PCS-2 GHz — Consultation on the Proposed Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Additional PCS Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range

December 17, 1999
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Policy

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Background
  3. Spectrum Aggregation Limits and Eligibility to Acquire Spectrum
  4. Definition of Licences
  5. Technical Considerations
  6. Conditions of Licence
  7. Licensing Process and Auction Design
  8. Financial Aspects
  9. Submitting Your Comments

1. Introduction

On November 5, 1999, the Minister of Industry announcedFootnote 1 that the spectrum aggregation limit applying to personal communications services (PCS) would be raised from 40 MHz to 55 MHz, and that 40 MHz of additional spectrum for PCS would be licensed by auction. These actions were taken to ensure the availability of adequate spectrum resources to meet the needs of the expanding PCS market and also to enable the implementation of new offerings such as third-generation (3G) PCS.

The international community has been actively working through the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) on the development of international standards for 3G PCS (IMT-2000) since 1985. In October 1999, in Helsinki, the ITU was successful in completing the international standards for IMT-2000. IMT-2000 is a third-generation system that provides voice, data and multimedia services at a data rate much higher than that of existing cellular and PCS systems.

In order to facilitate the expansion and enhancement of existing personal communication services, the introduction of 3G PCS and/or the development of other new service offerings, the spectrum in the PCS 'C' and 'E' frequency blocks is being made available for licensing on an exclusive basis. This consultation paper solicits public comment on issues related to the licensing of this additional PCS spectrum.

Following the February 16, 2000 closing date for receipt of comments on this consultation paper, copies of all submissions will be made available to the public through Industry Canada's Web site, as well as through a commercial printing and copying service. Respondents are required to provide their comments in electronic format to facilitate posting on the Department's Web site.

After the close of the first comment period, a reply period will follow, to provide an opportunity for responses to the initial comments. Again, submission in electronic format is required. After the March 8, 2000 closing date of this second period, these reply comments will also be made available to the public.

2. Background

In 1983, Rogers Cantel Inc. and Canada's local telephone companies were selected to provide 800 MHz cellular telephony services in Canada. Rogers Cantel Inc. received 25 MHz of spectrum, as did the local telephone companies.

In 1995, authorizations to provide personal communications services (PCS) in the 2 GHz band were awarded. Two new entrants, Clearnet PCS Inc. and Microcell Networks Inc. were each granted 30 MHz of spectrum while the major incumbent cellular operators were each granted 10 MHz. One 30 MHz licence (block 'C') and one 10 MHz licence (block 'E') were kept in reserve.

Industry Canada (IC) has required incumbent cellular operators to provide new PCS entrants access to analogue cellular resale and roaming, to facilitate the early availability of national service to PCS subscribers. Furthermore, to promote the expansion of wireless mobile communications to unserved and under-served communities and along highways, the Department established a new party cellular policy in 1998 to give potential new licensees the ability to offer mobile and wireless access services in these areas.

Today, the 800 MHz cellular networks provide coverage to over 93% of the Canadian population. In addition, the capacity of the 800 MHz cellular systems is continuously being enhanced with the introduction of digital technologies. PCS services are now available to a large percentage of the population and in all regions of Canada. Many locations in Canada have access to four competing mobile wireless service providers.

In awarding licences for four of the six available PCS spectrum blocks in 1995, the Minister noted that his actions would promote a strong base from which to enhance competition in the provision of wireless telecommunication services. By reserving the remaining blocks, the Department provided an opportunity to respond to future innovations in a timely fashion. The Minister also stated that he would review the issue of access to the reserved spectrum in three years' time, and in keeping with this basic timetable, the Department is now proceeding to open this spectrum to further promote these objectives.

The Department expects that the demand for this additional PCS spectrum will exceed the available supply, and believes that reliance on the marketplace to select licensees will be in the public interest. Therefore, as announced by the Minister on November 5, 1999, the Department will license this spectrum by auction. The Department proposes that the elements laid out in the document entitled Framework for Spectrum Auctions in CanadaFootnote 2 be generally adopted for this licensing process.

Proposals and questions on the various licence definition and licensing process issues are laid out in the following sections.

3. Spectrum Aggregation Limits and Eligibility to Acquire Spectrum

3.1 Spectrum Aggregation Limits

As noted in Radio Systems Policy 021 (RP-021), Revision to the PCS Spectrum Cap and Timing for Licensing Additional PCS SpectrumFootnote 3, published November 5, 1999, any PCS licensee is eligible to hold radio licences covering, in any geographical area, frequency assignments aggregating up to a total of 55 MHz of spectrum. This aggregation will consist of:

  1. spectrum within the PCS band 1850-1990 MHz;
  2. other spectrum that may be identified for PCS in subsequent proceedings;
  3. spectrum licensed for cellular mobile radiotelephony services, and for similar public high-mobility radiotelephony services, other than air-to-ground telephony and mobile-satellite services;
  4. spectrum as defined in (a), (b) and (c) above that is licensed to any affiliateFootnote 4 of the entity; and
  5. spectrum as defined in (a), (b) and (c) above that is licensed to any other entity which has an operating and/or marketing arrangement with the subject entity (or with any of its affiliates), in the same geographical area, for the provision of uniformly-branded or jointly offered telecommunications services.

