RIC-40: Frequently Asked Questions on Low Power FM Broadcasting

Issue 3, June 2008
Radiocommunication Information Circular


Preface

Radiocommunication Information Circulars are issued for the guidance of those engaged in radiocommunications in Canada. The information contained in these circulars is subject to change without notice. It is therefore suggested that interested persons consult the nearest district office of Industry Canada for additional details. While every reasonable effort has been made to ensure accuracy, no warranty is expressed or implied. As well, these circulars have no status in law.

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Attention: DOS

Email: spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Table of Contents

In the past few years, Industry Canada has received many inquiries regarding low-power FM broadcasting. With this increased interest, coupled with new developments in broadcasting technologies and standards, Industry Canada is publishing this circular to clarify a few important points.

top of page

Q. Who regulates FM broadcasting in Canada?

A. Broadcasting is regulated by two government organizations, Industry Canada and the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). To operate an FM broadcasting transmitter, one must apply for a broadcasting certificate from Industry Canada and a broadcasting licence from the CRTC. As the radio frequency spectrum manager, Industry Canada determines if the proposed transmission is compatible with other broadcasting transmissions, as well as non-broadcasting transmissions. The CRTC regulates, among other aspects, the programming content and ownership issues of the proposed undertaking (http://www.crtc.gc.ca). The procedure to apply for an FM broadcasting certificate from Industry Canada can be found in the Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, Parts 1 and 3 (BPR-1 and BPR-3), available on Industry Canada's website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Q. What are considered low-power FMs in Canada?

A. In Canada, there are two classes of low-power FM broadcasting stations: very low-power FM (VLPFM), which normally allows up to 10 W effective radiated power (ERP) in any direction; and low-power FM (LPFM), which normally allows up to 50 W ERP. The ERP is equal to the transmitter power supplied to the antenna multiplied by the relative gain (dipole) of the antenna in a given direction in consideration of the transmission line losses. Generally, VLPFMs are only allowed in remote areas.

Q. I heard that certain 5 W FM broadcasting transmitters are exempted from Industry Canada's authorization and CRTC's licensing requirements. Is that right?

A. Industry Canada has not exempted any 5 W FM broadcasting transmitters from authorization requirements, regardless of the equipment manufacturer, purpose of the transmission or the affiliation of the operator. The FM broadcasting radio frequency spectrum, at 88-108 MHz, is adjacent to the aeronautical navigation and communications (NAV/COM) spectrum at 108-137 MHz. The navigational frequencies include those for the instrument landing system (ILS) localizer and the very-high frequency, omni-directional beacon (VOR). Given the demonstrated potential for interference from FM broadcasting transmissions into the NAV/COM frequency band, Industry Canada is understandably cautious about authorizing FM broadcasting undertakings (both Canada and other countries have seen actual cases of interference). In Canada, NAV CANADA (www.navcanada.ca) is the agency responsible for aeronautical safety. Industry Canada and NAV CANADA have a working arrangement that all FM broadcasting applications will be studied for possible interference to NAV/COM frequencies.

BPR-3 provides a short explanation of the interference mechanisms from FM broadcasting signals to aeronautical frequencies. For a more in-depth look and explanation, refer to Recommendations by the International Telecommunications Union (ITU), ITU-R SM.1009-1, Compatibility Between the Sound-Broadcasting Service in the Band of About 87-108 MHz and the Aeronautical Services in the Band 108-137 MHz (available for a fee from the ITU website at www.itu.int).

Industry Canada has no plan to exempt 5 W FM broadcasting transmitters from authorization requirements, as such an exemption would open the FM broadcasting band to all users, resulting in substantial increase in interference to both the aeronautical and the FM broadcasting bands. Anyone who installs, possesses or operates an unauthorized transmitter that is otherwise not exempted by Industry Canada, is subject to sanction under the Radiocommunication Act.

The CRTC has exempted from licensing certain low-power AM and FM broadcasting undertakings, for example, Limited Duration Special Event Facilitating Undertakings and Public Emergency Radio Undertakings, provided that certain conditions are met. For information on the CRTC Exemption Orders, please contact your local CRTC office or visit the CRTC's website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca.

