Spectrum Licence

300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Our file: 46215-1(190773RH)
March 18, 2012

Mr. John Forsey
Director, ITU and Regulatory
Telesat Canada
1601 Telesat Court
Ottawa, Ontario K1B 5P4

Dear Mr. Forsey:

This letter constitutes a spectrum licence granted to Telesat Canada to operate a Direct Broadcast Satellite facility in the 91° West longitude orbital position in the 12.2–12.7 GHz and 17.3–17.8 GHz frequency bands. This licence replaces the spectrum licence issued to Telesat Canada on March 18, 1999 for use of DBS frequencies at the 91° W orbital position and it expires the earlier of December 31, 2027, or when the Nimiq 6 satellite reaches the end of its operational life.

This licence is subject to the conditions listed in the attachment.

Sincerely,

Chantal Beaumier
Director, Space Services


Telesat Canada (Telesat)
Conditions of Licence for a Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS) Located at the 91° West Longitude Orbital Position

1. Eligibility

Telesat shall conform at all times with the Canadian ownership and control requirements as set out for a radiocommunication carrier in section 10(2)(d) of the Radiocommunication Regulations.

2. Licence Transferability

This licence may not be transferred or assigned without a full review of the application by the Department and without the authorization of the Minister. For clarification, and without limiting the generality of the foregoing, transfer includes any leasing, sub-leasing or other disposition of the rights and obligations of the licence, and also includes any change which would have a material effect on the ownership or control in fact of Telesat.

3. Direction or Control of Spacecraft

Telesat shall ensure that the Nimiq 6 satellite is under the direction or control of a Canadian entity as set out in section 3(3)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act. Telesat shall also provide information to the Department demonstrating that any additional satellite to be operated under this licence will be under such direction or control prior to signing a contract for the procurement of the satellite.

4. Satellite Design Approval

Prior to entering into a contract for the procurement of any additional satellite to be operated under this licence, Telesat shall demonstrate to the Department that the satellite design will meet all commitments made for serving Canada, and conform with the applicable provisions of the ITU Radio Regulations and with any applicable conditions of licence.

5. Laws, Regulations, and Other Obligations

Telesat and its satellite operations are subject to and must comply with the ITU Radio Regulations, the Canadian Radiocommunication Act, the Radiocommunication Regulations, and Canada's spectrum policies pertaining to the licensed radio frequency bands and satellite orbital position.

6. Capacity to Meet Needs of Users and Service Providers in Canada

Telesat shall operate the DBS satellite at 91°W as a Canadian telecommunications common carrier, and shall make the satellite capacity available on a non-discriminatory basis to meet Canadian requirements in all regions of Canada. Should available capacity exceed such Canadian requirements, Telesat may assign such excess capacity for service outside Canada for the term of the licence.

7. Research and Development

Telesat shall invest a minimum of 2 percent of their adjusted gross revenues resulting from the provision of satellite services via the Nimiq 6 satellite on satellite-related research and development activities. This investment may be averaged over a 5 year period, with the first averaging period beginning with the commencement of operations.

Eligible research and development is that which meets the definition adopted by the Canada Customs and Revenue Agency. Adjusted gross revenues are defined as total service revenues less inter-carrier payments, bad debts, third party commissions and provincial and goods and services taxes collected.

Licensees with less than $5 million in annual gross operating revenues are exempt from research and development expenditure requirements, except where they have affiliations with licensees that hold other licences with the research and development condition of licence and where the total annual gross revenues of the affiliated licensees are greater than $5 million.

8. Orbital Debris Mitigation

Any satellite to be operated under this licence, at the end of its life, shall be removed from the geostationary satellite orbit region in a manner consistent with Recommendation ITU-R S.1003 Environmental Protection of the Geostationary Satellite Orbit.

9. International Satellite Coordination

  1. Telesat shall, at its own expense, participate with the Department to effect the successful modification of the BSS frequency assignment plans of Appendix 30/30A of the ITU Radio Regulations; provide the Department, in a form acceptable to the ITU, with any required information; and be responsible for the payment of all ITU processing charges related to the submission of this information.
  2. Telesat shall operate its satellites in accordance with the Appendix 30/30A plan and shall fulfill all commitments made by Canada pursuant to all international coordination and any other arrangements for the operation of a direct broadcast satellite facility in the 91°W orbital position.
  3. Notwithstanding the above, to the extent that operations do not conform with the Appendix 30/30A Plan, such operations shall be on a no interference, no protection basis.

10. Domestic Satellite Coordination

Telesat shall coordinate the satellite network with other potentially affected Canadian satellite and terrestrial services; and the satellite must be operated in a manner consistent with any arrangements made to facilitate domestic satellite coordination.