3.2 Eligibility to Acquire Spectrum

The Department is guided by the following competition principle with regard to the circumstances under which a company's eligibility to acquire spectrum in an area should be restricted.

A company that currently provides telecommunications services should be restricted from holding certain licences if:

  1. that company possesses market power in the supply of one or more telecommunications services in a region covered by the licence to be auctioned;
  2. a new entrant is likely to use the licence to provide services in competition with that company's existing services; and
  3. the anti-competitive effects of that company's acquisition of a licence are not outweighed by the potential economies of scope arising from the integration of the spectrum in question into that company's existing network.

Other than this principle, the Department has made no policy or statement suggesting that an otherwise eligible entity would be precluded from having access to the spectrum to be licensed.

The Department notes that increasing competition in cellular and PCS services has provided the benefits of lower costs and expanded service offerings to Canadian consumers. The Department is also mindful of the large capital outlays that have been committed by the existing cellular and PCS service providers in order to roll out the network infrastructure required to meet consumer demand and Departmental licensing requirements.

Policy measures designed to guarantee the entry of new service providers may further enhance the level of competition in the market-place and promote the positive trends for consumers noted above. On the other hand, splintering of the mobile wireless telecommunications market among a greater number of players could weaken the position of some players in the short term and lead to potentially anti-competitive market consolidation in the longer term. Allowing the possible entry of new parties but not identifying spectrum exclusively for them could represent a balance between these two competing tensions.

For the purpose of discussion in this context, potential applicants for new PCS spectrum could be categorised as:

  1. Cellular/PCS licensees currently required by condition of existing licence to provide service in all regions of Canada.
  2. Cellular/PCS licensees whose present authority is to provide service within a particular region but who might wish to have additional spectrum within that authorized region, or to expand beyond that region.
  3. New entrants not currently licensed for the provision of cellular/PCS service.

The Department seeks comments as to whether and how the public interest would be served by limiting the eligibility of any potential applicants to participate in the auction.

In addition, the Department would be interested in any views as to whether a certain amount of spectrum should be identified for which only new entrants would be eligible to bid. Those supporting such a view should stipulate the amount of spectrum that should be reserved and indicate how such provisions would be in the public interest.

Furthermore, the Department invites comments as to how it should view the potential eligibility of any party that is licensed for the provision of personal communication services under the Radiocommunication Act but is not in compliance with its existing licence conditions. Specifically, the Department requests views as to whether such parties (and their affiliates) should be required to be compliant with existing PCS licence conditions before being eligible to acquire additional spectrum.

Finally, the Department solicits input on any other factors that respondents believe are relevant to the eligibility of entities to participate in the auction.

Date modified:

SCP-2 GHz — Consultation sur la politique et les procédures proposées pour la mise aux enchères d’une autre partie du spectre des SCP dans la bande de fréquences de 2 GHz

le 17 décembre 1999
Gestion du spectre et Politique des télécommunications

Table des Matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Contexte
  3. Limites de regroupement de fréquences et admissibilité à l'acquisition de fréquences
  4. Définition des licences
  5. Considérations techniques
  6. Conditions des licences
  7. Processus de délivrance des licences et conception des enchères
  8. Aspects financiers
  9. Présentation de vos commentaires

1. Introduction

Le 5 novembre 1999, le Ministre de l'Industrie annonçaitNote en bas de page 1 que la quantité totale de spectre assignée aux services de communications personnelles (SCP) serait dorénavant limitée à 55 MHz plutôt qu'à 40 MHz et que 40 MHz supplémentaires seraient autorisés par enchères pour les SCP. Ces mesures ont été adoptées afin que les ressources du spectre disponible répondent aux besoins du marché croissant des SCP et que de nouveaux services puissent être offerts, par exemple des SCP de la troisième génération (3G).

Dans le cadre de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), la communauté internationale se penche depuis 1985 sur l'établissement de normes internationales relatives aux SCP 3G (IMT-2000). En octobre 1999, à Helsinki, l'UIT a finalement adopté des normes internationales sur IMT-2000. Ces normes portent sur un système de troisième génération assurant des services téléphoniques, de transmission de données et multimédia à des débits nettement plus élevés que ceux des systèmes cellulaires et SCP existants.

