Questions and Answers — Amateur Radio

Streamlining the Authorization Process for the Amateur Radio Service

1.0 Certificates

1.1 Will a radio amateur who currently holds a radio licence with a call sign be issued an Amateur Radio Operator Certificate indicating the same call sign?

Yes, for existing amateur radio licence holders, the department is considering issuing an Amateur Radio Operator Certificate which indicates the same call sign as the radio licence. A similar process would be required where an individual holds more than one call sign. In this case, one call sign would be noted on the certificate and the remaining call sign(s) would be listed as a "registration" in the new database. The amateur will need to return a "request-for-information" card to advise the department which call sign is to be included on the certificate. The department will then provide a call sign registration document to the radio amateur.

1.2 Will the Amateur Radio Operator Certificate, which lists the call sign in addition to the Qualifications held by the operator, have a legal status?

This proposal does not change the legal status of the Amateur Radio Operator Certificate. The Amateur Radio Operator Certificate is defined in Part IV of the Radiocommunication Regulations and we are not proposing any changes to this part of the regulations. We will simply add the call sign to the certificate document. An operator's qualifications, such as, Basic, Advanced and Morse Code (5 w.p.m. and 12 w.p.m.) displayed on the operator's certificate, will continue to determine the operational and technical limitations of the operator.

1.3 How will you track the call sign, qualification level and mailing address information of an amateur, and will this information be made available to the public?

Industry Canada intends to develop a new "Certificate & Call Sign" database that will link the call sign, the operator's qualifications and mailing address together. The department proposes that amateurs be required to notify the department of changes to their mailing address. Portions of this database will be made available to the public. This will allow amateurs to obtain information regarding assigned call signs, operator qualifications and mailing addresses. Information that cannot be released due to restrictions under the Privacy Act, such as telephone numbers and date of birth, will not be released to the public.

1.4 Will the certificates be suitable for framing or will they be the same as the existing wallet-size certificates?

Industry Canada intends to continue issuing a wallet-size certificate to all radio amateurs. However, many radio amateurs have indicated that they would also like to obtain a larger certificate that is suitable for framing. We are currently investigating the cost associated with the printing and mailing of such certificates.

2.0 Call Signs

2.1 Do I get a different call sign with each certificate Qualification?

No. Your call sign will remain the same. A new certificate will be issued that will reflect the additional qualification(s). No fee will be charged for the certificate.

2.2 Will I be able to request a call sign prefix that is not applicable to my area?

No, call sign prefixes will continue to be issued from blocks according to Schedule IV of Regulation by Reference (RBR-4) based on the address of the applicant.

2.3 May I bequeath my call sign to my family or friends?

No. However, in the case of a deceased amateur, members of the immediate family would have the opportunity to apply for the call sign over a twelve month period.

2.4 Will I be able to change my call sign at a future date if I find one I like better, or if one becomes available that was not previously available?

Yes, however, the department is proposing to charge a $60 fee for such requests.

2.5 How will requests for special event or special prefix call signs be dealt with?

The department's proposal will not affect the current assignment policies associated with special amateur call signs, including two-letter suffixes and two-letter prefixes. However, the department is proposing to charge a $60 fee for processing these special requests.

2.6 How will call signs become available for re-assignment?

Call signs will be assigned to an individual for a life-time, however there will be cases when call signs will become available for re-assignment. In the case of an amateur requesting a replacement call sign, the unwanted call sign would be returned to the block of available call signs at the time of exchange.

In the case of a deceased person, our current policy allows the immediate family to apply for the call sign. This will continue. In the case of non-family members, they may not apply for the call sign of a deceased person until a reasonable amount of time, such as a year, has elapsed. They can then apply for the call sign, but only upon presentation of proof of passing, such as an obituary notice.

Ultimately, all call signs become available for re-assignment when the current year equals the certificate holder's birth date plus 125 years.

2.7 Will you consider issuing a call sign prefix that will identify the qualification level of the certificate holder?

No. The department intends to make the certificate Qualification(s) and call sign database available to the public. This will allow the radio amateur community to access the database to verify the certificate holder's qualification level.

