Backgrounder — Personal Communications Services

Updated

Personal Communications Services at 2 GHz

Backgrounder

Personal Communications Services promise access to wide range of Information Highway networks for all Canadians and will be an important component of the Government's Jobs and Growth agenda.

What is PCS?

PCS stands for Personal Communications Services, a new family of advanced digital telecommunications services. They are built around the concept of a small, low-cost, personal, and fully portable wireless handset that will extend the benefits of wireless communications to a larger segment of the market, and make a host of sophisticated new services possible for the first time.

PCS will make use of the latest technology. Their all-digital nature will make PCS handsets a major personal on-ramp to the Information Highway; provide unprecedented protection from eavesdropping; maximum ability to interact with other networks and services; and huge potential for innovative new communications services, such as remote control of household appliances and systems.

They will also usher in the era of the personal telephone number – in which everyone may ultimately have his or her own portable number, at which one will ultimately be accessible anywhere in the world.

PCS in Canada is compatible to the United States. This will make it more user-friendly and easier to use on both sides of the border.

Where and when will PCS be introduced?

The first PCS networks are expected to become operational and be commercially available in the major cities of Canada within the next two years. They will then gradually be extended across the country and into less densely populated areas.

Who are Personal Communications Services for?

In short, PCS is intended for everyone.

Today's conventional cellular phones are used predominantly by business (typically, sales) people, others with a very strong economic or practical need to stay in touch and those who must simply spend a lot of their time in a vehicle. Whereas these immensely popular cellular mobile telephone and data services are still comparatively expensive for the average person to use, PCS has been designed as a much lower-priced family of services that will bring all the benefits of mobility in telecommunications to the mass market user.

PCS will extend personal, portable and mobile communications to a far wider cross-section of the public. Consumers will benefit from additional choice in service providers, competition and economies of scale and scope. Digital networks will have the capacity to offer advanced services at reduced costs.

How will PCS change telephone service?

There is currently a global explosion in both wireless telecommunications technologies and demand for new services not fettered by the need to be connected by wires to fixed locations. In fact, wireless services which include cellular phones, message paging and the common cordless telephone in the family room are already, generally speaking, the fastest growing and most rapidly changing segment of the world telecommunications industry.

And the huge North American segment of that industry expects today's emerging PCS services will turn out to be their most significant growth area during the next decade.

With its vision of a low-cost, personal, multi-use terminal, able to put its user in touch with anyone, any time, anywhere PCS seems destined to have a revolutionary effect on both the telecommunications industry and the way we think about the telephone.

Telephone communications have until now been based on the use of unique numbers that are tied to particular locations, where a piece of terminal equipment, most commonly the domestic telephone handset, is physically tied to the wired network. When we dial these numbers, we are actually calling places not people in the hope or expectation the person we wish to reach will be there at the end of the wire. Statistics show that, for up to 80 per cent of the calls made to all homes and offices in North America, the person we want is not there, and what may be a near-endless game of telephone tag then ensues!

PCS promises to change that.

Instead of a shared fixture, physically tied to a particular place, our telephone will become truly personal. Each of us may carry one most, if not all, the time everywhere we go. Our telephone number will be personal as well, enabling newly intelligent digital networks to locate and ring us anywhere. Telephone tag will be minimized or eliminated and people will generally communicate in new ways, at different times and in some very different places.

How will PCS affect Canada's telecommunications industry?

Because of the PCS networks, and the small, light-weight devices we will use to access them, will all be based on digital technology, they will make possible a host of new, advanced telecommunications services many of them simply not imaginable nor possible today.

The advent of PCS in Canada is in accordance with the federal government's Information Highway strategy of encouraging the entry of new players as service providers, and the pursuit of strong, fair and sustainable competition in the provision of all telecommunications services.

This policy, and the emergence of expected strong consumer demand for PCS and other cellular-like wireless services, is expected to lead to increased efficiency, growth and innovation in the Canadian telecommunications industry. This, in turn, will generate both new jobs for Canadians at home and increased sales of Canadian telecommunications hardware, software and services in world export markets.

Several Canadian companies are already world leaders in wireless telecommunications and closely related technologies.

What were the Government's objectives for PCS?

As part of the Information Highway strategy, the Government outlined its objectives in Industry Canada's document of — Policy and Call for Applications: Wireless Personal Communications Services in the 2 GHz range (Implementing PCS in Canada).

