Notice No. DGRB-013-99

Industry Canada

Department of Industry Act, S.C. 1995, c.1

Notice No. DGRB-013-99 — Radio Authorization Fees for Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS) that Operate in the 2500 MHz Range and on Other Related Frequencies and Multipoint Distribution Systems (MDS) that Operate in the 2600 MHz Range that Provide Non-Broadcasting Services

Introduction

Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS) that operate in the 2500 MHz range and Multipoint Distribution Systems (MDS) that operate in the 2600 MHz range are wireless communications systems. They provide wideband wireless telecommunications services that are capable of carrying basic and advanced communications such as "wireless" cable TV, high-speed Internet access, video teleconferencing, and various other multimedia services.

On December 12, 1997, Industry Canada issued a consultation document entitled Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS) in the 2500 MHz Range (Gazette Notice DGRB-007-97). This document outlined the general telecommunications policy objectives for the licensing of MCS, and invited comments on spectrum structure and use, service areas, licence aggregation, licence fees, and the treatment of incumbent licensees.

In response to this consultation, thirty-eight submissions were received from interested parties. Comments were received on key points such as: the requirement for larger blocks of spectrum than initially proposed; the importance for service providers to have flexibility of choice of service offerings; the extensive use of MCS by some existing licensees, i.e., Manitoba, for learning purposes; and the potential of these bands to further fulfill learning goals across Canada.

With respect to the licensing and fee proposal of this initiative, most respondents supported the use of spectrum licences, also referred to as block area licences, instead of site-specific radio station licences. Spectrum licences authorize a licensee to use specified radio frequencies within a defined geographic area. Many respondents also supported the Department's proposal of an annual authorization fee for MCS at 2500 MHz of $0.008 per household in each service area per 6 MHz of spectrum.

As a result of the public consultations launched in 1997, a learning focus that is consistent with the Government's Connecting Canadians strategy has been added to the licensing selection process.

On June 12, 1999, the Department of Industry issued Gazette Notice DGRB-006-99 which announced the release of the paper entitled Multipoint Communications Systems in the 2500 MHz Range, Policy and Licensing Procedures. This paper initiated a comparative selection and authorization process for these systems because requests on a first-come, first-served basis far exceeded the spectrum available in the band.

In addition to calling for expressions of interest by July 9, 1999, and subsequently, full detailed submissions by October 11, interested parties such as existing or prospective MCS and MDS service providers were invited to comment by July 9 on the proposed radio authorization (spectrum licence) fees as well as on certain other licensing aspects.

In light of the licensing requirement that they submit a learning plan as part of their submission, it was deemed necessary to redefine the seventeen contiguous service areas, proposed in 1997, to service areas that follow provincial and territorial boundaries and that correspond with provincial and territorial learning authorities. The Department of Industry defined fourteen service areas with one service area per province and territory and with the eastern Ontario and Outaouais service area being a stand-alone area for economic and technical reasons. The above-noted paper provides maps of these areas, as well as a table with the corresponding number of households and authorization fee for each service area for MCS systems. For non-broadcasting services using MDS, the service area will be the area authorized by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission.

The policy paper also stated that spectrum licenses would be issued for a ten-year term, partitioning of a licence will only be permitted along census subdivision lines so that the spectrum licence fee can be recalculated commensurate with the number of households in each resulting area, and disaggregation of a licence will only be permitted in multiples of 1 MHz blocks. Furthermore, this would be an interim fee regime that will be adjusted from time to time, as more recent census data becomes available.

The Department proposed for Multipoint Communications Systems:

  1. a fee of $1.30 per 1 MHz per 1000 households, rounded off to the nearest 500 households. This fee is equivalent to $0.008 per household in each service area, per 6 MHz of spectrum, as originally proposed, because the spectrum will be licensed in one 96 MHz parcel per service area as set out in the policy document;
  2. the same fee of $1.30 per 1 MHz per 1000 households, rounded off to the nearest 500 households, for use of the additional bands of 2150-2156 MHz and 2686-2688 MHz to provide out-of-band return spectrum capability; and
  3. the calculation of fees for the entire licensed area and band, regardless of the portion actually in use.

