Policy and Call for Applications: Wireless Personal Communications Services in the 2 GHz Range — Implementing PCS in Canada

June 15, 1995

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Background
  3. General Telecommunications Policy
  4. Policy Objectives for Personal Communications Services at 2 GHz
  5. Spectrum Utilization for Personal Communications Services
  6. Policy Principles for Licensed PCS
  7. Transition Policy
  8. Interconnection Between Telecommunications Networks
  9. Selection and Licensing Process
  10. Further Information

All persons electronically accessing this paper are advised that the document has been available electronically only for convenience of reference, and that in the event of a discrepancy between the electronic version and the printed paper distributed by Industry Canada, the printed and signed paper will prevail for all purposes of interpretation and application.


Amended by:


1. Introduction

The purpose of this document is to facilitate the timely and orderly implementation within Canada of wireless Personal Communications Services (PCS) in the 2 GHz range. A key aim of the policy measures being adopted by Industry Canada is to foster the ability of Canadians to benefit fully from the implementation of advanced wireless technologies and services, and to participate actively in their development.

This document provides the framework for PCS and initiates the selection and licensing process for 2 GHz PCS by calling for expressions of interest and detailed submissions from prospective licensees.

2. Background

On November 5, 1994, Industry Canada issued Gazette Notice DGTP-006-94 entitled Policy Discussion and Proposals Respecting the Future Provision of Personal Communications Services and Frequency Spectrum in Canada in the 2 GHz Range. This Notice sought comments and outlined the general telecommunications policy objectives that would be pursued during the implementation of PCS. Among the matters raised for public comment were:

  • general principles on frequency allocation;
  • frequency spectrum for PCS;
  • fostering of sustainable competition and innovative service; and
  • rules for the displacement of specific radio stations in order to make the necessary spectrum available for PCS.

In response to the Notice, twenty-seven submissions were received from interested parties. The public submissions were given careful consideration by Industry Canada, and were also reviewed by the Information Highway Advisory Council, which provided its recommendations on policy issues relating to PCS and the development of the Canadian Information Highway.

Regional and global radio frequency allocations are important to the successful implementation of PCS in Canada. In particular, developments relating to spectrum allocation in the United States are of interest to Canadians. In a series of decisions beginning in September 1993, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) authorized new personal communications services from the 2 GHz "emerging technologies" band. The FCC assigned a total of 140 MHz of spectrum to PCS which will accommodate up to six PCS licences in blocks of two sizes (10 MHz and 30 MHz blocks) in any given geographical area. Twenty megahertz (of the 140 MHz) have been set aside to serve licence exempt voice and data PCS devices.

"Personal Communications Services" include a group of telecommunications services utilizing both existing and proposed technologies and network capabilities. There is general agreement that PCS will use radio terminals operating primarily in a mobile or portable mode. While particular definitions continue to be refined as the concept of PCS matures, the goal which the industry appears to share is one in which the separate fixed and mobile communications services will be accessible by means of a single personal communications portable terminal that is capable of a multiplicity of tasks. This terminal will allow its user to contact anyone, at any time, anywhere. For one person (or communicating or computing device) to be able to reach another anywhere in the world, PCS networks will have to make extensive use of personal numbers to identify people or devices within a network or several interconnected networks.

The Canadian public telecommunications networks rely on the integrated North American Numbering Plan to accommodate their numbering requirements, and the 500 and 533 Numbering Plan Area (NPA) codes have been designated for personal communications. Industry Canada is currently the Canadian Numbering Administrator (CNA), and any service provider requiring numbering resources will have to apply to the CNA, at the Telecommunications Policy Branch.

The Canadian Steering Committee on Numbering (CSCN) has been established to develop recommendations for the necessary strategies to best represent the overall interests in number planning and implementation for the Canadian telecommunications industry and users. The CSCN will liaise with the North American Numbering Fora and make recommendations to Industry Canada to ensure a consistent numbering scheme within North America.

