Background Information

Local Multipoint Communications Systems

What is LMCS?

Local Multipoint Communications Systems (LMCS) is a broadband wireless telecommunications common carrier service in the 28 GHz range that will be capable of carrying basic and advanced communication services such as "wireless" cable TV, Internet access, video teleconferencing and various other multimedia.

A central transmitting/receiving station will handle signals to and from homes and businesses within a 4-5 km radius. Several such stations will be required in each city to service the total geographic area. Homes and businesses will send and receive the signals through equipment consisting of a small unobtrusive "pocketbook sized" antenna plus the associated electronics which are about the size of a television converter.

Competition in Telecommunications

A key aim of the policy measures adopted by Industry Canada is to foster diversity of choice for Canadian consumers and businesses. These entirely new, independent, local networks for telecommunications services will be able to compete with existing networks.

Why was LMCS licensed in October 1996?

Canadians have been asking for more choice in the provision of telecommunications and broadband distribution services in the home and workplace. The use of home computers is increasingly widespread and Canadians are demanding cost-effective alternatives for the provision of high-capacity links to the outside world. LMCS will be able to deliver on both these points. Canadian interests will be best served by staying at the forefront of this technology.

Why is the second round LMCS licensing delayed?

LMCS is an innovative, leading edge service. The LMCS markets worldwide are being developed at a slower pace than expert's predictions. Many factors contribute to that: the lack of availability of equipment at a reasonable cost, the ongoing evolution of technology, as well as delays of similar licensing initiatives in the US and other countries.

LMCS Principal Policy Elements

Spectrum

Through public consultation it was decided to have six blocks available for LMCS in Canada. Blocks A and B were made available via a comparative process in the first licensing round.

Eligibility

For the first licensing round, eligibility to apply was limited to companies that were not telephone companies, cable companies or an affiliate. This was intended to ensure that consumers have choice in the provision of broadband telecommunications facilities.

Licensing Policy

Licensing was done by service areas which have been established by Industry Canada and the applicants were licensed as telecommunications carriers with no limitations on carriage or services to be offered. A licence fee of $0.50 per household was applied and subject to revision.

Selection and Licensing Process

The Comparative Process

Under the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister of Industry may issue radio authorizations taking into account all matters he considers relevant to ensure the orderly establishment, development and efficient operation of radiocommunications in Canada.

Where the demand for spectrum exceeds the supply, the Minister considers the merits of competing applications in a comparative process. This process is usually conducted in three phases: an expression of interest; the filing of detailed submissions; and, detailed site applications for the successful applicants.

At the same time as the release of the final policy for LMCS, the Department issued a call for applications announcing that it would use a comparative process to select licensees for blocks A and B. Thirty-five companies responded with expressions of interest by the April 1, 1996, deadline. Names of the respondents were published. This allowed companies to form alliances and assess their positions.

Fourteen companies submitted detailed submissions by the , due date. These were evaluated by a committee of departmental experts. Their findings were reviewed by a second committee of senior managers of the Department before being reported to the Minister, decided which applicants were to be licensed under the authority granted to him by the Radiocommunication Act. As these decisions were taken by a Minister of the Crown accountable to, and under authority granted by, the Parliament of Canada, there was no appeal mechanism as is typically the case for decisions taken by independent regulatory agencies.

Evaluation

The evaluation criteria were drawn directly from the policy and call document released on , by the Minister. The areas of evaluation include:

  • Competitive Strategy,
  • Innovation,
  • Research and Development and Economic Benefits,
  • Coverage, and
  • Demonstrated Competencies.

Only the written information supplied by the applicants is considered and departmental officials are placed under strict ex-parte contact rules. This ensures procedural fairness to all applicants.

For additional information please call:
Patrick Carrey
613-991-0179

Date modified:

Fiche d'information

Systèmes de télécommunications multipoints locaux

Que sont les STML?

Les Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux (STML), sont des services de télécommunications sans fil à large bande fournis par des entreprises de télécommunications dans la bande 28 GHz capables de liaisons de base et avancées, fournissant des services comme la télévision par câble « sans fil », l'accès à Internet, la vidéoconférence et divers autres services multimédias.

Des signaux provenant d'une station centrale de transmission/réception seront échangés entre la station et les entreprises et les domiciles situés dans un rayon de 4 à 5 km. Il faudra plusieurs stations dans chaque ville pour desservir la totalité de la zone géographique. Les particuliers et les entreprises enverront et recevront les signaux au moyen d'un équipement composé d'une petite antenne « de poche » discrète et du matériel électronique connexe, qui a la taille d'un convertisseur de canaux.