The Department also proposed to institute the same fee regime for Multipoint Distribution Systems (MDS) providers who want to use part of their licensed broadcasting spectrum in the 2596-2686 MHz band to provide radiocommunication (non-broadcasting) services or, upon application, access spectrum in the 2156-2160 MHz and 2688-2690 MHz bands, which will be licensed by the Department to MDS licensees.

In response to the Notice DGRB-006-99, 19 expressions of interest were received. Of these, only one submission contained comments concerning the proposed fees. Several respondents fully support the Department's broad policy objectives of facilitating the timely and orderly implementation within Canada of new wireless telecommunications services to foster learning, sustainable competition and innovative services. Prospective MCS and MDS service providers are eager to offer new wireless services that may compete with cable and telephone services to help make Canada the most connected country in the world.

The one respondent who expressed some reservations to the fee proposal believes that the Department should recalibrate and reduce the fees for MCS in the 2500-2596 band to account for the potentially significant economic impact of the learning plans that MCS licensees will implement. The Department has already taken learning plans, as well as other factors, into consideration in its proposal.

The licence fees for spectrum will not act as an impediment to MCS and MDS service providers offering new innovative telecommunication services. Moreover, under a spectrum licensing regime, residential and business customers will not incur any direct licence fees for the use of these bands. Although the spectrum licensing regime offers greater flexibility of defining service areas and spectrum blocks to facilitate rapid deployment of radio systems, existing MCS licensees may remain under the current radio licensing regime on a site-by-site basis. This is consistent with Manitoba's concerns which were MCS band.

In light of the favourable consultations with existing and prospective MCS and MDS service providers, the spectrum licence fees for these wireless communications systems will be established as proposed in the licensing policy document released in June. Complete details of the fees, established in accordance with the licensing policy for MCS, are set out in the following fee schedule.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following fees, effective the date of publication of this notice in the Canada Gazette. The fees are applicable to radio authorizations issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) of the Radiocommunication Act to establish wireless communications systems in accordance with the terms of the authorization.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"service area"
defined geographic area specified in the radio authorization;
"specified frequencies"
the range of frequencies, or portion thereof, in the frequency bands 2500-2596 MHz, 2150-2160 MHz, 2686-2690 MHz and 2596-2686 MHz
"household"
has the same meaning as defined by Statistics Canada in the 1996 Census;
"multipoint communications systems"
(MCS) means radio systems that operate primarily in the 2500-2596 MHzband;
"multipoint distribution systems";
(MDS) means radio systems that operate primarily in the 2596-2686 MHzband as broadcast distribution undertakings;
"wireless communications systems"
include "multipoint communications systems" (MCS) or multipoint distribution systems‛ (MDS) that operate on specified frequencies to provide directly to residential and business subscribers non-broadcasting services on MDS frequency bands, or telecommunications services in the MCS frequency bands allotted to MDS licensees; and
"renewal fee"
the annual fee payable for the continuance in force of the radio authorization until the radio authorization expires.

Annual Radio Authorization Fee

2. The annual radio authorization fee is $1.30 per 1 MHz per 1000 households, or portion thereof, in respect of the specified frequencies assigned to a wireless communications system in the service area.

Initial Annual Radio Authorization Fee

3. The prorated balance of the then-current fiscal year's authorization fee for the applicable specified frequencies per authorized service area per 1000 households, or portion thereof, is due on the date of the issuance of the radio authorization.

4. The month that the Minister issues the initial annual radio authorization determines the applicable prorated fee.

5. The prorated fee is 1/12 of the applicable annual authorization fee for each month until March 31 of the then-current fiscal year.

Renewal Fee

6. The renewal fee is the applicable annual radio authorization fee.

General Notes

The aggregate fees are rounded to the nearest dollar.

Annual renewal fees are due before March 31 for the subsequent year commencing on April 1.

These fees may be revised from time to time as circumstances warrant or as more recent census data become available.

Incumbent licensees: In particular circumstances, as outlined in the policy, incumbent licensees may be permitted to continue to operate under the existing terms and conditions of their radio licences and will be subject to appropriate fees set out in the Radiocommunication Regulations.