On-going developments in PCS networks are also likely to result in the provision of a wide range of service offerings, including data/text retrieval and transfer, dispatch and group calling, paging, radiolocation, enhanced email, narrowband compressed video, image, digital audio and multimedia applications. It is toward the achievement of these broad service goals that Industry Canada has formulated the policy principles set out below.

3. General Telecommunications Policy

Wireless networks in general, and personal communications services in particular, are expected to play key roles in the development of the Canadian information highway. Accordingly, Industry Canada undertook its policy-formulation activities in this area having regard to the statutory objectives of the Radiocommunication Act and the three objectives identified in the information highway strategy: the creation of jobs through innovation and investment; the reinforcement of Canadian sovereignty and cultural identity; and the provision of universal access at reasonable cost. Five principles which are to guide the development and implementation of the information highway strategy were also considered:

  • an interconnected and interoperable network of networks;
  • collaborative private and public sector development;
  • competition in facilities, products and services;
  • privacy protection and network security; and,
  • life long learning.

The Minister, in exercising his powers under the Radiocommunication Act, may have regard to the policy principles set out in the Telecommunications Act. One of the objectives of telecommunications policy as set out in section 7 of the Telecommunications Act is to promote the ownership and control of Canadian carriers by Canadians. Canadian facilities-based telecommunications carriers must therefore satisfy specific requirements respecting Canadian ownership and control. Under these requirements, 80 per cent of the voting interest in the carrier must be owned and controlled by Canadians.

The Telecommunications Act also sets out several other objectives, including the rendering of reliable and affordable telecommunications services in all regions and the fostering of increased reliance on market forces for the provision of telecommunications services. Thus, any entity which owns or operates transmission facilities used to provide telecommunications services to the public for compensation (i.e., a facilitiesbased carrier) is, pursuant to the Act, subject to tariff regulation by the Canadian Radiotelevision and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). The Act, however, also grants the CRTC new powers to forbear from regulating services provided by the carriers under its jurisdiction if it deems there to be sufficient competition to protect the interests of users or if it finds that to do so would be consistent with the policy objectives of the Act (section 34). Provision is made for exempting a class of Canadian carriers from the application of the Act (section 9). In the case of resale, Canada allows resale and sharing based on the use of domestic telecommunications facilities, and resellers are not subject to CRTC regulation under the Act.

The unprecedented growth in communications and information technologies has created an increasing awareness of, and concern with, the protection of privacy. This issue is now explicitly reflected in the telecommunications policy objectives of the Act. In this regard, PCS represents both a challenge and an opportunity, in the first instance because it is a radio-based service, and in the second because considerations relating to privacy can now be given the attention they warrant from the initial phases of the design of the equipment through the formulation of standards, to the implementation of services.

4. Policy Objectives for Personal Communications Services at 2 GHz

General policy objectives, some of which were briefly discussed in the preceding section, have a specific application to the introduction of PCS. Following internal study and a review of the received public submissions, as well as receipt of the recommendations of the Information Highway Advisory Council, the following detailed objectives have been adopted for the development and deployment of PCS:

  1. the stimulation of additional choice in the provision of cellular-like mobile radiotelephone services and the support of new technologies and facilities of high security and low cost which could compete with existing local wireline services;
  2. the provision of additional and innovative personal communications services at 2 GHz, rather than only the replication by similar services of the mobile services currently operating below 1 GHz;
  3. the facilitation of national, North American and world-wide service offerings, to enable both Canadian equipment suppliers and consumers to benefit from the availability of larger markets, and to allow Canadian users the opportunity to make use of wide-scale roaming capabilities;
  4. the stimulation of competitive and comprehensive service offerings, provided through the utilization of both existing and new facilities, through, among other measures, the non-discriminatory access by third parties to networks, thereby also promoting value-added services and content;
  5. the support of the provision of services to the greatest possible number of Canadians; and
  6. the promotion of jobs and investment in Canada, through the support of research and development activities in Canada and the concomitant development of expertise for international trade and investment opportunities.