It should be noted that because Industry Canada and the CRTC are responsible for different aspects of broadcasting, the two organizations have each established exemption criteria in their respective area of responsibility. A broadcasting transmitter exempted from the CRTC's licensing is not automatically exempted from Industry Canada's authorization requirement and vice versa. A VLPFM or LPFM exempted from licensing requirement from the CRTC would still be required to meet all authorization requirements from Industry Canada.

top of page

Q. Are there any FM broadcasting transmitters exempted from Industry Canada's authorization requirements?

A. Currently, the only FM broadcasting transmitters that Industry Canada exempts from authorization are those that meet the requirement of Broadcasting Equipment Technical Standards 1 (BETS-1). These transmitters, commonly called Low-Power Announcement Radios or alternatively Real Estate Radios, have very small coverage areas. According to BETS-1,

"The maximum power output of the transmitter into its antenna, with no modulation, shall not produce a field strength level of more than 100 μV/m as measured at a distance of 30 metres,"

which corresponds to a transmitter power output of less than 1 microwatt (μW). CRTC licence exempt or not, any broadcasting transmitter not meeting the technical standard specified in BETS-1 will require authorization from Industry Canada for its installation and operation, regardless of the identity of the equipment manufacturer, purpose of the broadcasting transmission or the affiliation of the operator.

Q. What is Industry Canada's view on using LPFM for emergency broadcasting purposes?

A. As the radio frequency spectrum manager, Industry Canada has a role to play in facilitating emergency telecommunications and is prepared to work with emergency organizations during an emergency to streamline authorization and give access to radio spectrum as soon as possible. However, Industry Canada is not prepared to give blanket exemption to VLPFM or LPFM broadcasting transmitters for the reasons given above. The conditions under which public emergency radio undertakings are exempted by the CRTC are listed in the CRTC Broadcasting Exemption Order 2000-11.

Industry Canada encourages emergency broadcasting in cooperation with local broadcasters wherever they are present, from both the spectrum management and the emergency preparedness perspectives. Local broadcast stations have large coverage areas, available expertise, and the general public expects to obtain information from them when an emergency situation occurs. Built-in redundancy is ensured by the fact that there are multiple broadcast stations, many of which also have alternate and/or emergency standby transmitters.

For further information on Industry Canada's role in emergency telecommunications, including emergency broadcasting, visit the departmental website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/et-tdu.nsf/eng/home.

Q. Is it possible to network several LPFMs on the same frequency to serve a larger area?

A. In general, networking several LPFM broadcasting transmitters together will not increase effective coverage. The receivers, bombarded by signals from the multiple FM transmitters, will be unlikely to lock in on a usable signal, and will produce poor quality audio. Currently, only digital radio broadcasting (DRB) is designed to operate multiple transmitters on a single frequency, called a single-frequency network (SFN), to increase the effective coverage area.

top of page

Q. The CRTC has exempted several types of LPFM stations. Should I expect any technical problem in implementing LPFM stations in urban areas?

A. In addition to the CRTC-licensed LPFM stations, the CRTC Exemption Orders for several types of LPFM stations have generated considerable interest among clients to provide LPFM service to rural areas, as well as urban centres. Applicants wishing to serve urban centres have to take into account that the FM broadcasting spectrum is congested in most Canadian urban centres, and should expect a more complex application filing process, as well as longer processing time.

In all cases, the LPFM applicant must demonstrate that its application meets the applicable broadcasting procedures and rules, including the criteria to protect existing FM assignments from interference. If the proposed LPFM may affect one or more FM assignments, Industry Canada requires the applicant to retain a broadcasting consulting engineer to make the technical submission. In addition, Industry Canada requires the applicant to coordinate with stations that it may affect.

In rural areas, it is much easier for an applicant to find an FM frequency that does not affect any FM assignments, and the application process is straightforward and simple. In urban centres, it is difficult to find useable FM frequencies, and it is difficult to design an LPFM undertaking which does not affect one or more FM assignments. The applicant must therefore expect to retain a consultant and coordinate with affected stations, incurring considerable time and expense.

Accordingly, Industry Canada recommends that applicants for LPFM stations in congested areas consider alternative solutions such as low-power AM stations, programming agreements with existing stations, use of FM subcarriers, etc.

Q. Can I operate a transmitter in the FM band for other usage than broadcasting?

A. Yes. Low-power transmitters certified under RSS-123, such as wireless microphones and FM transmitters for public information services, may be authorized with a radio licence under the operating conditions described in CPC-2-1-11. Other FM transmitters certified under RSS-210 and RSS-310, such as personal radiocommunication transmitters providing short range transmissions to nearby FM receivers (e.g. FM transmitters integrated in MP3 players) may be used without a radio licence.