La concurrence dans le secteur des télécommunications

Les mesures adoptées par Industrie Canada visent essentiellement à favoriser la diversité des choix offerts aux entreprises et aux consommateurs canadiens. Ces réseaux locaux entièrement nouveaux et indépendants, offrant des services de télécommunications aux consommateurs, seront en mesure de concurrencer les réseaux existants.

Pourquoi avoir attribué des licences pour les STML en octobre 1996?

Les Canadiens réclament depuis longtemps un choix plus vaste dans la fourniture des services de télécommunications et de distribution à large bande à la maison et sur le lieu de travail. En outre, ils utilisent maintenant des ordinateurs domestiques et demandent d'autres options rentables pour la fourniture de liens de grande capacité avec le monde extérieur. Les STML pourront remplir ces deux missions. Les intérêts du Canada seront servis au mieux en demeurant à l'avant-garde de cette technologie.

Pourquoi avoir ajourné la deuxième étape de l'attribution de licences pour l'exploitation de STML?

Les STML sont une technologie innovatrice à la fine pointe du progrès. Mais les débouchés mondiaux des STML se développent plus lentement que ne l'avaient prévu les experts. De nombreux facteurs expliquent cette situation : rareté d'équipements abordables, évolution constante de la technologie et retards dans des initiatives d'autorisation semblables aux États-Unis et dans d'autres pays.

Principales modalités des STML

Spectre

Après la tenue de consultations publiques, il a été décidé de rendre six blocs disponibles pour les STML au Canada. Les blocs A et B ont été rendus disponibles dans le cadre d'un processus comparatif au cours de la première étape d'attribution de licences.

Admissibilité

Pour la première étape d'attribution de licences, les compagnies de téléphone, les câblodistributeurs et leurs affiliés n'ont pas été admissibles. Ceci visait à permettre aux consommateurs d'avoir du choix dans la fourniture des installations de télécommunications à large bande.

Politique d'attribution de licences

L'attribution des licences s'est effectuée par zone de service. Industrie Canada a établi un certain nombre de zones de service et les demandeurs se sont vu attribuer des licences à titre d'entreprises de télécommunications, sans restriction sur la diffusion ou les services à offrir. Une taxe de licence de 0,50 $ par ménage a été prélevée sous réserve de révision

Processus de sélection et d'attribution de licences

Le processus comparatif

Selon la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le ministre de l'Industrie peut délivrer des autorisations radio en tenant compte de tous les éléments qu'il juge pertinents pour assurer que l'établissement, le développement, ainsi que l'exploitation efficace de la radiocommunication au Canada se déroulent de façon ordonnée.

Lorsque la demande excède les disponibilités du spectre, le Ministre examine le bien-fondé des demandes concurrentes dans le cadre d'un processus comparatif. Ce processus comporte habituellement trois étapes, soit la manifestation d'intérêt, le dépôt de mémoires détaillés et le dépôt de demandes détaillées concernant les sites des demandeurs retenus.

Lors de la publication de la version définitive de la politique sur les STML, le Ministère a lancé un appel de demandes et a annoncé qu'un processus comparatif servirait à choisir les titulaires de licences des blocs de fréquences A et B. Trente-cinq entreprises ont manifesté leur intérêt avant la date d'échéance du 1er avril 1996. Les noms de ces entreprises ont été publiés, ce qui leur a permis de former des alliances et d'évaluer leur situation.

Quatorze entreprises ont présenté leurs mémoires détaillés au plus tard le . Ceux-ci ont été évalués par un comité de spécialistes du Ministère. Les résultats de cette évaluation ont été soumis à un deuxième comité formé de cadres du Ministère avant d'être présentés au ministre qui a déterminé les demandeurs qui obtiendraient des licences, en vertu du pouvoir qui lui est conféré par la Loi sur la radiocommunication. Puisque ces décisions ont été prises par un ministre qui doit rendre des comptes au Parlement du Canada et qui tient son pouvoir de cette institution, il n'existe aucun mécanisme de recours, comme c'est habituellement le cas pour les décisions prises par des organismes de réglementation indépendants.

Évaluation

Les critères d'évaluation étaient tirés de la politique et du document d'appel de demandes qui ont été publiés le par le ministre. Les critères d'évaluation étaient les suivants :

  • la stratégie concurrentielle,
  • l'innovation,
  • la recherche-développement et les avantages économiques,
  • la couverture,
  • les compétences.

On ne tient compte que des renseignements fournis par écrit par les demandeurs, et les fonctionnaires doivent respecter des règles strictes en matière de communications individuelles, ce qui assure que les demandeurs seraient tous traités équitablement.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez appeler Patrick Carrey au (613) 991-0179.

Date de modification :