.

Personne-ressource

M. Darius Breau, gestionnaire
Direction de l'exploitation de la gestion du spectre
Direction générale de la réglementation des radiocaommunications et de la radiodiffusion
Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8
Tél. : 613-990-4736; téléc. : 613-952-9871;
Internet : breau.darius@ic.gc.ca
Date de modification :