Archived — CPC-2-0-15 — Canadian Ownership and Control

1. Principle

The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the objectives of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister oversees the development of national policies and goals for spectrum resource use and ensures effective management of the radio frequency spectrum.

It is a regulatory requirement that radiocommunication carriers be Canadian-owned and controlled.

2. Mandate

Section 5 of the Radiocommunication ActFootnote 1 (the Act) states that the Minister may issue radio licences in respect of radio apparatus and spectrum licences in respect of the utilization of specified radio frequencies within a defined geographical area. The Minister of Industry in exercising these powers may have regard to the objectives of the Canadian telecommunications policy set out at section 7 of the Telecommunications ActFootnote 2. Further, when exercising this authority the Minister is subject to the regulations made by the Governor in Council under section 6 of the ActFootnote 3.

The Governor in Council has made regulations prescribing the eligibility of persons to whom radio licences may be issued as radiocommunication users or radiocommunication service providers (subsection 9(1) of the Radiocommunication RegulationsFootnote 4 , hereafter referred to as the Regulations). The Regulations also prescribe the eligibility of persons to whom radio licences may be issued as radiocommunication carriers, including Canadian ownership and control of a corporation, and the citizenship or permanent residence status and residence requirements of an individualFootnote 5. These eligibility criteria are prescribed under section 10 of the Regulations and refer to certain definitions found at section 2 of the Canadian Telecommunications Common Carrier Ownership and Control Regulations (CTCCOCR).Footnote 6

3. Intent

This document has been developed to provide general information on elements commonly considered in an ownership and control reviews conducted by Industry Canada. An assessment of compliance with eligibility requirements by a radiocommunication carrier is carried out on a case-by-case basis, as each situation is unique and raises particular issues and concerns.

Entities operating as radiocommunication users or radiocommunication service providers are not subject to Canadian ownership and control requirements but they must comply on an ongoing basis with the eligibility criteria outlined in subsection 9(1) of the Regulations.Footnote 7

4. Policy

The Regulations establish Canadian ownership and control requirements for applicants applying for radio licences to operate as radiocommunication carriers. These requirements also apply by policy to those applicants applying for spectrum licences so that they may operate as radiocommunication carriers.

Section 10.1 of the RegulationsFootnote 8 specifies that Canadian ownership and control requirements do not apply to radiocommunication carriers that only operate earth stations.

Examples showing different types of licensees are provided in Appendix A.

top of page

5. Compliance with the Canadian Ownership and Control Requirements

It is the responsibility of applicants to demonstrate that they are eligible to hold a licence and it is the responsibility of licensees to maintain that eligibility on an ongoing basis. Licensees are also responsible for notifying the Minister of any changes which would have a material effect on their ownership or control. The Department of Industry does not provide legal guidance with respect to compliance with the ownership and control requirements set out in the Regulations. However, in the course of an assessment, the Department will identify any missing information, areas of concerns or issues pertaining to Canadian ownership and control and will provide a reasonable opportunity to resolve issues and bring ownership and control structures into compliance. However, should it be determined that an applicant or licensee is not in compliance with the requirements and, as such, not eligible to hold a licence, a licence will not be issued or may be suspended or revoked under the authority of the Act.

Situations may arise where there is doubt that an applicant, or a licensee who has been issued a radio licence or a spectrum licence as a radiocommunication carrier, meets the Canadian ownership and control requirements. Under such circumstances, the Department may initiate a review to assess compliance and proceed as discussed above.

In the ownership and control review of a corporation, Industry Canada will examine the corporate documentation and the relevant agreements of the corporation itself as well as those of its Canadian parent corporations or entities. The documentation typically requested from an applicant for a review is listed in Appendix B. It is understood that these documents may not be those that are executed, as they may need to be finalized during the course of the review or amendments may be required to bring the ownership and control structure into compliance. However, prior to issuing a licence, the Department will need to review the final executed corporate documentation and agreements.

6. Determining Canadian Ownership and Control

The determination of the Canadian ownership and control is comprised of a number of objective elements. In the case of a corporation, an assessment will require a review of the following elements of the applicant's corporate structure:

  • Is it incorporated or continued under the laws of Canada or a province?
  • Are no less than 80% of the members of the board of directors of the corporation individual Canadians?
  • Are no less than 80% of "voting shares" (defined in section 2 of the CTCCOCR) beneficially owned, directly or indirectly, by Canadians?

Canadian owners may be individuals, qualified corporations or any entities listed in the definition of "Canadian" in section 2 of the CTCCOCR.Footnote 9 It is important for an applicant to consider that owners have criteria of their own to meet in accordance with the Regulations and the definitions found at section 2 of the CTCCOCR (see, for example, the definition of a qualified corporation, a qualified trust or a qualified partnershipFootnote 10.