Maps of the service areas for MCS are in the document entitled Multipoint Communications Systems in the 2500 MHz Range, Policy and Licensing Procedures released June 12, 1999.

John Manely
Minister of Industry

Date modified:

Avis no DGRB-013-99

Industrie Canada

Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, L.C. (1995), ch. 1

Avis no DGRB-013-99 — Droits d'autorisation radio applicables aux systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) exploités dans la gamme de 2500 MHz et sur d'autres fréquences connexes et aux systèmes de distribution multipoint (SDM) exploités dans la gamme de 2600 MHz, qui offrent des services autres que de radiodiffusion

Introduction

Les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) qui sont exploités dans la gamme de 2500 MHz et les systèmes de distribution multipoint (SDM) qui sont exploités dans la gamme de 2600 MHz sont des systèmes de télécommunications sans fil. Ces systèmes assurent des services de télécommunications sans fil à large bande qui peuvent acheminer des services de base et des services perfectionnés tels que la câblodistribution « sans fil », l'accès Internet à haute vitesse, la vidéoconférence et divers autres services multimédias.

Le 12 décembre 1997, Industrie Canada a publié un document de consultation intitulé Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) dans la bande de 2500 MHz (avis dans la Gazette no DGRB-07-97). Ce document donnait un aperçu des objectifs généraux de la politique des télécommunications en matière de délivrance de licences STM et invitait les intéressés à présenter leurs observations relativement à la structure et à l'utilisation du spectre, aux zones de service, au regroupement de licences, aux droits de licence et au traitement des titulaires de licence existants.

Trente-huit mémoires ont été présentés en réponse au document de consultation. Les observations portaient sur des points clés: demande de blocs de fréquences plus larges que ceux initialement proposés; importance pour les fournisseurs de services d'avoir une certaine marge de manoeuvre quant au choix des services offerts; forte utilisation des STM par des titulaires de licence existants, p. ex. le Manitoba, à des fins d'apprentissage; potentiel de ces bandes à favoriser la réalisation des objectifs d'apprentissage partout au Canada.

En ce qui a trait aux volets autorisation et droits de licences de l'initiative, la plupart des répondants appuient la délivrance de licences de spectre, ou licences de blocs de zone, plutôt que de licences visant une station radio établie à un site précis. Les licences de spectre autorisent l'utilisation de fréquences radio définies dans une zone géographique précise. Beaucoup de répondants appuient également la proposition du Ministère prévoyant un droit d'autorisation annuel, pour les STM dans la gamme de 2500 MHz, de 0,008 $ par ménage par tranche de 6 MHz de spectre dans chaque zone de service.

Suite à la consultation publique lancée en 1997, un volet apprentissage, conforme à la stratégie gouvernementale Un Canada branché, a été ajouté au processus de sélection en vue de la délivrance de licences.

Le 12 juin 1999, le ministère de l'Industrie a publié l'avis no DGRB-006-99 dans la Gazette du Canada pour annoncer la publication du document intitulé Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint dans la bande de 2 500 MHz, Politique et procédures de délivrance de licences. Le document a lancé un processus de sélection et d'autorisation comparatif applicable à ces STM parce que les demandes présentées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi dépassaient de beaucoup l'offre de fréquences dans la bande visée.

Le document invitait les intéressés à présenter une déclaration d'intérêt au plus tard le 9 juillet 1999 et une proposition détaillée au plus tard le 11 octobre. En outre, le document invitait les intéressés, tels que les fournisseurs existants et éventuels de services STM et SDM, à présenter des observations concernant les droits d'autorisation (licences de spectre) proposés et certains autres aspects de la délivrance de licences.