11. Earth Station Licensing

All earth stations in Canada communicating with the satellite, except those exempted from the licensing requirement pursuant to the Radiocommunication Act and Radiocommunication Regulations, shall be licensed prior to operation pursuant to Client Procedure Circular, CPC-2-6-01, Procedure for the Submission of Applications to License Fixed Earth Stations and to Approve the Use of Foreign Fixed Satellite Service (FSS) Satellites in Canada.

12. Reporting

  1. Telesat shall provide the Department with a detailed annual report outlining progress made in all areas respecting the approved satellite project, including:
    • an update demonstrating continued compliance with all licence conditions;
    • a current listing of all satellite capacity made available through this authorization, the capacity assigned to Canadian service providers and others, including the parties to which it is assigned, and any unused capacity including the terms of its availability; and
    • a copy of any existing corporate annual report for its fiscal year with respect to this authorization.
  2. These annual reports are to be submitted, in writing, within 120 days of your fiscal year end, to the Director, Space Services, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch. These annual reports are also to be augmented with semi-annual interim reports providing an update on all aspects of the design, procurement, construction, coordination and launch of the satellite until the proposed satellite has been put into service.
  3. In providing the reports set out in conditions 12 (a) and 12 (b), Telesat may amalgamate the reports with other reports required pursuant to other licences.

13. Licence Fees

Telesat shall pay the applicable annual authorization fees on or before March 31 of each year.

Licence de spectre

300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0C8

Notre Dossier: 46215-1 (190773RH)
18 mars 2010

Monsieur John Forsey
Directeur, UIT et affaires réglementaires
Télésat Canada
1601, Telesat Court
Gloucester (Ontario)
K1B 5P4

Monsieur,

Cette lettre constitue une licence de spectre accordée à Télésat Canada pour exploiter un satellite de radiodiffusion directe sur la position orbitale 91 degrés de longitude ouest dans les bandes de fréquence de 12,2-12,7 GHz et 17,3-17,8 GHz. La présente licence remplace une licence de spectre initiale accordée à Télésat Canada le 18 mars 1999 pour l'utilization des fréquencies de SRD à la position orbitale 91 degrés de longitude ouest et cette licence expirera le 31 décembre 2027 ou lorsque Nimiq 6 atteindra la fin de sa vie d'opération.

Cette licence est assujettie aux conditions stipulées dans l'annexe ci-jointe.

Veuillez agréer, l'expression de mes meilleurs sentiments.

Chantal Beaumier,
La Directrice,
Services Spatiaux


Télésat Canada (Télésat)
Conditions de la licence de satellite de radiodiffusion directe (SRD) à la position orbitale 91° ouest

1. Admissibilité

Télésat doit se conformer en tout temps aux exigences de propriété et de contrôle canadiens prescrits pour un transporteur de radiocommunications à l'alinéa 10(2)d) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

2. Transférabilité de la licence

La présente licence ne peut être ni transférée, ni cédée sans un examen complet de la demande par le Ministère et l'autorisation du Ministre. Aux fins de clarification et sans limiter la portée générale de ce qui précède, on entend par transfert toute location, sous-location ou disposition par tout autre moyen des droits et des obligations de la licence, y compris tout changement susceptible d'avoir un effet important sur la propriété ou le contrôle de fait de Télésat.

3. Direction ou contrôle de l'engin spatial

Télésat doit garantir que le satellite sera sous la direction ou le contrôle d'une entité canadienne conformément à l'alinéa 3(3)b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication. Télésat doit fournir au Ministère de l'information démontrant que toutes les installations du satellite proposé seront sous la direction ou le contrôle d'une entité canadienne avant de signer du tout contrat d'acquisition du satellite.

4. Approbation de la conception du satellite

Avant la signature du tout contrat d'acquisition du satellite pour être fonctionné sous cette licence, Télésat doit démontrer au Ministère que la conception du satellite satisfait à tous les engagements pris en vue de la desserte du Canada et est conforme aux dispositions applicables du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT et à toute autre condition de licence applicable.

5. Lois, règlements et autres obligations

Télésat et ses opérations satellites sont assujetties et doivent être conformes au Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT, à la Loi sur la radiocommunication du Canada, au Règlement sur la radiocommunication du Canada et aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre du Canada qui s'appliquent aux bandes de fréquences radioélectriques et à la position orbitale visées par cette licence.

6. Capacité de répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs et des fournisseurs de services situés au Canada

Télésat doit exploiter le satellite SRD à la position orbitale 91°O à titre d'entreprise de télécommunication canadienne; le titulaire doit offrir la capacité de satellite à conditions égales pour répondre aux besoins de radiodiffusion du Canada dans toutes les régions du pays. Si la capacité disponible excède les besoins canadiens, Télésat peut céder la capacité excédentaire en vue de la prestation de service à l'extérieur du Canada pendant la durée de la licence.