5. Spectrum Utilization for Personal Communications Services

Gazette Notice DGTP-006-94 indicated that Industry Canada intended to designate suitable frequency spectrum in the 2 GHz range for both licensed and licence exempt PCS applications, having due regard for the existing services in that range. In order to obtain the greatest flexibility in the implementation of PCS in Canada, and to increase the opportunities for coordinating around the existing fixed (microwave) systems, the entire frequency band of 140 MHz (1850–1990 MHz) is designated for PCS.1

5.1 PCS operations in the licence exempt band

Licence exempt devices are radio apparatus which are exempt under the Radiocommunication Act from the requirement to operate under a radio licence in specified radio frequency bands and which conform to appropriate Industry Canada regulations and technical standards.

Spectrum has been designated for licence exempt devices to allow for small scale personal and business applications that may fall outside the envelope of services offered by licensed PCS providers. In accordance with the above-referenced Gazette Notice, Industry Canada is confirming the designation of 20 MHz of spectrum in the band 1910–1930 MHz for PCS licence exempt device operations. This band is further subdivided between data and voice applications. The 10 MHz portion, 1910–1920 MHz, is to be used for asynchronous (data) communication devices, and the 10 MHz portion, 1920–1930 MHz, for isochronous (voice) applications.

As these licence exempt devices will operate in a common pool of spectrum, there is a need to adopt a scheme to avoid mutual interference. In that regard, Industry Canada will adopt a spectrum etiquette based on the one developed by WinForum and adopted by the FCC for use in the United States. The implementation of this band, 1910–1930 MHz, for PCS is dependent on the issue of the transition of fixed systems which is further discussed in section 7.

5.2 Licensed PCS operations

The larger portion of the PCS band is for use by licensed PCS systems - specifically, the sub-bands 1850–1910 MHz and 1930–1990 MHz.

As noted in section 2, the FCC in the United States adopted a frequency plan for licensed PCS that accommodates three 30 MHz blocks of spectrum and three 10 MHz blocks of spectrum. Each block is composed of equal size paired sub-blocks, for example, a 15+15 MHz pair or a 5+5 MHz pair. An important issue was whether to adopt the same frequency plan for PCS in Canada, or alternatively, whether to choose a different plan.

Industry Canada notes the success of cellular radio service in Canada and attributes large market penetration to the availability of a wide choice of cellular equipment developed for larger markets. In this case, reliance on the North American market has contributed to this success.

In considering the use of a frequency plan employing different block sizes than those of the United States, a number of technical and operational factors were considered. It was determined that significant differences in the frequency plan would result in a requirement for modification of equipment. Although these modifications might be relatively minor in nature, they would likely result in higher equipment costs and, perhaps more importantly, delays and limitations in the availability of equipment. As well, the use of the frequency plan employed in the United States provides both large and small blocks of spectrum facilitating a diversity of service offerings in Canada.

Based on these technical and operational considerations, and the policy objectives for PCS set out in section 4, Industry Canada is opting to use the PCS frequency plan which will permit a North American wide approach to the development and extension of services.

The frequency plan is therefore as follows:

PCS frequency plan
Block Size Frequency
Block A 30 MHz 1850–1865/1930–1945 MHz
Block B 30 MHz 1870–1885/1950–1965 MHz
Block C 30 MHz 1895–1910/1975–1990 MHz
Block D 10 MHz 1865–1870/1945–1950 MHz
Block E 10 MHz 1885–1890/1965–1970 MHz
Block F 10 MHz 1890–1895/1970–1975 MHz

It should be noted that the use of the above frequency blocks in areas near the Canada/U.S. border must be in accordance with the Interim Sharing Arrangement, dated November 14, 1994, between Industry Canada and the FCC concerning the use of the band 1850–1990 MHz.


Footnotes

1 It should be noted that additional mobile service spectrum has been allocated in the 2 GHz range, and that the 2110–2160 MHz band, in particular, may provide future spectrum for advanced universal personal communications.


