Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United Mexican States Concerning the Provision of Satellite Services

Table of Contents

Note

All persons making use of this document are reminded that it is provided only for convenience of reference and is for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. For more details, please contact the International Telecommunications Policy and Coordination Directorate of the Telecommunications Policy Branch. This Agreement and associated Protocols have been negotiated under the authority of the Government of Canada by Industry Canada.


The Government of Canada and the Government of the United Mexican States, hereinafter referred to as the "Parties";

Recognizing the sovereign right of both countries to manage and regulate their satellite communications;

Conscious of the mutual benefit to be derived from the establishment of an agreement concerning access to the satellite services markets in each country in accordance with their respective domestic laws and regulations, and international commitments;

Taking into account the provisions of Article 42 of the Constitution of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), Geneva, 1992 as amended, concerning "Special Arrangements";

Have agreed as follows:

Article I — Objectives and Scope

The objectives of this Agreement are:

  1. To facilitate the provision of services to, from and within Canada and the United Mexican States via commercial satellites that each Party licenses and coordinates pursuant to ITU Radio Regulations, and
  2. To establish the conditions relating to the use in both countries of satellites licensed in Canada and in the United Mexican States.

The Parties agree that:

  1. The provisions of this Agreement are without prejudice to the rights and obligations of Canada and of the United Mexican States under the Constitution and Convention of the ITU (Geneva, 1992) and its Radio Regulations, the North American Free Trade Agreement and the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) of the World Trade Organization, in particular the Fourth Protocol on Basic Telecommunication Services, and
  2. This Agreement applies to various Satellite Services except for those which are regulated under the Broadcasting Act of Canada, the Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones and the Ley Federal de Radio y Televisión of the United Mexican States, where such services are intended for direct reception by the public.
  3. Protocols annexed to this Agreement will be established to address various satellite services except for those services which are regulated under the Broadcasting Act of Canada, the Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones and the Ley Federal de Radio y Televisión of the United Mexican States, where such services are intended for direct reception by the public.

Article II — Definitions

As used in this Agreement and annexed Protocols, it is understood that:

  1. "Blanket Licence" means an authorization from a Party or its Administration, as appropriate, for an indeterminate number of technically identical Earth Stations for a specific Satellite Service.
  2. "Earth Station" means a station located either on the Earth's surface or within the major portion of the Earth's atmosphere and intended for communications with one or more Satellites, or with one or more Earth Stations of the same kind by means of one or more reflecting Satellites or other objects in space.
  3. "Licence" means the concession, authorization, or permit granted to a Person by a Party's Administration, which confers the authority to operate a Satellite or Earth Station, to provide Satellite Services, or to utilize the radio frequency spectrum.
  4. "Person" means a natural or legal person.
  5. "Protocol" means a document annexed to this Agreement, in which are included the conditions for the transmission and reception of signals of a specific Satellite Service.
  6. "Satellite" means a Space Station providing commercial communication services licensed by a Party and whose operation is coordinated and implemented pursuant to the ITU Radio Regulations by the same Party or its Administration.
  7. "Satellite Network" means a Satellite System or part of a Satellite System, consisting of only one Satellite and the cooperating Earth Stations.
  8. "Satellite Operator" means the Person licensed by a Party to operate a Satellite Space Station to provide Satellite Transmission Capacity.
  9. "Satellite Service" means any radiocommunication service involving the use of one or more Satellites.
  10. "Satellite Service Provider" means a Person licensed by a Party, to provide Satellite Services within it's territory, territorial waters or national airspace.
  11. "Satellite System" means a space system using one or more Satellites.
  12. "Satellite Transmission Capacity" means the portion of the Satellite which is able to be used to communicate in the provision of Satellite Services. The term does not include telemetry, tracking and telecommand functions of the Satellite.
  13. "Space Station" means a station located on an object which is beyond, is intended to go beyond, or has been beyond the major portion of the Earth's atmosphere.

Article III — Implementing Entities

  1. The entities responsible for implementing this Agreement, herein referred to as the Authorities, shall be, for Canada, Industry Canada and for the United Mexican States, the Secretariat of Communication and Transports.
  2. Authorities may designate one or more entities, herein referred to as Administrations, to be responsible for implementing the Protocols, which are or will be included in the Annex to this Agreement. In those cases where an Authority designates more than one Administration, it should establish only one Administration to be responsible for coordination with the Administration of the other Party.

