Notice No.DGRB-007-99

Department of Industry Act, S.C. 1995, c.1

Notice No. DGRB-007-99 — Fee order for the issuance of a spectrum licence to the Railway Association of Canada

Introduction

The issuance of a spectrum licence to the Railway Association of Canada (RAC) for the purpose of authorizing access to the radio frequency spectrum for Canadian railway companies is an administrative change to the type of radiocommunication authorization previously granted to these clients. A spectrum licence will replace radio licences currently issued to members of the RAC for the use of the spectrum allotted exclusively for railway operations in Canada.

On February 20, 1999, Industry Canada issued Gazette Notice DGRB-002-99, Consultation on the issuance of a spectrum licence to the Railway Association of Canada, to consult with the stakeholders as required by section 21 of the Department of Industry Act. This notice announced that Industry Canada proposes to issue a spectrum licence to the RAC, which will permit access to the spectrum allocated to railway operations within specific geographic areas by member railway companies. This will encourage technological innovation and efficiencies in the use of the subject spectrum in Canada.

The administrative burden to both stakeholders and the Department will also be significantly reduced with the issuance of one spectrum licence to replace approximately 4,900 radio licences issued annually for railway operations in the subject spectrum.

In addition, Industry Canada invited comments on a proposed annual spectrum licence fee of $15.00 for each 25 km2 of exclusive use of specified frequencies (see Appendix A of fee schedule). This amount is based on the fee currently paid by member railway companies in Canada for the specified frequencies.

The Department will implement the spectrum licence fee as proposed. Complete details of the fees fixed for the spectrum licence issued to the RAC for the purpose of authorizing Canadian railway companies' access to the radio frequency spectrum are set out in the following fee schedule.

In response to the notice, the RAC and the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC) commented that they approve of Industry Canada's proposal to issue a spectrum licence to the RAC. Both associations agreed that this licence will allow Canadian railways to make more effective and efficient use of the radio spectrum with reduced administrative cost. They also commended Industry Canada for its foresight in re-examining spectrum management and stated that this new process will permit the railways to obtain greater spectrum efficiencies and benefits without compromising the principles of spectrum management. Both associations recommended that this proposal be adopted without amendment.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to Section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective the date of publication of this notice in the Canada Gazette. The fees are applicable to a radio authorization issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) of the Radiocommunication Act to establish railway communication services in accordance with the terms of the authorization.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"specified frequency" means the frequencies utilized exclusively for the operation of railways in Canada that are set out in Appendix A of the fee schedule;

"renewal fee" means the annual fee payable for the renewal of a radio authorization before its expiration on March 31 of every year.

Annual Radio Authorization Fee

Annual Fee

2. The annual radio authorization fee is $15.00 for each 25 km2 for the exclusive use of specified frequencies, as set out in Appendix A of the fee schedule for the geographic areas covered in the radio authorization.

Prorated Fees

3. The month that the Minister issues the annual radio authorization determines the applicable prorated fee.

4. The prorated fee is $1.25 for each 25 km2 of the geographic area specified in the radio authorization for each month until the radio authorization expires on March 31.

Renewal Fee

5. The renewal fee is the applicable annual radio authorization fee.

General Notes

The aggregate fee will be rounded to the nearest dollar. This is an interim fee regime. The fees may be adjusted in accordance with the establishment of a general fee framework.

John Manley
Minister of Industry

Appendix A — Railway Frequency Plan

Frequencies (MHz)
From 160.170 to 161.580 (Band edges)
From 452.8875 to 452.9625 paired with 457.8875 to 457.9625
Channel 262: 812.5375 / 857.5375
Channel 272: 812.7875 / 857.7875
Channel 331: 814.2625 / 859.2625
902.000 to 928.000 (Shared frequency band)
Channel 71: 935.8875 / 896.8875
Channel 75: 935.9375 / 896.9375
Channel 79: 935.9875 / 896.9875
Channel 151: 936.8875 / 897.8875
Channel 155: 936.9375 / 897.9375
Channel 159: 936.9875 / 897.9875
Date modified:

Avis no DGRB-007-99

Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, L.C. 1995,ch.1

Avis no. DGRB-007-99 — Ordonnance concernant les droits à verser pour la délivrance d'une licence de spectre à l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada

Introduction

La délivrance d'une licence de spectre à l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada (ACFC) en vue d'autoriser l'accès au spectre des radiofréquences pour les compagnies canadiennes de chemins de fer constitue un changement administratif au type d'autorisation de radiocommunication précédemment obtenu par ces clients. Une seule licence de spectre remplacera les licences radio délivrées aux membres de l'Association pour l'utilisation du spectre alloué exclusivement à l'exploitation des chemins de fer au Canada.