Date modified:

Politique et déposition de demandes : Les services de communications personnelles sans fil dans la gamme 2 GHz — Mise en oeuvre des SCP au Canada

le 15 juin 1995

Table de matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Contexte
  3. Politique générale des télécommunications
  4. Objectifs de la politique dans le contexte des SCP dans le 2 GHz
  5. Assignation de fréquences aux SCP
  6. Principes de la politique relative aux SCP autorisés
  7. Politique de transition
  8. Interconnexion entre les réseaux de télécommunication
  9. Processus de sélection et de délivrance de licences
  10. Renseignements supplémentaires

Nous avisons toutes les personnes qui accèdent électroniquement ce document qu'il n'a été versé électroniquement que pour en faciliter la consultation et qu'en cas de divergence entre le document électronique et le document imprimé distribué par Industrie Canada, la copie imprimée et signée prévaudra aux fins d'interprétation et d'application.


Modifié par:


1. Introduction

Le présent document a pour objet de faciliter la mise en oeuvre opportune et ordonnée, au Canada, des Services de communications personnelles (SCP) sans fil dans la gamme 2 GHz. Un objectif clé de la politique adoptée par Industrie Canada est de mettre les Canadiens et les Canadiennes dans une position où ils pourront profiter pleinement de la mise en oeuvre de services et de technologies sans fil perfectionnés et participer activement à leur mise en valeur.

Le présent document sert de cadre aux SCP et déclenche le processus de sélection et de délivrance de licences pour les SCP dans la bande 2 GHz en invitant les titulaires éventuels à présenter une déclaration d'intérêt et une demande détaillée.

2. Contexte

Le 5 novembre 1994, Industrie Canada publiait dans la Gazette l'avis DGTP-006-94 intitulé Document de travail concernant des propositions de politique visant la prestation de services de communications personnelles au Canada dans la gamme 2 GHz. Cet avis sollicitait des commentaires et établissait les grandes lignes des objectifs généraux d'une politique de télécommunications visés par la mise en place des SCP. On invitait le public à présenter ses observations sur différents aspects comme :

  • les principes généraux de l'attribution de fréquences;
  • le spectre de fréquences destiné aux SCP;
  • les moyens de favoriser une concurrence durable et un service novateur;
  • les règles relatives au déplacement de stations radio particulières afin de libérer les fréquences requises par les SCP.

Vingt-sept parties intéressées ont présenté leurs mémoires en réponse à l'appel d'Industrie Canada qui les a considéré attentivement. Ces mémoires ont également été étudiés par le Comité consultatif sur l'autoroute de l'information, qui a présenté ses recommandations sur les questions de politique relatives aux SCP et sur l'élaboration de l'Autoroute canadienne de l'information.

L'attribution des fréquences radio régionales et mondiales s'avère capitale à une mise en place réussie des SCP au Canada. En particulier, les événements liés à l'attribution des fréquences aux États-Unis présentent un intérêt manifeste pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes. Dans un ensemble de décisions prises depuis septembre 1993, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) autorise de nouveaux services de communications personnelles dans la bande de «technologies naissantes» 2 GHz. La FCC a assigné un total de 140 MHz de fréquences du spectre aux SCP; ainsi, ces fréquences seront en mesure d'accueillir jusqu'à six licences de SCP, en blocs de deux dimensions (blocs de 10 MHz et de 30 MHz) dans n'importe quel secteur géographique donné. Vingt MHz (des 140 MHz) sont réservés aux dispositifs SCP exempts de licence permettant la transmission de la voix et des données.

Les «Services de communications personnelles» englobent un groupe de services de télécommunications utilisant des technologies actuelles et proposées ainsi que des capacités de réseau. L'on s'entend pour dire que les SCP utiliseront des terminaux radio exploités principalement en mode mobile ou portatif. Bien que les définitions particulières continuent d'être peaufinées et modifiées au fil de la maturation du concept des SCP, l'objectif commun à l'industrie tient à des services distincts de communications fixes et mobiles accessibles au moyen d'un terminal unique de communications personnelles, portatif, capable d'effectuer une multitude de tâches. Ce terminal permettra à son utilisateur d'entrer en contact avec n'importe qui, peu importe le moment ou le lieu. Pour qu'une personne (ou un dispositif de communication ou de calcul) soit en mesure d'atteindre son semblable partout dans le monde, les réseaux des SCP devront faire un usage intensif de numéros personnels pour identifier les personnes ou les dispositifs dans un même réseau ou dans plusieurs réseaux interconnectés.

