Archived—Frequently Asked Questions: Personal Communications Services

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

These frequently asked questions are for general information only.

To view the official clarification questions and answers as well as any written amendments or supplements to the auction rules and policies (PDF Format, 165 KB, 75 pages).

1. What is PCS?

PCS stands for Personal Communications Services and is basically a digital wireless phone. PCS phones are often considered as the second generation of wireless phones, with analog cellular phones being considered as the first generation. Most wireless phones today can operate on the digital PCS networks, as well as on the cellular networks. They also operate in different portions of the radio frequency spectrum. Analog cellular services operate at 800 MHz and digital PCS services are offered in both the 800 MHz and 2 GHz portions of the radio spectrum.

2. Why is Industry Canada initiating a licensing process for additional PCS spectrum?

The department is making this spectrum available in order to facilitate the expansion and enhancement of existing PCS, and to set the stage for the introduction of new advanced mobile services such as third-generation PCS (3G PCS). Third-generation PCS offers the promise of high-speed Internet access to mobile devices such as a wireless phones, pagers, or Personal Data Assistants (PDA). Predictions are that by the year 2005, over half of all Internet users will be accessing it through a wireless device. The high data rate capability of 3G will allow for a wide range of multimedia services, including Internet applications and video-oriented services. By proceeding now with a licensing process, we will allow timely access to the spectrum required by companies wishing to take the first step to introducing 3G services to Canadians and will stimulate innovation in the dynamic wireless environment.

3. Who will be eligible to participate in this licensing process?

Consistent with our policy to foster competitive telecommunications markets, all entities are eligible to participate in this auction. Our open entry policy will foster competition, provide an opportunity for existing companies to get additional spectrum and open up opportunities for new entrants with viable business plans.

4. Why is Industry Canada going to use an auction to assign this spectrum?

The department strongly believes that the demand for this spectrum will exceed the available supply and that the reliance on market forces to select licensees is in the public interest. Therefore, the department has decided to use an auction, similar to the one that was successfully used for broadband wireless spectrum in 1999. Auctions offer a number of advantages over the other options that are available to governments to assign access to the radio spectrum: their ability to promote economically efficient use of spectrum, their openness and objectivity as an assignment mechanism, their procedural efficiency, and their ability to return appropriate compensation to Canadian taxpayers for the use of a public resource.

5. How much money does Industry Canada expect to generate from this auction?

The department will not be making any estimates concerning potential revenue generated from auctions. The government's objective in conducting auctions is not to raise revenue, but rather to award licences fairly, efficiently and effectively so as to ensure that the Canadian public derives the maximum possible benefit from the spectrum resource.

6. Will auctions mean higher prices for consumers?

No. Prices for consumer services will be set according to supply and demand in the consumer services marketplace. If one firm raises its prices, consumers will switch to a competitor. Firms will base their bids upon, among other things, the prices at which they will be able to sell their services to consumers. Auction bids thus depend on consumer prices; consumer prices do not depend on auction bids.

7. What spectrum will Industry Canada be auctioning?

The department will be auctioning PCS blocks 'C' and 'E', which are in the band 1850-1990 MHz. This frequency band is commonly referred to as the 2 GHz frequency band. The 'C' block consists of 30 MHz of spectrum and for the purposes of this auction, it will be subdivided into 3 blocks of 10 MHz. The 'E' block consists of 10 MHz and will be auctioned as it currently exists.

8. Will the department set aside spectrum for new entrants?

The department found no compelling arguments demonstrating that spectrum set aside for new entrants would significantly advance new service offerings and expansion of digital service. Thus, the department will not set aside spectrum for which only new entrants can apply. However, new entrants are eligible to bid for all spectrum blocks available through this licensing process.

9. What measures has the department taken to ensure that one company doesn't buy all the spectrum?

To ensure that existing and potential licensees will continue to operate in a competitive marketplace, the department has placed a limit on the amount of PCS or similar spectrum that any one entity or its affiliates can hold. This spectrum aggregation limit, commonly referred to as a spectrum cap, is set at 55 MHz and consists of frequency assignments for PCS at 2 GHz, cellular radiotelephony, and similar public high-mobility radiotelephony services in the 800 MHz range such as Enhanced Specialized Mobile Radio Services (ESMR).