Article IV — Conditions of Use

  1. Canada and the United Mexican States each have laws, regulations and policies that govern Canadian and Mexican entities that provide Satellite Services to, from and within their respective territories. The Parties have analysed and compared their respective laws on these matters. On the basis of this comparison and analysis, the Parties have concluded that it is appropriate to enter into a bilateral agreement concerning the transmission and reception of signals from Satellites for the provision of Satellite Services in both countries, and to establish the respective Protocols to this Agreement in order to address particular kinds of Satellite Services.

    Therefore, pursuant to this Agreement and subject to the limitations of Article I(3), Article I(4), and Article I(5):

    • 1.1 Mexican Satellites will be permitted to provide service to, from and within Canada, in conformance with applicable provisions of Canadian law, to the extent that these services enhance competition in the Canadian market for Satellite Services, and to the extent that these services enhance public interest objectives, and reciprocity is afforded to Canadian Satellite Operators in the United Mexican States.
    • 1.2 Canadian Satellites will be permitted to provide service to, from and within the United Mexican States, in conformance with applicable provisions of Mexican law, to the extent that these services enhance competition in the Mexican market for Satellite Services, and to the extent that these services enhance public interest objectives, and reciprocity is afforded to Mexican Satellite Operators in Canada.
  2. The conditions for the transmission and reception of signals from Satellites licensed by each Party or Administration shall be as agreed in the Protocols which shall comply with national laws and regulations as amended from time to time, and shall be annexed as an integral part of this Agreement.
  3. For the objectives of this Agreement, the Parties agree that the Mexican or Canadian entities that operate commercial Satellites and Earth Stations may be established with either public or private participation in conformity with the legal and regulatory provisions of each country. A Party shall not require a Satellite Operator licensed by the other Party to obtain an additional licence for either the construction or the operation of the Satellite. Licences for Earth Stations and Satellite Services must comply with national laws and regulations, as amended from time to time.

Article V — ITU Frequency Coordination

  1. The ITU Radio Regulations are the basis for the frequency coordination of Satellite Networks and Systems.
  2. In any case, after a Party has initiated the required coordination procedures pursuant to the ITU Radio Regulations, the Parties will, in good faith, undertake to effect the coordination of the concerned Satellites in a timely, cooperative and mutually acceptable manner.
  3. The Parties agree that the technical coordination procedures shall be carried out for purposes of effectuating the most efficient use of the satellite orbits and the associated frequencies for satellite use, and agree to cooperate in the technical coordination of new satellites to accommodate the growing national and international communications needs of the satellite industry of each country.

Article VI — Foreign Ownership

Foreign ownership restrictions on Earth Stations and Satellite Service Providers operating within the territory of a Party are defined by the laws and regulations of each Party. For Canada, foreign ownership restrictions and provisions are contained in the Telecommunications Act, the Radiocommunication Act, the Broadcasting Act, the Investment Canada Act and their subordinate Regulations, as amended from time to time. For the United Mexican States, foreign ownership restrictions are at present contained in Article 12 of the Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones published in 1995, and the Ley de Inversión Extranjera published in 1993.

Article VII — Essential Security Exception

This Agreement and its Protocols shall not preclude the application by either Party of actions that it considers necessary for the protection of its essential security interests or to the fulfilment of its obligations under the Charter of the United Nations with respect to the maintenance or restoration of international peace or security.

Article VIII — Cooperation

The Parties shall cooperate in order to ensure the enforcement of their respective laws and regulations related to the provisions of this Agreement and the annexed Protocols.

Article IX — Amendment of the Agreement and Protocols

  1. This Agreement may be amended by written agreement of the Parties. Amendments shall enter into force on the date on which both Parties have notified each other by exchange of diplomatic notes that they have complied with the requirements of their respective national legislation.
  2. The annexed Protocols may be amended and additional Protocols concluded by written agreement of the Administrations. Such amendments and additional Protocols shall enter into force upon on the date of signing and shall be included in the Annex to this Agreement by the Parties.

Article X — Entry into Force and Duration

  1. This Agreement shall enter into force on the date on which both Parties have notified each other by exchange of diplomatic notes that they have complied with the requirements of their respective national legislation.
  2. This Agreement shall remain in force until it is replaced by a new Agreement or until it is terminated by either Party in accordance with Article XI of this Agreement.

Article XI — Termination of the Agreement and Protocols

  1. This Agreement may be terminated by mutual agreement of the Parties, or by either Party by written notice of termination to the other Party through diplomatic channels. Such notice of termination shall enter into effect six months after receipt of the notice.
  2. Any of the Protocols annexed to this Agreement may be terminated by agreement of the Administrations, or by either Administration by written notice of termination to the other Administration(s). Such notice of termination shall enter into effect six months after receipt of the notice. If more than one Administration has been designated pursuant to Article III(2)>, the Administration responsible for coordination with the Administration of the other Party shall provide such notice. Upon termination, the Annex to this Agreement shall be appropriately modified by the Parties.