If the corporations and entities of the corporate structure do not meet the criteria, the applicant must undertake the necessary steps or changes to bring the ownership structure into compliance with the regulatory requirements.

In the case of an individual, Industry Canada reviews whether the individual is:

  • a citizen within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Citizenship ActFootnote 11 who is ordinarily resident in Canada; or
  • a permanent resident within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection ActFootnote 12 who is ordinarily resident in Canada, and who has been ordinarily resident in Canada for not more than one year after the date on which that person first became eligible to apply for Canadian citizenship.
top of page

7. Control in Fact

As part of a review, the Department will consider whether control in any manner results in control in fact, whether directly through the ownership of securities or indirectly through a trust, agreement or arrangement, the ownership of any body corporate or otherwise.Footnote 13 An assessment of control in fact of an applicant is a complex matter. It is done against the general test of whether it "...is not otherwise controlled by persons that are not Canadians".Footnote 14 One often cited decision states:

"There is no one standard definition of control in fact but generally, it can be viewed as the ongoing power or ability, whether exercised or not, to determine or decide the strategic decision making activities of an enterprise. It can also be viewed as the ability to manage and run the day-to-day operations of an enterprise. Minority shareholders and their designated directors normally have the ability to influence a company as do others such as bankers and employees. The influence, which can be exercised either positively or negatively by way of veto rights, needs to be dominant or determining, however, for it to translate into control in fact".Footnote 15

Therefore, the determination of control in fact is based on the particular facts of each case.Footnote 16 The approach the Department takes is to examine the documentation submitted by the applicant to ascertain if there are elements that, when considered as part of the whole structure, would indicate control in fact by non-Canadians or provide non-Canadians with the ability to exercise control. The review considers, but is not restricted to, the following elements:

  • The percentage of share holdings held by Canadians and non-Canadians;
  • The rights of Canadians and non-Canadians in shareholders' agreements, including dividend rights, veto rights and the process and right to elect directors;
  • The experience and strength of the shareholders and directors, their relationship;
  • Board governance that is independent of non-Canadians, including composition of the board and board committees, quorum requirements and scope of authority;
  • Nationality, selection and responsibilities of members of the senior management;
  • The scope and exclusivity of management and services agreements;
  • Source of debt and equity financing.

If the Department concludes that the applicant meets the Canadian ownership and control requirements, it will be eligible to hold a licence as a radiocommunication carrier. If not, then the applicant must take the necessary steps and bring the necessary changes to the corporate structure to comply with the requirements in order to be eligible to hold a licence as a radiocommunication carrier.

8. Telecommunications ActFootnote 17 and Canadian Ownership and Control

The Regulations provide that a corporation is eligible to be licensed as a radiocommunication carrier if it is: 

"a Canadian carrier that meets the eligibility criteria set out in subsection 16(1) or (2) of the Telecommunications Act, whether or not the carrier is exempt from the application of that Act or that Act does not otherwise apply to the corporation".Footnote 18

Applicants are reminded that the CRTC has its own mandate under the Telecommunications Act in relation to Canadian ownership and control requirements for Canadian carriers.

9. Contact

All questions concerning Canadian ownership and control should be directed to the office of:

Manager, Wireless Networks
Spectrum Management Operations
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Date modified:

Archivé — CPC-2-0-15 — Propriété et contrôle canadiens

1. Principe

En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et des objectifs contenus dans la Loi sur les télécommunications, le ministre de l'Industrie est responsable de la gestion du spectre au Canada. À cet égard, il veille à l'élaboration des objectifs et des politiques nationales pour une utilisation efficace du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques.

Les transporteurs de radiocommunications doivent appartenir à des intérêts canadiens et être sous leur contrôle, selon le Règlement.

2. Mandat

L'article 5 de la Loi sur la radiocommunicationNote de bas de page 1 (la Loi) prévoit que le Ministre peut délivrer des licences radio pour les appareils radio et des licences de spectre pour l'utilisation de fréquences de radiocommunication particulières à l'intérieur d'une zone géographique déterminée. En exerçant son pouvoir, le ministre de l'Industrie peut tenir compte des objectifs de la politique canadienne de télécommunications, énoncée à l'article 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunicationsNote de bas de page 2. Du reste, en exerçant son autorité, le Ministre doit respecter les règlements pris par le gouverneur en conseil en vertu de l'article 6 de la LoiNote de bas de page 3.