10. Will these frequency blocks align with those in the US?

The current PCS spectrum structure consists of six symmetrically paired blocks in the frequency range 1850-1990 MHz. This structure, adopted in 1995, has been the basis for licensing PCS systems both in Canada and the United States.

The spectrum available in this licensing process includes the 'C' and 'E' block licences. The 'C' block, which is currently a 15+15 of paired spectrum block in the bands 1895-1910 MHz and 1975-1990 MHz for a total of 30 MHz, will be divided into subblocks C1/C1', C2/C2' and C3/C3', each a 5+5 paired spectrum block. The 'E' block will remain a 5+5 MHz of paired spectrum at 1885-1890 MHz and 1965-1970MHz for a total of 10 MHz.

On June 7, 2000, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) in the US released text of a "further notice of proposed rulemaking" for the re-auction of some of 'C' block licences. One of the proposals put forward is that the 30 MHz 'C' block be broken up into three 10 MHz blocks. If adopted, the FCC proposal would ensure that revised 'C' block spectrum aligns in both countries.

11. What are the main steps of this licensing process?

The main steps include:

  • Public Consultation Released, (December 17, 1999)
  • Comments and Reply Comments Received, (March 2000)
  • Release of Final Policy Paper and Auctions Rules - Expected, (June 28, 2000)
  • Pre-auction Information Session(s), (July 17 - Aug 2, 2000)
  • Clarification Questions and Amendments and Supplements, (Mid August)
  • Deadline for Applications to Participate in Auction, (November 14, 2000)
  • Mock Auction for Qualified Bidders Early, (January 2001)

Further information regarding the auction schedule is available on the department's web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/SSG/h_sf02076.html.

12. What type of licence will be granted?

Spectrum licences will be granted. These are defined in the Radiocommunication Act as authorizations "in respect of the utilization of specified radio frequencies within a defined geographic area." Licences will not be issued for the radio apparatus.

13. What will be the length of the licence term?

The department proposes that the auctioned licences have a ten-year term with a high expectation of renewal. The intention is to renew auctioned licences for subsequent ten-year terms unless a breach of licence condition occurs, a fundamental re-allocation of spectrum to a new service is required (e.g. a change in the international allocation), or an overriding policy need arises (e.g. a spectrum re-allocation to address a national security issue).

14. Can auction winners sell their licences to a third party?

Yes. Winners will be able to sell their licences to a third party, either in whole or in part. The third party will be subject to the eligibility restrictions and conditions of licence existing at the time of the transfer.

15. What type of auction will be used?

A simultaneous multiple-round auction process will be used. This means that multiple licences are open for bidding at the same time and bidding remains open on all licences as long as acceptable bids are placed on any of the licences. Bidding occurs in a sequence of rounds. The results of each round are announced to the bidders prior to the start of the next round. The auction will be conducted over the Internet, using the latest in Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) encryption and digital signatures to ensure the integrity of the bids.

16. Will there be a reserve price?

No. Reserve prices are the minimum amounts the department would accept for a licence and are established in accordance with the principle that all spectrum users should make a contribution toward the costs of spectrum management. The department believes that the spectrum being offered in this auction has a significant value and is confident that the revenues generated will cover the relevant spectrum management costs and provide fair compensation to the Canadian public for the use of their spectrum resource. Therefore, for this auction, the department has decided instead to have opening bids.

17. What is an opening bid?

In order to "kick-start" the auction and avoid unnecessary delays in ultimately assigning licences, the department has established minimum opening bids. These opening bids are conceptually linked to the revenue generated by licences for similar spectrum in the 800 MHz cellular and 2 GHz PCS bands. The department has calculated an estimate of the total amount of licence fees that the 'C' and 'E' blocks would provide over the licence term if they were licensed by traditional means. The opening bids are based on the population of the service area. The department has adopted a three-tier schedule which varies the opening bid depending on the absolute number of people in a service area.

For example, the opening bid for a 10 MHz licence in the Yukon, NWT and Nunavut, which has a population of approximately 100,000, would be $20,000. The opening bid for the same 10 MHz licence in Newfoundland would be $300,000. Finally, the opening bid for the same 10 MHz licence in the areas which encompass larger metropolitan cities would be significantly higher (Southern Ontario which includes Toronto - $9,600,000; Southern Quebec which includes Montréal - $6,000,000; and British Columbia which includes Vancouver - $4,800,000).