Les réseaux canadiens de télécommunications publiques se fondent sur la zone du plan de numérotation nord-américain pour combler les exigences en matière de numérotation, et les codes du plan de numérotation régional (PNR) 500 et 533 sont conçus pour les communications personnelles. Industrie Canada administre actuellement la numérotation canadienne et tout fournisseur de services exigeant des ressources de numérotation doit présenter une demande à cet administrateur, par l'entremise de la Direction de la politique des télécommunications.

Le Comité directeur canadien sur la numérotation (CDCN) a été institué dans l'intention d'élaborer des recommandations à l'égard des stratégies les plus en mesure de faire valoir les intérêts généraux de la planification et de la mise en oeuvre de la numérotation à l'intention de l'industrie de télécommunication canadienne et de ses utilisateurs. Le CDCN assurera la liaison avec le North American Numbering Fora et fera des recommandations à Industrie Canada pour garantir la mise en place d'un plan de numérotation uniforme au sein de l'Amérique du Nord.

Il est aussi probable qu'une mise au point continue des réseaux de SCP fournira une gamme importante de types de services, y compris la récupération et la transmission de textes et de données, la répartition et les appels de groupe, la radiomessagerie, la radiolocalisation, le courrier électronique perfectionné, la vidéo compressée sur bande étroite, la radio numérique, et les applications multimédias. C'est pour que soit offert ce vaste éventail de services qu'Industrie Canada a formulé les principes de sa politique énoncée ci-dessous.

3. Politique générale des télécommunications

L'on s'attend à ce que les réseaux sans fil en général, et les services de communications personnelles en particulier, jouent un rôle clé dans la mise en valeur de l'Autoroute canadienne de l'information. En conséquence, Industrie Canada a entrepris ses activités d'élaboration de politiques dans ce domaine en tenant compte des objectifs prévus par la Loi sur la radiocommunication ainsi que les trois objectifs identifiés dans la stratégie relative à l'autoroute de l'information : la création d'emplois grâce à l'innovation et à l'investissement; la consolidation de la souveraineté et de l'identité culturelle du Canada; et l'apport d'un accès universel à un coût abordable. On a également pris en considération les cinq principes qui guideront l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre de la stratégie relative à l'autoroute de l'information, à savoir :

  • un réseau interconnecté et compatible de réseaux;
  • le développement concerté par les secteurs public et privé;
  • la concurrence au chapitre des installations, des produits et des services;
  • la protection de la vie privée et la sécurité des réseaux;
  • un apprentissage permanent

Le ministre, en exerçant ses pouvoirs conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication, a un droit de regard sur les principes établis dans la Loi sur les télécommunications. Un des objectifs de la politique relative aux télécommunications telle que décrite dans la section 7 de la Loi sur les télécommunications vise à permettre aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes d'obtenir la propriété et le contrôle des télécommunicateurs canadiens. Les télécommunicateurs canadiens propriétaires des installations doivent par conséquent se conformer à certaines exigences précises à l'égard de la propriété et du contrôle canadiens. Selon ces exigences, 80 p. 100 des intérêts votants du télécommunicateur doivent être détenus et contrôlés par des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

La Loi sur les télécommunications énonce plusieurs autres objectifs, y compris le fait de rendre fiables et abordables les services de télécommunications dans toutes les régions et de laisser agir de plus en plus les forces du marché pour la prestation des services de télécommunications. Ainsi, tout propriétaire ou exploitant d'installations de télécommunications servant à fournir des services de télécommunications publiques moyennant rétribution (soit un télécommunicateur propriétaire des installations) est, conformément à la Loi, soumis aux dispositions tarifaires du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC). La Loi accorde toutefois de nouveaux pouvoirs au CRTC, soit de s'abstenir de réglementer les services fournis par le télécommunicateur soumis à la réglementation s'il est d'avis que la concurrence suffit à protéger l'intérêt des utilisateurs ou s'il convient que cela s'inscrit dans les objectifs de la Loi (article 34). Il existe une disposition pour exempter une catégorie de télécommunicateurs canadiens de se conformer à la Loi (article 9). En cas de revente, le Canada permet la revente et le partage fondé sur l'utilisation des installations de télécommunication canadienne et, conformément à la Loi, les revendeurs ne sont pas soumis aux règlements du CRTC.