This policy aims to facilitate the timely and orderly implementation within Canada of PCS and to further the following detailed objectives: 

  1. Stimulation of additional choice in provision of cellular-like' mobile radio/telephone services, and support of new technologies and facilities of high security and low cost which could compete with existing local wireline services.
  2. Provision of additional and innovative personal communications services at 2 GHz. Not just replication of services already available to consumers below 1 GHz.
  3. Facilitation of national, North American and world-wide service offerings to enable both Canadian equipment suppliers and consumers to benefit from the availability of larger markets and the opportunity to make use of wide-scale roaming capabilities throughout most of North America and perhaps the world.
  4. Stimulation of competitive and comprehensive service offerings, provided through utilization of both existing and new facilities, through among other measures non-discriminatory access by third parties to networks, thereby also promoting value-added services and content.
  5. Support of service provision to the greatest possible number of Canadians, and
  6. Promotion of jobs and investment in Canada, through support of domestic research and development activities and the concomitant development of expertise for international trade and investment opportunities.

How will PCS relate to Canada's Information Highway?

With their promise of competitive pricing, highly personal and multi-use access to Canada's web of interconnected wireline and wireless telecommunications networks, and the many new services this infrastructure will deliver, PCS systems will be a major and vital component of the country's Information Highway.

(The Information Highway is the metaphorical name given to our rapidly emerging, seamless web of high-speed networks, capable of carrying voice, text, data, graphics and video services to and from all Canadians.)

The federal government believes the Information Highway will be a critical component of a revitalized national economy. It will constitute an indispensable strategic key to new jobs and economic prosperity for Canadians in global markets in which success or failure is increasingly coming to be determined by the superior creation, movement and application of information.

Because of this, PCS operators have been licensed, and their services will soon be introduced, in accordance with established broad public policy objectives for the Information Highway. The government has repeatedly stated, as fundamental objectives, that: 

  • the Information Highway must help create jobs, through innovation and investment;
  • it should help reinforce Canadian sovereignty and cultural identity; and
  • universal access to the Information Highway should be available at reasonable cost for all Canada's citizens.

The government believes PCS and other Information Highway services can best contribute to these objectives if there is an increasingly strong and central role for competition in the provision of all products, facilities and services. It sees the Information Highway evolving not as a brand new facility, but rather as an interconnected, interoperable network of networks. In other words, a user of one network should be able to interact with and send or get information easily to or from all the others.

Privacy protection and network security are further important concerns underpinning all areas of planning, building and operating Canada's Information Highway.

The Government of Canada expects that, one way or another, the advent of PCS in Canada will be a major step forward in the realization of virtually all of the above objectives and principles of Canadian communications policy.

Date modified:

Feuillet d'information — Les services de communications personnelles

Mise à jour, mars 2005

Les services de communications personnelles à 2 GHz

Feuillet d'information

Les services de communications personnelles représentent une promesse d'accès à une grande variété de réseaux sur l'autoroute de l'information pour tous les Canadiens. Ils formeront un élément important du programme de création d'emploi et de croissance économique.

Que sont les services de communications personnelles (SCP)?

Les services de communications personnelles (SCP) sont une nouvelle gamme de services de télécommunications numériques de pointe. Ils reposent sur le concept d'un petit combiné téléphonique personnel sans fil, bon marché et entièrement portatif, qui étendra les avantages des communications sans fil à un marché plus large et rendra possible, en grande première, une foule de nouveaux services ultra-modernes.

Les SCP feront appel à la technologie la plus récente. Le fait que ces combinés soient entièrement numériques en fera sans doute la principale voie d'accès personnelle à l'autoroute de l'information et la meilleure protection contre l'écoute clandestine. Les SCP devraient aussi permettre une possibilité d'interconnexion maximale avec les autres réseaux et services, en plus d'offrir un énorme potentiel en matière de nouveaux services de communication novateurs, notamment la commande à distance des appareils électroménagers et des systèmes ménagers.

Les SCP vont aussi inaugurer l'ère du numéro téléphonique personnel dans laquelle chacun pourra en définitive avoir son propre numéro nomade, par lequel on pourra le joindre partout où il sera dans le monde.

Les SCP au Canada seront compatibles avec ceux des États-Unis, de façon à faciliter leur utilisation de part et d'autre de la frontière.

Où et quand les SCP seront-ils introduits?