18. Will successful bidders pay for their licences in a lump-sum payment or in instalment payments?

PThe department proposes that winning bidders be required to pay for their licences up front. Successful bidders will be required to pay 20 percent of their winning bids within 10 business days of the auction's close and the remaining 80 percent within 30 business days of the auction's close.

19. What happens if a winning bidder cannot pay for a licence?

After the conclusion of the auction, any bidder who has submitted the high bid on a licence but fails to comply with the specified payment schedule will forfeit their right to the licence. A re-auction will take place and, if the re-auction price is lower than the forfeited bid, the bidder will be required to pay a penalty. This penalty will correspond to the difference between the forfeited bid and the eventual selling price. Furthermore, an additional 3 percent of the original forfeited bid will be charged.

20. Will the licence fees of PCS incumbents be recalibrated on the basis of the results from this auction?

No. The licence fees of the incumbent PCS operators will not be recalibrated on the basis of the results from this auction.

21. Other administrations have encountered some problems with spectrum auctions. How will the department address these problems in Canada?

While most auctions conducted in other countries have been successful a few problems have nonetheless been encountered.

Based on expert advice and continued analysis of auctioning around the world, Industry Canada is confident that it has found effective solutions to these problems:

  • bid withdrawal problems can be alleviated by implementing a withdrawal penalty;
  • defaults can be avoided by requiring bids to be paid in lump-sum amounts; and
  • bid signalling and erroneous bid submission problems have been addressed through simple auction design modifications.

22. What types of similar public high-mobility radiotelephony services are captured as part of the spectrum cap?

Public high-mobility radiotelephony services employ advanced radio equipment and utilize an aggregation of frequency assignments or specifically allotted spectrum. Such services provide network capabilities including wide-area coverage and hand-off, and may approach or exceed the capabilities of a conventional cellular network. A service using Enhanced Specialized Mobile Radio (ESMR) technology would be an example of a similar public high-mobility radiotelephony service.

Archivé — Questions courantes : les services de communications personnelles

Ces questions courantes sont présentées à titre d'information seulement.

Pour voir les questions de clarification et les réponses officielles ainsi que toute modification ou ajout à la politique et aux procédures (Format PDF, 188 Ko, 82 pages).

1. Que sont les SCP?

L'abréviation signifie « services de communications personnelles », et l'expression désigne essentiellement les téléphones numériques sans fil. Les appareils SCP sont souvent considérés comme étant les téléphones sans fil de la deuxième génération, les téléphones cellulaires analogues étant ceux de la première. Aujourd'hui, la majorité des téléphones sans fil peuvent fonctionner dans les réseaux numériques SCP et les réseaux cellulaires. Ils fonctionnent aussi dans différentes parties du spectre des radiofréquences. Les services cellulaires analogues utilisent la bande de 800 MHz et les services numériques SCP, celle de 2 GHz du spectre radio.

2. Pourquoi le Ministère amorce-t-il un processus de délivrance de licences à l'égard d'une partie supplémentaire du spectre des SCP?

Le Ministère rend cette tranche du spectre accessible pour faciliter l'expansion et l'amélioration des SCP existants et pour préparer l'introduction de nouveaux services mobiles de pointe, tels que les SCP de la troisième génération (SCP 3G). Ces derniers annoncent l'accès à Internet à haute vitesse depuis des appareils mobiles tels que les téléphones sans fil, les pagettes ou les assistants numériques personnels (ANP). On prévoit que, d'ici 2005, plus de la moitié des internautes accéderont à l'inforoute avec un appareil sans fil. La capacité des systèmes 3G d'offrir des débits binaires élevés rendra possible toute une gamme de services multimédias, y compris des applications Internet et des services de type vidéo. En adoptant tout de suite un processus de délivrance des licences, le Ministère procurera à point nommé aux entreprises l'accès au spectre dont elles auront besoin pour prendre les premières mesures afin d'offrir les services 3G à la population canadienne et il stimulera l'innovation dans le dynamique marché du sans-fil.

3. Qui aura le droit de participer à la vente aux enchères?

Nous cherchons toujours à stimuler la concurrence sur les marchés des télécommunications; par conséquent, tous les fournisseurs peuvent demander à participer aux enchères. Notre politique d'inscription libre encouragera la concurrence, donnera aux entreprises existantes une occasion d'accroître leur gamme de fréquences et créera des débouchés pour les nouveaux venus munis d'un plan d'affaires viable.