In witness whereof, the respective representatives have signed the present Agreement.

Done in duplicate at Mexico City, this , in the English, French and Spanish languages, all texts being equally authentic.

For the Government of Canada
For the Government of the United Mexican States
original signed by
original signed by
S. E. Gooch
Ambassador of Canada in Mexico
Carlos Ruiz Sacristán
Secretary of Communications and Transportation
Date modified:

Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique concernant la fourniture de services par satellite

Table des matières

Remarque

On rappelle aux lecteurs que les documents de la présente codification ont été réunis aux seules fins d'en faciliter la consultation. La présente codification est un guide à l'intention des personnes qui s'occupent de radiocommunications au Canada. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour en assurer l'exactitude, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou implicitement. Pour plus de détails, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction de la Politique et coordination des télécommunications internationales de la Direction générale de la Politique des télécommunications.


Le Gouvernement du Canada et Le Gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique, ci-après appelés les « parties »;

Reconnaissant le droit souverain des deux pays de gérer et de réglementer leurs communications par satellite;

Conscients qu'il existe un avantage mutuel à retirer de l'établissement d'un Accord concernant l'accès aux marchés de services par satellite dans chaque pays conformément à leurs lois et règlements internes respectifs ainsi qu'à leurs engagements internationaux;

Prenant en considération les dispositions de l'Article 42 de la Constitution de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), Genève, 1992, telle que modifiée, relatives aux « arrangements particuliers »;

Conviennent de ce qui suit :

Article I — Objectifs et portée

Les objectifs de cet Accord présente entente sont les suivants :

  1. Faciliter la prestation de services à destination et en provenance du Canada et des États-Unis du Mexique, et sur le territoire de ces pays, par l'intermédiaire de satellites commerciaux faisant l'objet d'une licence et d'une coordination de la part de chaque partie aux termes du Règlement des télécommunications de l'UIT;
  2. Établir les conditions relatives à l'utilisation, dans les deux pays, des satellites faisant l'objet de licences octroyées par le Canada et les États-Unis du Mexique.

Les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

  1. Les dispositions de cet Accord présente entente sont établies sous toute réserve des droits et obligations du Canada et des États-Unis du Mexique aux termes de la Constitution et de la Convention de l'UIT (Genève, 1992) et de son Règlement sur les télécommunications, de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain et de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, en particulier du quatrième protocole de l'AGCS;
  2. Cet Accord s'applique aux divers services par satellite, à l'exception de ceux qui sont régis par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion du Canada, la Ley Federal de Telecommunicaciones et la Ley federal de Radio y Television des États-Unis du Mexique, lorsque ces services sont destinés à être reçus directement par le public.
  3. Des annexes jointes à cet Accord seront établies pour régler la question des divers services par satellite, à l'exception de ceux qui sont régis par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion du Canada, la Ley Federal de Telecommunicaciones et la Ley federal de Radio y Television des États-Unis du Mexique, lorsque ces services sont destinés à être reçus directement par le public.

Article II — Définitions

Les définitions suivantes s'appliquent à cet Accord et aux protocoles qui y sont annexés.

  1. « licence générale » Autorisation d'une partie ou de son administration, le cas échéant, visant un nombre indéterminé de stations terrestres techniquement identiques en vue d'un service par satellite spécifique.
  2. « station terrestre » Station située à la surface de la terre ou dans l'une des principales parties de l'atmosphère terrestre et destinée aux communications avec un ou plusieurs satellites ou avec une ou plusieurs stations terrestres du même type, au moyen d'un ou de plusieurs satellites réflecteurs ou d'autres objets spatiaux.
  3. « licence » Concession, autorisation ou permis octroyé à une personne par l'administration d'une partie et conférant le pouvoir d'exploiter un satellite ou une station terrestre, de fournir des services par satellite, ou d'utiliser le spectre des radiofréquences.
  4. « personne » Personne physique ou morale.
  5. « protocole » Document annexé à la présente entente et dans lequel figurent les conditions de transmission et de réception des signaux d'un service par satellite spécifique.
  6. « satellite » Station spatiale offrant des services de communication commerciale faisant l'objet d'une licence octroyée par une partie et dont l'exploitation est coordonnée et mise en œuvre aux termes du Règlement sur les radiocommunications de l'UIT, par la même partie ou son administration.
  7. « réseau de satellite » Système de satellite ou partie d'un système de satellite consistant en un seul satellite et les stations terrestres coopérantes.
  8. « exploitant de satellite » Personne à qui une licence a été octroyée par une partie en vue de l'exploitation d'une station spatiale de satellite pour assurer une capacité de transmission par satellite.
  9. « service par satellite » Tout service de radiocommunication nécessitant l'utilisation d'un ou de plusieurs satellites.
  10. « fournisseur de services par satellite » Personne à qui une partie a octroyé une licence pour fournir des services par satellite sur son territoire, dans ses eaux territoriales ou dans son espace aérien national.
  11. « système de satellite » Système spatial utilisant un ou plusieurs satellites.
  12. « capacité de transmission par satellite » Partie du satellite qui peut être utilisée pour communiquer dans le cadre de la prestation de services par satellite. Cette expression n'inclut pas les fonctions de télémétrie, de localisation et de télécommande du satellite.
  13. « station spatiale » Station située sur un objet qui est, qui a été ou qui est destiné à être situé au-delà de la partie principale de l'atmosphère terrestre.