Le gouverneur en conseil a créé un règlement régissant l'admissibilité de personnes susceptibles de se voir accorder une licence à titre d'usager radio ou de fournisseur de services radio (paragraphe 9(1) du Règlement sur la radiocommunicationNote de bas de page 4 , ci-après le Règlement). Le Règlement encadre aussi l'admissibilité des personnes à qui on pourrait délivrer des licences radio à titre de transporteurs de radiocommunications, y compris les critères relatifs à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens d'une personne morale et les conditions pour la citoyenneté ou le statut de résident permanent et les exigences de résidenceNote de bas de page 5. Ces critères d'admissibilité sont énoncés à l'article 10 du Règlement et renvoient à certaines définitions se trouvant à l'article 2 du Règlement sur la propriété et le contrôle des entreprises de télécommunications canadiennes (RPCETC)Note de bas de page 6.

3. Objectif

Le présent document a été élaboré dans le but de fournir de l'information générale portant sur des aspects normalement considérés dans le cadre d'examens de la propriété et du contrôle effectués par Industrie Canada. Le Ministère évalue cas par cas l'admissibilité des transporteurs de radiocommunications, étant donné que chaque situation est unique ou soulève des questions et des problèmes particuliers.

Les exploitants à titre d'usagers radio ou de fournisseurs de services radio ne sont pas soumis aux exigences relatives à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens, mais ils doivent assidûment satisfaire aux critères d'admissibilité énumérés dans le paragraphe 9(1) du RèglementNote de bas de page 7.

4. Politique

Le Règlement prescrit les exigences de propriété et de contrôle canadiens pour les requérants qui demandent des licences radio dans le but de devenir des transporteurs de radiocommunications. La politique établit ces mêmes exigences pour les requérants de licences de spectre souhaitant agir à titre de transporteurs de radiocommunications.

L'article 10.1 du RèglementNote de bas de page 8 stipule que les exigences de la propriété et du contrôle canadiens ne s'appliquent pas aux transporteurs de radiocommunications qui exploitent uniquement des stations terriennes.

Des exemples de différents types de licences figurent à l'Annexe A.

haut de la page

5. Conformité avec la réglementation sur la propriété et le contrôle canadiens

Les requérants ont la responsabilité de prouver qu'ils sont admissibles à détenir une licence, et les titulaires de licences sont tenus de maintenir régulièrement cette admissibilité. Les titulaires de licences doivent également aviser le Ministre de tout changement qui pourrait avoir un effet concret sur la propriété et le contrôle. Le ministère de l'Industrie ne fournit pas de conseils juridiques en ce qui a trait au respect des exigences de propriété et de contrôle fixées par le Règlement. Toutefois, dans le cadre d'une évaluation, le Ministère signalera toute information manquante, toute question ou tout sujet de préoccupation relatif à la propriété et au contrôle canadiens et accordera un délai raisonnable pour résoudre les problèmes et de rétablir les structures de propriété et de contrôle. Toutefois, s'il est démontré que les requérants ou les titulaires de licences ne satisfont pas aux critères et, par conséquent, ne sont pas admissibles à détenir une licence, celle-ci ne sera pas délivrée ou pourrait être suspendue ou annulée en vertu de la Loi.

Si certaines circonstances soulèvent un doute, le Ministère peut décider de mener une enquête pour évaluer la conformité des transporteurs de radiocommunications titulaires de licence radio ou de spectre aux exigences de propriété et de contrôle canadiens.

Dans le cadre d'un examen de la propriété et du contrôle d'une société, Industrie Canada étudiera les conventions pertinentes et les documents de constitution en société aussi bien que ceux des entités ou des sociétés mères canadiennes. Les documents qu'on demande habituellement aux requérants de présenter pour un examen sont énumérés à l'Annexe B. Bien entendu, ces documents ne seront peut-être pas signés; ils devront probablement être parachevés au cours de l'évaluation ou on peut devoir leur apporter des modifications pour les rendre conformes au contexte de la propriété et du contrôle canadiens. Toutefois, avant de délivrer une licence, le Ministère devra revoir les conventions et les documents de constitution en société dûment signés.

6. Détermination de la propriété et du contrôle canadiens

La détermination de la propriété et du contrôle canadiens est fondée sur bon nombre d'éléments objectifs. Dans le cas d'une personne morale, l'évaluation permet de passer en revue les éléments suivants de la structure de la société du requérant :

  • S'agit-il d'une personne morale constituée ou prorogée sous le régime des lois fédérales ou provinciales?
  • Est-ce qu'au moins 80 % des membres du conseil d'administration de la société sont des Canadiens?
  • Est-ce qu'au moins 80 % des « actions avec droit de vote » (définies à l'article 2 du RPCETC) sont la propriété effective, directe ou indirecte, de Canadiens?