4. Pourquoi Industrie Canada se servira-t-il de ventes aux enchères pour répartir cette tranche du spectre?

Le Ministère croit fermement que la demande de cette bande du spectre dépassera l'offre et que miser sur le jeu des forces du marché pour choisir les fournisseurs est dans l'intérêt public. Le Ministère a donc décidé d'organiser des enchères semblables à celles utilisées en 1999 pour attribuer des fréquences du spectre pour les services sans fil à large bande. La vente aux enchères présente divers avantages par rapport aux autres moyens dont les gouvernements disposent pour accorder l'accès au spectre radio : elle encourage l'utilisation rentable du spectre; c'est un mécanisme d'attribution ouvert et objectif et c'est une procédure efficace, car les contribuables canadiens y trouvent leur compte, du fait qu'une ressource publique est utilisée d'une façon judicieuse.

5. Quel montant Industrie Canada compte-t-il retirer de cette vente aux enchères?

Le Ministère n'estimera d'aucune façon les recettes que pourraient engendrer les enchères. Le gouvernement ne s'est pas donné pour objectif d'accumuler des fonds en organisant de telles enchères, mais bien de délivrer les licences d'une façon équitable, efficiente et efficace, de manière que le public canadien profite au maximum des ressources du spectre.

6. Les enchères feront-elles monter les prix payés par les consommateurs?

Non. Les prix des services aux consommateurs seront fonction de l'offre et de la demande sur le marché. Si une entreprise augmente trop ses prix, les consommateurs se tourneront vers un de ses concurrents. Les entreprises établiront le montant de leurs soumissions en se fondant notamment sur les prix auxquels elles pourront vendre leurs services aux consommateurs. Ce montant dépendra donc des prix à la consommation, et non l'inverse.

7. Quelle tranche du spectre Industrie Canada mettra-t-il aux enchères?

Le Ministère mettra aux enchères les blocs « C » et « E » des SCP, qui se trouvent dans la gamme de fréquences de 1 850 à 1 990 MHz. Cette bande est communément appelée bande de 2 GHz. Le bloc « C » comprend 30 MHz de spectre et, aux fins de la présente vente aux enchères, il sera subdivisé en trois blocs de 10 MHz. Le bloc « E » comprend une bande de 10 MHz et il sera mis aux enchères tel qu'il existe maintenant.

8. Le Ministère réservera-t-il une partie du spectre aux nouveaux venus?

Aucun argument valable n'a montré qu'en réservant une partie du spectre aux nouveaux venus, le Ministère favoriserait, sensiblement mieux qu'un régime d'inscription libre, l'offre de nouveaux services et l'amélioration du service numérique. Par conséquent, il ne recourra pas à cette formule. Cependant, les nouveaux venus pourront soumissionner à l'égard de tous les blocs de fréquences offerts dans le cadre de ce procédé d'attribution des licences.

9. Quelles mesures le Ministère a-t-il prises pour s'assurer qu'une seule entreprise n'achète pas tout le spectre mis aux enchères?

Afin de garantir que les titulaires actuels et éventuels continueront d'exploiter leurs licences dans un marché compétitif, le Ministère a limité la partie du spectre qu'une seule entreprise et ses affiliées peuvent détenir pour les SCP ou des services semblables. Cette limite cumulative, souvent appelée « plafond de fréquences », a été établie à 55 MHz et comprend les fréquences assignées pour les SCP à 2 GHz, pour la radiotéléphonie cellulaire et pour les autres services publics de radiotéléphonie haute mobilité dans la bande de 800 MHz tels que la radio mobile spécialisée améliorée.