Article III — Entités chargées de la mise en œuvre

  1. Les entités chargées de la mise en œuvre de cet Accord, ci-après appelées les autorités, sont, pour le Canada, le ministère de l'Industrie, et pour les États-Unis du Mexique, le Secretaria de Comunicaciones y Transportes.
  2. Les autorités peuvent désigner une ou plusieurs entités, ci-après appelées les administrations, qui seront chargées de la mise en œuvre des protocoles, lesquels sont ou seront inclus dans l'annexe jointe à la présente entente. Dans les cas où une autorité désigne plus d'une administration, une seule devrait être chargée de la coordination avec l'administration de l'autre partie.

Article IV — Conditions d'utilisation

  1. Le Canada et les États-Unis du Mexique disposent chacun de lois, de règlements et de politiques régissant les entités canadiennes et mexicaines qui fournissent des services par satellite à destination et en provenance de leurs territoires respectifs et dans ceux-ci. Après une comparaison de leurs lois respectives dans ces domaines, les parties ont déterminé qu'il convenait de conclure un accord bilatéral concernant la transmission et la réception de signaux émanant de satellites en vue de la prestation de services par satellite dans les deux pays, et d'établir les protocoles respectifs à cet Accord afin de régler la question des types particuliers de services par satellite.

Par conséquent, aux termes de la présente entente, et sous réserve des restrictions relatives au paragraphe 3 de l'article I, au paragraphe 4 de l'article I et au paragraphe 5 de l'article I :

  • 1.1 Les satellites mexicains seront autorisés à fournir des services à destination et en provenance du Canada ainsi que sur son territoire, conformément aux dispositions applicables du droit canadien, dans la mesure où ces services favorisent la concurrence au sein du marché canadien pour les services par satellite et dans la mesure où ces services améliorent les objectifs d'intérêt public, et où la réciprocité est offerte aux exploitants de satellite canadiens au Mexique.
  • 1.2 Les satellites canadiens seront autorisés à offrir des services à destination et en provenance du Mexique ainsi que sur son territoire, conformément aux dispositions applicables du droit mexicain, dans la mesure où ces services favorisent la concurrence au sein du marché mexicain pour les services par satellite et dans la mesure où ces services améliorent les objectifs d'intérêt public, et où la réciprocité est offerte aux exploitants de satellite mexicains au Canada.
  1. Les conditions de transmission et de réception de signaux à partir des satellites qui font l'objet d'une licence octroyée par chaque partie ou l'administration correspondront à ce qui est convenu dans les protocoles, lesquels se conforment aux lois et aux règlements nationaux, tels que modifiés de temps à autre, et seront joints en annexe à cet Accord dont ils feront partie intégrante.
  2. En ce qui a trait aux objectifs de cet Accord, les parties conviennent que les entités mexicaines ou canadiennes qui exploitent des satellites commerciaux et des stations terrestres peuvent être établies avec une participation publique ou privée conformément aux dispositions légales et réglementaires de chaque pays. Une partie ne doit pas exiger d'un exploitant de satellite à qui l'autre partie a octroyé une licence qu'il obtienne une licence additionnelle pour la construction ou l'exploitation du satellite en cause. Les licences de stations terrestres et de services par satellite doivent être conformes aux lois et aux règlements nationaux, tels que modifiés de temps à autre.