For additional information on the Department's rules on LPFMs, please contact your local Industry Canada district office. Publications on Industry Canada's rules and the database for broadcasting stations in Canada can be downloaded from the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

CIR-40 — Questions et réponses : radiodiffusion FM de faible puissance

3e édition, Juin 2008
Circulaire d'information sur les radiocommunications


Préface

Les circulaires d'information sur les radiocommunications sont publiées dans le but de renseigner ceux qui s'occupent activement des radiocommunications au Canada. Des modifications peuvent y être effectuées sans préavis. Il est donc conseillé aux intéressés qui veulent d'autres renseignements de communiquer avec le plus proche bureau de district d'Industrie Canada. Bien que toutes les mesures possibles aient été prises pour assurer l'exactitude des renseignements contenus dans la présente circulaire, il n'est pas possible de l'attester expressément ou tacitement. De plus, les dites circulaires n'ont aucun statut légal.

Les intéressés désireux de faire parvenir leurs observations ou propositions peuvent les adresser à:

Industrie Canada
Direction générale de la réglementation
des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

À l'attention de la DOS

Par courriel : ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Dans nos publications, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Table des matières

Au cours des dernières années, Industrie Canada a reçu de nombreuses questions à propos de la radiodiffusion FM de faible puissance. Compte tenu de l'intérêt croissant pour la fourniture de ce service et des progrès récents au chapitre des technologies et des normes de radiodiffusion, Industrie Canada publie la présente circulaire pour préciser certains points importants s'y rapportant.

haut de la page

Q. Qui réglemente la radiodiffusion FM au Canada?

R. La radiodiffusion est réglementée par deux organismes gouvernementaux : Industrie Canada et le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC). Pour exploiter un émetteur de radiodiffusion FM , il faut obtenir un certificat de radiodiffusion d'Industrie Canada et une licence de radiodiffusion du CRTC. À titre de gestionnaire du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques, Industrie Canada doit notamment s'assurer que l'émetteur proposé est compatible avec les autres émetteurs de radiodiffusion et avec les émetteurs autres que de radiodiffusion. De son côté, le CRTC réglemente notamment le contenu des émissions et la propriété de l'entreprise proposée (http://www.crtc.gc.ca). La procédure de demande de certificat de radiodiffusion FM d'Industrie Canada est exposée dans les Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie 1 et Partie 3 (RPR-1 et RPR-3). Ces documents sont disponibles sur le site Internet d'Industrie Canada (http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre).

Q. Comment définit-on les stations de faible puissance au Canada?

R. Au Canada, il y a deux catégories de stations de radiodiffusion FM de faible puissance, soit les stations FMTFP (FM très faible puissance), qui ont généralement une puissance apparente rayonnée (p.a.r.) maximale de 10 W dans toute direction, et les stations FMFP (FM faible puissance), dont la p.a.r. maximale est normalement de 50 W . La p.a.r. est égale à la puissance fournie à l'antenne par l'émetteur, multipliée par le gain relatif de l'antenne (doublet) dans une direction donnée, et compte tenu de l'atténuation de la ligne de transmission. Généralement, les stations FMTFP ne sont autorisées que dans les régions éloignées.

Q. J'ai entendu dire que certains émetteurs de radiodiffusion FM de 5 W étaient exemptés des exigences d'autorisation d'Industrie Canada et du CRTC. Est-ce vrai?

R. Industrie Canada n'a exempté aucun émetteur de radiodiffusion FM de 5 W de ses exigences en matière d'autorisation, peu importe le fabricant du matériel, l'objet des émissions ou l'affiliation de l'exploitant. La bande des fréquences de radiodiffusion FM (88-108 MHz) est adjacente à la bande des fréquences de radionavigation et de radiocommunications aéronautiques (NAV/COM) (108-137 MHz). Les fréquences de radionavigation comprennent les fréquences des radiophares d'alignement de piste ILS (système d'atterrissage aux instruments) et des radiophares VOR (radiophares omnidirectionnels VHF). Étant donné les risques réels de brouillage de la bande de fréquences NAV/COM par les émissions de radiodiffusion FM , Industrie Canada doit être très prudent quand il autorise des entreprises de radiodiffusion FM (des cas réels de brouillage se sont produits au Canada et dans d'autres pays). Au Canada, NAV CANADA (www.navcanada.ca) est l'organisme responsable de la sécurité aéronautique. Industrie Canada et NAV CANADA ont conclu une entente de travail en vertu de laquelle toutes les demandes de radiodiffusion FM feront l'objet d'un examen pour déceler les risques de brouillage des fréquences NAV/COM.