La croissance sans précédent des technologies des communications et de l'information a créé une conscience plus vive et a soulevé des préoccupations à l'endroit de la vie privée, une question exprimée clairement dans les objectifs de la politique de télécommunications de la Loi. Sous ce rapport, les SCP représentent à la fois un défi et une occasion, d'abord parce qu'il s'agit d'un service radio et, ensuite, parce qu'il est possible d'accorder à la vie privée les considérations justifiées par les phases initiales de la conception du matériel, par la formulation des normes, et par la mise en place des services.

4. Objectifs de la politique dans le contexte des SCP dans le 2 GHz

Les objectifs généraux de la politique, dont quelques-uns ont été énoncés brièvement dans la section précédente, trouvent une application précise dans l'introduction des SCP. À la suite d'une étude interne et d'un examen des présentations reçues du public, ainsi que de la réception des recommandations du Comité consultatif sur l'autoroute de l'information, voici les objectifs détaillés adoptés pour la mise en valeur et le déploiement des SCP :

  1. la stimulation d'un choix supplémentaire dans la prestation des services de radiotéléphonie mobile de type cellulaire et le soutien des nouvelles technologies et installations à haute sécurité et à coût moindre, qui concurrenceraient les services locaux actuels avec fil;
  2. la prestation de services de communications personnelles novateurs et supplémentaires à 2 GHz, plutôt que la simple redondance de services mobiles qui offrent présentement des services semblables sur des fréquences inférieures à 1 GHz;
  3. la facilitation des offres de services nationaux, nord-américains et mondiaux, afin de permettre aux fournisseurs de matériel et aux clients canadiens de profiter de la disponibilité de marchés plus vastes et d'offrir aux utilisateurs canadiens le moyen d'exploiter les possibilités de l'itinérance à grande échelle;
  4. la stimulation de services concurrentiels et complets, grâce à l'utilisation des installations actuelles et d'installations nouvelles, ainsi qu'à d'autres mesures dont l'accès non discriminatoire aux réseaux par des tierces parties, ce qui favorise le contenu et les services à valeur ajoutée;
  5. le soutien de la prestation de services au plus grand nombre de Canadiens et de Canadiennes possible; et,
  6. la promotion de la création d'emplois et de l'investissement au Canada, par le biais d'activités de recherche-développement canadiennes et l'acquisition concomitante de connaissances spécialisées pour tirer avantage des possibilités en matière d'investissement et de commerce internationaux.

5. Assignation de fréquences aux SCP

L'avis DGTP-006-94 de la Gazette indiquait l'intention d'Industrie Canada d'assigner des fréquences appropriées de la bande 2 GHz aux applications détenant une licence comme à celles qui en sont exemptes, en tenant dûment compte des services actuellement exploités dans cette bande. Afin d'en arriver à la plus grande souplesse possible dans la mise en oeuvre des SCP au Canada et d'augmenter les possibilités de coordination des systèmes fixes (hertziens) actuels, l'ensemble de la bande 140 MHz (1850–1990 MHz) est assigné aux SCP1.

5.1 Exploitation des SCP dans la bande exempte de licence

Les dispositifs exempts de licence sont des appareils radios exempts en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication de l'exigence de licence dans des bandes de fréquence radio spécifiées et devant être conformes aux normes et aux règlements techniques pertinents d'Industrie Canada.