Les premiers réseaux de SCP devraient devenir disponibles commercialement et exploitables dans les grandes villes du Canada au cours des deux prochaines années. Ensuite, ils s'étendront partout au pays, y compris dans les zones moins densément peuplées.

A qui sont destinés les services de communications personnelles?

En un mot, les SCP sont destinés à tous et à chacun.

Les téléphones cellulaires classiques d'aujourd'hui sont principalement utilisés par les gens d'affaires (particulièrement ceux du secteur des ventes) ainsi que par d'autres personnes qui ont un très grand besoin économique ou pratique de rester en contact avec d'autres, ou qui doivent tout simplement passer une grande partie de leur temps dans un véhicule. Si ces services mobiles cellulaires de données et de téléphone, très populaires, coûtent encore relativement cher pour le commun des mortels, les SCP ont pour leur part été prévus et conçus comme étant une gamme de services beaucoup plus économiques, qui offriront tous les avantages des télécommunications mobiles aux utilisateurs du grand public.

Les SCP permettront l'expansion des communications personnelles, portatives et mobiles à un échantillon beaucoup plus important du public. Les consommateurs profiteront d'un choix additionnel parmi les fournisseurs de services, de la concurrence, des économies d'échelle et d'une meilleure portée. Les réseaux numériques auront la capacité d'offrir des services de pointe à des coûts réduits.

Comment les SCP modifieront-ils le service téléphonique?

Actuellement, il y a une explosion mondiale à la fois dans les techniques de télécommunications sans fil et dans la demande de nouveaux services qui ne requièrent pas une liaison par câble à des endroits déterminés. De fait, les services sans fil tels que le téléphone cellulaire, le téléappel et le téléphone sans fil que l'on retrouve communément au foyer sont déjà, de façon générale, le segment de l'industrie mondiale des télécommunications qui croît et qui change le plus rapidement.

En outre, l'énorme segment nord-américain de cette industrie s'attend à ce que les SCP qui font leur apparition actuellement deviennent leur principal secteur de croissance au cours de la prochaine décennie.

Le faible coût, le caractère personnalisé, le terminal multiusage et la capacité de mettre l'utilisateur en contact avec n'importe qui, en tout temps et n'importe où semblent destiner les SCP à des incidences révolutionnaires tant sur l'industrie des télécommunications que dans notre conception du téléphone.

Les communications téléphoniques ont jusqu'à maintenant été fondées sur l'utilisation de numéros spécifiques attribués à des endroits précis où un terminal, plus communément un combiné téléphonique résidentiel, est relié physiquement à un réseau câblé. Lorsque nous composons ces numéros, nous communiquons en réalité avec des lieux plutôt qu'avec des gens en espérant que la personne que nous tentons de joindre se trouvera à l'autre bout du fil. Les statistiques démontrent que, dans une proportion pouvant atteindre 80 p. 100 des appels effectués dans les foyers ou les bureaux en Amérique du Nord, la personne que nous cherchons à joindre n'est pas là et que cela peut entraîner une suite sans fin d'appels que l'un retourne à l'autre.

Les SCP ont le potentiel de changer cet état de choses.

Plutôt que d'être un dispositif partagé et physiquement relié à un endroit déterminé, notre téléphone deviendra véritablement personnalisé. Chacun d'entre nous pourra en transporter un, tout le temps ou presque, où qu'il ira. Notre numéro de téléphone sera aussi personnalisé grâce à de nouveaux réseaux numériques intelligents qui pourront nous retracer et nous joindre où que ce soit. La série des appels retournés sera réduite ou éliminée. De plus, les gens, en général, communiqueront par des moyens, à des moments et à des endroits très différents.

Quelles incidences auront les SCP sur l'industrie canadienne des télécommunications?

Parce que les réseaux de SCP et les dispositifs à la fois petits et légers que nous utiliserons pour y accéder exploiteront la technologie numérique, ils ouvriront la voie à une foule de nouveaux services de télécommunications de pointe, jusqu'ici impossibles à concevoir ou à mettre au point.

L'arrivée des SCP au Canada correspond à la stratégie du gouvernement fédéral qui encourage la venue de nouveaux intervenants, tels que les fournisseurs de services, et la poursuite d'une concurrence vive, équitable et durable dans la prestation de tous les services de télécommunications.

Cette politique ainsi que l'émergence prévue d'une forte demande des consommateurs pour les SCP et autres services sans fil de type cellulaire devraient permettre une efficacité, une croissance et une innovation accrues au sein de l'industrie canadienne des télécommunications. Il en découlera de nouveaux emplois pour les Canadiens au pays et des ventes additionnelles de matériel, de logiciels et de services de télécommunications canadiens sur les marchés mondiaux.