La RPR-3 donne un bref aperçu des mécanismes de brouillage des fréquences aéronautiques par les signaux de radiodiffusion FM . Pour obtenir une explication plus détaillée du problème, on peut consulter la Recommandation UIT-R SM.1009-1 de l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), intitulée Compatibilité entre le service de radiodiffusion sonore dans la bande d'environ 87-108 MHz et les services aéronautiques dans la bande 108-137 MHz. Ce document est disponible, moyennant contrepartie, à l'adresse www.itu.int.

Industrie Canada ne prévoit pas d'exempter les émetteurs de radiodiffusion FM de 5 W des exigences d'autorisation, étant donné qu'une telle exemption ouvrirait la bande de radiodiffusion FM à tous les utilisateurs, ce qui entraînerait une augmentation considérable du brouillage des bandes aéronautiques et de radiodiffusion FM . Quiconque installe, possède ou exploite un émetteur non autorisé et non exempté par Industrie Canada est passible de sanctions en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Le CRTC a exempté de licence certaines entreprises de radiodiffusion AM et FM de faible puissance, par exemple les entreprises de facilitation d'événements spéciaux de durée limitée et les entreprises de radio de messagerie d'urgence publiques, sous réserve du respect de certaines conditions. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les ordonnances d'exemption du CRTC, il suffit de communiquer avec le bureau local du Conseil ou encore de visiter le site Web du CRTC, à l'adresse http://www.crtc.gc.ca.

Il faut noter que, comme Industrie Canada et le CRTC sont responsables de différents aspects de la radiodiffusion, les deux organismes ont établi des critères d'exemption applicables à leur champ de compétence respectif. Un émetteur de radiodiffusion exempté de licence par le CRTC n'est pas automatiquement exempté d'autorisation par Industrie Canada ou vice versa. Une station FMTFP ou FMFP exemptée de licence par le CRTC doit quand même satisfaire à toutes les exigences d'autorisation d'Industrie Canada.

haut de la page

Q. Est-ce qu'il y a des émetteurs de radiodiffusion FM qui sont exemptés des exigences d'autorisation d'Industrie Canada?

R. Actuellement, les seuls émetteurs de radiodiffusion FM exemptés d'autorisation par Industrie Canada sont les émetteurs qui satisfont aux exigences de la Norme technique de matériel de radiodiffusion 1 (NTMR-1). Ces émetteurs, communément nommé « émetteurs d'annonces de faible puissance » ou « affiches parlantes », assurent une couverture très restreinte. Selon la NTMR-1,

« la puissance maximale de sortie de l'émetteur fournie à l'antenne ne doit pas produire une intensité de champ supérieure à 100 μV/m mesurée à une distance de 30 mètres »,

ce qui correspond à une puissance de sortie d'émetteur inférieure à 1 microwatt (μW). L'installation et l'exploitation de tout émetteur de radiodiffusion qui ne satisfait pas aux spécifications techniques de la NTMR-1 doivent être autorisées par Industrie Canada, peu importe si l'émetteur est exempté de licence ou non par le CRTC, et peu importe qui est le fabricant du matériel, l'objet des émissions de radiodiffusion ou l'affiliation de l'exploitant.

Q. Que pense Industrie Canada de l'utilisation d'émetteurs FMFP pour fins de radiodiffusion d'urgence?

R. En tant que gestionnaire du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques, Industrie Canada joue un rôle de soutien des télécommunications d'urgence. Le Ministère est donc disposé à collaborer avec les organismes de services d'urgence pour rationaliser le processus d'autorisation en situation d'urgence, de façon à autoriser l'accès au spectre le plus rapidement possible dans de telles situations. Par contre, pour les raisons données ci-dessus, il n'est pas prêt à accorder une exemption générale à l'égard des émetteurs de radiodiffusion FMTFP et FMFP. L'Ordonnance d'exemption de radiodiffusion 2000-11 du CRTC énumère les conditions en vertu desquelles les entreprises de radio de messagerie d'urgence publiques sont exemptées de licence du CRTC.