On entend par propriétaire canadien un particulier, une personne morale qualifiée ou toute autre entité qui entre dans la définition de « Canadien » à l'article 2 du RPCETCNote de bas de page 9. Le requérant doit comprendre qu'un propriétaire doit satisfaire à des critères particuliers en vertu du Règlement et des définitions figurant à l'article 2 du RPCETC (par exemple, voir la définition d'une personne morale, d'une fiducie ou d'une société de personnes qualifiéesNote de bas de page 10.

Si les sociétés et les entités de la structure des sociétés ne remplissent pas les critères, le requérant doit entreprendre les changements ou les démarches nécessaires pour rétablir la conformité aux exigences réglementaires de la structure de la propriété.

Dans le cas d'une personne physique, Industrie Canada examine sa conformité avec :

  • la définition de citoyen résidant normalement au Canada selon le paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur la citoyennetéNote de bas de page 11;
  • la définition de résident permanent énoncée au paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiésNote de bas de page 12, résidant ordinairement au Canada depuis un an ou moins après la date à laquelle cette personne est devenue admissible à la citoyenneté canadienne.
haut de la page

7. Contrôle de fait

Dans le cadre d'un examen, le Ministère décidera si tout contrôle a pour résultat une maîtrise de fait, soit directe par la propriété de valeurs mobilières, soit indirecte, en particulier au moyen d'une fiducie, d'un accord, d'une entente ou de la propriété d'une personne moraleNote de bas de page 13. L'évaluation du contrôle de fait étant complexe, on doit s'assurer que le requérant « ... n'est pas par ailleurs contrôlé par des non CanadiensNote de bas de page 14 ». Une décision souvent citée se lit comme suit :

« Il n'existe pas une définition de ce que constitue le contrôle de fait, mais, en général, il s'agit du pouvoir ou de la capacité, exercé ou non, de décider de l'orientation du processus décisionnel d'une entreprise sur ses activités. On peut également l'interpréter comme étant la capacité de gérer les activités quotidiennes d'une entreprise. En général, les actionnaires minoritaires et leurs membres désignés du conseil d'administration sont en mesure d'exercer une influence sur la compagnie au même titre que d'autres personnes comme des banquiers et des employés. Cette influence qui peut s'exercer au moyen du droit de veto, qu'elle soit positive ou négative, se doit d'être prépondérante ou déterminante pour être qualifiée de contrôle de fait »Note de bas de page 15.

En conséquence, la détermination du contrôle de fait se fonde sur les données propres à chaque casNote de bas de page 16. Le Ministère examine la documentation présentée par le requérant pour vérifier s'il y a des éléments qui, en les abordant comme les parties d'un tout, indiquent un contrôle de fait par des non-Canadiens ou permettent à des non-Canadiens d'exercer un contrôle. L'examen aborde, sans s'y limiter, les questions suivantes :

  • Le pourcentage des actions détenues par des Canadiens et des non-Canadiens;
  • Les droits des Canadiens et des non-Canadiens dans les conventions des actionnaires, y compris les droits de dividendes, les droits de veto et le droit d'élire des administrateurs;
  • L'expérience et le pouvoir des actionnaires et du conseil d'administration, leurs relations;
  • La portion du conseil indépendante des non-Canadiens, y compris la composition du conseil et des comités de la direction, la règle du quorum et la portée de l'autorité;
  • La nationalité, les critères de sélection et les responsabilités des membres de la haute direction;
  • La portée et l'exclusivité des ententes de gestion et de services;
  • La source du financement par emprunt et par actions.

Si le Ministère juge que le requérant satisfait aux exigences de la propriété et du contrôle canadiens, celui-ci aura le droit d'être titulaire d'une licence à titre de transporteur de radiocommunications. Sinon, le requérant doit entreprendre les démarches nécessaires et apporter les changements qui s'imposent à la structure de la société pour se conformer aux critères d'admissibilité en vue de détenir une licence de transporteur de radiocommunications.

8. Loi sur les télécommunicationsNote de bas de page 17 et propriété et contrôle canadiens

Le Règlement stipule qu'une personne morale est admissible à une licence à titre de transporteur de radiocommunications si : 

« une entreprise canadienne qui remplit les conditions d'admissibilité prévues aux paragraphes 16(1) ou (2) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, qu'elle soit ou non exemptée de l'application de cette loi ou autrement soustraite à son applicationNote de bas de page 18 ».

Les requérants doivent savoir que le CRTC doit remplir le mandat que lui donne la Loi sur les télécommunications en ce qui a trait aux exigences de propriété et de contrôle canadiens applicables aux entreprises canadiennes.

9. Personne-ressource

Toutes les questions concernant la propriété et le contrôle canadiens devraient être présentées à l'adresse suivante :

Gestionnaire, Réseaux sans fil
Exploitation de la gestion du spectre
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

Date de modification :