Des fréquences ont été fournies pour les dispositifs exempts de licence en vue de conserver la souplesse des applications commerciales et personnelles à échelle réduite qui échapperaient à l'ensemble des services offerts par les fournisseurs autorisés. Conformément à l'avis paru dans la Gazette qu'on a mentionné précédemment, Industrie Canada confirme l'assignation de 20 MHz du spectre de la bande 1910–1930 MHz à l'exploitation des dispositifs SCP exempts de licence. Cette bande est subdivisée entre les applications de transmission de la voix et celles de données. La tranche de 10 MHz comprise entre 1910 et 1920 MHz doit servir aux dispositifs de communications (de données) asynchrones et la tranche de 10 MHz comprise entre 1920 et 1930 MHz, aux applications (vocales) isochrones.

Puisque ces dispositifs exempts de licence seront exploités dans un espace commun du spectre, il est nécessaire d'adopter une structure pour éviter l'interférence mutuelle. À cet égard, Industrie Canada procédera à l'adoption d'un protocole spectral fondé sur celui qu'a élaboré WinForum et que la FCC utilise aux États-Unis. La mise en place de cette bande, 1910–1930 MHz, pour les SCP dépend de la transition des systèmes fixes dont il en sera fait mention à la section 7.

5.2 Exploitation des SCP autorisés

La plus grande partie de la bande assignée aux SCP est réservée aux systèmes SCP autorisés; plus précisément, les sous-bandes 1850–1910 MHz et 1930–1990 MHz.

Comme il en a été fait mention à la section 2, la FCC a adopté aux États-Unis un plan de fréquences pour les SCP autorisés qui offre trois blocs de 30 MHz et trois blocs de 10 MHz. Ces blocs se composent de sous-blocs jumeaux de dimension égale, par exemple, une paire 15+15 MHz ou une paire 5+5 MHz. Il importa de déterminer si le Canada devait adopter le même plan de fréquences pour les SCP canadiens ou choisir au contraire un plan distinct.

Industrie Canada note le succès du service de radio cellulaire et attribue la pénétration de ce grand marché à la disponibilité d'un vaste choix de matériel déjà élaboré pour des marchés plus vastes. Dans ce cas, notre dépendance du marché nord-américain a contribué à ce succès.

En considérant l'utilisation d'un plan de fréquences doté de blocs dont la dimension diffère de celle des blocs américains, il a fallu prendre en considération bon nombre de facteurs techniques et opérationnels. On a décidé que des différences importantes dans le plan de fréquences nécessiteraient certaines modifications du matériel. Bien que ces modifications puissent sembler relativement mineures, elles causeraient probablement des hausses de coût du matériel et, plus important encore, des retards et des contraintes de disponibilité. En outre, l'utilisation du plan de fréquences adopté par les États-Unis permet non seulement d'accéder à des blocs de fréquences de grande et de petite dimension, mais contribue à la diversité des services offerts au Canada.

En raison de ces considérations techniques et opérationnelles, et des objectifs des SCP établis à la section 4, Industrie Canada opte pour le plan de fréquences des SCP qui permettra de répandre le développement et la diffusion de services par toute l'Amérique du Nord.

Le plan de fréquences est donc le suivant :

Le plan de fréquences des SCP
Bloc Dimension Fréquences
Bloc A 30 MHz 1850–1865/1930–1945 MHz
Bloc B 30 MHz 1870–1885/1950–1965 MHz
Bloc C 30 MHz 1895–1910/1975–1990 MHz
Bloc D 10 MHz 1865–1870/1945–1950 MHz
Bloc E 10 MHz 1885–1890/1965–1970 MHz
Bloc F 10 MHz 1890–1895/1970–1975 MHz

À noter que l'utilisation des blocs de fréquences énumérés ci-dessus dans les régions à proximité de la frontière Canada/États-Unis doit être conforme à l'accord de partage provisoire du 14 novembre 1994, entre Industrie Canada et la FCC, sur l'utilisation de la bande 1850–1990 MHz.


Renvois

1 À noter que d'autres fréquences du service mobile sont attribuées dans la bande 2 GHz et, plus particulièrement, que la bande 2110–2160 MHz peut répondre aux besoins futurs de fréquences en matière de communications personnelles universelles évoluées.


Date de modification :