7. Recherche et développement

Télésat doit investir au moins 2 p.100 de ses revenus bruts ajustés provenant des services par satellite offerts au moyen du satellite Nimiq 6 dans des activités de recherche et de développement en rapport avec les satellites. Cet investissement peut être réparti sur une période de cinq ans, la première période d'étalement commençant lors de la préparation du service au Canada.

Les activités de recherche et de développement admissibles sont celles qui répondent à la définition adoptée par l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Les revenus bruts rajustés sont définis comme étant les revenus totaux tirés des services moins les paiements interentreprises, les créances irrécouvrables, les commissions payées à des tiers et les taxes provinciales et les taxes sur les biens et services perçues.

Les titulaires de licence dont les revenus bruts d'exploitation annuels sont inférieurs à 5 millions de dollars sont exemptés des exigences de recherche-développement, sauf lorsqu'ils ont une affiliation avec des titulaires d'autres licences contenant une condition relative à la recherche-développement et lorsque les revenus annuels bruts des titulaires de licence affiliés sont supérieurs à 5 millions de dollars.

8. Réduction des débris orbitaux

À la fin de sa durée utile, le satellite doit être retiré de la région de l'orbite des satellites géostationnaires conformément à la Recommandation S.1003 de l'UIT-R, intitulée Protection de l'environnement de l'orbite des satellites géostationnaires.

9. Coordination internationale du satellite

  1. Télésat doit, à ses frais, collaborer avec le Ministère pour faire modifier les plans d'assignation des fréquences du SRS de l'Appendice 30/30A du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT; fournir au Ministère, sous une forme acceptable pour l'UIT, toute l'information requise; et effectuer le paiement de tous les frais de traitement par l'UIT relatifs à la présentation de cette information.
  2. Télésat doit exploiter ses satellites conformément à la modification réussie du plan de l'Appendice 30/30A et s'acquitter de tous les engagements pris par le Canada conformément aux arrangements de coordination internationals et aux autres arrangements en vue de l'exploitation d'une installation de satellite de radiodiffusion directe à la position orbitale de 91° O.
  3. Nonobstant les dispositions ci-dessus, dans la mesure où l'exploitation n'est pas conforme au plan de l'Appendice 30/30A, cette exploitation devra se faire sur une base de non-brouillage et de non-protection.

10. Coordination du satellite au pays

Télésat doit coordonner le réseau à satellite auprès des fournisseurs d'autres services par satellite et de Terre susceptibles d'être touchés au Canada, et le satellite doit être exploité conformément à tout arrangement pris dans le but de faciliter la coordination des satellites au pays.

11. Délivrance de licences aux stations terriennes

Toutes les stations terriennes situées au Canada qui communiquent avec le satellite, à l'exception de celles qui sont exemptées de l'exigence d'obtenir une licence conformément à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et au Règlement sur la radiocommunication, doivent être autorisées au moyen d'une licence avant le début de leur exploitation conformément à la CPC-2-6-01, intitulée Procédure de présentation des demandes de licences relatives aux stations terriennes fixes et de présentation d'information en vue de l'approbation de satellites étrangers du service fixe par satellite (SFS) au Canada.

12. Rapports

  1. Télésat doit présenter au Ministère un rapport annuel détaillé donnant un aperçu des progrès réalisés à tous les égards relativement au projet du satellite approuvé, y compris :
    • une mise à jour démontrant qu'elle se conforme toujours à toutes les conditions de sa licence;
    • une liste à jour de toute la capacité de son satellite offerte en vertu de la présente autorisation, de la capacité cédée à des fournisseurs de services canadiens et à d'autres entités (y compris les parties auxquelles cette capacité est cédée) et de toute autre capacité non utilisée (y compris les conditions de sa disponibilité);
    • un exemplaire de tout rapport annuel de Télésat pour l'exercice financier de l'entreprise correspondant à la présente autorisation.
  2. Ces rapports annuels doivent être présentés, par écrit, dans les 120 jours de la fin de votre exercice, au directeur, au directeur, Services spatiaux, Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes. Ils doivent également être complétés par des rapports provisoires semestriels donnant une mise à jour sur tous les aspects de la conception, de l'acquisition, de la construction, de la coordination et du lancement du satellite jusqu'à ce que le satellite proposé ait été mis en service.
  3. Dans les rapports devant être présentés conformément aux conditions 12 a) et 12 b), Télésat peut regrouper les rapports avec d'autres rapports requis en vertu d'autres licences.

13. Droits de licence

Télésat doit payer les droits d'autorisation annuels applicables à l'avance, au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année.