Compte tenu de la condition de licence prévoyant le dépôt de plans d'apprentissage dans le cadre de la présentation des demandes de licence, il a été jugé nécessaire de redéfinir les 17 zones de service contiguës, proposées en 1997, pour établir des zones de services qui respectent les frontières provinciales et territoriales et qui correspondent aux territoires relevant de la compétence des autorités provinciales et territoriales en matière d'apprentissage. Le ministère de l'Industrie a défini quatorze zones de service, soit une zone par province et territoire et, pour des raisons économiques et techniques, une zone autonome regroupant l'Est de l'Ontario et l'Outaouais. Le document susmentionné comprend des cartes de ces zones de service et un tableau donnant le nombre de ménages et les droits d'autorisation dans chaque zone de service des systèmes STM. Dans le cas des services autres que de radiodiffusion utilisant des systèmes SDM, la zone de service sera la zone autorisée par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes.

Le document de politique précise également que les licences de spectre seront valides pour une période de dix ans, que la division des licences ne sera permise que conformément aux subdivisions de recensement pour que le droit de licence de spectre puisse être recalculé en fonction du nombre de ménages dans chaque zone autorisée ainsi créée et que le dégroupement (désagrégation) d'une licence ne sera autorisé que par multiples de blocs de 1 MHz. De plus, il s'agit d'un régime de droits provisoire qui sera rajusté au besoin en fonction des plus récentes données de recensement.

Le Ministère propose, à l'égard des systèmes de télécommunications multipoints, les droits suivants :

  1. droit de 1,30 $ par MHz par 1000 ménages, arrondi au plus proche multiple de 500 ménages. Ce droit équivaut à 0,008 $ par ménage par tranche de 6 MHz dans chaque zone de service, tel que proposé initialement, mais tient compte du fait que l'utilisation du spectre sera autorisée par blocs de 96 MHz par zone de service, conformément aux dispositions du document de politique;
  2. droit identique de 1,30 $ par MHz par 1000 ménages, arrondi au plus proche multiple de 500 ménages, applicable à l'utilisation des bandes supplémentaires 2150-2156 MHz et 2686-2688 MHz, utilisées par les canaux retour;
  3. les droits doivent être calculés pour l'ensemble de la zone et de la bande autorisées, peu importe l'utilisation réelle.

Le Ministère propose également d'établir le même régime de droits pour les systèmes de distribution multipoint des fournisseurs de services qui veulent utiliser une partie des fréquences visées par leur licence de radiodiffusion dans la bande 2596-2686 MHz pour offrir des services de radiocommunications (autres que de radiodiffusion) ou qui demandent l'autorisation d'utiliser des fréquences des bandes 2156-2160 MHz et 2688-2690 MHz, pour lesquelles le Ministère délivrera des licences aux titulaires de licence SDM.

Dix-neuf déclarations d'intérêt ont été reçues en réponse à l'avis DGRB-006-99. Une seule de ces déclarations contenait des observations concernant les droits proposés. Plusieurs des répondants appuient entièrement les grands objectifs stratégiques du Ministère, qui visent la mise en oeuvre opportune et ordonnée de nouveaux services de télécommunications sans fil au Canada, de manière à promouvoir l'apprentissage, une concurrence viable et l'introduction de services innovateurs. Les fournisseurs éventuels de services STM et SDM désirent vivement offrir de nouveaux services sans fil qui pourront concurrencer les services de câblodistribution et de téléphonie et qui contribueront à faire du Canada le pays le plus branché de la planète.

Le répondant qui a exprimé quelques réserves concernant les droits proposés est d'avis que le Ministère devrait revoir et réduire les droits applicables aux STM dans la bande 2500-2596 MHz pour tenir compte des répercussions économiques importantes que pourraient avoir les plans d'apprentissage que les titulaires de licence STM devront mettre en oeuvre. Le Ministère a déjà tenu compte des plans d'apprentissage et d'autres facteurs lors de l'établissement de sa proposition.

Les droits de licence de spectre ne seront pas un obstacle pour les fournisseurs de services STM et SDM qui offriront de nouveaux services de télécommunications innovateurs. De plus, en vertu d'un régime de délivrance de licences de spectre, les clients résidentiels et d'affaires n'auront pas à payer de droits de licence directs pour l'utilisation de ces bandes. Le régime de délivrance de licences de spectre offre une plus grande marge de manoeuvre en ce qui a trait à la définition des zones de service et des blocs de fréquences pour faciliter le déploiement rapide de systèmes radio, mais les titulaires de licences STM existants pourront continuer d'être régis par le régime d'autorisation actuel, qui prévoit la délivrance d'une licence pour chaque emplacement. Cela répond aux inquiétudes exprimées par le Manitoba lors de la consultation publique, relativement à l'utilisation de la bande STM.