Article V — Coordination de la fréquence de l'UIT

  1. Le Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT est le fondement de la coordination des fréquences des réseaux et systèmes de satellite.
  2. Dans tous les cas, lorsqu'une partie a entrepris les procédures de coordination requises aux termes du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT, les parties entreprendront, de bonne foi, de procéder à la coordination des satellites en cause en temps opportun, et ce, en collaborant d'une manière mutuellement acceptable.
  3. Les parties conviennent que les procédures de coordination technique doivent être effectuées en vue d'utiliser le plus efficacement possible les orbites de satellite et les fréquences associées à l'utilisation du satellite, et conviennent de collaborer à la coordination technique des nouveaux satellites pour répondre aux besoins croissants en matière de communications nationales et internationales de l'industrie des services par satellite de chaque pays.

Article VI — Propriété étrangère

Les restrictions relatives à la propriété étrangère des stations terrestres et des fournisseurs de services par satellite exerçant leurs activités sur le territoire d'une partie sont définies par les lois et les règlements de chaque partie. En ce qui concerne le Canada, les restrictions et les dispositions relatives à la propriété étrangère se retrouvent dans la Loi sur les télécommunications, la loi sur la Radiocommunication, la Loi sur la Radiodiffusion, la Loi sur Investissement Canada et leurs règlements respectifs, tels que modifiés de temps à autre. Pour ce qui est des États-Unis du Mexique, les restrictions relatives à la propriété étrangère figurent à l'heure actuelle à l'Article 12 de la Ley Federal de Telecomunicaciones publiée en 1995 et à la Ley de Inversión Extranjera publiée en 1993.

Article VII — Exception relative à la sécurité fondamentale

Cet Accord et ses protocoles n'empêchent pas l'autre ou l'autre des parties d'appliquer des mesures qu'elle juge nécessaires pour la protection de ses intérêts fondamentaux en matière de sécurité ou à l'exécution de ses obligations aux termes de la Charte des Nations Unies à l'égard du maintien ou du rétablissement de la paix ou de la sécurité internationale.

Article VIII — Coopération

Les parties coopèrent afin d'assurer l'application de leurs lois et de leurs règlements respectifs liés aux dispositions de cet Accord et des protocoles qui y sont annexés.

Article IX — Modification de l'entente et des protocoles

  1. Cet Accord peut être modifié au moyen d'un accord écrit entre les parties. Les modifications entrent en vigueur à la date à laquelle les deux parties se sont avisées mutuellement, par échange de notes diplomatiques, qu'elles se sont conformées aux exigences de leurs législations nationales respectives.
  2. Les protocoles annexés peuvent être modifiés et des protocoles additionnels peuvent être établis au moyen d'un accord écrit entre les administrations. Ces modifications et ces protocoles additionnels entrent en vigueur à la date de leur signature et sont intégrés à l'annexe jointe à la présente entente par les parties.

Article X — Entrée en vigueur et durée

  1. Cet Accord entre en vigueur à la date à laquelle les deux parties se sont avisées mutuellement, par échange de notes diplomatiques, qu'elles se sont conformées aux exigences de leurs législations nationales respectives.
  2. Cet Accord demeure en vigueur tant qu'il n'a pas été remplacé par un nouvel Accord ou qu'il n'a pas été résilié par l'une ou l'autre parties conformément à l'article XI de cet Accord.

Article XI — Résiliation de l'entente et des protocoles

  1. Cet Accord peut être résilié du commun accord des parties ou par l'une ou l'autre de ces dernières par avis écrit de résiliation adressé à l'autre partie par voies diplomatiques. Cet avis de résiliation entre en vigueur six mois après sa réception.
  2. L'un quelconque des protocoles annexés à cet Accord peut être résilié au moyen d'un accord entre les administrations ou par l'une ou l'autre administration par avis écrit de résiliation adressé à l'autre administration ou aux autres administrations. Cet avis de résiliation entre en vigueur six mois après sa réception. Si plus d'une administration a été désignée aux termes du paragraphe 2 de l'article III, celle qui est chargée des activités de coordination avec l'administration de l'autre partie transmet cet avis. Au moment de la résiliation, l'annexe à la présente entente sera modifiée en conséquence par les parties.

En foi de quoi, les représentants respectifs ont signé le présent Accord.

Fait en double exemplaire à Mexico, ce , en langues française, anglaise et espagnole, toutes les versions étant également authentiques.

Pour le Gouvernement du Canada
Pour le Gouvernement des États-Unis du Mexique
original signé par
original signé par
S. E. Gooch
Ambassadeur du Canada
au Mexique
Carlos Ruiz Sacristán
Secrétaire aux Communications et Transports
Date de modification :