10. Ces blocs de fréquences s'aligneront-ils sur ceux des États-Unis?

La structure actuelle du spectre réservé aux SCP comprend six blocs appariés symétriquement dans la gamme des fréquences de 1 850 à 1 990 MHz. Cette structure adoptée en 1995 a servi de base pour l'attribution des licences aux systèmes des SCP au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Le Ministère mettra aux enchères les licences visant les blocs « C » et « E ». Le bloc « C », qui est actuellement la somme de 15 MHz dans la bande de 1 895 à 1 910 MHz et de 15 MHz dans la bande de 1 975 à 1 990 MHz (en tout, 30 MHz), sera subdivisé en sous-blocs C1/C1', C2/C2' et C3/C3', chacun résultant d'une somme de 5 MHz d'une bande et de 5 MHz de l'autre. Le bloc « E » demeurera une somme de 5 MHz de la bande de 1 885 à 1 890 MHz et de 5 MHz de la bande de 1 965 à 1 970 MHz, ce qui donne un total de 10 MHz.

Le 7 juin 2000, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC), aux États-Unis, a publié le texte d'un autre avis annonçant un règlement proposé sur une nouvelle mise aux enchères de certaines licences du bloc « C ». Elle proposait notamment que la gamme des 30 MHz du bloc « C » soit divisée en trois sous-blocs de 10 MHz. Si la proposition est adoptée, le spectre de ce bloc dans un pays sera aligné sur l'autre.

11. Quelles sont les principales étapes de ce procédé d'attribution des licences?

Voici quelles sont les principales étapes :

  • Début des consultations publiques, (17 décembre 1999)
  • Réception des commentaires et des réponses à ces derniers, (Mars 2000)
  • Diffusion de la politique et des règles définitives sur les enchères, (28 juin 2000)
  • Session(s) d'information avant la vente aux enchères, (17 juill. - 2 août 2000)
  • Questions de clarification, modifications et ajouts, (Mi-août)
  • Date limite : dépôt des demandes de participation aux enchères le, (14 novembre 2000)
  • Vente aux enchères simulée pour les soumissionnaires admissibles, (Début janvier 2001)
  • Début de la vente aux enchères, (15 janvier 2001)

D'autres renseignements sur le calendrier d'exécution sont diffusés sur le site Web du Ministère http://www.ic.gc.ca/SSGF/h_sf02076.html.

12. Quel genre de licence sera accordé?

Des licences de spectre seront délivrées. La Loi sur la radiocommunication décrit une telle licence comme étant « une autorisation à l'égard de l'utilisation de fréquences de radiocommunication définies dans une zone géographique déterminée ». Les licences ne seront pas émises à l'égard des appareils radios.

13. Pendant combien de temps la licence sera-t-elle valide?

Le Ministère propose que la période de validité des licences mises aux enchères soit de 10  ans, avec une probabilité de renouvellement élevée. Il a l'intention de renouveler les licences pour une autre période de 10 ans, à moins qu'il y ait eu violation des conditions, qu'il faille redistribuer fondamentalement le spectre pour assurer un nouveau service (par ex., un changement dans la distribution internationale des fréquences), ou qu'un besoin primordial l'empêche (par ex., réaffectation des fréquences du spectre aux fins de la sécurité nationale).

14. Le titulaire d'une licence gagnée aux enchères peut-il la vendre à une tierce partie?

Oui. Un tel titulaire pourra vendre sa licence totalement ou en partie à un tiers. Celui-ci sera assujetti aux critères d'admissibilité et aux conditions de licence qui existeront au moment de la cession.

15. À quel genre de vente aux enchères le Ministère recourra-t-il?

Il s'agit d'une vente aux enchères simultanée à rondes multiples : des licences multiples font l'objet d'un appel d'offres simultané, et l'appel demeure ouvert tant que des offres acceptables sont faites au sujet d'une licence donnée. Les offres sont lancées dans une série de rondes. Les résultats de chaque ronde sont annoncés aux soumissionnaires avant le début de la prochaine ronde. La vente aux enchères aura lieu sur Internet, et le Ministère utilisera alors les toutes dernières techniques de chiffrement de l'infrastructure à clé publique (ICP) et des signatures numériques pour protéger l'intégrité des soumissions.

16. Le Ministère fixera-t-il un prix minimum?

Non. Par « prix minimum », on entend le montant minimal que le Ministère serait disposé à accepter à l'égard d'une licence. Ce prix est établi d'après le principe selon lequel tous les utilisateurs du spectre doivent en financer la gestion. Le Ministère croit que la valeur du spectre mis aux enchères est considérable et que les recettes obtenues couvriront les frais de gestion du spectre, tout en offrant au public canadien un dédommagement équitable pour l'utilisation des ressources spectrales. Dans le cas de cette vente aux enchères, le Ministère a donc décidé d'opter plutôt pour des soumissions de départ.