Industrie Canada favorise le recours aux radiodiffuseurs locaux, s'il y en a, aux fins de la radiodiffusion d'urgence, tant du point de vue de la gestion du spectre que de celui de la protection civile. Les stations de radiodiffusion locales ont de grandes zones de couverture et possèdent les compétences requises; la population s'attend d'ailleurs à ce que ces stations l'informent dans les situations d'urgence. La redondance intégrée de cette approche tient à la présence de nombreuses stations de radiodiffusion, qui elles-mêmes exploitent souvent un second émetteur de secours ou d'urgence.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le rôle joué par Industrie Canada dans les télécommunications d'urgence, y compris la radiodiffusion d'urgence, on peut visiter le site Web du Ministère à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre .

Q. Est-il possible d'établir un réseau de plusieurs stations FMFP fonctionnant sur la même fréquence pour desservir une région plus étendue?

R. En général, la mise en réseau de plusieurs émetteurs de radiodiffusion FMFP n'augmentera pas la couverture effective. Les récepteurs, bombardés par les signaux de plusieurs émetteurs FM , pourront difficilement syntoniser un signal utile et produiront une sortie audio de mauvaise qualité. Actuellement, seule la radiodiffusion audionumérique (DRB) est conçue pour l'exploitation de plusieurs émetteurs sur une même fréquence, lesquels forment un réseau monofréquence pour accroître la zone de couverture effective.

haut de la page

Q. Le CRTC a exempté plusieurs catégories de stations FMFP. Dois-je m'attendre à des difficultés techniques lors de la mise en oeuvre de stations FMFP en zone urbaine?

R. Outre les stations FMFP titulaires d'une licence du CRTC, les stations visées par les ordonnances d'exemption du CRTC délivrées à plusieurs catégories de stations FMFP ont suscité un vif intérêt de la part de la clientèle pour la fourniture de services de ce type dans les zones rurales et en milieu urbain. Les demandeurs désireux d'offrir des services dans des centres urbains doivent cependant tenir compte de la faible disponibilité du spectre de radiodiffusion FM dans la plupart des grandes villes canadiennes et s'attendre à un processus de demande plus complexe et à des délais de traitement plus longs.

Le demandeur pour une station FMFP doit dans tous les cas démontrer que sa demande est conforme aux règles et procédures de radiodiffusion pertinentes, y compris en ce qui a trait aux critères de protection contre le brouillage des fréquences déjà assignées. Si la station FMFP à l'étude peut affecter une ou plusieurs stations FM en place, Industrie Canada exige que le demandeur retienne les services d'un ingénieur-conseil en radiodiffusion pour soumettre une demande. Industrie Canada exige en outre que le demandeur voit à effectuer une coordination avec les stations susceptibles d'être touchées.

Dans les zones rurales, il est beaucoup plus facile pour le demandeur de trouver une fréquence FM qui ne gênera pas les autres assignations FM , de sorte que le processus de demande y est fort simple. Dans les centres urbains, par contre, il est difficile de trouver des fréquences FM utilisables et de concevoir une entreprise de radiodiffusion FMFP qui ne gênera pas une ou plusieurs assignations FM . Le demandeur doit donc s'attendre à retenir les services d'un ingénieur-conseil et à coordonner sa demande avec des stations affectées ce qui occasionne d'importants délais et coûts.

Conséquemment, Industrie Canada recommande que les demandeurs pour des stations FMFP situées dans des zones congestionnées envisagent des solutions de rechange telles que des stations AM de faible puissance, des accords de programmation avec les stations existantes, le recours à des sous-porteuses FM, etc.

Q. Puis-je exploiter un émetteur dans la bande FM à d'autres fins que la radiodiffusion?

R. Oui. Les émetteurs de faible puissance homologués en vertu du CNR-123 tels que les microphones sans fil et les émetteurs FM destinés aux services d'information publique peuvent être autorisés dans le cadre d'une licence radio soumise aux conditions d'exploitation énoncées dans la circulaire CPC-2-1-11. D'autres émetteurs FM homologués en vertu du CNR-210 et du CNR-310 tels que les émetteurs radio personnels de courte portée don't les émissions sont destinées à des récepteurs FM situés à proximité (p. ex. les émetteurs FM intégrés à des lecteurs MP3) peuvent être utilisés sans licence radio.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les règles du Ministère relatives aux stations FMFP, communiquer avec le bureau de district d'Industrie Canada le plus proche. On peut télécharger les publications traitant des règles d'Industrie Canada et la base de données des stations de radiodiffusion du Canada à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre

Date de modification :