Afin de faciliter le développement et l'amélioration des services de communications personnelles existants, la mise en oeuvre de SCP 3G et/ou l'établissement de nouveaux services, le spectre des blocs de fréquences 'C' et 'E' des SCP pourra être autorisé à titre exclusif. Le présent document de consultation invite le public à faire part de ses commentaires sur toute question touchant la délivrance de licences pour ces fréquences supplémentaires.

Après le 16 février 2000, date limite pour la réception des commentaires sur ce document de consultation, des exemplaires de toutes les présentations seront offerts au public sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada et au moyen d'un service commercial d'impression et de reprographie. Les répondants doivent nous faire parvenir leurs commentaires sous format électronique en vue de faciliter l'affichage sur le site Web du Ministère.

Cette première période de commentaires sera suivie d'une période de réponses qui donnera au public l'occasion de répondre aux commentaires initiaux. De nouveau, la présentation des commentaires devra s'effectuer par voie électronique. Après le 8 mars 2000, date limite de cette seconde période, ces commentaires en réponse seront aussi accessibles au public.

2. Contexte

En 1983, Rogers Cantel Inc. et des compagnies de téléphone locales canadiennes ont été choisies pour assurer des services de téléphonie cellulaire à 800 MHz au Canada. Rogers Cantel Inc. a reçu 25 MHz, tout comme les compagnies de téléphone locales.

En 1995, des services de communications personnelles (SCP) ont été autorisés dans la bande de 2 GHz. Deux nouveaux venus, Clearnet PCS Inc. et Microcell Networks Inc., ont reçu 30 MHz chacun, alors que les principaux exploitants titulaires de compagnies de téléphone cellulaire ont reçu 10 MHz chacun. Une licence de 30 MHz (bloc 'C') et une licence de 10 MHz (bloc 'E') ont été gardées en réserve.

Industrie Canada (IC) a exigé des titulaires exploitants qu'ils permettent aux nouveaux venus la revente de services cellulaires analogiques et l'itinérance afin de favoriser l'établissement, le plus rapidement possible, d'un service national destiné aux abonnés des SCP. Par ailleurs, afin d'encourager le développement des communications mobiles sans fil dans les agglomérations non desservies ou mal desservies, ainsi que le long des autoroutes, le Ministère a adopté en 1998 une politique de téléphonie cellulaire pour les nouveaux venus, qui permet aux nouveaux titulaires éventuels d'offrir des services d'accès mobiles et sans fil dans ces régions.

Aujourd'hui, les réseaux cellulaires à 800 MHz desservent plus de 93 % de la population canadienne. En outre, les nouvelles technologies numériques ne cessent d'accroître la capacité de ces réseaux. Des services SCP sont maintenant offerts à une grande partie de la population, et dans toutes les régions du Canada. Bon nombre de localités canadiennes ont accès aux services mobiles sans fil de quatre fournisseurs concurrents.

Au moment de délivrer, en 1995, des licences pour quatre des six blocs de fréquences SCP disponibles, le ministre a souligné que cette mesure contribuerait à former une assise solide favorisant la concurrence en matière de services de télécommunications sans fil. En réservant les blocs restants, le ministère s'est donné le moyen de réagir sans perte de temps devant les innovations futures. Le ministre a également affirmé qu'il examinerait dans un délai de trois ans l'accès au spectre gardé en réserve et, conformément à cet échéancier de base, le Ministère rend maintenant ces fréquences disponibles dans la perspective des objectifs visés.

Le Ministère s'attend à ce que la demande de fréquences SCP supplémentaires soit supérieure à l'offre et croit qu'il est dans l'intérêt public de laisser l'évolution du marché déterminer les titulaires des licences. Comme l'a annoncé le ministre le 5 novembre 1999, le Ministère procédera à la délivrance des licences par enchères. Il propose d'adopter généralement les éléments exposés dans la Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au CanadaNote en bas de page 2 pour la délivrance des licences.

Les sections qui suivent abordent les diverses propositions et questions relatives à la définition des licences ainsi qu'au processus de délivrance des licences.

3. Limites de regroupement de fréquences et admissibilité à l'acquisition de fréquences

3.1 Limites de regroupement de fréquences

Comme l'indique la Politique des systèmes radio 021 (RP-021), intitulée Révision du plafond de fréquences SCP et calendrier de délivrance de licences à l'égard de fréquences SCPNote en bas de page 3 et publiée le 5 novembre 1999, tout titulaire de licence SCP peut détenir une licence radio visant, dans une région géographique donnée, des assignations de fréquences cumulatives pouvant atteindre 55 MHz de spectre. Ce regroupement de fréquences est composé comme suit :