2.8 Will this proposal allow accredited examiners to issue call signs?

Although this proposal does not include such a plan, the department may consider this option at a future date.

2.9 Will we run out of call signs?

No, there are sufficient call sign blocks available for assignment.

3.0 Regulatory

3.1 How will this proposal affect current regulations?

The regulations concerning the operation of radio apparatus in the amateur radio service would be maintained. However, the current limitation on the number of stations that an amateur may operate using a particular call sign, which is currently three stations will be removed. As a result, an individual would be able to operate any number of stations under an amateur radio call sign.

3.2 Will this proposal lead to less involvement in regulation?

The implementation of the proposal will not impact on the department's ability to regulate and manage the spectrum. The department will continue with its regulatory duties concerning both domestic and international activities.

3.3 With the elimination of the radio licence, will the department still be able to place restrictions on amateur radio operations that cause harmful interference to other services (e.g. restrictions on the hours of operation or frequency bands)?

Yes. The department will still be able to place restrictions on amateur radio operations. The Minister's powers include fixing the terms and conditions, as well as suspending or revoking an Amateur Radio Operator Certificate. Additionally, under paragraph 5(1)(l) of the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister may:

"make determinations as to the existence of harmful interference and issue orders to persons in possession or control of radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment that the Minister determines to be responsible for the harmful interference to cease or modify operation of the apparatus or equipment until such time as it can be operated without causing or being affected by harmful interference".

Where warranted, these powers will continue to be exercised.

3.4 I thought that my amateur radio station licence gave me authority to install antennas and supporting structures for antennas. Will this proposal affect this?

No. The responsibilities of the amateur radio operator do not change. The roles and responsibilities of all parties concerning this matter are described in Client Procedures Circular 2-0-03 (CPC-2-0-03), Environmental Process, Radiofrequency Fields and Land-Use Consultation. Amateur radio stations are considered "non-site-specific stations".

3.5 Will this proposal impact on international operating permits (CEPT and IARP)?

No. However, should an agreement need to be revised as a result of this proposal, to ensure that reciprocal and bilateral agreements are maintained, we will do so. Currently, requests for these permits are processed by the Radio Amateurs of Canada (RAC). RAC requests only the applicant's name, address, call sign and a copy of the Amateur Radio Operator Certificate. The radio licence number, company code or any other licensing information is not required in order to apply for and obtain the international operating permits.

3.6 If a licence is not issued, how can you ensure that the mailing address of amateurs will remain current?

Requirements regarding operation in the amateur radio service are contained in Regulation by Reference RPR-4, Standards for the Operation of Radio Stations in the Amateur Radio Service. Section 45 of the Radiocommunication Regulations will be amended to include the provision that only those amateurs operating their stations in accordance with RPR-4 are exempt from the requirement to hold a radio licence. This standards document will be amended to include the requirement that amateurs operating a radio station must notify the department of their change of mailing address within a specified time period (likely six months). Failure to notify the department of a change of mailing address within the permitted time period would result in the amateur radio operator being in contravention of subsection 4(1) the Radiocommunication Act.

It is generally recognized by amateurs that an up-to-date mailing list of all active amateur radio operators is beneficial to individual operators and the amateur community as a whole. Therefore, the department does not anticipate a compliance problem in this regard.

4.0 Miscellaneous

4.1 What impact will this proposal have on the international regulatory status of Canadian Amateur Radio Operators?

Canada is a signatory of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and has in the past followed the spectrum plan set out by this organization. Signatory administrations agree to abide by the Radio Regulations as enacted by the Union and such regulations are considered to have treaty status. It is a requirement of the ITU Radio Regulations that administrations take such measures as they judge necessary to verify the operational and technical qualifications of any person wishing to operate the apparatus of an amateur station. However, these regulations do no prescribe what form such an authorization(s) may take.

In this regard many administrations currently issue a single authority to amateurs which includes both operator qualifications and a call sign. These authorizations are referred to in different terms such as permits, certificates and licences. There is, however, no particular legal significance to the term administrations choose to use for their authorization document(s).

