Archived—Industry Canada Announces that Eight Companies are Competing for Licences to Provide New Wireless Communications Services

OTTAWA, October 14, 1999 -- Industry Canada announced today that eight companies have submitted applications to obtain a licence to operate Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS) in the 2500 MHz band for various areas across Canada, as part of a licensing process launched in June 1999.

Successful licensees will be able to beam services such as voice, data, multimedia and broadcasting directly to subscribers via MCS airwaves. Since its delivery is wireless, MCS is a rapid and cost-effective way to deploy services to residences and small and medium businesses.

One licence is available in each of 13 defined service areas across the country. The licences will be granted to those applicants who successfully demonstrate a capacity to establish a commercially- and technically-sound service while supporting the advancement of learning. In consultation with designated Learning Authorities across the country, applicants have prepared Learning Plans describing services, content and/or infrastructure that they plan to offer to the learning community, within their commercial services, if they receive a licence.

Public comments are sought on the benefits that each applicant's Learning Plan would bring to the communities they wish to serve. Public input received on the Learning Plans will be taken into account during the Department's evaluation.

Learning Plans will be posted on Industry Canada's Strategis web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum To ensure due consideration, comments should be submitted prior to November 19, 1999. The list of applicants, along with associated documents and references can also be found on this web site.

For more information, please contact: 

Mélanie Robert
Telecommunications Analyst
Industry Canada
613-998-3837
robert.melanie@ic.gc.ca
Information 2179-e

Date modified:

Archivé — Industrie Canada annonce que huit entreprises se font concurrence afin d'obtenir une licence pour fournir des nouveaux services de télécommunications sans fil

OTTAWA, le 14 octobre 1999 - Industrie Canada a annoncé aujourd'hui que huit entreprises avaient fait une demande de licence d'exploitation de systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) dans la bande de 2 500 MHz pour différentes zones à travers le Canada, dans le cadre d'un processus de délivrance de licences amorcé en juin 1999.

Les entreprises dont la candidature aura été retenue pourront assurer les services de transmission de la voix, des données et des signaux multimédias et les services de radiodiffusion directement aux abonnés par la voix des ondes STM. Comme les STM sont assurés sans fil, le déploiement dans les résidences et les petites et moyennes entreprises en est rapide et rentable.

Une licence sera accordée dans chacune des 13 zones de desserte définies dans le pays. Les licences seront attribuées aux entreprises qui montreront leur capacité de mettre sur pied un service viable et techniquement valable, tout en encourageant la progression de l'apprentissage. De concert avec les autorités responsables de l'apprentissage désignées dans les différentes zones de desserteé à travers le pays, les entreprises candidates ont dressé des plans d'apprentissage décrivant les services, le contenu et/ou l'infrastructure qu'elles comptent offrir aux milieux de l'apprentissage, dans le cadre de leurs services commerciaux, si elles sont choisies.

Le public pourra s'exprimer sur les avantages que le plan d'apprentissage de chaque entreprise candidate apporterait à la collectivité. Pendant son évaluation, le Ministère prendra en compte les opinions reçues du public.

Les plans seront affichés sur le site Web Strategis d'Industrie Canada, à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Pour être pris en considération, les commentaires doivent parvenir au Ministère le 19 novembre 1999 au plus tard. La liste des entreprises candidates ainsi que les documents et renvois connexes se trouvent aussi sur le site susmentionné.

Renseignements :

Mélanie Robert
Analyste en télécommunications
Industrie Canada
613-998-3837
robert.melanie@ic.gc.ca
Information 2179-f

Date de modification :