Compte tenu de la réaction favorable des fournisseurs existants et éventuels de services STM et SDM lors de la consultation, les droits de licence de spectre applicables à ces systèmes de télécommunications sans fil seront fixés tel que proposé dans le document de politique d'autorisation publié en juin. Les données détaillées concernant les droits, établis conformément à la politique d'autorisation visant les STM, sont présentées dans le barème des droits ci-dessous.

Barème des droits

Le ministre de l'Industrie, conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, fixe par la présente les droits de licence ci-dessous, qui entreront en vigueur à la date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada. Ces droits s'appliquent aux autorisations de radiocommunication délivrées par le Ministre conformément à l'alinéa 5(1)a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, qui visent la mise en place de systèmes de télécommunications sans fil conformes aux modalités de l'autorisation.

Interprétation

« zone de service »
désigne la zone géographique définie précisée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication;
« fréquences spécifiées »
désigne la gamme de fréquences, ou une partie de celle-ci, des bandes de fréquences 2500-2596 MHz, 2150-2160  MHz, 2686-2690 MHz et 2596-2686 MHz qui est précisée dans l'autorisation de radiocommunication;
« ménage »
prend le même sens que celui défini par Statistique Canada dans le recensement de 1996;
« systèmes de télécommunications multipoint  »
(STM) désigne des systèmes radio exploités principalement dans la bande 2500-2596 MHz;
« systèmes de distribution multipoint »
(SDM) désigne des systèmes radio exploités principalement dans la bande 2596-2686 MHz à titre d'entreprises de radiodiffusion;
« systèmes de télécommunications sans fil  »
désigne notamment les « systèmes de télécommunications multipoint » (STM) et les «  systèmes de distribution multipoint » (SDM) qui sont exploités sur des fréquences spécifiées pour fournir directement aux abonnés résidentiels ou d'affaires des services autres que de radiodiffusion dans les bandes de fréquences SDM ou des services de télécommunications dans les bandes STM attribuées aux titulaires de licences SDM;
« droit de renouvellement »
désigne le droit annuel devant être payé pour maintenir l'autorisation de radiocommunication en vigueur jusqu'à son échéance.

Droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel

2. Le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel est de 1,30 $ par MHz par bloc total ou partiel de 1000 ménages pour les fréquences spécifiées assignées au système de télécommunications sans fil dans la zone de service.

Droit annuel initial d'autorisation de radiocommunication

3. Le solde proportionnel du droit d'autorisation pour l'exercice en cours applicable aux fréquences spécifiées par zone de service autorisée par bloc total ou partiel de 1000 ménages est dû à la date de délivrance de l'autorisation de radiocommunication.

4. Le mois de délivrance de l'autorisation annuelle initiale de radiocommunication par le Ministre détermine le droit proportionnel applicable.

5. Le droit proportionnel correspond à 1/12 du droit d'autorisation annuel applicable par mois, jusqu'au 31 mars de l'exercice en cours.

Droit de renouvellement

6. Le droit de renouvellement est le droit d'autorisation de radiocommunication annuel applicable.

Notes générales

Les droits cumulatifs sont arrondis au dollar le plus près.

Les droits de renouvellement annuels doivent être payés avant le 31 mars pour l'exercice subséquent débutant le 1er avril.

Ces droits pourront être revus au besoin en fonction des circonstances ou des plus récentes données de recensement.

Titulaires actuels : Dans certains cas, définis dans la politique, les titulaires existants pourront continuer d'être régis par les modalités de leur licence radio en vigueur et devront acquitter les droits appropriés fixés dans le Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

Les cartes des zones de service des STM sont présentées dans le document intitulé Systèmes de télécommunications multipoint dans la bande de 2 500 MHz, Politique et procédures de délivrance de licences, publié le 12 juin 1999.

Le ministre de l'Industrie,

John Manley

Date de modification :