The new amateur certificate issued by Industry Canada will clearly indicate that the holder has a certain level of qualification and is authorized to operate in the amateur radio service using a specified call sign(s). This amalgamation of authorities does not constitute a change of status in respect to an amateur's operating privileges, but rather is simply an administrative simplification of the authorization process. We do not anticipate that other administrations will have any difficulty with this streamlined authorization process.

4.2 Without a licence, how will you know where the station is located?

The Department proposes that radio amateurs be required to notify the department of changes to their mailing address. In addition, the department is examining options for direct amendment of address information via the Internet.

The address information on the radio licence does not necessarily reflect the location of an amateur radio station, since under the authority of a radio licence, amateurs are currently permitted to have three different radio installations. The department has the investigative tools available today to locate sources of radio emissions and these same tools will be in place. The department's ability to locate and take corrective action will not change.

4.3 Will we lose our voice and influence as a result of not paying licence fees?

This proposal will not affect the process that is currently used to establish or amend the regulations that pertain to the amateur radio service. The main purpose of this proposal is to manage the administration of the amateur radio service in a more efficient and cost effective manner. The amateur community will continue to be part of the regulatory process and the department will continue to manage the radio spectrum in a manner that takes the concerns and recommendations of the amateur community into account.

4.4 Today we notice differences across Canada concerning the administration of the amateur licence. Will this proposal have any effect on this?

The move to manage smarter, encompassed in this proposal, will streamline the administrative process and eliminate the minor inconsistencies which may now exist.

4.5 Will the amateur bands now be taken over by commercial industry?

No. The department will continue to manage the radio frequency spectrum in a manner that benefits all radio spectrum users.

4.6 When do you hope to have this proposal implemented?

It is our desire to see this proposal implemented by April 1, 2000.

Date modified:

Questions et réponses — Radio amateur

Rationalisation du processus d'autorisation concernant le Service de radioamateur

1.0 Certificats

1.1 Le radioamateur qui détient actuellement une licence radio assortie d'un indicatif d'appel recevra-t-il un certificat opérateur radioamateur portant le même indicatif?

Oui, pour ce qui est des radioamateurs actuels qui sont titulaires d'une licence radio, le Ministère envisage de délivrer un certificat d'opérateur radioamateur portant le même indicatif d'appel que sur la licence radio. Il faudrait recourir à un processus analogue lorsque la personne possède plus d'un indicatif d'appel. Dans ce cas, l'un des indicatifs serait indiqué sur le certificat, et le ou les indicatifs restants seraient "enregistrés" dans la base de données. Le radioamateur aura à renvoyer une fiche de "demande d'information" afin d'indiquer au Ministère quel indicatif doit figurer sur le certificat. Par la suite, le Ministère fournira au radioamateur un document d'indicatif enregistré.

1.2 Le certificat d'opérateur radioamateur, sur lequel figurent l'indicatif d'appel ainsi que les compétences de l'opérateur, aura-t-il un statut légal?

La proposition ne change pas le statut légal du certificat d'opérateur radioamateur. Ce dernier est défini à la partie IV du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et nous ne proposons d'apporter aucun changement à cette partie du règlement. Nous ajouterons simplement l'indicatif d'appel au certificat. Les compétences des radioamateurs [compétences de base, compétences supérieures et compétences en morse (5 mots/min et 12 mots/min)] qui apparaissent sur le certificat détermineront encore les limites opérationnelles et techniques de l'opérateur.

1.3 Comment suivrez-vous l'indicatif d'appel, le niveau de compétence d'un radioamateur et les renseignements sur son adresse postale, et ces renseignements seront-ils mis à la disposition du public?

Industrie Canada a l'intention d'établir une nouvelle base de données (certificats et indicatifs d'appel) qui établira un lien entre l'indicatif d'appel, les compétences de l'opérateur et l'adresse postale. Le Ministère propose qu'un radioamateur soit requis d'aviser le Ministère de tout changement à son adresse postale. Des éléments de cette base de données seront mis à la disposition du public. Cette mesure permettra aux radioamateurs d'obtenir des informations sur les indicatifs d'appel attribués, les qualifications des opérateurs et de l'information sur les adresses postaux.

Les renseignements qui ne peuvent être divulgués en raison des restrictions prévues par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, comme les numéros de téléphone et la date de naissance, ne seront pas communiqués au public.

