More Communications Choices for Canadians

– – The awarding of three Local Multipoint Communication Systems (LMCS) licences was announced by Industry Minister John Manley. LMCS is a wireless, broadband system that will be capable of carrying basic and advanced communications services. LMCS licensees will provide competition to cable, telephone and satellite distribution systems. This technology touches all three objectives set by the government for building the Information Highway: creating jobs through innovation and investment in Canada; reinforcing Canadian sovereignty and cultural identity; and, ensuring universal access at reasonable cost.

"LMCS applicants propose to invest over $1 billion and create up to 8,000 new jobs over the next five years in the wireless industry," said Manley. "We want competition in the cable and local telephony markets as soon as possible. Today I am awarding licences for one GHz for 33 markets each to Cellular Vision Canada Ltd., and Digital Vision Communications and a similar licence for service in 127 small communities to Regional Vision Inc. to ensure that our expanding information Highway continues to reach Canada's remote communities."

Successful applicants' business plans have indicated that some services will be up and running by the end of next year. "It is through the introduction of new and innovative products and services such as LMCS that Canadians will benefit from increased employment opportunities, a stronger economy and more consumer choice," added Manley. The U.S. is not expected to award its first LMCS licences until early next year.

Thirteen detailed submissions were received and evaluated. The criteria for the awarding of the licences, as outlined in the policy and call for applications, were: competitive strategy; innovation; economic benefits and research and development; coverage; and, demonstrated competencies.

It is the government's intention to make available for licensing at least two of the four remaining frequency blocks 24 months from now. With this planned auction of more spectrum, those that were not successful or eligible in this round, will have another opportunity. There will be an aggressive timetable to introduce more competition in local wireless distribution services while providing sufficient time for these pioneering new entrants to implement their systems and establish their viability.

For further information, please contact: 

Bill Milliken
Office of the Minister Spectrum Management
613-995-9001

milliken.william@ic.gc.ca

Patrick Carrey
613-991-0179
carrey.pat@ic.gc.ca
Release 7509-e

Date modified:

Choix multiples en communications pour les canadiens

Ottawa, le – – Le ministre de l'Industrie, M. John Manley, a annoncé l'attribution de trois licences de système de télécommunications multipoint local (STML). Les STML sont des services de télécommunications sans fil à large bande pouvant transmettre des services de communications de base et avancés. Les entreprises retenues pourront concurrencer les systèmes de distribution par câble, par téléphone et par satellite. Cette technologie répond aux trois objectifs du gouvernement relativement au développement de l'autoroute de l'information : créer des emplois grâce à l'innovation et à l'investissement au Canada, raffermir la souveraineté et l'identité culturelle du Canada et assurer l'accès universel à l'inforoute, à un coût abordable.

« Les demandeurs de STML ont proposé d'investir plus de 1 milliard de dollars et de créer jus qu'à 8 000 emplois dans l'industrie de la communication sans fil au cours des cinq prochaines années, a déclaré M. Manley. Nous voulons créer une situation de concurrence sur les marchés du câble et de la téléphonie locale le plus tôt possible. Aujourd'hui, j'attribue des licences de un GHz à Cellular Vision Canada Ltd. et à Digital Vision Communications, pour 33 marchés chacune, et, pour desservir 127 petites collectivités supplémentaires, à Regional Vision Inc., pour faire en sorte que l'inforoute, en plein essor, continue à rejoindre les communautés éloignées au pays. »

Ces compagnies ont indiqué dans leur plans d'entreprise qu'elles seront en mesure de fournir leurs services avant la fin de l'an prochain. « C'est grâce à l'introduction de produits et services nouveaux et innovateurs comme les STML que les Canadiens profiteront de possibilités d'emploi plus nombreuses, d'une économie plus forte et de choix multiples en matière de consommation », a ajouté M. Manley. On ne prévoit pas que les états-Unis attribuent leurs premières licences STML avant le début de l'année prochaine.

Treize soumissions détaillées ont été reçues et évaluées. Les critères d'évaluation, exposés dans la politique et l'appel de propositions, étaient la stratégie concurrentielle, l'innovation, les avantages économiques et la recherche-développement, la couverture et les compétences manifestes.

Le gouvernement a l'intention de procéder à la deuxième étape d'attribution de licences d'ici 24 mois, pour au moins deux des quatre blocs non attribués. En se proposant de mettre aux enchères d'autres parties du spectre, le gouvernement donnera l'occasion de soumissionner encore aux demandeurs qui n'ont pas été acceptés ou qui n'étaient pas admissibles à cette étape-ci. On établira un calendrier qui favorisera une situation de concurrence dans les services de distribution locaux sans fil, tout en accordant aux nouveaux venus innovateurs suffisamment de temps pour mettre en oeuvre leur système et établir leur viabilité.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bill Milliken
Cabinet du ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001
milliken.william@ic.gc.ca

Pat Carrey
Gestion du spectre
613-991-0179
carrey.pat@ic.gc.ca

Date de modification :