  1. fréquences de la bande SCP 1 850-1 990 MHz;
  2. autres fréquences qui pourraient être attribuées aux SCP dans le cadre d'instances subséquentes;
  3. fréquences assignées à des services de radiotéléphonie mobile cellulaire et à d'autres services publics de radiotéléphonie haute mobilité, autres que des services de téléphonie air-sol et mobiles par satellite;
  4. fréquences définies en a), en b) ou en c) ci-dessus, qui sont assignées à un affiliéNote en bas de page 4de l'entité; et
  5. fréquences définies en a), en b) ou en c) ci-dessus, qui sont assignées à toute autre entité qui a passé une entente d'exploitation et/ou de commercialisation avec l'entité requérante (ou avec l'un de ses affiliés), dans la même zone géographique, en vue de la prestation de services de télécommunications offerts conjointement ou sous une même bannière.

3.2 Admissibilité à l'acquisition de fréquences

Le Ministère se fonde sur le principe de concurrence énoncé ci-dessous pour ce qui est des circonstances où doit être restreinte l'admissibilité d'une compagnie à acquérir des fréquences dans une région donnée.

On devrait interdire à une entreprise qui fournit actuellement des services de télécommunications de détenir certaines licences dans les circonstances suivantes :

  1. l'entreprise possède une emprise sur le marché qui lui permet de fournir un ou plusieurs services de télécommunications dans une région visée par la licence à mettre aux enchères;
  2. un nouveau venu est susceptible d'utiliser la licence pour fournir des services qui concurrencent les services existants de l'entreprise; et
  3. les incidences anti-concurrentielles de l'acquisition d'une licence par une entreprise ne sont pas compensées par l'économie possible découlant de l'intégration des bandes en question au réseau existant de l'entreprise.

Outre ce principe, le Ministère n'a adopté ni politique ni énoncé interdisant à une entreprise normalement admissible d'accéder au spectre faisant l'objet d'une autorisation.

Le Ministère note que la concurrence croissante en matière de services cellulaires et SCP présente les avantages d'abaisser les coûts et d'augmenter l'offre de services aux consommateurs canadiens. Le Ministère est également conscient du fait que les fournisseurs existants de services cellulaires et SCP ont consenti d'importantes mises de fonds en vue de mettre en place l'architecture de réseau nécessaire pour répondre à la demande des consommateurs et aux exigences de délivrance de licences du Ministère.

Des mesures visant à garantir la venue de nouveaux fournisseurs de services pourraient aussi élever le niveau de concurrence sur le marché et accentuer, au bénéfice des consommateurs, les tendances positives mentionnées plus haut. Par ailleurs, la fragmentation du marché des télécommunications mobiles sans fil entre un grand nombre de titulaires pourrait affaiblir la position de certains d'entre eux à court terme et mener à l'unification d'un marché anti-concurrentiel à long terme. En permettant la venue de nouveaux titulaires, mais en n'identifiant pas de spectre à leur usage exclusif, on pourrait établir un équilibre entre ces deux tendances conflictuelles

Dans le présent contexte, les requérants possibles de spectre SCP nouveau pourraient se répartir comme suit :

  1. titulaires de licences de services cellulaires/SCP assurant obligatoirement, en vertu d'une condition d'une licence existante, un service dans toutes les régions du Canada;
  2. titulaires de licences de services cellulaires/SCP actuellement autorisés à assurer un service dans une région particulière mais qui pourraient souhaiter disposer de fréquences supplémentaires dans la région autorisée ou étendre leur service à l'extérieur de cette région;
  3. nouveaux venus non autorisés actuellement à assurer un service cellulaire/SCP.

Le Ministère invite les intéressés à lui faire parvenir leurs commentaires sur l'opportunité et sur la façon dont l'intérêt public serait mieux servi en limitant l'admissibilité des nouveaux requérants aux enchères.

De plus, le Ministère serait intéressé par toute observation sur la possible mise de côté d'une certaine portion du spectre pour laquelle seuls les nouveaux venus seraient autorisés à présenter une offre. Les tenants de cette solution sont invités à préciser la portion de spectre qui devrait être réservée à cette fin et à indiquer comment cette mesure irait dans le sens de l'intérêt public.

Par ailleurs, le Ministère aimerait recevoir des commentaires sur la façon dont il devrait envisager l'éventuelle admissibilité des titulaires autorisés à assurer des services de communications personnelles en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication mais ne satisfaisant pas aux conditions de licence existantes. Plus précisément, le Ministère voudrait que les intéressés lui précisent si ces titulaires (et leurs affiliés) devraient satisfaire aux conditions des licences SCP existantes avant d'être autorisés à acquérir du spectre supplémentaire.

Enfin, le Ministère est intéressé par tout commentaire sur d'autres facteurs que les répondants pourraient juger pertinents sur l'admissibilité des entreprises aux enchères.

Date de modification :