1.4 Les certificats pourront-ils être encadrés ou seront-ils identiques aux certificats de format réduit existants?

Industrie Canada a l'intention de continuer de délivrer un certificat de format réduit à tous les radioamateurs. Cependant, un grand nombre de ceux-ci ont indiqué qu'ils aimeraient aussi obtenir un certificat d'une taille supérieure, qu'ils pourraient encadrer. Nous examinons actuellement ce que coûteraient l'impression et l'envoi par la poste de tels certificats.

2.0 Indicatifs d'appel

2.1 Vais-je obtenir un indicatif d'appel différent pour chaque compétence visée par un certificat?

Non. Votre indicatif d'appel demeurera le même. Un nouveau certificat sera délivré qui indique l'addition de vos nouvelles compétences d'opérateur. Aucun frais ne sera demandé pour le certificat.

2.2 Pourrai-je demander un préfixe d'indicatif qui ne s'applique pas à ma région?

Non, les préfixes d'indicatif d'appel continueront d'être attribués à partir de blocs, selon l'annexe IV de l'Incorporation par renvoi : (IPR-4) en fonction de l'adresse du requérant.

2.3 Est-ce je peux léguer mon indicatif à un membre de ma famille ou à un ami?

Non. Par contre, lorsqu'un radioamateur décède, la famille immédiate aura la possibilité de faire une demande pour l'indicatif pendant une période de 12 mois.

2.4 Vais-je pouvoir changer d'indicatif d'appel si j'en trouve un que je préfère, ou s'il est possible d'obtenir un indicatif qui n'était pas disponible auparavant?

Oui, mais le Ministère se propose de percevoir des frais de 60 $ pour répondre à de telles demandes.

2.5 Comment traitera-t-on les demandes d'événement spécial ou d'indicatif à préfixe spécial?

La proposition du Ministère n'aura pas d'incidence sur les politiques d'attribution actuellement en vigueur qui se rapportent aux indicatifs d'appels spéciaux de radioamateurs, y compris les suffixes à deux lettres et les préfixes à deux lettres. Toutefois, le Ministère se propose de percevoir des frais de 60 $ pour traiter ces demandes spéciales.

2.6 Comment les indicatifs d'appel pourront-ils être réattribués?

Les indicatifs d'appel seront normalement attribués à une personne à titre indéfini; cependant, il y aura des situations où des indicatifs d'appel pourront être réattribués. Lorsqu'un radioamateur demanderait un indicatif d'appel de remplacement, l'indicatif non voulu serait restitué au bloc d'indicatifs disponibles au moment de l'échange.

Lorsqu'une personne décède, la politique actuelle autorise la famille immédiate à demander son indicatif d'appel. Cette pratique sera maintenue. Les personnes qui ne sont pas membres de la famille ne peuvent demander l'indicatif d'appel de la personne décédée qu'après un temps raisonnable, comme un an. Ces personnes peuvent demander l'indicatif d'appel, mais uniquement en présentant une preuve de décès, comme un avis nécrologique.

En fin de compte, tous les indicatifs d'appel peuvent être réattribués lorsque l'année courante est égale à la date de naissance du détenteur du certificat, plus 125 ans.

2.7 Envisagerez-vous d'émettre un préfixe d'indicatif d'appel qui indiquera le niveau de compétence du titulaire du certificat?

Non. Le Ministère a l'intention de mettre à la disposition du public la base de données relatives aux compétences visées par le certificat et aux indicatifs d'appel. Cette mesure permettra à tous les radioamateurs de consulter la base de données afin de vérifier la compétence du titulaire du certificat.

2.8 Cette proposition permettra-t-elle aux examinateurs accrédités de délivrer des indicatifs d'appel?

La proposition ne comporte pas de plan de ce genre, mais le Ministère pourrait examiner cette option à une date ultérieure.

2.9 Manquerons-nous d'indicatifs d'appel?

Non, le nombre de blocs d'indicatifs d'appel qui peuvent être attribués sont suffisants.

