Archived — Notice No. SMBR-002-99

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMBR-002-99DTV (Digital Television) Transition Allotment Plan, Issue 2

Introduction

Industry Canada announces publication of the DTV Transition Allotment Plan, Issue 2. The Plan is predicated on the use of the A/53 Digital TV Standard which was adopted as the DTV standard for Canada in Gazette Notice No. SMBR-004-97, "Adoption of Standard for Digital Television (DTV) Broadcasting in Canada," published on . It is designed to provide for the introduction of DTV undertakings as well as continue to accommodate the existing NTSC undertakings during the transition period. Thereafter, DTV only will remain.

Industry Canada received seven responses to Notice No. SMBR - 002 - 98, DTV (Digital Television) Transition Allotment Plan which was published in the Canada Gazette on . Comments received were generally in agreement with the allotment strategy adopted for the Plan. Particular issues raised by respondents were resolved by direct discussion with them.

DTV Transition Allotment Plan Description

The allotment criteria which were used to develop the Plan are listed in the Preamble to the Plan. The Plan provides for a DTV allotment for each existing regular and low power NTSC station, for most unassigned NTSC allotments and for each application existing as of . However, the continued availability of both DTV and NTSC allotments will depend on the applications received for the digital service and any modifications made to the Plan during the licensing process. The Plan consists of a table with headings for NTSC and DTV channels, class of undertaking, geographical coordinates and municipality.

Availability of DTV Allotments

Existing broadcasters can now access the new DTV allotments that will enable them to transmit in digital mode, to replace the analogue transmissions, subject to licensing approval from the CRTC and authorisation from Industry Canada. The same procedure will apply to applicants for new stations.

Coordination with the United States

The plan was developed taking into account US DTV allotments and existing US regular NTSC stations.

As usual, allotments near the border area need to be coordinated with the United States. Discussions between Industry Canada and USA officials to reduce incompatibilities as much as possible are in progress. Any resulting changes will be published when an agreement is reached with the United States.

Further Information

The DTV Transition Allotment Plan is available electronically on the Internet at the following WWW address: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf06074.html for the English version and http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf06074.html for the French version.

Inquiries regarding the Plan may be sent to the Director, Broadcast Planning and Technical Policy Division (DBCP), Spectrum Engineering Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8, telephone 613-998-2916, or at the Internet address broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca in the case of e-mail.

Dated at Ottawa,

R.W. McCaughern
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis no SMBR-002-99

Loi sur la radiocommunications

Avis no SMBR-002-99 — Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN), 2e édition

Introduction

Industrie Canada annonce la publication du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN), 2e édition. LePlan est fondé sur l'utilisation de la norme A/53 de télévision numérique, qui a été adoptée en tant que norme TVN pour le Canada, tel qu'annoncé dans l'avis SMBR - 004 - 097 publié dans la Gazette du Canada le sous le titre «Adoption d'une norme sur la télévision numérique (TVN) au Canada». Le Plan vise à permettre la mise en service d'entreprises de radiodiffusion TVN aux côtés des entreprises de radiodiffusion NTSC pendant la période de transition. Par la suite, seul le système TVN demeurera en service.

Industrie Canada a reçu sept réponsesà l'avis SMBR - 002 - 98, publié le pour annoncer la publication du document intitulé Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN). Les observations reçues appuyaient généralement la stratégie d'allotissement adoptée dans le Plan. Les points particuliers soulevés par les répondants ont été réglés en discutant directement avec ceux-ci.

Description du Plan d'allotissement transitoire pour la télévision numérique (TVN)

Les critères d'allotissement qui ont servi à l'élaboration du Plan sont donnés dans le préambule au Plan. Le Plan prévoit un allotissement TVN pour chaque station NTSC ordinaire ou de faible puissance existante, pour la plupart des allotissements NTSC non assignés et pour chaque demande existante en date du . Cependant, le maintien de la disponibilité des allotissements TVN et NTSC dépendra des demandes reçues à l'égard du service numérique et des modifications apportées au Plan pendant le processus d'autorisation. Le Plan comprend un tableau divisé en colonnes : numéros de canal NTSC, numéros de canal TVN, catégories d'entreprise, coordonnées géographiques et municipalités.

Disponibilité des allotissements TVN

Les radiodiffuseurs existants ont maintenant accès aux nouveaux allotissements TVN leur permettant ainsi d'exploiter une entreprise de radiodiffusion numérique, en remplacement de transmissions analogues, sous réserve d'obtenir une licence du CRTC et l'autorisation d'Industrie Canada. La même procédure s'appliquera aux requérants désireux d'établir de nouvelles stations.

Coordination avec les États-Unis

Le plan a été établi en tenant compte des allotissements TVN américains et des assignations NTSC actuelles des stations américaines.

Bien sûr, les allotissements près de la frontière doivent être coordonnés avec les États-Unis. Il y a actuellement des discussions entre des représentants d'Industrie Canada et de l'administration américaine pour minimiser les incompatibilités. Toute modification découlant de ces discussions sera publiée quand un accord aura été conclu avec les États-Unis.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le Plan d'allotissement TVN transitoire est disponible sur l'Internet aux adresses WWW suivantes :  http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf06074.html pour la version anglaise; http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf06074.html pour la version française.

Les demandes de renseignements concernant le Plan peuvent être adressées au Directeur, Planification et politique technique en radiodiffusion (DBCP), Direction générale du génie du spectre, Industrie Canada, 330, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8, téléphone (613) 998-2916, ou, par courrier électronique, à l'adresse Internet broadcast.gazette@ic.gc.ca.

Fait à Ottawa le

Le directeur général,
Génie du spectre

R. W. McCaughern

Date de modification :