17. Qu'est-ce qu'une soumission de départ?

Afin de lancer les enchères de manière à éviter de retarder inutilement la délivrance des licences, le Ministère a fixé le montant minimal des soumissions de départ. Ce montant a été choisi d'après les recettes générées par des licences visant un spectre semblable dans la bande de 800 MHz des services cellulaires et dans la bande de 2 GHz des SCP. Le Ministère a calculé approximativement le coût total des droits de licence, dans les blocs « C » et « E » au cours de la durée de validité des licences, si celles-ci étaient délivrées par des moyens ordinaires. La soumission de départ dépend de la population de la zone de service. Le Ministère a adopté une grille à trois niveaux qui fait varier le montant de cette soumission en fonction du nombre absolu de personnes vivant dans la zone de service visée.

Par exemple, le montant de la soumission de départ pour une licence portant sur une bande de 10 MHz au Yukon, dans les T.N.-O. et au Nunavut, où la population s'élève à environ 100 000 habitants, serait de 20 000 $. À Terre-Neuve, ce montant atteindrait 300 000 $ pour une licence identique. Enfin, le montant de la soumission de départ pour une licence visant une bande de 10 MHz dans des régions comprenant de grandes métropoles serait considérablement plus élevé (le Sud de l'Ontario, avec Toronto : 9 600 000 $; le Sud du Québec, qui comprend Montréal : 6 000 000 $; la Colombie-Britannique, avec Vancouver : 4 800 000 $).

18. Les adjudicataires paieront-ils leur licence d'un seul coup ou par versements échelonnés?

Le Ministère propose que les adjudicataires paient leurs licences d'emblée. Les adjudicataires devront payer 20 p. 100 de leurs offres retenues dans les 10 jours ouvrables qui suivront la clôture des enchères, et le reste, dans les 30 jours ouvrables après cette date.

19. Qu'arrive-t-il si un adjudicataire ne peut pas payer sa licence?

Après la clôture des enchères, tout soumissionnaire qui aura fait l'offre la plus élevée pour une licence mais qui ne respectera pas le calendrier de paiement fixé renoncera par le fait même à son droit sur la licence. De nouvelles enchères se tiendront et, si l'offre la plus élevée est alors inférieure à l'offre retenue au départ, le soumissionnaire susmentionné devra payer une pénalité égale à la différence entre l'offre initiale et le prix offert lors des nouvelles enchères. De plus, un montant supplémentaire égal à 3 p. 100 de l'offre originale sera ajouté à son compte.

20. Les droits des titulaires de licences SCP seront-ils modifiés en fonction des résultats de cette vente aux enchères?

Non. Leurs droits de licence ne seront pas modifiés en fonction des résultats de ces enchères.

21. D'autres administrations ont connu des problèmes en mettant le spectre aux enchères. Comment le Ministère y remédiera-t-il au Canada?

La plupart des enchères tenues dans d'autres pays ont été couronnées de succès, mais quelques problèmes se sont néanmoins présentés. Selon l'avis d'experts et en se fondant sur l'analyse constante d'enchères tenues ailleurs dans le monde, Industrie Canada croit bien avoir trouvé des solutions efficaces à ces problèmes :

  • il peut éviter les problèmes dus au retrait des offres en imposant une pénalité pour retrait;
  • il peut éviter les défauts d'exécution en exigeant le paiement intégral des montants offerts;
  • il a éliminé les problèmes relatifs à la transmission des offres et à la soumission d'offres erronées en apportant des modifications simples au régime des enchères.

22. Quels autres services publics de radiotéléphonie haute mobilité entrent en ligne de compte aux fins du calcul du plafond de fréquences?

Les autres services publics de radiotéléphonie haute mobilité ont recours à du matériel radio perfectionné et à des assignations de fréquences cumulatives ou à un spectre attribué à titre spécifique. Ces services permettent une exploitation en réseau, notamment les couvertures étendues et les transferts; ils ont des capacités comparables ou supérieures à celles d'un réseau cellulaire ordinaire. Un service qui utiliserait la technologie de la radio mobile spécialisée améliorée (ESMR) constituerait un exemple d'autre service public de radiotéléphonie haute mobilité.

Date de modification :