3.0 Réglementation

3.1 Quelles seront les répercussions de la proposition sur les dispositions réglementaires en vigueur?

Selon la proposition, les dispositions réglementaires régissant le fonctionnement des appareils radio du Service de radioamateur seraient maintenues. Par contre, la limite imposée au nombre de stations qu'un radioamateur peut utiliser au moyen d'un indicatif d'appel particulier, soit trois stations à l'heure actuelle sera supprimée. De ce fait, une personne pourra utiliser n'importe quel nombre de stations au moyen d'un indicatif d'appel de radioamateur.

3.2 Cette proposition mènera-t-elle à une diminution des activités réglementaires?

La mise en oeuvre de la proposition n'aura pas d'incidence sur la capacité du Ministère de réglementer et de gérer le spectre. Ce dernier poursuivra ses fonctions de nature réglementaire concernant les activités tant nationales qu'internationales.

3.3 Vu l'élimination de la licence radio, le Ministère sera-t-il encore en mesure d'imposer des restrictions aux activités de radioamateurs qui brouillent d'autres services (comme des restrictions imposées aux heures de fonctionnement ou aux bandes de fréquence)?

Oui. Le Ministère pourra encore restreindre les activités des radioamateurs. Les pouvoirs dont dispose le Ministre consistent, notamment, à fixer les conditions d'utilisation, ainsi qu'à suspendre ou révoquer un certificat d'opérateur radioamateur. En outre, selon paragraphe 5(1)(l) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le Ministre peut, "décider de l'existence de tout brouillage préjudiciable et donner l'ordre aux personnes qui possèdent ou contrôlent tout appareil radio, matériel brouilleur ou matériel radiosensible qu'il juge responsable du brouillage de cesser ou de modifier l'exploitation de cet appareil ou de ce matériel jusqu'à ce qu'il puisse fonctionner sans causer de brouillage préjudiciable ou sans en être contrarié".

Le cas échéant, ces pouvoirs continueront d'être exercés.

3.4 Je crois que ma licence de station de radioamateur m'autorise à installer des antennes ainsi que des bâtis d'antenne. La proposition aura-t-elle une incidence sur cela?

Non. Les responsabilités du radioamateur ne changent pas. Les rôles et les responsabilités de toutes les parties sur ce plan sont décrits dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-0-03 (CPC-2-0-03) intitulée Processus environnemental, champs de radiofréquences et consultation sur l'utilisation du sol. Les stations de radioamateur sont considérées non spécifiques d'un site.

3.5 La proposition aura-t-elle un effet sur les permis d'exploitation internationaux (CEPT et PIRA)?

Non. Cependant, s'il est nécessaire de réviser un accord par suite de la proposition pour s'assurer que l'on préserve des ententes réciproques et bilatérales, nous le ferons. À l'heure actuelle, les demandes de ce genre de permis sont traitées par les Radio Amateurs du Canada. Les demandes ne requièrent que le nom du demandeur, son adresse, son indicatif d'appel et une copie du certificat d'opérateur radioamateur. Le numéro de licence, le code d'entreprise ou tout autre renseignement lié à la délivrance d'une licence ne sont pas nécessaires pour demander et obtenir les permis internationaux.

3.6 Si vous ne délivrez pas de licence, comment allez-vous procéder pour que les renseignements sur l'adresse postale des opérateurs du service de radioamateur demeurent à jour?

Les exigences relatives à l'exploitation d'une station radio dans le service de radioamateur sont exposées dans l'Incorporation par renvoi IPR-4, Normes sur l'exploitation des stations radio autorisées dans le service de radioamateur. L'article 45 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication sera modifié de manière à stipuler que seuls les opérateurs exploitant leurs stations conformément à la IPR-4 seront exemptés de l'obligation de détenir une licence radio. La IPR-4 sera aussi modifiée, et ce, de façon à préciser que les opérateurs exploitant une station radio devront informer le Ministère de tout changement d'adresse postale dans le délai prévu (probablement six mois). L'opérateur du service de radioamateur qui n'informera pas le Ministère de son changement d'adresse postale dans le délai prévu contreviendra au paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Il est généralement reconnu par les opérateurs qu'une liste à jour de tous les opérateurs actifs dans le service de radioamateur est utile aussi bien aux divers opérateurs qu'à l'ensemble de la communauté du service de radioamateur. Par conséquent, le Ministère ne s'attend pas à éprouver de problème de conformité dans ce domaine.