Plusieurs sociétés canadiennes sont déjà des chefs de file mondiaux dans le domaine des télécommunications sans fil et des techniques qui leur sont étroitement liées.

Quels sont les objectifs du gouvernement en ce qui concerne les SCP?

Dans le cadre de sa stratégie sur l'autoroute de l'information, le gouvernement a décrit ses objectifs dans un document publié par Industrie Canada le 15 juin1995 et intitulé Politique et dépôt de demandes : Les services de communications personnelles sans fil dans la gamme de 2 GHz mise en oeuvre des SCP au Canada.

Cette politique vise à faciliter la mise en oeuvre opportune et méthodique des SCP au Canada et à atteindre les objectifs particuliers suivants: 

  1. Stimuler l'offre d'un choix accru de services radio/téléphone mobiles de type cellulaire ainsi que le soutien de nouvelles techniques et installations offrant sécurité supérieure et coûts inférieurs et qui pourraient concurrencer les services locaux câblés actuels.
  2. Fournir des SCPGHz supplémentaires et innovateurs, et pas seulement des copies conformes des services sur fréquence inférieure à 1 GHz qui sont déjà accessibles aux consommateurs.
  3. Faciliter l'offre de services nationaux, nord-américains et mondiaux afin de permettre aux fournisseurs et aux consommateurs de matériel canadien de profiter de l'existence de marchés plus grands et d'avoir l'occasion d'utiliser des capacités d'envergure mondiale partout en Amérique du Nord et, peut-être, dans le monde.
  4. Stimuler l'offre de services complets et concurrentiels, fournis par le biais d'installations existantes ou nouvelles grâce, entre autres dispositions, à l'accès non discriminatoire de tiers aux réseaux, ce qui permettrait aussi de promouvoir des services et un contenu à valeur ajoutée.
  5. Soutenir la prestation de services au plus grand nombre possible de Canadiens.
  6. Promouvoir la création d'emplois et l'investissement au Canada, par le biais du soutien aux activités de recherche-développement au pays et au développement concomitant de l'expertise dans les champs du commerce international et des possibilités d'investissement.

Quel sera le rapport entre les SCP et l'autoroute de l'information?

Parce qu'ils promettent d'offrir des prix concurrentiels, un accès très personnalisé et multiusage au réseau canadien de réseaux interconnectés de télécommunications câblés et sans fil et plusieurs nouveaux services qui leur sont propres, les SCP seront une composante vitale de l'autoroute de l'information du pays.

(L'autoroute de l'information est une métaphore utilisée pour désigner le réseau transparent de réseaux à grande vitesse qui fait son apparition et qui est capable de transmettre des services relatifs à la voix, au texte, aux données, aux graphiques et les services vidéo à tous les Canadiens et en provenance de tous les Canadiens.)

Le gouvernement fédéral croit que l'autoroute de l'information sera une composante cruciale d'une économie nationale revitalisée. Cette autoroute constituera un élément stratégique de la création de nouveaux emplois et de la prospérité économique des Canadiens dans un contexte de marchés mondiaux sur lesquels la réussite ou l'échec est de plus en plus déterminé par la création, l'échange et l'application supérieures de la connaissance.

Pour cette raison, les exploitants des SCP ont obtenu des licences et leurs services seront bientôt introduits dans le respect des grands objectifs de la politique gouvernementale au sujet de l'autoroute de l'information.

Le gouvernement a déclaré maintes fois que ses objectifs fondamentaux étaient les suivants:

  • l'autoroute de l'information doit aider à créer des emplois par le biais de l'innovation et de l'investissement;
  • elle devrait consolider la souveraineté et l'identité culturelle du Canada;
  • tous les citoyens canadiens devraient avoir un accès universel à l'autoroute de l'information, et ce, à un coût abordable.

La protection de la vie privée et la sécurité du réseau sont d'autres préoccupations qui sous-tendent tous les autres secteurs de la planification, de l'aménagement et du fonctionnement de l'autoroute de l'information du Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'attend à ce que, d'une façon ou d'une autre, l'arrivée des SCP au Canada soit un grand pas en avant en ce qui concerne la réalisation de presque tous les objectifs et principes de la politique canadienne des communications énoncés ci-dessus.

Date de modification :