Le 20 février 1999, Industrie Canada a publié dans l'Avis de la Gazette no DGRB-002-99, Consultation en vue de délivrer une licence de spectre à l'Association des chemins de fer du Canada afin de consulter les intéressés, tel que l'exige l'article 21 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie. Dans cet avis, Industrie Canada annonçait la proposition de délivrer une licence de spectre à l'ACFC, qui garantirait aux compagnies membres l'accès au spectre attribué aux opérations ferroviaires dans des zones géographiques spécifiques. Cette mesure encouragerait l'innovation technologique et l'utilisation efficace du spectre en question au Canada.

Le fardeau administratif pour les intéressés et le Ministère se trouvera grandement réduit par l'octroi d'une seule licence de spectre qui remplacera environ 4 900 licences radio délivrées annuellement pour les opérations ferroviaires dans le spectre designé.

De plus, Industrie Canada a invité les intéressés à faire des commentaires sur les droits annuels proposés pour la licence de spectre, au montant de 15 dollars pour chaque unité de 25 km2 d'utilisation exclusive des fréquences précisées (voir l'appendice A du barème de droits). Ce montant est fondé sur les droits actuellement versés par les compagnies membres de chemins de fer au Canada pour les fréquences précisées.

Le Ministère mettra en oeuvre les droits de licence de spectre tel que proposé. Le barème de droits ci-dessous fait état des détails complets des droits fixés pour la licence de spectre qui sera délivrée à l'ACFC en vue d'autoriser les compagnies de chemins de fer d'accéder au spectre des radiofréquences.

En réponse à l'avis, l'ACFC et le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR) ont fait savoir qu'ils approuvaient la proposition d'Industrie Canada de délivrer une licence de spectre à l'ACFC. Les deux associations épousaient l'avis selon lequel cette licence permettra aux chemins de fer du Canada d'utiliser le spectre radio de façon efficace et efficiente et à un coût administratif réduit. Ils ont en outre félicité Industrie Canada pour la prévoyance dont il a fait preuve dans le réexamen de la gestion du spectre et ont déclaré que ce nouveau processus permettra aux chemins de fer d'augmenter les économies et les avantages retirés du spectre sans compromettre les principes de gestion du spectre. Les deux associations ont recommandé d'adopter cette proposition telle quelle.

Barème de droits

Conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, le ministre de l'Industrie établit les droits suivants, entrant en vigeur à la date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada. Les droits sont applicables à une autorisation de radiocommunication délivrée par le ministre en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication en vue de l'établissement de services de communication des chemins de fer en conformité avec les modalités de l'autorisation.

Interprétation

1. Aux fins du présent barème de droits,

« fréquence précisée » signifie les fréquences servant exclusivement à

l'exploitation des chemins de fer au Canada qui sont précisées dans l'appendice A du barème de droits;

« droits de renouvellement » signifie les droits annuels payables pour le renouvellement d'une autorisation de radiocommunication avant l'expiration de celle-ci, soit le 31 mars de chaque année.

Droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel

Droit annuel

2. Le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel est de 15 $ par unité de 25 km2 pour l'utilisation exclusive de fréquences précisées, tel qu'il est énoncé à l'appendice A du barème de droits applicable aux aires géographiques couvertes par l'autorisation.

Droits proportionnels

3. Le mois au cours duquel le ministre délivre l'autorisation de radiocomunication annuelle détermine le droit de licence proportionnel applicable.

4. Le droit proportionnel est de 1,25 $ par mois par unité de 25 km2 de l'aire géographique précisée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication, jusqu'à l'expiration de l'autorisation, soit le 31 mars.

Droit de renouvellement

5. Le droit de renouvellement est égal au droit annuel d'autorisation de radiocommunication applicable.

Notes générales

Le droit cumulatif est arrondi au dollar le plus près. Le présent régime est provisoire. Les droits peuvent être rajustés en conformité avec un cadre général de droits à établir.

John Manley
Ministre de l'Industrie

Appendice A — Plan de fréquences ferroviaires

Fréquences (MHz)
De 160,170 a 161,580 (extrémités de bandes)
De 452,8875 à 452,9625 jumelées avec 457,8875 à 457,9625
Canal 262 : 812,5375 / 857,5375
Canal 272 : 812,7875 / 857,7875
Canal 331 : 814,2625 / 859,2625
902,000 to 928,000 (bande de fréquence partagée)
Canal 71 : 935,8875 / 896,8875
Canal 75 : 935,9375 / 896,9375
Canal 79 : 935,9875 / 896,9875
Canal 151 : 936,8875 / 897,8875
Canal 155 : 936,9375 / 897,9375
Canal 159 : 936,9875 / 897,9875
Date de modification :