4.0 Divers

4.1 Quelle sera l'incidence de cette proposition sur la situation des opérateurs radio canadiens du service de radioamateur, au titre de la réglementation internationale?

Le Canada est un signataire de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT) et a suivi dans le passé le plan d'attribution du spectre établi par cette organisation. Les administrations signataires ont convenu de se conformer au Règlement des radiocommunications promulgué par l'UIT, et un tel règlement est considéré comme étant un traité. Le Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT stipule que les administrations doivent prendre les mesures qu'elles jugent nécessaires pour vérifier les compétences opérationnelles et techniques de toute personne qui souhaite faire fonctionner le matériel d'une station radio. Toutefois, il ne prévoit pas la forme que doit(vent) prendre une(de) telle(s) autorisation(s).

À cet égard, bon nombre d'administrations délivrent actuellement une seule autorisation aux opérateurs du service de radioamateur, qui fait état à la fois des compétences et de l'indicatif d'appel de l'opérateur. Ces autorisations sont désignées différemment d'un endroit à l'autre : permis, certificat ou licence. Il convient de souligner que le nom que l'administration choisit de donner à son(ses) document(s) d'autorisation n'est pas important sur le plan juridique.

Le nouveau certificat d'opérateur radioamateur délivré par Industrie Canada indiquera clairement que le titulaire possède un certain niveau de compétence et est autorisé à exploiter une station radio dans le service de radioamateur en utilisant un indicatif d'appel précis. Cette fusion d'autorisations ne constitue pas un changement de situation pour ce qui touche les privilèges dont jouissent les opérateurs radio, mais plutôt une manière de simplifier le processus d'autorisation sur le plan administratif. Nous ne nous attendons pas à ce que ce processus d'autorisation simplifié pose des problèmes aux autres administrations.

4.2 Sans licence, comment saurez-vous où est située la station?

Le Ministère propose qu'un radioamateur soit requis d'aviser le Ministère de tout changement à son adresse postale. En outre, le Ministère examine la possibilité de modifier directement les renseignements relatifs aux adresses en procédant par Internet.

Les renseignements relatifs à l'adresse qui figurent sur la licence radio n'indiquent pas nécessairement l'emplacement d'une station de radioamateur puisque, selon la licence radio, les radioamateurs sont actuellement autorisés à posséder trois installations radio différentes. Le Ministère dispose aujourd'hui des mécanismes d'enquête voulus pour situer les sources d'émissions radio, et ces mêmes mécanismes demeureront en place. La capacité qu'a le Ministère de situer une source et de prendre les mesures correctives qui s'imposent ne changera pas.

4.3 Si nous ne payons plus de frais de licence, allons-nous perdre notre voix et notre influence?

La proposition n'aura pas d'incidence sur le processus qui sert actuellement à établir ou à modifier les dispositions réglementaires régissant le Service de radioamateur. Le but premier de la proposition est de gérer l'administration du Service de radioamateur de manière plus efficiente et plus rentable. Les radioamateurs continueront d'être visés par le processus de réglementation, et le Ministère continuera de gérer le spectre radio d'une manière qui tiendra compte de leurs préoccupations et de leurs recommandations.

4.4 Nous constatons aujourd'hui des différences dans tout le Canada au sujet de l'administration de la licence radio. Cette proposition aura-t-elle un effet sur cette situation?

Le changement en faveur d'une gestion plus avisée, que la proposition intègre, rationalisera le processus administratif et supprimera les incohérences mineures qui peuvent exister aujourd'hui.

4.5 Les bandes destinées aux radioamateurs seront-elles maintenant accaparées par l'industrie commerciale?

Non. Le Ministère continuera de gérer le spectre des radiofréquences d'une manière qui profitera à tous ses utilisateurs.

4.6 Quand pensez-vous que la proposition entrera en vigueur?

Notre souhait est de la voir mise en oeuvre d'ici au 1er avril 2000.

Date de modification :